Military Review

Stipa-Caproni: one of the most unusual aircraft

15
Stipa-Caproni is an experimental Italian aircraft designed by Luigi Stipa in 1932, built by Caproni and built by Caproni. Wood was used as the basic material for the construction. Stipa-Caproni had an 19 foot length in 4 inches (5,88 meters), but this aircraft differed from the others in both size and shape.


Stipa-Caproni: one of the most unusual aircraft




The fuselage was barrel-shaped. Both screws and the engine (De Havilland Gipsy III 120bhp) was housed inside the fuselage. The main principle of Stip's idea was to install a propeller and an engine inside the fuselage. Thus, the screw was used as a fan located in the annular fairing. Luigi Stipa called this trend in aircraft design an “intubated propeller”. For that time, it was one of the most radical ways to improve the efficiency of aircraft engines. Although Stipa-Caproni was built in a single copy (the Italian air force was not interested in further development, the machine was built as a demonstration of the capabilities of the Italian aircraft designers and industry), the revolutionary ideas of the Steps were later used in the development of aircraft engines and studied by many scientists.



Technical characteristics of the experimental aircraft Stipa-Caproni:
Crew - 1, 2 person;
Length - 5, 88 m;
Height - 3 m;
Maximum take-off weight - 800 kg;
Wingspan - 14,28 m;
Engine - piston de Havilland Gipsy III horsepower 120 hp (90 kW);
Maximum speed - 131 km / h;
Landing speed - 68 km / h.
15 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. patline
    patline 11 July 2013 09: 53 New
    +5
    The idea is even nothing. Make the pipe narrower, put a modern engine, reduce the wings (use them rather as horizontal stabilizers), because the pipe can also create lift. Steering wheels, both vertical and horizontal, should be located behind the pipe. And to make the end of the pipe with a rejected vector. And it is not necessary to make the pipe round.
    So generally it is possible to invent a revolutionary design. But this is the business of designers with calculations, calculations and other arithmetic inaccessible to ordinary citizens smile
    1. Argon
      Argon 11 July 2013 13: 19 New
      +2
      The Italians rushed with this idea until Italy left World War II, even built a couple of fighters in a similar scheme, but did not go into production mainly due to the unacceptably high weight of the airframe, relative to the weight of the machine as a whole. If I am not mistaken on the basis of this scheme ( 2-43g) tried to make an interceptor with a VRDK and with the same result. Modern calculations show that the principle of "Water cannon" optimizes in some way the operation of the propeller in the speed range from 44M to the aerodynamic thrust limit (propeller), at some cost (rev profile) but the material of the airframe is titanium or composites.
      1. Civil
        Civil 13 July 2013 10: 26 New
        0
        The Austrian artist also praised Italian technology, but always emphasized that the soldiers were Italian bullshit ...
  2. pensioner
    pensioner 11 July 2013 11: 09 New
    +5
    Interesting! Crew - 1,2 person;pilot and ears of the navigator, or what? what
    1. Aryan
      Aryan 11 July 2013 14: 27 New
      +4
      and screwed the holes to the hole .. what
      1. avdkrd
        avdkrd 12 July 2013 00: 54 New
        +2
        well yes - a hollow with a propeller smile but the idea is that it’s even nothing and the take-off and landing characteristics are impressive. Belarus seems to have implemented this idea at a modern level, though I have not heard that the project would go into series. http://gizmodo.ru/2009/03/18/belorusskij_samolet_s_ovalnym_krylom/
  3. il grand casino
    il grand casino 11 July 2013 11: 32 New
    +3
    Thank you for the article! The idea is interesting. Although at first glance it’s funny))) I recall old cartoons with cartoon airplanes
    1. AK-47
      AK-47 11 July 2013 12: 39 New
      0
      Quote: il grand casino
      The idea is interesting.

      Nothing interesting if the fuselage was used as a wing then yes, and so nonsense.
      1. cdrt
        cdrt 12 July 2013 00: 38 New
        +1
        Come on you quibble. 1932 year. All over the world, all biplanes were built of wood and canvas, as in WWI, and this is even a monster, but unusual wink
  4. Max otto
    Max otto 11 July 2013 11: 50 New
    +6
    So one of the first jet planes were like that! The same layout.
    1. il grand casino
      il grand casino 11 July 2013 14: 15 New
      +2
      The lineup is yes ... but here the "wild" proportions are much more interesting))
  5. Uhe
    Uhe 11 July 2013 16: 19 New
    +2
    It turns out that the Italians are even more perverts than the German prodigy lovers :)))
  6. ramsi
    ramsi 11 July 2013 21: 35 New
    +1
    yes FIG knows ... here the first thing that a layman sees is two flow surfaces: inside the pipe and outside the airframe. (The air intake for the motor, too, is not canceled.) In my opinion, it should
    alert
  7. alex86
    alex86 12 July 2013 20: 35 New
    -1
    The airplane is very cute, one can feel the anticipation of the jet era. It is clear that he had no prospects, but given the year and the level of development of that time, they were unambiguous fellows, boldly, albeit naively (from the perspective of today). But without such trial balls, the development of technology will not do ...
  8. Assistant
    Assistant 15 July 2013 15: 27 New
    0
    Now the OKB them. Kuznetsova, together with NPP Aerosila, proposed the NK-93 turbojet engine with an ultra-high bypass ratio and a coaxial coaxial twin-screw SV-92 propfan. They wrote that the use of a coiled (in a ring) twin-screw propfan, all other things being equal, provides fuel savings of up to 15% compared to the used turbojet counterparts.
    True, the NK-93 project was covered.
    That is, everyone returns to the idea of ​​Stipa-Caproni.
    Source: http://www.aerosila.ru/index.php?actions=main_content&id=18
  9. samolet il-76
    samolet il-76 12 December 2013 17: 54 New
    0
    To be honest, the airplane is funny lol

Stipa-Caproni: один из самых необычных самолетов

Stipa-Caproni является экспериментальным итальянским самолетом, разработанным в 1932 году Луиджи Стипа (Luigi Stipa) и построенный фирмой Капрони (Caproni). В качестве основного материала для конструкции использовалась древесина. Stipa-Caproni имел длину 19 футов 4 дюйма (5,88 метров), однако данный самолет от других отличался как размером, так и формой.

Stipa-Caproni: один из самых необычных самолетов
Stipa-Caproni: один из самых необычных самолетов
Stipa-Caproni: один из самых необычных самолетов
Stipa-Caproni: один из самых необычных самолетов



Фюзеляж имел бочкообразную форму. Оба винта и двигатель (De Havilland Gipsy III 120bhp) размещался внутри фюзеляжа. Основной принцип идеи Стипа заключался в установке воздушного винта и двигателя внутри фюзеляжа. Таким образом, винт использовался в качестве вентилятора находящегося в кольцевом обтекателе. Луиджи Стипа назвал данное направление в дизайне летательных аппаратов «интубированым пропеллером». Для того времени это был один из самых радикальных способов повысить эффективность двигателей самолетов. Хотя Stipa-Caproni был построен в единственном экземпляре (итальянские военно-воздушные силы небыли заинтересованы в дальнейшем развитии, машина строилась в качестве демонстрации возможностей итальянских авиаконструкторов и промышленности), революционные идеи Стипы в дальнейшем использовались при разработке двигателей самолетов и изучались многими учеными.

Stipa-Caproni: один из самых необычных самолетов


Технические характеристики экспериментального самолета Stipa-Caproni:
Экипаж – 1, 2 человека;
Длина – 5, 88 м;
Высота – 3 м;
Максимальная взлетная масса – 800 кг;
Размах крыльев – 14,28 м;
Двигатель – поршневой de Havilland Gipsy III мощностью 120 л.с. (90 кВт);
Максимальная скорость – 131 км/ч;
Скорость приземления – 68 км/ч.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 15
  1. patline 11 июля 2013 09:53
    Идея очень даже ничего. Сделать трубу поуже, поставить современный двигатель, уменьшить крылья (использовать их скорей как горизонтальные стабилизаторы), т.к. труба тоже может создавать подъёмную силу. Рули, как вертикальные, так и горизонтальные расположить позади трубы. Да и конец трубы сделать с отклоняемым вектором. И необязательно трубу делать круглой.
    Так вообще можно революционную конструкцию изобрести. Но это дело конструкторов с вычислениями, подсчётами и прочей недоступной для простых граждан арифметикой smile
    patline
    1. Argon 11 июля 2013 13:19
      Итальянцы носились с этой идеей вплоть до выхода италии из 2ой мировой,даже построили пару истребителей в подобной схеме,но в серию не пошли главным образом из-за недопустимо завышенного веса планера,относительно веса машины в целом.Если не ошибаюсь на основе этой схемы(43-44г) пытались сделать перехватчик с ВРДК и с тем же результатом.Современные расчеты показывают,что принцип"Водомета"оптимизирует некоторым образом работу винта в диапазоне скоростей от 0,58М до аэродинамического предела тяги(винта),при его некоторой дороботке(изм профиля)но материал планера титан или композиты.
      1. Гражданский 13 июля 2013 10:26
        Австрийский художник тоже хвалил итальянскую технику, но всегда подчеркивал, что солдаты итальянские фуфло...
  2. пенсионер 11 июля 2013 11:09
    Интересно! Экипаж – 1,2 человека;-пилот и уши штурмана, что ли? what
    1. Ариец 11 июля 2013 14:27
      и к дырке клылья прикрутили.. what
      1. avdkrd 12 июля 2013 00:54
        ну да - дупло с пропеллером smile но идея то очень даже ничего и взлетно-посадочные характеристики впечатляют. В Белорусии вроде реализовали эту идею на современном уровне, правда не слышал, что бы проект пошел в серию. http://gizmodo.ru/2009/03/18/belorusskij_samolet_s_ovalnym_krylom/
  3. il grand casino 11 июля 2013 11:32
    Спасибо за статью! Идея интересная. Хоть на первый взглят и смешная))) Вспоминаются старые мультики с мультяшными самолетиками
    1. AK-47 11 июля 2013 12:39
      Цитата: il grand casino
      Идея интересная.

      Ничего интересного, если бы фюзеляж использовался в качестве крыла тогда да, а так бессмыслица.
      AK-47
      1. cdrt 12 июля 2013 00:38
        Да бросьте вы придираться. 1932 год. Во всем мире все бипланы строили из дерева и полотна, как в ПМВ, а это пусть и чудище, но необычное wink
  4. Макс Отто 11 июля 2013 11:50
    Так одни из первых реактивных самолетов такие и были! Та же компоновка.
    1. il grand casino 11 июля 2013 14:15
      Компановка да...но тут куда интереснее "дикие" пропорции))
  5. Uhe 11 июля 2013 16:19
    Оказывается, что итальянцы - ещё большие извращенцы, чем любители вундервафль немцы :)))
    Uhe
  6. ramsi 11 июля 2013 21:35
    да фиг его знает... вот первое, что видится профану - так это две поверхности обтекания потоком: внутри трубы и снаружи планера. (Забор воздуха для мотора тоже, ведь, не отменён.) По-моему, должно
    настораживать
    ramsi
  7. alex86 12 июля 2013 20:35
    Самолётик очень милый, чувствуется предвкушение реактивной эры.Понятно, что перспектив не имел, но учитывая год и уровень развития того времени - однозначные молодцы, смело, хоть и наивно (с позиций дня сегодняшнего). Но без таких пробных шаров развитие техники не обойдется...
  8. Assistant 15 июля 2013 15:27
    Сейчас ОКБ им. Кузнецова совместно с НПП "Аэросила" предлагали турбореактивный двигатель НК-93 со сверхвысокой степенью двухконтурности и закапотированным двухвинтовым соосным винтовентилятором СВ-92. Писали, что применение закапотированного (в кольце) двухвинтового винтовентилятора при прочих равных обеспечивает экономию топлива до 15% по сравнению с применяемыми турбореактивными аналогами.
    Правда, проект НК-93 накрылся.
    То есть к идее Stipa-Caproni всё возвращаются.
    Источник: http://www.aerosila.ru/index.php?actions=main_content&id=18
  9. samolet il-76 12 декабря 2013 17:54
    Если честно самолётик смешной lol
    samolet il-76

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня