Military Review

Snowden is not the first failure of American intelligence. History tour

12

While government ministries and human rights activists are contemplating statements by the former CIA officer and the US National Security Agency Edward Snowden about his intention to stay in Russia, which he made at Sheremetyevo Airport, it is curious to find out that Snowdengate is not the first epic failure of the most classified American espionage service.


The National Security Agency was created in 1952 for the conduct of the Cold War against the USSR and the countries of the socialist camp and differed from the CIA constantly flashing in Hollywood films with the highest level of secrecy in their work. Information on the activities and financing of the NSA was not even provided to congressmen. In a joke, the NSA was called "The Agency, which is not" ("No such Agency", from the English-language name of the Agency "NSA"). It was only known that the Agency was responsible for the communications of the United States and its opponents in the Cold War: it had to protect American channels of communication, and to detect, intercept and hack the channels of the enemy.

However, after the US victory in the Cold War, the Agency’s activities were not only not curtailed, but, as it turned out later, it was extended even to former allies, not excluding the countries of Western Europe. After the 11 attacks of September 2001 and the declaration of war to international terrorism, the activities of the NSA finally acquired a global, if not to say total, justification for which was the elusiveness of the leaders of international terrorism. With the development of Internet communications and social networks, it took billions of people to spy, for which the PRISM project declassified by Snowden was launched. And among the people behind whom she spied the NSA, the entire population of the United States, who uses modern means of communication, has fallen, which is a violation of American laws.

Nevertheless, all this did not mean that our country was in blissful ignorance regarding the NSA intelligence activities.

The first failure of the NSA is associated with Joseph Petersen, a former army cryptanalyst who, after World War II, began working at the Agency. Petersen was caught by the NSA security service on having made copies of several secret documents in order to pass them on to help his Dutch colleagues, with whom he had friendly relations. The management decided to demonstratively punish the imprudent cryptologist and referred the case to a public court. October 9 1954 on the front pages of the largest daily American newspapers got a message about his arrest for stealing classified documents from the NSA. But, as his lawyer said, “having made such a decision, they were mistaken,” since the arrest was received too widely in the American press. Peterson, who admitted his guilt, received 7 years in prison. Since then, the leadership of the Agency has diligently avoided any publicity.

However, the demonstrative flogging of the guilty did not save the Agency from the flight of potential defendants beyond the limits of the jurisdiction of the US federal authorities: they moved to the Soviet Union. The most famous of these were cryptoanalytics from the NSA, William Martin and Bernon Mitchell. In June, 1960, Martin and Mitchell, who had made friends with each other while serving in the army, decided that it was time to bring down and asked for another vacation. The request was granted, but instead of leaving Martin and Mitchell flew to Mexico City, and from there to Havana. From the Cuban capital, they sailed on a Soviet trawler to Russia.

In 1960, during the 90-minute press conference at the Central House of Journalists in Moscow, they told the whole world about the efforts of American intelligence in the field of cryptanalysis more than any other known defectors did. They stated that they were “outraged by the practice of intercepting and decrypting secret messages of their own allies by the United States government,” and said that the NSA regularly listens to communications in more than 40 countries. Their revelations forced many states to change their ciphers along with the keys to them. The result was temporary difficulties in the activities of the NSA. The Pentagon announced to Martin and Mitchell that one of them was “insane” (without specifying who it was) that both of them were “obviously confused”, and then called the confessions made by them “lies”. To date, this episode was considered the most severe failure in stories Agencies.

Three years later, a new defector appeared in Moscow - Syrian who received American citizenship, a specialist of the Middle East at the NSA, Victor Hamilton. At the Agency, Hamilton opened the encryption systems of Arab countries, but was fired after he wanted to resume contacts with relatives living in Syria. In retaliation, Hamilton asked political asylum in the USSR and 23 on July 1963 told the newspaper Izvestia that he and his colleagues were engaged in opening military and diplomatic codes and codes of different countries, as well as listening to UN channels.

On the same day, July 23, 1963, under mysterious circumstances, suffocating with carbon monoxide gas in his car, NSA courier Sergeant Jack Dunlap died. An investigation by the Agency showed that Dunlap worked for Soviet intelligence and handed over secret documents to her for a large remuneration at that time: 60 thousand dollars. Before his death, he spent them on the purchase of a motor yacht, a sports car brand "Jaguar", two "Cadillacs" of the latest model, as well as numerous drinks at expensive resorts across the Atlantic coast of the United States and a pompous blond mistress.

Finally, it is worth noting that Edward Snowden is also not the first NSA agent to oppose the system in the aftermath of the Cold War. Another former Agency official, William Binnie, for several years opposed the NSA in American courts and the press, warning of the illegal collection of information about US citizens. However, Binnie, unlike Snowden, did not publish secret documents confirming the global scope of the NSA spying. History shows that Binnie would not have been able to do this, being in his own country. The path of the American dissident, as half a century ago, irreversibly passes through Moscow.

When writing the article, the following books were used: David Kahn, Code Crackers; Pykhalov I. V. “US special services”.
Originator:
http://www.ridus.ru/
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Nicholas C.
    Nicholas C. 16 July 2013 07: 58 New
    +5
    I wish more such failures to the Americans
    1. ATATA
      ATATA 16 July 2013 08: 04 New
      +3
      Quote: Nikolay S.
      I wish more such failures to the Americans

      And what is this Snowden saying that someone did not know?
      Why is Snowden considered an NSA failure?
      And Snowden, this is not a mishandled Cossack?
      Maybe all this noise with its issuance is just a cover operation?

      Think about this option. Valuable defectors are not kept in the transit zone, but are quickly and quietly hidden.
      1. Igor39
        Igor39 16 July 2013 09: 36 New
        +1
        In our country, too, no fools are sitting in offices, he will still have to confirm his value, but the authorities say that he can temporarily be in Russia and after following formalities on all four sides.
      2. Norady
        Norady 16 July 2013 12: 00 New
        0
        I also think that this shot has nothing to do with failure, the maximum is a snowy media tool of internal showdowns of the powerful elites in the USA / England / Israel. the same clown as an assange.

        But as I understand it, most people, even from the local readership, still believe that competition and struggle in the world are between countries ...
      3. fedorovith
        fedorovith 16 July 2013 15: 34 New
        0
        They will do everything legally and democratically as the "international community" demands now. And they don’t have to hide. They themselves handed him over to us having canceled their passport. Thank you very much for that.
      4. KazaK Bo
        KazaK Bo 16 July 2013 16: 03 New
        0
        Quote: ATATA
        And what is this Snowden saying that someone did not know?

        We don’t know much of what ... we guess a lot ... But these are topics for discussion in the kitchen and over a beer.
        And for official bodies of the state we need either documents ... or living witnesses! Then you can talk not only over a glass of beer!
        Yes! I am very, very not sure that everything that Snowden said was published in the press ... and whether it is necessary ... is ... for us, the general public. Let the specialists understand the system of programming and coding amers ... this is their "bread".
  2. shpuntik
    shpuntik 16 July 2013 13: 01 New
    +1
    Good article, in short everything. I think Snowden has something to say to our experts, not for nothing that he stayed at the airport.
    Anyway, he “respect” and “respect” -one, against such a machine, popper. He doesn’t look like a life-burner, a drug addict, apparently really ideological.
    1. NOBODY EXCEPT US
      NOBODY EXCEPT US 16 July 2013 23: 09 New
      +1
      In our history, there were also ideological ones, they didn’t take money from enemies, they donated their money for ideological reasons, if it’s interesting to read about General Polyakov who reached the very top in the service, he was responsible for agents and for more than half a century he poured everything to Amers, and volunteered himself, they thought for a long time what a setup .... still it is not known how many people he passed ...... he was shot in my opinion at 86 .. what he did not repent of .....
  3. AVV
    AVV 16 July 2013 13: 15 New
    0
    This is not a failure, there will be a failure when all the information spills out and gets into the press, that’s what the Americans are so afraid of! Then there will be a world-wide scandal !!! It’s not enough !!!
    1. Norady
      Norady 16 July 2013 15: 38 New
      +3
      Comrades, where is critical thinking? Can't you see that all Snowden is a media circus, all that he "exposed" and so it was known to everyone, espionage is a regular job of all intelligence services. And the fact that he will “give out” the working methods is only threatened so far. Even if something like this “betrays” it will certainly no longer have value.
      Look how almost every hour the information is updated, how Snowden had a tasty meal, how he went to the toilet, that he wants not only to move around the territory of Russia, but wants to have a special certificate ...
      Well, nonsense
  4. IRBIS
    IRBIS 16 July 2013 17: 16 New
    +2
    Personally, I am surprised by something else. It is quite an ordinary worker who knows that he should even urinate under heavy guard. Do they have other principles for sharing information? Or is it cretinism elevated to the absolute? Every defector or seeker of justice takes out a wagon of secrets that really undermine national security. Asange, Snowden - the level of awareness pulls a minimum of deputy. Chef of any intelligence of the world. Not weird?
    And here it is worth considering. After all, if these are not the developmental defects that I mentioned, then we are dealing with a well thought out and planned operation, the goals of which remain a secret.
    Personally, I have never considered all Americans to be complete idiots.
    1. carbofo
      carbofo 17 July 2013 07: 55 New
      0
      Quote: IRBIS
      Personally, I never considered all Americans to be complete nerds.


      Uncontrollability corrupts, and makes even adequate people - impassable dumbasses.
  5. GEO
    GEO 16 July 2013 21: 21 New
    +1
    Quote: ATATA
    Quote: Nikolay S.
    I wish more such failures to the Americans

    And what is this Snowden saying that someone did not know?
    Why is Snowden considered an NSA failure?
    And Snowden, this is not a mishandled Cossack?
    Maybe all this noise with its issuance is just a cover operation?

    Think about this option. Valuable defectors are not kept in the transit zone, but are quickly and quietly hidden.

    and you read more newspapers. Have you seen him in the transit zone?
  6. Yuri Y.
    Yuri Y. 16 July 2013 22: 01 New
    0
    Quote: Norady
    Comrades, where is critical thinking? Can't you see that all Snowden is a media circus, all that he "exposed" and so it was known to everyone, espionage is a regular job of all intelligence services. And the fact that he will “give out” the working methods is only threatened so far. Even if something like this “betrays” it will certainly no longer have value.

    Whether it doesn’t have it will be appreciated by our experts, I think we also have no absolute suckers. What is voiced at any price does not have. If even the cover does not think that he will get somewhere, in very secret places.
    So you can fantasize anything. Or maybe this is our operation, with the escape.
  7. kosmos84
    kosmos84 16 July 2013 22: 13 New
    +1
    cool photo

Сноуден – не первый провал американской разведки. Экскурс в историю

Сноуден – не первый провал американской разведки. Экскурс в историю

Пока государственные министерства и правозащитники обдумывают заявления бывшего сотрудника ЦРУ и Агентства национальной безопасности США Эдварда Сноудена о своем намерении остаться в России, которые тот сделал в аэропорту «Шереметьево», любопытно узнать, что «Сноуденгейт» — отнюдь не первый эпичный провал самой засекреченной американской шпионской службы.

Агентство национальной безопасности было создано в 1952 году для ведения холодной войны против СССР и стран соцлагеря и отличалось от постоянно мелькающего в голливудских фильмах ЦРУ высочайшим уровнем скрытности в своей работе. Информация о деятельности и финансировании АНБ не предоставлялась даже конгрессменам. В шутку АНБ назвали «Агентством, которого нет» («No such Agency», от англоязычного названия Агентства «NSA»). Было известно лишь то, что Агентство отвечало за средства связи США и противников этой страны в холодной войне: американские каналы связи оно должно было защищать, а каналы противника – выявлять, перехватывать и взламывать.

Однако после победы США в холодной войне деятельность Агентства не только не была свернута, но, как выяснилось позднее, была распространена даже на прежних союзников, не исключая стран Западной Европы. После терактов 11 сентября 2001 года и объявления войны международному терроризму, деятельность АНБ окончательно приобрела глобальный, если не сказать тотальный характер, оправданием чему служила неуловимость лидеров международного терроризма. С развитием интернет-коммуникаций и социальных сетей шпионить понадобилось уже за миллиардами людей, для чего и был запущен рассекреченный Сноуденом проект «PRISM». Причем в число тех людей, за которыми шпионила АНБ, попало все население США, которое пользуется современными средствами связи, что является нарушением американских же законов.


Тем не менее все сказанное не означало, что наша страна пребывала в благостном неведении относительно разведывательной деятельности АНБ.

Первый провал АНБ связан с Джозефом Петерсеном, бывшим армейским криптоаналитиком, который после Второй мировой войны стал работать в Агентстве. Петерсен попался службе безопасности АНБ на том, что снял копии с нескольких секретных документов для того, чтобы передать их в помощь голландским коллегам, с которыми у него сложились дружеские отношения. Руководство решило демонстративно наказать неосмотрительного криптолога и передало дело в публичный суд. 9 октября 1954 года на первые полосы крупнейших ежедневных американских газет попало сообщение о его аресте за кражу секретных документов из АНБ. Но, как сказал его адвокат, «приняв такое решение, они попали впросак», так как арест получил слишком широкую огласку в американской печати. Петерсон, признавший свою вину, получил 7 лет тюрьмы. С тех пор руководство Агентства старательно избегало любой публичности.

Однако показательная порка провинившегося не спасла Агентство от бегства потенциальных обвиняемых за пределы действия юрисдикции федеральных властей США: они перебирались в Советский Союз. Самыми известными из них были криптоаналитики из АНБ Уильям Мартин и Бернон Митчелл. В июне 1960 года Мартин и Митчелл, подружившиеся между собой еще во время службы в армии, решили, что «пора валить» и обратились с просьбой о предоставлении им очередного отпуска. Просьба была удовлетворена, однако вместо отпуска Мартин и Митчелл улетели в Мехико, а оттуда — в Гавану. Из кубинской столицы они отплыли на советском траулере в Россию.

В 1960 году в ходе 90-минутной пресс-конференции в Центральном доме журналиста в Москве они рассказали всему миру об усилиях американской разведки в области криптоанализа больше, чем это сделали какие-либо другие известные перебежчики. Они заявили, что их «возмущает осуществляемая правительством Соединенных Штатов практика перехвата и дешифрования секретных сообщений своих собственных союзников», и сообщили, что АНБ регулярно прослушивает коммуникации более чем 40 стран. Их откровения заставили многие государства сменить свои шифры вместе с ключами к ним. Результатом стали временные трудности в деятельности АНБ. Пентагон объявил о Мартине и Митчелле, что один из них «душевнобольной» (не уточнив, кто именно), что оба они «явно запутались», а затем назвал сделанные ими признания «ложью». До настоящего времени этот эпизод считался самым тяжелым провалом в истории Агентства.

Еще через три года в Москве появился новый перебежчик — получивший американское гражданство сириец, специалист отдела Ближнего Востока АНБ Виктор Гамильтон. В Агентстве Гамильтон занимался вскрытием шифрсистем арабских стран, но был уволен после того, как захотел возобновить контакты с родственниками, проживавшими в Сирии. В отместку Гамильтон попросил политического убежища в СССР и 23 июля 1963 года рассказал газете «Известия» о том, что он и его коллеги занимались вскрытием военных и дипломатических шифров и кодов разных стран, а также вели прослушивание каналов связи ООН.

В тот же самый день, 23 июля 1963 года, при загадочных обстоятельствах, задохнувшись угарным газом в своем автомобиле, погиб курьер АНБ сержант Джек Данлэп. Расследование Агентства показало, что Данлэп работал на советскую разведку и передавал ей секретные документы за крупное по тем временам вознаграждение: 60 тысяч долларов. Перед своей смертью он истратил их на покупку моторной яхты, спортивной машины марки «Ягуар», двух «Кадиллаков» последней модели, а также на многочисленные выпивки на дорогих курортах по всему Атлантическому побережью США и на пышнотелую любовницу-блондинку.

Напоследок стоит заметить, что Эдвард Сноуден также не является первым агентом АНБ, который выступил против системы в период после холодной войны. Другой бывший сотрудник Агентства Уильям Бинни на протяжении нескольких лет выступал против АНБ в американских судах и прессе, предупреждая о незаконном сборе сведений о гражданах США. Однако Бинни, в отличие от Сноудена, при этом не публиковал секретные документы, подтверждающие глобальный масштаб шпионажа АНБ. История показывает, что Бинни и не смог бы этого сделать, находясь у себя в стране. Путь американского диссидента, как и полвека назад, необратимо проходит через Москву.

При написании статьи использовались книги: Дэвид Кан «Взломщики кодов»; Пыхалов И. В. «Спецслужбы США».
Первоисточник: http://www.ridus.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 12
  1. Николай С. 16 июля 2013 07:58
    Желаю больше таких провалов американцам
    1. ATATA 16 июля 2013 08:04
      Цитата: Николай С.
      Желаю больше таких провалов американцам

      А что такого этот Сноуден сказал, чего кто то не знал?
      Почему считают Сноудена провалом АНБ?
      А Сноуден, это не засланный казачек?
      Может весь, этот шум с его выдачей просто операция прикрытия?

      Задумайтесь над таким вариантом. Ценных перебежчиков не держат в транзитной зоне, а быстро и без шума прячут.
      1. Игорь39 16 июля 2013 09:36
        У нас же тоже не дураки сидят в конторах,ему еще придется подтвердить свою ценность,но власти говорят что в России он временно может находится а после соблюдения формальностей на все четыре стороны.
      2. Norady 16 июля 2013 12:00
        тоже считаю что к провалу этот кадр никакого отношения не имеет, максимум сноуден медийный инструмент внутренних разборок власть имущих элит в сша/англии/израиле. такой же клоун как ассанж.

        Но насколько понимаю, большинство людей, даже из местной аудитории читателей до сих пор считают, что конкуренция и борьба в мире происходит между странами...
        Norady
      3. fedorovith 16 июля 2013 15:34
        Сделают все законно и демократично как сейчас требует "международное сообщество".И прятать не придется.Они сами его передали нам аннулировав паспорт.За что им сердечное спасибо.
        fedorovith
      4. KazaK Bo 16 июля 2013 16:03
        Цитата: ATATA
        А что такого этот Сноуден сказал, чего кто то не знал?

        Многое чего только мы не знаем...о многом догадываемся ...Но это темы для обсуждения на кухне и за кружкой пива.
        А для официальных органов государства нужны или документы...или живые свидетели! Тогда уже можно разговаривать не только за бокалом пива!
        Да! Я очень и очень не уверен, что то все что сказал СНОУДЕН опубликовано в печати... да и нужно ли оно...это ... нам, широкой публике. Пусть спецы разбираются в системе программирования и кодирования аМеров... это их "хлеб".
  2. shpuntik 16 июля 2013 13:01
    Хорошая статья, в кратце всё. Думаю Сноудену есть, что сказать нашим специалистам, не даром он в аэропорту засиделся.
    Да и вообще ему "респект" и "уважуха"-один, против такой машины, попёр. На прожигателя жизни, наркомана не похож, видимо действительно идейный.
    shpuntik
    1. НИКТО КРОМЕ НАС 16 июля 2013 23:09
      В нашей истории тоже были идейные ,денег от врагов не брали ,сдавали своих по идейным соображениям ,если интересно почитать про генерала Полякова который дошёл до самых верхов по службе отвечал за агентуру и более полувека сливал всё амерам ,причём вызвался сам ,они ещё долго думали что подстава....до сих пор не известно сколько народу он сдал ......расстрелян был по моему в 86..ни в чём не покаялся.....
      НИКТО КРОМЕ НАС
  3. AVV 16 июля 2013 13:15
    Это еще не провал,провал будет ,когда вся информация выльется и попадет в прессу,вот чего так боятся американцы !Тогда будет скандал мирового масштаба!!!Мало не покажется!!!
    AVV
    1. Norady 16 июля 2013 15:38
      Товарищи, где критическое мышление? Неужели не видите что весь сноуден это медийный цирк, все что он "разоблачил" и так было всем известно, шпионаж это штатная работа всех разведок. А тем что он "выдаст" методики работы пока только грозятся. Даже если что-то такое "выдаст" наверняка уже не будет иметь ценности.
      Посмотрите как чуть ли не ежечасно обновляется информация как сноуден вкусно покушал, как сходил в туалет, что он хочет не просто перемещаться по территории России, а хочет иметь спецсвидетельство ...
      Ну бред же
      Norady
  4. IRBIS 16 июля 2013 17:16
    Лично меня удивляет другое. Вполне обычный работник знает такое, что он вообще должен даже мочиться под усиленной охраной. У них что, другие принципы разделения информации? Или это кретинизм, возведенный в абсолют? Каждый перебежчик или искатель справедливости вывозит вагон секретов, которые реально подрывают национальную безопасность. Асанж, Сноуден - уровень информированности тянет минимум на зам. шефа любой разведки мира. Не странно?
    И тут стоит задуматься. Ведь если это не те дефекты в развитии, о которых я упомянул, то мы имеем дело с хорошо продуманной и планово осуществляемой операцией, цели которой остаются тайной.
    Лично я никогда не считал всех американцев полными кретинами.
    1. carbofo 17 июля 2013 07:55
      Цитата: IRBIS
      Лично я никогда не считал всех американцев полными кретинами


      Неподконтрольность развращает, и делает даже адекватных людей - непроходимыми тупицами.
  5. ГЕО 16 июля 2013 21:21
    Цитата: ATATA
    Цитата: Николай С.
    Желаю больше таких провалов американцам

    А что такого этот Сноуден сказал, чего кто то не знал?
    Почему считают Сноудена провалом АНБ?
    А Сноуден, это не засланный казачек?
    Может весь, этот шум с его выдачей просто операция прикрытия?

    Задумайтесь над таким вариантом. Ценных перебежчиков не держат в транзитной зоне, а быстро и без шума прячут.

    а Вы больше газет читайте. Вы видели его в транзитной зоне ?
    ГЕО
  6. Юрий Я. 16 июля 2013 22:01
    Цитата: Norady
    Товарищи, где критическое мышление? Неужели не видите что весь сноуден это медийный цирк, все что он "разоблачил" и так было всем известно, шпионаж это штатная работа всех разведок. А тем что он "выдаст" методики работы пока только грозятся. Даже если что-то такое "выдаст" наверняка уже не будет иметь ценности.

    Имеет ли не имеет это оценят наши специалисты, думаю у нас тоже не абсолютные лохи. То что озвучено по любому цены не имеет. Если даже прикрытие не думаю что он попадёт куда-то, в шибко секретные места.
    Так можно фантазировать что угодно. А может это наша операция, с побегом.
  7. kosmos84 16 июля 2013 22:13
    прикольное фото

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня