Military Review

The British military commit suicide more often than they die in battle

12

During the 2012 year, the number of British soldiers who committed suicide significantly exceeds the number of those killed in the fighting during the same period, reports the BBC. Over the past year, according to statistics, 21 soldiers of the active army, as well as 29 veterans, made shortfalls with life. In Afghanistan, during the fighting against the Taliban, the British military 40 died during the same time.


Also for the 2012 year, the death of seven soldiers of the active army as a result of suicide was documented, with respect to another 14 man the results of the investigation have not yet been announced.

The Department of Defense of the United Kingdom argues that the level of suicide, as well as post-traumatic stress disorder among personnel is lower than among the civilian population.

The British government does not keep statistics of suicides among the former military. However, from independent sources, the BBC has learned that 2012 veterans committed suicide in 29 a year.

One of the soldiers in the army who decided to settle accounts with life was Junior Sergeant Dan Collins, a participant in Operation Panther Claw in the Afghan province of Helmend in the summer of 2009. Collins was wounded twice and lost his leg as a result of an anti-personnel mine explosion. His friend was torn to pieces by an explosion right in front of his eyes.

On the last day of his life, Collins left home, put on his military uniform, and traveled by car to the mountains in Pembrokeshire, West Wales. He recorded a farewell video on his mobile phone, then hanged himself.

According to psychiatry doctor Claudia Herbert, PTSD is a natural reaction of the body to severe shocks. It may take years before the disease manifests itself, but, according to Herbert, the disease is curable, if you begin therapy as soon as possible.

The Defense Ministry claims that only less than 3% of servicemen suffer from this disorder, which is lower than in the whole country. However, Dr. Herbert stresses, post-traumatic stress disorder itself should not lead to suicide.

The former head of the British armed forces, General Richard Dannat, is confident that the government must monitor the suicide rate among veterans.

"For me, it is absolutely obvious that you need to start doing this, because when you have some statistics, you can start fighting with it," he says.

At the same time, the Ministry of Defense states that it is not ready to talk about individual cases, however, it has already allocated more than $ 11 million to provide intensive psychological assistance for all who feel the need.
Originator:
http://russian.rt.com/
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Russ69
    Russ69 16 July 2013 09: 52 New
    +2
    The Americans have almost the same garbage (too lazy to look for a link), only there the amount goes to hundreds.
  2. raja666
    raja666 16 July 2013 10: 30 New
    0
    In the army, moral burdens are very strong especially in hot spots, the roof is blowing away. I have Chechen friends; most of them are very debris and aggressive especially when under vodka. In America and England, the situation is even worse; nobody needs them there.
  3. andrejwz
    andrejwz 16 July 2013 11: 21 New
    +2
    Quote: Russ69
    The Americans have almost the same garbage (too lazy to look for a link), only there the amount goes to hundreds.

    The number of suicides is directly proportional to the number of full-time psychologists. The more people are convinced that due to the experienced stressful situation, inadequate reactions are natural and simply cannot fail to be present in a "normal" person, the more distorted his idea of ​​the environment and himself.
  4. Sochi
    Sochi 16 July 2013 11: 43 New
    +3
    The snapped generation ... The fruits of Western civilization and pacifism.
    1. Bashkaus
      Bashkaus 16 July 2013 12: 44 New
      +4
      It would be interesting for me to look at the statistics of suicides of WWII veterans. After all, the fact that our grandfathers and grandmothers survived does not make any comparison with what the brave NATO soldiers survived.
      Please take my question seriously, if the information on this subject?
      1. Lord of the Sith
        Lord of the Sith 16 July 2013 13: 21 New
        0
        Such statistics are neither among our veterans, nor among their veterans. Then life cost less and they did not pay attention to it. This can be found in the archives of the Ministry of Health, you can find general statistics on suicides and select those who have served from the total number. But it will take you many months and the numbers will be approximate.
      2. Sochi
        Sochi 16 July 2013 15: 07 New
        0
        Quote: Bashkaus
        Please take my question seriously, if the information on this subject?

        As far as I know, there are no such statistics. For example, I remember that in our time a guy who did not serve in the army was considered (who did not serve us) flawed, and they prepared for the army (school, guys who served) ... Of course we had all sorts, but no one committed suicide. And after the war, many destinies were broken ... not everyone was able to cope.
  5. Bekzat
    Bekzat 16 July 2013 11: 58 New
    0
    Greetings to all, they end up with them, and with us, most drink and drink.
    1. yurii p
      yurii p 16 July 2013 15: 06 New
      0
      also a peculiar way of living from life
  6. Bashkaus
    Bashkaus 16 July 2013 12: 39 New
    0
    "To kill oneself because of love is madness, because of loss of fortune - baseness, because of offended honor - weakness. A warrior who arbitrarily takes his own life is no better than a deserter fleeing the battlefield before the battle"
    Napoleon-I
    1. C2H5OH
      C2H5OH 16 July 2013 15: 56 New
      +1
      . A warrior who arbitrarily takes his own life is no better than a deserter who flees before the battle from the battlefield. "
      Napoleon-I ..... obviously these beautiful words the commander came up with while sitting in his tent and sipping a vinyl from a crystal glass holding it with his delicate and clean aristocratic pens in white gloves .... to see how he speaks somewhere in the forefront during a battle under fire or in a dirty trench littered with the corpses of comrades for several days, dirty lousy and hungry request .... I’m about to go to the bathtub for a swim and I’ll open a beer and at the computer I’m not even writing that winked .... but the psyche of a person is not iron and everyone has a limit and it can happen to any person that he cannot live on ... say such as Napoleon about his soldiers who shed blood for their country but could not stand it and settled the bill it’s all the same with life what to piss them on the grave .... so I think request
  7. Russian officer
    Russian officer 16 July 2013 14: 01 New
    +1
    Quote: Raja666
    I have Chechen friends; most of them are very debris and aggressive especially when under vodka.

    Does this happen to them when they remember how they killed the Russians?
  8. Lech from ZATULINKI
    Lech from ZATULINKI 16 July 2013 16: 15 New
    +1
    I have a video where a certain ASLANCHIK kills a Russian woman - she begs him not to kill. ASLANCHIK he s..uka calmly cut her throat - monkey underdeveloped I have no words just to talk about it.
    1. C2H5OH
      C2H5OH 16 July 2013 16: 51 New
      +5
      it’s all from the fact that the Russians have no blood feud ... otherwise it would have been different and, in general, they give such terms for killing a person that no one is afraid of them request ... it would be nice if the person killed another person, they catch him prove the guilt in court and pass on to the relatives of the deceased and they decide what to do with him ... then they would have lived differently .... one could say soul to soul. ..particularly with visiting gentlemen from different republics
  9. shpuntik
    shpuntik 16 July 2013 17: 08 New
    +2
    By Senka and a hat. Judas also hanged himself, everyone has a conscience, this is the voice of God in man. It’s just that someone doesn’t hear her, but most of them are normal people, conscientious. And when normal people are forced to kill innocents, then this happens.
    To kill a person, a fair reason is needed, then there will be increased motivation for action, and then it is disgusting to a person, because it is unnatural. That's when you protect the family, the Motherland, then it’s much easier, the conscience is clear. But even in this case, it is better to take a testimony of yourself, a priest, repent of God's mortal sin, prepare for the sacrament of Christ (communion), take part in the holy ordinances of Christ, only then the evil spirit of despondency recedes, the grace of the Holy Spirit is given to the person.
    http://www.hram-v-tesovo.ru/molitva/02/04/
    This happens by the invasion of the Holy Spirit, according to the word of Christ: "He who eats My flesh and drinks My Blood abides in Me, and I in him." This is a universal recipe for drunkenness, suicide. Because the "aerobatics" of the enemy of the human race is to force his hands on himself to impose. Why exactly this? Because God gave free will to his creation, in which he does not even intervene, and when a person takes his own life, he voluntarily renounces what he has for free, not from himself.
    Therefore, the Church of Christ does not pray for suicides.
    This is an Orthodox view of this problem. This is known by church people who go to the service every Sunday (fulfilling the commandment: “Work six days, the seventh day to God”), and those who wear the cross as a talisman or amulet are usually not aware of the topic, since Christians only by name, but not by name case.
    That's basically all I wanted to say. Thank you for the attention hi .
  10. individual
    individual 16 July 2013 20: 32 New
    +1
    Advocates of legal affairs do not commit suicide.
    The roof is blown away from injustice by a world order or an unhealthy psyche.

Британские военные совершают суицид чаще, чем умирают в бою

Британские военные совершают суицид чаще, чем умирают в бою

За 2012 год количество британских военных, покончивших с собой, значительно превышает число погибших в ходе боевых действий за тот же период, сообщает BBC. За прошедший год, согласно статистике, счёты с жизнью свёл 21 солдат действующей армии, а также 29 ветеранов. В Афганистане, в ходе боевых действий против талибов, за то же время погибли 40 британских военных.

Также за 2012 год документирована смерть семерых солдат действующей армии в результате суицида, в отношении ещё 14 человек результаты расследования пока не оглашены.

В Министерстве обороны Великобритании утверждают, что уровень самоубийств, а также посттравматического стрессового расстройства среди личного состава ниже, чем среди гражданского населения.


Британское правительство не ведёт статистику самоубийств среди бывших военных. Однако из независимых источников BBC стало известно, что за 2012 год самоубийство совершили 29 ветеранов.

Одним из солдат действующей армии, решивших свести счёты с жизнью, был младший сержант Дэн Коллинз, участник операции «Коготь пантеры» в афганской провинции Гильменд летом 2009 года. Коллинз два раза был ранен и потерял ногу в результате взрыва противопехотной мины. Его друга разорвало на куски взрывом прямо у него на глазах.

В последний день своей жизни Коллинз покинул дом, надел военную форму и отправился на машине в горы в графстве Пембрукшир в Западном Уэльсе. Он записал прощальный видеоролик на свой мобильный телефон, после чего повесился.

По словам доктора психиатрии Клаудиа Херберта, ПТСР - это естественная реакция организма на сильные потрясения. Могут пройти годы, прежде чем заболевание проявит себя, но, как утверждает Херберт, болезнь излечима, если начать терапию как можно раньше.

В Минобороны утверждают, что лишь менее 3% военнослужащих страдают от этого расстройства, что ниже, чем в целом по стране. Однако, подчёркивает доктор Херберт, само по себе посттравматическое стрессовое расстройство не должно приводить к суициду.

Бывший глава британских вооружённых сил, генерал Ричард Даннат уверен, что правительство обязано отслеживать уровень самоубийств среди ветеранов.

«Для меня совершенно очевидно, что этим нужно начать заниматься, поскольку, когда у вас есть некая статистика, вы можете начать с этим бороться», - говорит он.

При этом Министерство обороны заявляет, что не готово говорить об индивидуальных случаях, однако уже выделило более $11 млн на обеспечение интенсивной психологической помощи для всех, кто испытывает в этом необходимость.
Первоисточник: http://russian.rt.com/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 12
  1. русс69 16 июля 2013 09:52
    У американцев, такая же фигня почти (лень ссылку искать), только там количество идет на сотни.
  2. раджа666 16 июля 2013 10:30
    В армии моральные нагрузки очень сильные особенно в горячих точках, крышу сносит айда ушел. Друзья есть у меня чеченские большинство из них очень депровые и агрессивные особенно под водкой когда. В америке и англии тем более ситуация еще хуже никому они там не нужны.
    раджа666
  3. andrejwz 16 июля 2013 11:21
    Цитата: русс69
    У американцев, такая же фигня почти (лень ссылку искать), только там количество идет на сотни.

    Количество самоубийств прямо пропорционально количеству штатных психологов. Чем больше человека убеждают, что вследствие пережитой стрессовой ситуации, неадекватные реакции естественны и просто не могут не присутствовать у "нормального" человека, тем искаженней его представление об окружающем и самом себе.
  4. Сочи 16 июля 2013 11:43
    Разнеженное поколение... Плоды западной цивилизации и пацифизма.
    1. Башкаус 16 июля 2013 12:44
      Мне вот интересно было бы взглянуть статистику самоубйиств ветеранов ВОВ. Ведь то, что пережили наши деды и бабушки не идет нивкакое сравнение с тем, что пережили бравые натовские солдаты.
      Прошу с серьезностью отнестись к моему вопросу, если информация на этот счет?
      Башкаус
      1. Владыка Ситх 16 июля 2013 13:21
        Такой статистики нет ни у нас по нашим ветеранам, ни у них по их ветеранам. Тогда жизнь стоила меньше и на это не обращали внимания. Это может в архивах министерства здравохранения можно найти общую статистику по суицидам и вот из общего числа выделить тех, кто прошел службу. Но на это у вас уйдет много месяцев и цифры будут приблизительные.
      2. Сочи 16 июля 2013 15:07
        Цитата: Башкаус
        Прошу с серьезностью отнестись к моему вопросу, если информация на этот счет?

        Насколько я знаю такой статистики нет. Я, например, помню что в наше время парень не служивший в армии считался (не нами служившими) ущербным, и к армии готовились (школа, ослужившие парни)...У нас конечно всякие были, но никто не не покончил с собой. А после войны много судеб было поломанно... далеко не все смогли справиться.
  5. Bekzat 16 июля 2013 11:58
    Приветствую всех, у них кончают ссобой, а у нас в большинстве пьют и спиваются.
    1. yurii p 16 июля 2013 15:06
      тоже своеобразныи способ уити из жизни
      yurii p
  6. Башкаус 16 июля 2013 12:39
    "Лишить себя жизни из-за любви - есть сумасшествие, из-за потери состояния - низость, из-за оскорбленной чести - слабость. Воин, самовольно лишающий себя жизни, ничуть не лучше дезертира, убегающего пред битвой с поля сражения"
    Наполеон-I
    Башкаус
    1. С2H5OH 16 июля 2013 15:56
      . Воин, самовольно лишающий себя жизни, ничуть не лучше дезертира, убегающего пред битвой с поля сражения"
      Наполеон-I.....очевидно вот эти вот красивые слова полководец придумал сидя у себя в шатре и потягивая винишко из хрустального бокальчика держа его своими нежными и чистинькими аристократическими ручками в белых перчаточках....посмотреть бы как он заговорит окажись где нибудь в первых рядах во время сражения под обстрелом или в грязном окопе заваленном трупами товарищей на несколько дней грязный вшивый и голодный request ....я вот счас в ванну искупаться схожу и пивась открою да за компом еще и не такое насочиняю winked ....а психика у человека не железная и предел есть у каждого и с любым человеком может случиться такое что не сможет он жить дальше...сказать такое как наполеон про своих солдат которые проливали кровь за свою страну но не выдержали и свели счеты с жизнью всеравно что поссать им на могилу....я так вот думаю request
      С2H5OH
  7. Русский офицер 16 июля 2013 14:01
    Цитата: раджа666
    Друзья есть у меня чеченские большинство из них очень депровые и агрессивные особенно под водкой когда.

    Это у них происходит когда они вспоминают как убивали русских?
    Русский офицер
  8. Леха с ЗАТУЛИНКИ 16 июля 2013 16:15
    Есть у меня видео где некий АСЛАНЧИК убивает русскую женщину - она его умоляет не убивай АСЛАНЧИК он с..ука спокойно ей горло перерезал - обезьяна недоразвитая у меня нет слов просто об этом говорить.
    Леха с ЗАТУЛИНКИ
    1. С2H5OH 16 июля 2013 16:51
      это все от того что у русских кровной мести нету...иначе все было бы по другому и вообще за убийство человека дают такие сроки что их можно сказать никто не боится request ... хорошо бы такой закон что если человек убил другого человека то его ловят доказывают вину в суде и передают родственникам погибшего и они решают что с ним делать...вот тогда бы зажили по другому....можно сказать душа в душу...особенно с приезжими господами из разных республик
      С2H5OH
  9. shpuntik 16 июля 2013 17:08
    По Сеньке и шапка. Иуда то-же повесился, совесть есть у каждого, это глас Божий в человеке. Просто кто-то её не слышит, но большинство наоборот-нормальные люди, совестливые. И вот когда нормальных людей заставляют убивать невинных, то так потом и происходит.
    Для убийства человека нужна справедливая причина, тогда будет повышенная мотивация к действию, и то человеку это противно, потому что противоестественно. Вот когда семью защищаешь, Родину-мать, тогда проще намного-совесть чиста. Но даже в этом случае, лучше взять в свидетельство себе, священника, покаяться в смертном грехе Богу, подготовится к таинству Христову(причастию), причастится пречистых Христовых таинств, вот только тогда злой дух уныния отступает, даётся человеку благодать Святого Духа.
    http://www.hram-v-tesovo.ru/molitva/02/04/
    Происходит это нашествием Духа Святого, по слову Христа: "Ядущий Мою Плоть и пиющий Мою Кровь пребывает во Мне, и Я в нем". Это универсальный рецепт от пьянства, самоубийства. Потому как "высший пилотаж" у врага рода человеческого-это заставить его руки на себя самому наложить. Почему именно это? Потому что Бог дал свободу воли своему творению, в которую даже сам не вмешивается, и когда человек лишает себя жизни сам, он добровольно отказывается от того, что имеет бесплатно, не от себя.
    Поэтому-то церковь Христова за самоубийц не молится.
    Это православный взгляд на эту проблему. Это знают люди воцерковлённые, ходящие на службу каждое воскресение (исполняющие заповедь: "шесть дней работай, седьмой день Богу"), а те кто крестик носит как талисман или оберег обычно не в курсе темы, так как христиане только по названию, но не по делу.
    Вот в принципе и всё, что хотел сказать. Спасибо за внимание hi .
    shpuntik
  10. individ 16 июля 2013 20:32
    Защитники правового дела жизнь самоубийством не кончают.
    Крышу сносит от не справедливости устройства мира или нездоровой психики.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня