Military Review

India intends to do military robotics

7
Currently, the leading countries of the world are working on the creation of unmanned and remotely controlled military equipment of various classes. The practice of using such ground, flying and floating devices has vividly demonstrated their effectiveness. Remotely controlled vehicles are capable of performing a wide range of tasks, including those in hazardous conditions, without putting their operator at risk. In this regard, such a direction of military equipment has a special priority and attracts the military of the whole world. As it became known, the list of countries involved in the creation of their unmanned vehicles will soon be replenished.


In early June, a publication appeared in the Indian edition of the India Times with some excerpts from an interview with the head of the Defense Research and Development Organization (DRDO). As the Director of the Organization, A. Chander, said, at present one of the top priorities in the development of Indian military science and technology is the creation of remotely controlled equipment. In this regard, DRDO began a research program, the purpose of which will be to develop the appearance of promising combat unmanned vehicles and robots, and then the creation of an appropriate technical project.

Prototype "Robokiller" - Daksh / i46.tinypic.com


Chander believes that the future of the war is for unmanned or robotic systems. In the near future, such devices will support living soldiers, but in the future they will begin to expand their sphere of application. One of the prerequisites for such an expansion of Indian scientists believe the ability to save the lives of their soldiers. A combat robot or similar remotely controlled equipment, while performing the task, will allow not to send soldiers to the front line. In the context of the work of the Indian armed forces, such capabilities, among other things, will be useful for border patrols. As an example of the area where fighting robots can serve, A. Chander cited the so-called Line of Control - the demarcation line separating India and Pakistan and passing through the territory of the former principality of Jammu and Kashmir.

Despite the recent start of work in this direction, Indian scientists and engineers have already determined the approximate timing and main tasks. It is assumed that the bulk of the work will be completed over the next ten years. At the same time, researchers face very difficult tasks, because a promising combat robot must possess some elements of artificial intelligence. Therefore, the entire program is divided into several stages, each of which will have its own goals.

Thus, during the first stage of the development of a combat robot, it is planned to “teach” electronics to recognize combatants and civilians, as well as to identify its soldiers. Already there are certain developments on the topic of pattern recognition and similar tasks seem feasible. At the same time, Indian scientists will have to seriously work on this issue. Then the robot will receive all the necessary "knowledge and skills" needed to work in combat conditions, including at the forefront, in the same line with the living soldiers. In the final stages of the program, it is planned to ensure the full-fledged work of the combat robot in various conditions. Among other things, it is planned to create a certain system with the help of which an autonomous device will be able to maintain contact with soldiers and exchange information with them. Other details of the project, for obvious reasons, have not yet been announced. According to A. Chander, such studies are already underway in several countries and there are some successes.

The problem of artificial intelligence has long been confronted by scientists, but so far there is not a single such system that fully meets all requirements. Because of this news about promising Indian project caused a shaft of identical comments. The public interested in science and technology doubts that India will be able to solve all existing problems on its own and create a functioning system with artificial intelligence capable of performing tasks, at least in its own field.

The second remarkable question concerning the Indian project of combat robots relates to the planned dates for its completion. It is quite clear that in the next ten years or more, other countries that also have military robotics projects will not sit back and continue their research. Thus, by the time the Indian project is completed, similar systems may also appear abroad. Because of this, India will have to not only develop a unique system, but also participate in a kind of race with other countries that have already launched their projects.

Another specific task for Indian scientists will be the elaboration of the appearance of a promising military means. In the best case, the new robot will go to serve in the mid-twenties, because of what is required today to analyze the features of current hostilities and possible conflicts of the future. According to the results of this analysis, you will need to create a complete list of requirements for advanced automatic technology. Such a document will determine the course of the entire future program and therefore its creation is of great importance. If you incorrectly define the requirements for a combat robot, the shortcomings will manifest themselves only in 10-12 years, which makes their correction much more complicated.

However, the Indian Defense Research and Development Organization firmly believes in the need for research on autonomous robotic combat tools. So far, for obvious reasons, it is too early to talk about any actual results of the project, but the intentions of Indian scientists attract attention and are of great interest to specialists and people interested in this topic.


On the materials of the sites:
http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com/
http://vpk-news.ru/
http://lenta.ru/
Author:
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. shvindin2012
    shvindin2012 18 July 2013 14: 11 New
    +1
    The United States has been and remains the leader in military robotics. They have this industry of the defense industry for a long time established and well funded. Their ATLAS robot is the pearl of modern robotics: the brainchild of DARPA. They also have significant achievements in the field of artificial intelligence, for example, the ConceptNet 4.0, 5.0 system. Also, not only military, but also civilian companies such as Google, Apple, as well as other small enterprises and various size research institutes are interested in creating robots with advanced AI. Robotics cannot develop without advanced electronics. In the USA, all this has long been available. Indian specialists, as usual, will roll everything from the Americans and Japanese, as is the case with Russian armored vehicles and ships.
    1. biglow
      biglow 18 July 2013 14: 24 New
      0
      Quote: shvindin2012
      The United States has been and remains the leader in military robotics. They have this industry of the defense industry for a long time established and well funded. Their ATLAS robot is the pearl of modern robotics: the brainchild of DARPA. They also have significant achievements in the field of artificial intelligence, for example, the ConceptNet 4.0, 5.0 system. Also, not only military, but also civilian companies such as Google, Apple, as well as other small enterprises and various size research institutes are interested in creating robots with advanced AI. Robotics cannot develop without advanced electronics. In the USA, all this has long been available. Indian specialists, as usual, will roll everything from the Americans and Japanese, as is the case with Russian armored vehicles and ships.

      if you don’t do anything, it won’t work. It’s better to try and it doesn’t matter where to start copying or imitation. The basis of robotics is precise mechanics and light alloys, and electronics can be any, you don't need extra compactness and super energy efficiency everywhere. If Russia connects to this business then we’ll catch up and overtake
    2. wei
      wei 18 July 2013 22: 51 New
      0
      In the USA, all this has long been available. Indian specialists, as usual, will roll everything from the Americans and the Japanese,

      I don’t think so in India, like in China, a good production base about programmers is generally silent
      IMHO with this task, if you want to cope with the forces
  2. Alexanderlaskov
    Alexanderlaskov 18 July 2013 21: 18 New
    0
    Robotics is the future. A future soldier on a computer will control tanks and planes. Americans are striving for this. Then they organize, as in the terminator, an uprising of their machines. They will tell the whole world that robots are killing you.
  3. Starover_Z
    Starover_Z 19 July 2013 00: 16 New
    0
    Я так думаю, что индийцы теперь ждут, кто придёт теперь им "на помощь" в создании роботов, - программно-математического обеспечения по их запросам.
  4. Alexanderlaskov
    Alexanderlaskov 19 July 2013 12: 22 New
    0
    In India, it means they are trying to make robots. Cool. And how we are doing is interesting.
    1. Tyvinec
      Tyvinec 4 August 2013 08: 24 New
      0
      An analogue of the same robot was still developed about 5 years ago. And on the topic, finally, the Hindu code will be not only on pitch, but also on combat robots. ; D

Индия намерена заняться военной робототехникой

В настоящее время ведущие страны мира работают над созданием беспилотной и дистанционно управляемой военной техники различных классов. Практика применения подобных наземных, летающих и плавающих устройств наглядно показала их эффективность. Дистанционно управляемые аппараты способны выполнять широкий круг задач, в том числе и в опасных условиях, не подвергая риску своего оператора. В связи с этим подобное направление военной техники имеет особый приоритет и привлекает военных всего мира. Как стало известно, в скором времени пополнится список стран, занимающихся созданием своей беспилотной техники.

В начале июня в индийском издании India Times появилась публикация с некоторыми выдержками из интервью главы Организации оборонных исследований и разработок (Defence Research and Development Organisation – DRDO). Как рассказал директор Организации А. Чандер, в настоящее время одним из самых приоритетных направлений развития индийской военной науки и техники является создание дистанционно управляемой техники. В связи с этим DRDO начала исследовательскую программу, целью которой станет выработка облика перспективных боевых беспилотных аппаратов и роботов, а затем и создание соответствующего технического проекта.

Индия намерена заняться военной робототехникой
Прототип "робокиллера" - Daksh / i46.tinypic.com



Чандер считает, что будущее войны за беспилотными или роботизированными системами. В ближайшее время подобные устройства будут оказывать поддержку живым солдатам, но в будущем начнут расширять сферу своего применения. Одной из предпосылок для такого расширения индийские ученые считают возможность сохранить жизни своих солдат. Боевой робот или подобная дистанционно управляемая техника, выполняя поставленную задачу, позволит не посылать на передовую солдат. В контексте работы индийских вооруженных сил такие возможности, среди прочего пригодятся для патрулирования границ. В качестве примера местности, где могут служить боевые роботы, А. Чандер привел так называемую Линию контроля – демаркационную линию, разделяющую Индию и Пакистан и проходящую по территории бывшего княжества Джамму и Кашмир.

Несмотря на недавнее начало работ в этом направлении, индийские ученые и инженеры уже определились с примерными сроками и основными задачами. Предполагается, что основная часть работ будет завершена в течение ближайших десяти лет. При этом перед исследователями стоят очень сложные задачи, поскольку перспективный боевой робот должен обладать некоторыми элементами искусственного интеллекта. Поэтому вся программа разделена на несколько этапов, каждый из которых будет иметь свои собственные цели.

Так, в ходе первого этапа разработки боевого робота планируется «научить» электронику распознавать комбатантов и мирных граждан, а также определять своих солдат. Уже существуют определенные наработки по теме распознавания образов и подобные задачи выглядят выполнимыми. В то же время, индийским ученым придется серьезно потрудиться над этим вопросом. Затем робот получит все необходимые «знания и умения», нужные для работы в боевых условиях, в том числе и на переднем крае, в одном строю с живыми солдатами. На последних этапах программы планируется обеспечить полноценную работу боевого робота в различных условиях. Среди прочего предполагается создать некую систему, при помощи которой автономный аппарат сможет поддерживать контакт с солдатами и обмениваться с ними информацией. Иные подробности проекта, по понятным причинам, пока не оглашались. По словам А. Чандера, подобные исследования уже идут в нескольких странах и имеются некоторые успехи.

Проблема искусственного интеллекта давно стоит перед учеными, но до сих пор не существует ни одной такой системы, полностью отвечающей всем требованиям. Из-за этого новость о перспективном индийском проекте вызвала вал одинаковых комментариев. Интересующаяся наукой и техникой общественность сомневается в том, что Индия сможет самостоятельно решить все имеющиеся проблемы и создать действующую систему с искусственным интеллектом, способную выполнять задачи, как минимум, в своей сфере.

Второй примечательный вопрос, касающийся индийского проекта боевых роботов, относится к запланированным срокам его завершения. Вполне понятно, что в ближайшие десять или более лет другие страны, у которых также имеются проекты военной робототехники, не будут сидеть сложа руки и продолжат свои исследования. Таким образом, к моменту завершения индийского проекта за рубежом также могут появиться аналогичные системы. Из-за этого Индии придется не просто разрабатывать уникальную систему, но и участвовать в своеобразной гонке с другими странами, уже запустившими свои проекты.

Еще одной специфической задачей для индийских ученых станет проработка облика перспективного боевого средства. В самом лучшем случае новый робот отправится служить в середине двадцатых годов, из-за чего уже сегодня требуется проанализировать особенности нынешних боевых действий и возможных конфликтов будущего. По результатам этого анализа нужно будет создать полноценный список требований к перспективной автоматической технике. Такой документ определит ход всей дальнейшей программы и поэтому его создание имеет очень большое значение. При неправильном определении требований к боевому роботу недочеты проявят себя только через 10-12 лет, из-за чего их исправление значительно усложнится.

Тем не менее, индийская Организация оборонных исследований и разработок твердо уверена в необходимости исследований по тематике автономных роботизированных боевых средств. Пока, по понятным причинам, рано говорить о каких-либо фактических результатах проекта, но намерения индийских ученых привлекают внимание и представляют большой интерес для специалистов и людей, интересующихся этой темой.


По материалам сайтов:
http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com/
http://vpk-news.ru/
http://lenta.ru/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 7
  1. shvindin2012 18 июля 2013 14:11
    Лидером в области военной робототехники были и остаются США. У них эта отрасль ОПК давно налажена и хорошо финансируется. Их робот ATLAS- жемчужина современной робототехники: детище DARPA. У них также имеются значительные наработки в области искусственного интеллекта, например, система ConceptNet 4.0, 5.0. Также в создании роботов с продвинутым ИИ заинтересованы не только военные, но и гражданские компании, такие как Google, Apple, а также прочие мелкие предприятия и различного размера НИИ. Робототехника не может развиваться без продвинутой электроники. В США это всё уже давно имеется в наличии. Индийские специалисты, как обычно,скатают всё у американцев и японцев, как в случае с российской бронетехникой и кораблями.
    shvindin2012
    1. biglow 18 июля 2013 14:24
      Цитата: shvindin2012
      Лидером в области военной робототехники были и остаются США. У них эта отрасль ОПК давно налажена и хорошо финансируется. Их робот ATLAS- жемчужина современной робототехники: детище DARPA. У них также имеются значительные наработки в области искусственного интеллекта, например, система ConceptNet 4.0, 5.0. Также в создании роботов с продвинутым ИИ заинтересованы не только военные, но и гражданские компании, такие как Google, Apple, а также прочие мелкие предприятия и различного размера НИИ. Робототехника не может развиваться без продвинутой электроники. В США это всё уже давно имеется в наличии. Индийские специалисты, как обычно,скатают всё у американцев и японцев, как в случае с российской бронетехникой и кораблями.

      если ничего не делать то ничего и не получится.Лучше пробовать и неважно с чего начать копирования или подражания .Основа робототехники точная механика и легкие сплавы ,а электроника может быть любой не везде нужна сверх компактность и сверх энерго эффективность .Если к этому делу Россия подключится то и догоним и перегоним
      biglow
    2. wei 18 июля 2013 22:51
      В США это всё уже давно имеется в наличии. Индийские специалисты, как обычно,скатают всё у американцев и японцев,

      я так не думаю у индии как и у китая хорошая производственная база про программистов вообще молчу
      ИМХО с этой задачей при желании справиться по силам
      wei
  2. Alexanderlaskov 18 июля 2013 21:18
    За робототехникой будущее. Солдат будущего на компьютере будет управлять танками и самолетами. Американцы к этому стремятся. Потом организуют как в терминаторе восстание своих машин. Скажут всему миру что роботы сами вас убивают.
    Alexanderlaskov
  3. Starover_Z 19 июля 2013 00:16
    Я так думаю, что индийцы теперь ждут, кто придёт теперь им "на помощь" в создании роботов, - программно-математического обеспечения по их запросам.
  4. Alexanderlaskov 19 июля 2013 12:22
    В Индии значит роботов пытаются делать. Круто. А у нас как дела обстоят интересно.
    Alexanderlaskov
    1. Tyvinec 4 августа 2013 08:24
      Аналог такого же робота был еще разработан лет 5 назад. А по теме наконец индуский код будет не только на пека, но и на боевых роботах. ;D
      Tyvinec

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня