Military Review

Americans will send a "smart" airship to Afghanistan

1
October 15, the US Army will send a supercomputer to Afghanistan, but it will be installed not on a well-guarded base or in an underground bunker, but on a huge dirigible that can fly at high altitude for a week and watch the vast territory.

This is the result of an ambitious, worth 211 million dollars, project Blue Devil. At present, this airship, which is a huge aircraft longer than 400 meters, has yet to be assembled. The idea of ​​the military is to equip the airship with a dozen different sensors, which will be constantly interconnected. The supercomputer will process the data coming from them and automatically direct the sensors in the current direction, for example, at the person reporting the impending ambush. Airborne airship equipment should minimize the need for analyst people. The goal is to get information and bring it to ground forces in less than 15 seconds. Against the background of today's cumbersome and long-term data exchange between different observational platforms and control centers, this sounds like a fantasy. However, if successful, Blue Devil will change the nature of observation from the air and will minimize the time between requesting information and receiving it.

Americans will send a "smart" airship to Afghanistan

In local conflicts, one giant airship can replace hundreds of unmanned aerial vehicles.

The first stage of the Blue Devil project is in full swing: at the end of last year, four modified observation aircraft went to Afghanistan, equipped with an array of sensors being developed as part of the project to create the airship.

The second stage (assembly and equipment) will be much larger and more difficult. It is planned to build an airship on 100 m larger than a football field, the volume of 39,6 thousand m 3. The military expects such a huge aircraft to be able to get enough fuel and helium to stay in the air for a week at an altitude of almost 6 km (most airships fly at an altitude of 1 km or less).

However, the main advantage of Blue Devil is not the size, height or duration of the flight, but complex equipment and software. In addition to an array of sensors, such as listening devices, day / night video cameras, communications equipment and others, Blue Devil will be equipped with an onboard surveillance system for the vast surface area of ​​the WAAS. Such a system is currently used on Reaper unmanned aircraft and represents a dozen different cameras that monitor the surface within a radius of 12 km. Sensors and all onboard equipment of the airship will be installed on retractable pallets developed by Mav6 LLC, making it easy to change the configuration and maintain the aircraft.

WAAS can use 96 cameras and produce every hour up to 274 a terabyte of information that, according to the military, 2000 requires people to process the footage. By transmitting information by satellite to analysts on ground bases, it is impossible to solve the problem of processing such a large amount of data, so Blue Devil will install a supercomputer equivalent to a server with 2000 single-core processors that can process up to 300 terabytes of data per hour. At the same time, he will not only send observation data to ground units, but will process information, marking the time and place of observation. Thanks to this, the commander can quickly obtain intelligence data in a certain area.
Originator:
http://rnd.cnews.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://rnd.cnews.ru
1 comment
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Honory
    Honory 8 September 2012 16: 29
    0
    I wonder if it will help them defeat the Mujahideen.

Американцы отправят в Афганистан "умный" дирижабль

15 октября армия США отправит в Афганистан суперкомпьютер, но установлен он будет не на хорошо охраняемой базе или в подземном бункере, а на огромном дирижабле, который сможет неделю летать на большой высоте и наблюдать за огромной территорией.

Это результат амбициозного, стоимостью 211 млн долл., проекта Blue Devil. В настоящее время этот дирижабль, представляющий собой огромное воздушное судно длиной более 400 м, еще предстоит собрать. Идея военных заключается в оснащении дирижабля десятком различных датчиков, которые будут постоянно связаны между собой. Суперкомпьютер будет обрабатывать поступающие с них данные и автоматически наводить датчики в актуальном направлении, например на человека, сообщающего о предстоящей засаде. Бортовое оборудование дирижабля должно сводить к минимуму потребность в людях-аналитиках. Цель – в получении информации и доведении ее до наземных сил за время, меньшее, чем 15 секунд. На фоне сегодняшнего громоздкого и длительного обмена данными между разными наблюдательными платформами и центрами управления это звучит как фантастика. Однако в случае успеха Blue Devil изменит характер наблюдения с воздуха и позволит максимально сократить время между запросом информации и ее получением.

Американцы отправят в Афганистан "умный" дирижабль

В локальных конфликтах один гигантский дирижабль может заменить сотни беспилотных летательных аппаратов


Первый этап проекта Blue Devil идет полным ходом: в конце прошлого года в Афганистан отправились четыре модифицированных самолета наблюдения, оснащенные массивом датчиков, разрабатываемых в рамках проекта по созданию дирижабля.

Второй этап (сборка и оснащение) будет значительно масштабнее и сложнее. Планируется постройка дирижабля на 100 м большего, чем футбольное поле, объемом 39,6 тыс. м3. Военные рассчитывают, что такой огромный летательный аппарат сможет взять достаточное количество топлива и гелия, чтобы находиться в воздухе неделю на высоте почти 6 км (большинство дирижаблей летают на высоте 1 км или меньше).

Однако главное достоинство Blue Devil - не размер, высота или продолжительность полета, а сложное оборудование и программное обеспечение. В дополнение к массиву датчиков, таких как подслушивающие устройства, видеокамеры день/ночь, коммуникационное оборудование и другие, Blue Devil будет оснащен бортовой системой наблюдения за обширной площадью земной поверхности WAAS. Подобная система в настоящее время используется на беспилотных самолетах Reaper и представляет собой десяток различных камер, которые наблюдают за поверхностью в радиусе 12 км. Датчики и все бортовое оборудование дирижабля будут установлены на выдвижные паллеты разработки компании Mav6 LLC, что позволит легко менять конфигурацию и обслуживать летательный аппарат.

WAAS может использовать 96 камер и производить каждый час до 274 терабайт информации что, по заявлению военных, требует 2000 человек для обработки отснятого материала. С помощью передачи информации по спутнику аналитикам на наземных базах решить задачу обработки такого количества данных невозможно, поэтому на борту Blue Devil установят суперкомпьютер, эквивалентный серверу с 2000 одноядерных процессоров, который сможет обрабатывать до 300 терабайт данных в час. При этом он будет не просто отсылать данные наблюдения наземным подразделениям, а обрабатывать информацию, помечая время и место наблюдения. Благодаря этому командир может быстро получать данные разведки в определенной местности.
Первоисточник: http://rnd.cnews.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://rnd.cnews.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
  1. Gonoriy 8 сентября 2012 16:29
    Интересно поможет ли им это разгромить моджахедов

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня