Military Review

Su-27: 40 years to the best Russian fighter

0


In January, 1971, signing the order to start work on the next aviation project, Pavel Osipovich Sukhoi, one of the best Soviet aircraft designers, hardly guessed about the scale of fame and recognition that his new design bureau would receive. And if he guessed, he didn’t betray this guess.

The new project, which was being developed as part of the PFI program (a promising front-line fighter), received a “firm” T-10 index. Him история It began two years earlier, when in the USSR they thought about the response to the American FX program (Fighter eXperimental), within the framework of which one of the best American F-15 Eagle fighters was created.



Shape definition


The Soviet General Staff determined the requirements for a promising front-line fighter: it must have a long range, take-off and landing characteristics allowing the use of short / damaged runways, maneuverability, providing superior melee air combat, traditional dog dumps, and long-range rocket combat equipment beyond visual visibility.

Maneuverability is worth a little more detail. Once in 1950-s, guided missiles firmly entered the arsenal of fighters, in the USSR and the USA it was decided that the era of maneuverable air battles was over - now all fights will take place over long distances, using rocket weapons. The Vietnam War showed the fallacy of this point of view: the MiG-17 subsonic, devoid of guided weapons, but equipped with powerful cannon, successfully fought aerial battles with supersonic fighters, significantly exceeding their maneuverability. Moreover, the speed of supersonic machines did not always guarantee them the opportunity to leave. The more advanced MiG-21 demonstrated their excellent abilities - these machines were much lighter than the main American aircraft and combined supersonic speed with high maneuverability.

As a result, the United States began to develop the aircraft, which on the one hand would not be inferior to their then-main F-4 Phantom II fighter in combat load and flight range, and on the other, was able to withstand a maneuverable air battle with the MiG-17 and MiG-21.

The fact that guns and melee fighting were early to be written off was soon proved by conflicts in the Middle East, where MiGs and Mirage converged in maneuver battles.

Indo-Pakistani battles added fuel to the fire, where both sides had both relatively obsolete machines of the first generation (British “Hunters” as part of the Indian Air Force against the American “Sabers” from Pakistan) and modern supersonic machines.

The designers came to almost the same conclusions: in the USSR and the USA, increased attention was paid to the maneuverability of new machines. At the same time, the modernization of third-generation aircraft was underway, which was to increase their ability for close air combat. Both sides adopted the same concept of manning fighter aviation: Both the USA and the USSR simultaneously created light and heavy fighters of a new generation. At the same time, "heavy" cars should not be inferior to light in maneuverability.


© Infographics. Artem Semenov
The Russian fighter Su-27 is recognized as one of the best combat aircraft of the 20th century by a vote on the website of Flight International magazine


Difficult childbirth

High requirements immediately made the development of the future Su-27 a non-trivial task - not only the design bureau worked on the layout of the future fighter. Specialists from leading aviation research institutes - first of all, Moscow TsAGI and Novosibirsk SibNIA - made a huge contribution to its creation.

By the way, it is SibNIA that is to thank for the fact that Su-27 took place in the form in which we know it. At the beginning of the 1970s, at the “paper” stage of development, the specialists of this research institute claimed that the adopted T-10 layout would not allow the tactical and technical requirements of the Defense Ministry to be exceeded by the F-15 characteristics. This disappointing diagnosis was confirmed in the 1977 year, when the flight tests of the new machine began.

It is necessary to pay tribute to the courage of the KB leadership, which by then was headed by Evgeny Alekseevich Ivanov, who was not afraid to admit the shortcomings of the created machine and insist on its refinement. The position of the KB was adopted both in the Ministry of Defense and in the Council of Ministers of the USSR, and in the Central Committee of the CPSU. Work on the T-10 continued.

In 1981, the updated car rises into the air - T-10С. The future Su-27 has found its appearance. Tests confirmed the superiority of the newest Soviet fighter over the F-15. In 1984, the Su-27 went into series. From that moment to the present, more than 1,3 of thousands of Su-27 and its modifications - Su-30, Su-33, Su-34, Su - have been launched at the production plants in Komsomolsk-on-Amur, Irkutsk and Novosibirsk. -35 ...



World glory

The main advantage of the Su-27 is a combination of high maneuverability with equally high ability to fight at long distances. This makes the Sukhoi Design Bureau a formidable opponent at all distances.
Another advantage that determined the long-term commercial success of the machine was its modernization potential: the 70-s platform of the last century received a second wind with the installation of modern equipment and weapons and can still compete with the best aircraft in the world.


Having entered the market at the beginning of the 1990, the fighter gained popularity, it is used by the 17 Air Force of countries, it is deservedly considered one of the best aircraft of its generation. A variety of modifications allows you to find an acceptable option for a variety of customers - from relatively poor countries in Africa, in need of modern and not very expensive aircraft, to India, ready to give a hundred million dollars for cutting-edge machines, saturated with a variety of high-tech equipment and weapons. Su-27 and its modifications became the best-selling 2000-s aircraft. Apparently, they will maintain this position in the coming years, especially given the constant inhibition of the development of the new "all-Western" F-35 fighter.



The technological barrier that stood before the developers of aircraft in the last 20 years, and economic difficulties slowed the adoption of new-generation machines. And in these conditions it is not surprising that the T-10 platform, like its overseas opponents, continues to evolve - plans to modernize this machine in a number of countries are designed for the period up to 2040 and, apparently, this is not the last milestone - mass production aircraft family T-10 continues.
Author:
Originator:
http://www.rian.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://www.rian.ru
Add a comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Су-27: 40 лет лучшему российскому истребителю

Су-27: 40 лет лучшему российскому истребителю


В январе 1971 года, подписывая распоряжение о начале работ над очередным авиапроектом, Павел Осипович Сухой, один из лучших советских авиаконструкторов, вряд ли догадывался о масштабе славы и признания, которую получит новый самолет его КБ. А если и догадывался, то никак этой догадки не выдавал.

Новый проект, разрабатывавшийся в рамках программы ПФИ (перспективный фронтовой истребитель), получил «фирменный» индекс Т-10. Его история началась двумя годами ранее, когда в СССР задумались об ответе на американскую программу FX (Fighter eXperimental), в рамках которой был создан один из лучших американских истребителей F-15 Eagle.


Су-27: 40 лет лучшему российскому истребителю


Определение облика


Советский Генштаб определил требования к перспективному фронтовому истребителю: он должен иметь большую дальность полета, взлетно-посадочные характеристики, позволяющие использовать короткие/поврежденные ВПП, маневренность, обеспечивающую превосходство в ближнем воздушном бою, традиционной "собачьей свалке", и оборудование для ведения дальнего ракетного боя за пределами визуальной видимости.

На маневренности стоит остановиться чуть подробнее. После того как в 1950-х годах управляемые ракеты прочно вошли в арсенал истребителей, в СССР и США решили было, что эра маневренных воздушных боев закончилась – теперь все схватки будут проходить на больших расстояниях, с использованием ракетного оружия. Ошибочность этой точки зрения показала Вьетнамская война: дозвуковые МиГ-17, лишенные управляемого вооружения, но оснащенные мощным пушечным, успешно вели воздушные бои со сверхзвуковыми истребителями, значительно превосходя их в маневренности. При этом скорость сверхзвуковых машин отнюдь не всегда гарантировала им возможность уйти. Отличные способности продемонстрировали и более современные МиГ-21 – эти машины были значительно легче основных американских самолетов и сочетали сверхзвуковую скорость с высокой маневренностью.

В итоге США начали разработку самолета, который с одной стороны не уступал бы их тогдашнему основному истребителю F-4 Phantom II по боевой нагрузке и дальности полета, а с другой – был способен выдержать маневренный воздушный бой с МиГ-17 и МиГ-21.

То, что пушки и ближний бой рано списывать со счетов, вскоре доказали и конфликты на Ближнем Востоке, где в маневренных боях сходились МиГи и "Миражи".

Масла в огонь подлили индо-пакистанские бои, где обе стороны располагали как относительно устаревшими машинами первых поколений (британские "Хантеры" в составе ВВС Индии против американских "Сейбров" у Пакистана), так и современными сверхзвуковыми машинами.

Конструкторы пришли практически к одинаковым выводам: и в СССР, и в США маневренности новых машин было уделено повышенное внимание. Одновременно шла модернизация самолетов третьего поколения, которая должна была повысить их способности к ближнему воздушному бою. Обе стороны приняли одинаковую концепцию комплектования истребительной авиации: и в США и в СССР одновременно создавались легкие и тяжелые истребители нового поколения. При этом "тяжелые" машины не должны были уступать легким в маневренности.

Су-27: 40 лет лучшему российскому истребителю

© Инфографика. Артем Семенов
Российский истребитель Су-27 признан одним из лучших боевых самолетов XX века по итогам голосования, на сайте журнала Flight International


Трудные роды

Высокие требования сразу сделали разработку будущего Су-27 нетривиальной задачей – над компоновкой будущего истребителя трудилось не только КБ. В его создание внесли огромный вклад специалисты ведущих авиационных НИИ – прежде всего, подмосковного ЦАГИ и Новосибирского СибНИА.

Кстати, именно СибНИА стоит благодарить за то, что Су-27 состоялся в том виде, в каком мы его знаем. Еще в начале 1970-х годов, на «бумажном» этапе разработок, специалисты этого НИИ утверждали, что принятая компоновка Т-10 не позволит выполнить тактико-технические требования Минобороны и превзойти по характеристикам F-15. Этот неутешительный диагноз подтвердился в 1977 году, когда начались летные испытания новой машины.

Следует отдать должное мужеству руководства КБ, которое к тому времени возглавил Евгений Алексеевич Иванов, не побоявшийся признать недостатки созданной машины и настоять на ее доработке. Позиция КБ была принята и в Минобороны и в Совете Министров СССР, и в ЦК КПСС. Работа над Т-10 продолжилась.

В 1981 году в воздух поднимается обновленная машина – Т-10С. Будущий Су-27 обрел свой облик. Испытания подтвердили превосходство новейшего советского истребителя над F-15. В 1984 году Су-27 пошел в серию. С этого момента и по сей день на серийных заводах в Комсомольске-на-Амуре, Иркутске и Новосибирске выпустили в общей сложности уже более 1,3 тыс. самолетов Су-27 и его модификаций – Су-30, Су-33, Су-34, Су-35…

Су-27: 40 лет лучшему российскому истребителю


Мировая слава

Основными достоинством Су-27 является сочетание высокой маневренности со столь же высокими способностями к бою на дальних дистанциях. Это делает машину ОКБ Сухого грозным противником на всех дистанциях.
Другой плюс, определивший многолетний коммерческий успех машины, - ее модернизационный потенциал: платформа 70-х годов прошлого века с установкой современного оборудования и вооружения получила второе дыхание и по-прежнему может соперничать с лучшими самолетами мира.


Выйдя на рынок в начале 1990-х, истребитель завоевал популярность, его используют ВВС 17 стран, он заслуженно считается одним из лучших самолетов своего поколения. Разнообразие модификаций позволяет найти приемлемый вариант для самых разных покупателей – от относительно небогатых стран Африки, нуждающихся в современных и не очень дорогих самолетах, до Индии, готовой отдавать по сотне миллионов долларов за ультрасовременные машины, насыщенные разнообразным высокотехнологичным оборудованием и вооружением. Су-27 и его модификации стали самыми продаваемыми самолетами 2000-х годов. Судя по всему, они сохранят эту позицию и в ближайшие годы, особенно с учетом постоянного торможения разработки нового "общезападного" истребителя F-35.

Су-27: 40 лет лучшему российскому истребителю


Технологический барьер, который встал перед разработчиками авиатехники в последние 20 лет, и экономические трудности замедлили принятие на вооружение машин нового поколения. И в этих условиях неудивительно, что платформа Т-10, как и его заокеанские оппоненты, продолжает развиваться – планы модернизации этой машины в ряде стран рассчитаны на период вплоть до 2040-х годов и, судя по всему, это не последний рубеж – серийное производство самолетов семейства Т-10 продолжается.
Автор: Илья Крамник, военный обозреватель РИА Новости
Первоисточник: http://www.rian.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://www.rian.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 0

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня