Military Review

Self-propelled anti-tank gun M56 Scorpion

13
Regardless of the presence of a wearable infantry weaponsThe most valuable weapon used by the U.S. airborne forces during World War II was the Ml 57mm anti-tank gun towed by a jeep. In fact, this gun was a British 6-pound gun, manufactured in the United States. After the war, they formulated requirements for a mobile self-propelled anti-tank gun, which could be parachuted in the initial stages of an army landing operation and having firepower as tank a gun. Two samples of such a machine, under the designation T101, were built by Cadillac Motor Car Division, from General Motors Corporation. As a result of further development, an improved T10EI was obtained, which was standardized as a "self-propelled 90-mm anti-tank gun M56", also referred to as "Scorpion" (Scorpio). “Cadillac Motor Car Division” produced cars in 1953-1959. In 1953, these machines entered military trials. M56 in the US Army entered the arsenal of only the 1955nd and 82st airborne divisions, but in 101 these self-propelled guns were replaced with the M1960 Sheridan light tank. A small number of M551 delivered to Morocco and Spain, few were used by the American army in Vietnam, where they were used for fire support.




When creating to save weight in the manufacture of the hull used aluminum, and also abandoned the tower, instead of which to protect the gun used a small shield. The body is a fully riveted and welded construction. The hull is divided into two sections - located in front of the power section and the fighting compartment (middle part) and the control section in the aft part of the hull. In fact, when creating the M56 Scorpion, the developers took advantage of the unarmored chassis of the M76 floating cargo conveyor, which had four running wheels on each side and a torsion bar suspension. The gun was installed on a small carriage on top. In the case there was only the place of the engine day, the control levers and the driver, so the gunner's place was placed outside. Two more crew members were housed in a trailer with ammunition. The weight of the Scorpion was 7500 kg. The main units and components are sealed, the wiring is made waterproof.

The main drawback of the car was the complete absence of body armor for the crew, with the exception of a small gun shield. The driver's seat was to the left of the gun, the shooter was placed behind him, equipped with a sight having an increase of x4,1 or x8. For night driving, the M56 Scorpion used night-vision binoculars, worn on a driver's helmet. The commander was sitting on the box with the radio, located to the right of the driver's seat. The other two crew members were located near the tailgate on the starboard side.

Self-propelled anti-tank gun M56 Scorpion


The main weapon is the M90 54-mm anti-tank cannon, which is placed openly on a thumbnail unit in the fighting compartment. The barrel of the gun is a monoblock with a screwed breech, a gun shield and a single-section muzzle brake. Valve wedge, vertical, semi-automatic. On the breech of the gun top mounted a pair of cylinders of hydraulic recoil devices. The ballistic data corresponded to the gun gun MNNX. The range of real fire was 48 meters.

Guidance mechanisms have manual drives, manual loading. The angles of vertical guidance ranged from + 15 to -10 degrees, and the angle of horizontal guidance was 60 degrees. When firing direct fire, an optical sight, having a variable magnification, was used, from closed positions - corresponding sights.

In ammunition includes unitary shots with armor-piercing, high-explosive, cumulative and sub-caliber projectiles. The ammunition was transported directly to the ACS and placed in a separate waterproof aluminum container. Ammunition included 29 unitary projectiles. An additional part of the ammunition was towed on a trailer.



For firing 90-mm M54 anti-tank guns, unitary shots were used, which were developed for American-made M36 and M41 guns and projectiles for Rheinmetall guns of West German production. These included shots:
- with an M82 armor-piercing tracer with a explosive charge and armor-piercing tip;
- with continuous armor-piercing tracer M318, M318A1 and M318A1С;
- with sub-caliber armor-piercing tracer M304 having a high initial speed;
- with sub-caliber armor piercing tracer M332 and M332A1;
- with cumulative non-rotating M348 and M348A1;
- with cumulative non-rotating tracer M431;
- with high-explosive fragmentation grenade M71;
-with M91 fragmentation-tracer grenade;
- with M336 frame gun;
- with the fragmentation grenade M377, which is equipped with arrow-shaped lethal elements;
- with fragmentation-tracer grenade XM580E1, with swept killer elements;
- with a smoke shell M313 and M313C.

The M56 ACS had a much greater firepower, compared to the M41 light tank with its 76-mm gun, and the chassis too light. Therefore, after firing a 90 millimeter cannon, the car bounced back a few feet, and the target was no longer visible due to a cloud of dust raised by a muzzle flash.



The M56 self-propelled self-propelled gun was equipped with an air-cooled 151-kilowatt 6-cylinder engine with air cooling, Continental direct fuel injection, an opposite cylinder arrangement, and Allison hydromechanical transmission. Fuel injection provided maximum speed in 50 km / h.

The engine was connected to a transmission of General Motors Corporation with two forward and one reverse speeds. Turning was carried out with the help of onboard gears. Chassis with four rollers with torsion bar suspension, rubber tires, front driving and rear - guide wheels, there were no supporting rollers. The caterpillar is an endless steel-reinforced rubber band.

In the undercarriage used rubber tracks with metal fittings in the form of transverse slats and steel cables. Track rollers equipped with tubeless pneumatic self-gluing tires. For the suspension of each rink served as a double torsion of small length, which was carried out in the form of a pipe with a rod placed in it. In addition, hydraulic telescopic shock absorbers were used in the suspension. Such a running gear was noiseless, lightweight and provided low specific pressure on the ground, which made it possible to overcome the muddy, sandy, swampy and snowy ground.

In May 1959, the production of M56 Scorpion was turned down, and it was decided to install an 106-mm recoilless gun on its chassis. In addition, the tracked base of the M56 Scorpion self-propelled self-propelled gun was supposed to be used as a multipurpose chassis for a floating armored personnel carrier, 106-mm and 81-mm mortars, quad-mounted anti-aircraft machine guns of 12,7 mm and ATGM launchers.

The M56 in the 1960s was used in the Vietnam War, where it was used as an artillery system for firing from prepared positions.

Specifications:
Combat weight - 7,13 t;
Crew - 4 person
Body length - 4557 mm;
Length with a gun forward - 5837 mm;
Case width - 2573 mm;
Height - mm 2004;
Clearance - 325 mm;
Type of gun - rifled;
Make and caliber of the gun - M54, 90 mm;
Barrel length - 50 calibers;
Ammunition gun - 29 shots;
Vertical guidance angles - from -10 to + 15 degrees;
Horizontal guidance angles - ± 30 degrees;
Firing range (high-explosive projectile) - about 15 km;
Sights - Periscopic T186
Engine power - 165 l. with.;
Highway speed - 45 km / h;
Cruising on the highway - 225 km;
Power density - 21 hp / t;
Ground pressure is 0,29 kg / cm²;
Overcoming rise - 30 grad .;
Breakable wall - 0,75 m;
Overcoming ditch - 1,2 m;
Passable ford - 1,05 m (1,5 with additional equipment).

Prepared by materials
http://shushpanzer-ru.livejournal.com
http://www.thetankmaster.com
http://zonawar.ru
http://voenteh.com



















Author:
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. T80UM1
    T80UM1 25 July 2013 08: 25
    +1
    Stanin is not enough, the return is strong in my opinion
    1. Lopatov
      Lopatov 25 July 2013 09: 04
      +4
      Yeah. Even with such a long rollback and developed anti-recoil, the car is robustly throws up. Only the beds would not help. Exceptionally increasing base weight.

      In general, a cool flea. Something like our ZiS-30 on the Komsomolets, but more comfortable.

      Clickable
      1. Bongo
        Bongo 25 July 2013 14: 40
        +5
        In this photo from the ZIS-30 in real life do not fire, the rear supports are not lowered. In this position, when fired, he would be knocked over.
  2. il grand casino
    il grand casino 25 July 2013 11: 03
    0
    The first photo is chic shine! But the return is still foolish. I wonder how much the sight after such a shot knocked down
  3. Fibrizio
    Fibrizio 25 July 2013 11: 34
    +2
    In general, this is a half measure. It’s no longer necessary to carry the pens or pens, but all the same, ugliness. The silhouette is high, no armor protection. I think at the forefront such a thing should either dig in or incur a decent loss.
  4. krot00f
    krot00f 25 July 2013 12: 55
    0
    What a rich ammunition load, "Rheinmetall" worked hard, I often read about this company, Why was it not ruined after the war? Share if anyone knows.
  5. krot00f
    krot00f 25 July 2013 12: 59
    0
    Not entirely clear "The range of the actual fire was 1820 meters." Is this the direct shot range? Or, in fact, did they not shoot further?
    1. Ivan_Ivanov
      Ivan_Ivanov 25 July 2013 13: 06
      0
      Maybe aiming range?
  6. Ivan_Ivanov
    Ivan_Ivanov 25 July 2013 13: 05
    0
    Great car for its time.

    Cheap

    Simple

    Convenient
  7. spirit
    spirit 25 July 2013 13: 43
    0
    in vain replaced! and in her place put the miracle Yudo Sheridan. Aluminum tank with shaitan pipe)
  8. Prohor
    Prohor 25 July 2013 20: 10
    0
    Choo-oo! Our MT-12 is much cooler! soldier
  9. bublic82009
    bublic82009 25 July 2013 22: 46
    0
    nonsense thing. after the first shot it could easily be detected and destroyed. crew more suicide bombers than our 45s
  10. alex86
    alex86 26 July 2013 19: 02
    +1
    For some reason, I recalled an article in the Technique of Youth for the 78th year, the American recoilless gun was mentioned there, it was put on a tilt truck, and the task was to prevent the Rommeleans in Africa from driving closer to the tank - and how lucky. And, like, praised ...
  11. frank123
    frank123 10 November 2014 21: 55
    0
    Drain from the test))) video tank battle cool))
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xAYSq5El3GI

Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion

Вне зависимости от наличия носимого пехотного оружия, самым ценным оружием, которое использовалось американскими воздушно-десантными силами во время Второй мировой войне, была 57-миллиметровая противотанковая пушка Ml буксируемая джипом. В действительности данное орудие представляло собой британскую 6-фунтовую пушку, производимую в США. После войны сформулировали требования для мобильной самоходной противотанковой пушки, которую можно было бы сбрасывать с парашюта на начальных стадиях армейской десантной операции и имеющая огневую мощь как танковая пушка. Два образца такой машины, под обозначением Т101, были построены компанией «Кадиллак Мотор Кар Дивижн», из корпорации «Дженерал Моторс». В результате дальнейшей разработки была получена улучшенная T10EI, которую и стандартизировали как «самоходную 90-миллиметровую противотанковую пушку М56», также именуемую как «Scorpion» (Скорпион). «Кадиллак Мотор Кар Дивижн» производил машины в 1953—1959 годы. В 1953 году данные машины поступили на войсковые испытания. М56 в армии США поступили в 1955 году на вооружение лишь 82-й и 101-й воздушно-десантных дивизий, однако в 1960 году данные САУ заменили легким танком М551 «Шеридан». Небольшое количество М56 поставили в Марокко и Испанию, немногие применялись американской армией во Вьетнаме, где их использовали для огневой поддержки.

Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion


При создании для экономии массы при изготовлении корпуса использовался алюминий, а также отказались от башни, вместо которой для защиты пушки применили небольшой щит. Корпус представляет собой полностью клепаную и сварную конструкцию. Корпус разделен на два отделения – размещенное в передней части силовое отделение и боевое отделение (средняя часть) и отделение управления в кормовой части корпуса. Фактически при создании M56 Scorpion разработчики воспользовались небронированным шасси плавающего грузового транспортера М76, которое имело четыре ходовых колеса по каждому борту и торсионную подвеску. Пушку установили на небольшом лафете сверху. В корпусе имелось место лишь дня двигателя, рычагов управления и водителя, поэтому место наводчика помещалось снаружи. Еще два члена экипажа размещались в прицепе с боеприпасами. Вес «Скорпиона» составлял 7500 кг. Основные агрегаты и узлы герметизированы, электропроводку выполнили водонепроницаемой.


Главным недостатком машины было полное отсутствие бронезащиты для экипажа, за исключением небольшого орудийного щита. Место водителя находилось слева от пушки, сзади него размещался стрелок, снабженный прицелом имеющим увеличение х4,1 или х8. Для вождения M56 Scorpion ночью использовали бинокль ночного видения, надевавшийся на шлем механика-водителя. Командир сидел на ящике с рацией, располагавшемся справа от места водителя. Двое остальных членов экипажа размещались рядом с выхлопной трубой с правого борта.

Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion


Основное орудие – 90-миллиметровая противотанковая пушка M54, размещенная открыто на тумбовой установке в боевом отделении. Ствол пушки – моноблок с навинтным казенником, орудийным щитом и односекционным дульным тормозом. Затвор клиновой, вертикальный, полуавтоматический. На казенной части пушки сверху крепились пара цилиндров гидравлических противооткатных устройств. Баллистические данные соответствовали пушке танка М48. Дальность действительного огня составляла 1820 метров.

Механизмы наведения имеют ручные приводы, заряжание ручное. Углы вертикального наведения составляли от +15 до -10 градусов, а угол горизонтального наведения 60 градусов. При стрельбе прямой наводкой использовался оптический прицел, имеющий переменное увеличение, с закрытых позиций – соответствующие прицелы.

В боекомплект входят унитарные выстрелы с бронебойными, осколочно-фугасными, кумулятивными и подкалиберными снарядами. Боекомплект перевозили непосредственно в САУ и укладывается в отдельный водонепроницаемый алюминиевый контейнер. Боекомплект включал 29 унитарных снарядов. Дополнительная часть боекомплекта буксировалась на прицепе.

Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion


Для стрельбы из 90-миллиметрового противотанкового орудия M54 применялись унитарные выстрелы, которые разрабатывались для орудий M36 и M41 американского производства и снаряды для противотанкового орудия компании "Рейнметалл" западногерманского производства. В их число входили выстрелы:
- с бронебойно-трассирующим снарядом M82 с разрывным зарядом и бронебойным наконечником;
- со сплошным бронебойно-трассирующим M318, M318A1 и M318A1С;
- с подкалиберным бронебойно-трассирующим M304 имеющий высокую начальную скорость;
- с подкалиберным бронебойно-трассирующим M332 и M332A1;
- с кумулятивным невращающимся M348 и M348A1;
- с кумулятивным невращающимся трассирующим M431;
- с осколочно-фугасной гранатой M71;
-с осколочно-трассирующей гранатой M91;
- с картечным снарядом M336;
- с осколочной гранатой M377, которая снаряжена стреловидными убойными элементами;
- с осколочно-трассирующей гранатой XM580E1, со стреловидными убойными элементами;
- с дымовым снарядом M313 и M313C.

САУ М56 имела гораздо большую огневую мощь, в сравнении с легким танком М41 с его 76-миллиметровой пушкой, и слишком легкое шасси. Поэтому после выстрела 90-миллиметровой пушки машина отскакивала назад на несколько футов, и цель переставала быть видимой из-за поднятого дульной вспышкой облака пыли.

Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion


Противотанковая самоходная пушка M56 оснащалась бензиновым 151-киловаттным 6-цилиндровым двигателем с воздушным охлаждением, непосредственным впрыском топлива «Континентал», противоположным расположением цилиндров, гидромеханической трансмиссией фирмы «Аллисон». Впрыск топлива обеспечивал максимальную скорость в 50 км/ч.

Двигатель соединялся с трансмиссией компании «Дженерал Моторс Корпорейшн» с двумя скоростями переднего и одной заднего хода. Поворот осуществлялся при помощи бортовых передач. Ходовая часть с четырьмя катками с торсионной подвеской, резиновыми шинами, передним расположением ведущего и задним – направляющего колеса, поддерживающие ролики отсутствовали. Гусеница представляет собой бесконечную усиленную сталью резиновую ленту.

В ходовой части использовали резиновые гусеницы, имеющие металлическую арматуру в виде поперечных планок и стальных тросов. Опорные катки оборудовались бескамерными пневматическими самозаклеивающимися шинами. Для подрессоривания каждого катка служил двойной торсион небольшой длины, который выполнялся в виде трубы со стержнем, размещенным в ней. Кроме того, в подвеске использовали гидравлические телескопические амортизаторы. Подобная ходовая часть была бесшумна, легка и обеспечивала низкое удельное давление на грунт, что давало возможность преодолевать илистый, песчаный, болотистый и заснеженный грунт.

В мае 1959 г. производство M56 Scorpion свернули, и на его шасси решили установить 106-миллиметровое безоткатное орудие. Кроме этого, гусеничную базу противотанковой самоходки M56 Scorpion предполагалось применять в качестве многоцелевого шасси для плавающего бронетранспортера, 106-мм и 81-мм минометов, счетверенной установки зенитных пулеметов калибра 12,7 мм и пусковых установок ПТУРС.

M56 в 1960-е годы использовалась во Вьетнамской войне, где его использовали в качестве артиллерийской системы для ведения огня с подготовленных позиций.

Технические характеристики:
Боевая масса - 7,13 т;
Экипаж – 4 человека
Длина корпуса – 4557 мм;
Длина с пушкой вперед – 5837 мм;
Ширина корпуса – 2573 мм;
Высота – 2004 мм;
Клиренс – 325 мм;
Тип пушки – нарезная;
Марка и калибр пушки - M54, 90 мм;
Длина ствола – 50 калибров;
Боекомплект пушки – 29 выстрелов;
Углы вертикального наведения - от -10 до +15 град.;
Углы горизонтального наведения - ±30 град.;
Дальность стрельбы (фугасным снарядом) – около 15 км;
Прицелы - перископический T186
Мощность двигателя – 165 л. с.;
Скорость по шоссе – 45 км/ч;
Запас хода по шоссе – 225 км;
Удельная мощность – 21 л.с./т;
Удельное давление на грунт – 0,29 кг/см²;
Преодолеваемый подъем – 30 град.;
Преодолеваемая стенка – 0,75 м;
Преодолеваемый ров – 1,2 м;
Преодолеваемый брод – 1,05 м (1,5 с доп.оборудованием).

Подготовлено по материалам
http://shushpanzer-ru.livejournal.com
http://www.thetankmaster.com
http://zonawar.ru
http://voenteh.com


Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Самоходная противотанковая пушка M56 Scorpion
Автор: Пётр Улякин


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 13
  1. T80UM1 25 июля 2013 08:25
    Станин не хватает, отдача сильная по моему мнению
    1. Лопатов 25 июля 2013 09:04
      Ага. Даже при таком длинном откате и развитых противооткатных машину нехило подбрасывает. Только станины не помогли бы. Исключительно увеличение веса базы.

      А вообще прикольная блоха. Что-то вроде нашего ЗиС-30 на "Комсомольце", но поудобнее.

      Кликабельно
      1. Bongo 25 июля 2013 14:40
        На этом фото из ЗиС-30 в реале огонь не ведут,задние опоры не опущены. В таком положении,при выстреле, его бы опрокинуло.
  2. il grand casino 25 июля 2013 11:03
    Первая фотография - шик-блеск! Но отдача все же дурачья. Интересно на сколько прицел после такого выстрела сбивало
  3. Fibrizio 25 июля 2013 11:34
    Вообще это полумера. Вроде и ручками таскать уже не надо, но и все равно безобразие. Силуэт высокий, бронезащиты нет. Думаю на переднем крае такая штука должна либо вкапываться либо несла приличные потери.
  4. krot00f 25 июля 2013 12:55
    Какой богатый боекомплект, "Рейнметалл" потрудились, Часто читаю про эту фирму, Почему ее не разорили после войны? Поделитесь если кто знает.
    krot00f
  5. krot00f 25 июля 2013 12:59
    Не совсем понятно "Дальность действительного огня составляла 1820 метров." Это дальность прямого выстрела? Или фактически дальше не стреляли?
    krot00f
    1. Ivan_Ivanov 25 июля 2013 13:06
      Может, прицельная дальность?
  6. Ivan_Ivanov 25 июля 2013 13:05
    Отличная машина для своего времени.

    Дешевая

    Простая

    Удобная
  7. spirit 25 июля 2013 13:43
    зря заменили!а на её место поставили чудо-юдо Шеридан. Алюминиевый танк с шайтан трубой)
  8. Прохор 25 июля 2013 20:10
    Тю-у-у!... Какашка! Наша МТ-12 на порядок круче! soldier
    Прохор
  9. bublic82009 25 июля 2013 22:46
    ерундовая штука. после первого выстрела легко могла быть засечена и уничтожена. экипаж более смертники чем у нашей 45-ки
    bublic82009
  10. alex86 26 июля 2013 19:02
    Почему-то вспомнил статью в Технике-молодежи год так за 78-й, там упоминалась американская безоткатная пушка, её ставили на тентованный грузовик, и задача была в том, что бы в Африке роммелевцы не догадались, что в машине, подъехать к танку поближе - и как повезет. И , типа, хвалили...
  11. frank123 10 ноября 2014 21:55
    Слив с теста))) видео боя танк прикольный))
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xAYSq5El3GI
    frank123

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня