Military Review

First tank: "Mark I" or "Little Willy"?

5
Today it’s already difficult to imagine a combat-ready army without armored vehicles: without armored personnel carriers, self-propelled guns, tanks. Who came up with the brilliant idea of ​​using a well-protected machine for conducting military operations against enemy equipment and manpower. Historians are still arguing about this.


First tank: "Mark I" or "Little Willy"?


Today it is believed that the first tank, which was not just designed and drawn on paper, but after its creation became involved in real combat, was Mark I of the 1916 model of the year. This tank is often called the "English tank", as it was released by the British company William Foster and Co. This British company owns the patent for the invention of the tank in the form in which Mark I. appeared before humanity.

Generally speaking, this British-made tank had two options from the first days of development. The first option was called "male", the second, respectively, "female". Differences "male" from the "female" consisted in the mass, and in the presence of certain weapons. So the "male" had a mass of about 28,5 tons and in service had a machine gun and two guns 57-mm. The “female” weighed a ton less and had only machine guns in service.
However, many stories They claim that the British-made Mark I tank was not the first, and that the so-called “Little Willy”, which was built in the same UK a year earlier, should be put in the first place. Representatives of the company "William Foster and Co." do not particularly argue, since it was her employees who also created "Little Willie". Perhaps the main difference between the "Mark" and the "Little Willie" was not even a significant difference in the mass, but the fact that the "Willie" was not in service with the British army and remained nothing more than a prototype of a real tank.

"Little Willie" had a 105-strong engine from the company "Daimler" and did not have full armor. Only on the cap of the car were placed steel plates about half a centimeter thick. To control this armored vehicle, it was necessary to use an impressive crew - no less than 6 people. At the same time, the speed that “Little Willy” could develop was not impressive — no more than 3-4 km / h. The model “Little Willie” can be seen today in the UK, in the Bovington Museum.
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. does it
    does it 26 July 2013 13: 25 New
    +2
    The legacy of the English intervention, the English tank Mark-V. Arkhangelsk, Troitsky Prospekt. The heavy tank Mark-V was built in 1918. During the Civil War, he became one of the trophies captured by Soviet troops on the Southern Front. Despite many shortcomings, this military weapon was widely used in the armies of different countries.

    After withdrawing from service in 1930, the tank no longer participated in battles. In 1938, by order of the People's Commissar of Defense Voroshilov, he was transferred to Arkhangelsk as a historical monument. In the same year, by decision of the City Council, the tank was transferred as an exhibit to the Arkhangelsk Museum of Local Lore
    1. svp67
      svp67 26 July 2013 17: 31 New
      +3
      Quote: kvirit
      The legacy of the English intervention, the English tank Mark-V. Arkhangelsk,

      But such an “inheritance” stands in the center of Kharkov.
      Mark V Female in Kharkov on Constitution Square. The English tank of the Great War, installed in Kharkov in 1938 in memory of feats
      Heroic R.K.K.A. during the Civil War 1918-1922 years.
    2. Starover_Z
      Starover_Z 26 July 2013 21: 27 New
      0
      In 2009, I was in Arkhangelsk, I found the designation of the monument on the map, went down and ... did not find sad
      Then I didn’t reach it anymore, I don’t know, it’s now, no ...
  2. loft79
    loft79 26 July 2013 14: 03 New
    0
    I did not understand the title of the article.

    First tank: "Mark I" or "Little Willy"?

    But there is nothing that the prototype "Mark I" was called "Big Willy"?
    Both willie are prototypes. "Big Willy" proved his worth and went into the series as "Mark I"
  3. Vital 33
    Vital 33 27 July 2013 11: 16 New
    +1
    Two are standing here in Lugansk ...
  4. Kowalsky
    Kowalsky 30 July 2013 14: 43 New
    0
    Quote: Vital 33
    Two are standing here in Lugansk ...

    Yeah, we've painted, painted, you can take it into service :)

Первый танк: «Mark I» или «Маленький Вилли»?

Сегодня уже сложно представить боеспособную армию без бронетехники: без БТРов, САУ, танков. Кому же пришла в голову гениальная идея использовать хорошо защищённую машину для ведения боевых действий против техники и живой силы противника. По этому поводу историки до сих пор ведут споры.

Первый танк: «Mark I» или «Маленький Вилли»?


Сегодня считается, что первым танком, который не просто был разработан и вычерчен на бумаге, но и после своего создания стал участвовать в реальных боевых действиях, был Mark I образца 1916 года. Этот танк часто называют «английским танком», так как его выпустила британская компания «Уильям Фостер и Ко». Именно этой британской компании принадлежит патент на изобретение танка в том виде, в котором перед человечеством предстал Mark I.


Вообще говоря, у этого танка британского производства уже с первых дней разработок существовало два варианта. Первый вариант называли «самцом», второй, соответственно, «самкой». Отличия «самца» от «самки» заключались как в массе, так и в наличии определённых вооружений. Так «самец» имел массу около 28,5 тонн и на вооружении имел пулемёт и две пушки 57-мм. «Самка» весила на тонну меньше и на вооружении имела лишь пулемёты.
Однако многие истории утверждают, что танк Mark I британского производства был не первым, и что на первое место нужно ставить так называемый «Маленький Вилли», который был построен в той же Великобритании годом раньше. Представители компании «Уильям Фостер и Ко» не особенно спорят, так как и «Маленького Вилли» создали именно её сотрудники. Пожалуй, главным отличием «Марка» от «Маленького Вилли» было даже не существенное отличие в массе, а то, что «Вилли» не состоял на вооружении британской армии, так и оставшись не более чем прототипом настоящего танка.

«Маленький Вилли» имел 105-сильный двигатель от компании «Даймлер» и не имел полноценной брони. Лишь на колпаке машины были размещены стальные пластины толщиной около полусантиметра. Для управления этой бронемашиной необходимо было задействовать внушительный экипаж – не менее 6 человек. При этом скорость, которую «Маленький Вилли» мог развить, нельзя было назвать впечатляющей – не более 3-4 км/ч. Модель «Маленького Вилли» сегодня можно увидеть в Великобритании, в музее Бовингтона.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5
  1. квирит 26 июля 2013 13:25
    Наследие английской интервенций, английский танк Mark-V.Архангельск , Троицкий проспект .Тяжелый танк Mark-V построен в 1918 году. В годы гражданской войны он стал одним из трофеев захваченных советскими войсками на Южном фронте. Несмотря на множество недостатков, это боевое оружие широко использовалось в армиях разных стран.

    После снятия с вооружения в 1930 году, танк больше не участвовал в сражениях. В 1938 году по приказу наркома обороны Ворошилова, его передали Архангельску как исторический памятник. В этом же году решением городского Совета танк был передан в качестве экспоната Архангельскому краеведческому музею
    1. svp67 26 июля 2013 17:31
      Цитата: квирит
      Наследие английской интервенций, английский танк Mark-V.Архангельск ,

      А вот такое "наследство" стоит в центре Харькова.
      Mark V Female в Харькове на площади Конституции. Английский танк времен Великой Войны, установлен в Харькове в 1938 году в память подвигов
      героической Р.К.К.А. во время Гражданской войны 1918-1922 годов.
    2. Starover_Z 26 июля 2013 21:27
      В 2009 году был в Архангельске, нашёл на карте обозначение памятника, сходил и ... не нашёл sad
      Потом уже не доходил, не знаю, стоит сейчас, нет...
  2. loft79 26 июля 2013 14:03
    Не понял названия статьи.

    Первый танк: «Mark I» или «Маленький Вилли»?

    А нечего что прототип "Mark I" называли "Большой Вилли"?
    Оба Вилли прототипы. "Большой Вилли" доказал свою состоятельность и пошел в серию как "Mark I"
  3. Vital 33 27 июля 2013 11:16
    Два стоят у нас в Луганске...
    Vital 33
  4. Kowalsky 30 июля 2013 14:43
    Цитата: Vital 33
    Два стоят у нас в Луганске...

    Ага, подрихтовали, покрасили, можно принимать на вооружение :)
    Kowalsky

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня