Military Review

Great commanders of the world: Artashes I

4
One of the most ancient Eastern European states is Armenia. Today it is a small country with a capital in Yerevan and a total population of about 3 million people. But a relatively small territory of Armenia is modernity.

At the time of Artashes I, who belongs to the glorious cohort generals Armenia, the era of wars with the Seleucids, the territory of the Armenian state were significantly larger. The capital of the then Great Armenia was located in the city of Armavir (not to be confused with the Russian city of the same name). Great Armenia itself absorbed not only the territories of modern Armenia, but also the lands of the Middle East, a part of present-day Turkey and Iraq, Iran and other states. According to historians, the population of the Armenian Empire was already in the 4 century AD amounted to more than three million people, which in those times could be considered a huge number.
In addition to Great Armenia, the first ruler of which was Artashes I, at the same time there was also the so-called Minor Armenia. The ruler of this territory was Mithridates. Great Armenia as a single state during the reign of Artashes I turned into a formidable force. For many years, the enemies of the empire could not exert significant pressure on the new state.
Artashes I conducted a multi-stage system of reforms, one of which was a land reform, the result of which was the emergence of private ownership of land. An important component of the reign of this strategist-emperor-commander was the unification of scattered Armenian communities using a single language - Armenian.
Artashes I transferred the capital to the city of Artashat, which today is called the fourth capital of the Armenian state. Today Artashat is about 2100 years old, and he is one of the oldest cities in the post-Soviet space.
The military achievements of Artashes I are associated with campaigns against the Seleucids. This is a Hellenistic territorial association, which was founded by one of the commanders of Alexander the Great after his death. Artashes in the middle of 2 century BC conquered the Tamorid region, conquered it, after which other Seleucid possessions fell into his hands. Artashes I is called a man who delivered a crushing blow to the Hellenistic states of Asia Minor.
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. T-100
    T-100 26 July 2013 10: 17 New
    0
    I thought there would be a list, but here it is, we diverge))))
  2. 094711601
    094711601 27 July 2013 23: 59 New
    +3
    What nonsense? Who is the author ? Which Armenian Empire, Which Emperor? Da Artashes 1/189 BC-160 BC / became the founder of a new dynasty - the Artashesid Dynasty / 189 BC-1 AD /, only after The Roman Republic defeated the Seleucids in 190 BC. at the Battle of Magnesia. Yes Artashes 1 was the Great King-Collector of the Armenian lands! But, excuse me, I did not carry the title of Emperor, and did not belong to the "Great Generals" of antiquity, due to the fact that I protected my people, perfectly aware that the young state, in the process of its formation, is in dire need of peace! And the people of Armenia responded to their king with love and eternal memory, as evidenced by all historical sources!
    1. Gladiatir-zlo
      Gladiatir-zlo 28 July 2013 21: 09 New
      +3
      What if the author is an ethnic Armenian, and he desperately wanted to embellish it a little. In the south, there are quite a few Armenians, a very interesting people, they love to tell tales of greatness, and they sacredly believe in them. They are especially fond of the recent war in Karabakh. She has something, a merchant people, proved to be terribly cunning and tactically literate. There are my friends, my friend, the main thing is that he is under forty, but still he has not healed in him. He is late for parties, and no matter what they talk about, the topic quickly jumps to the military, financial and other achievements of Armenians. Moreover, he does not care much that his stories do not fit with military reality at all. Like that during the war in Karabakh there was a company of Syrian Armenians who went into battle only with knives, they did not take prisoners, horror - the terminators are straight. Unable to bear it, he asked him the combat rate of fire of the AK-74, he almost did not hesitate - he asked - "what does it matter?" And then, the colonel-border guard, already unable to bear it himself, calmly and intelligibly explained to the huckster that such a fantastic story is possible only in the event of an attack on a peaceful village, only this is not a battle, but a massacre. What saddened him greatly, he soon left, all red as a lobster.
      1. smersh70
        smersh70 28 July 2013 21: 19 New
        +3
        Quote: Gladiatir-Zlo
        What saddened him so much, he soon left, all red as cancer.



        Respect and Respect !!!! drinks gave a good answer.))) Well, they like to exaggerate their most recent story)))) ....
        1. 225chay
          225chay 9 August 2013 00: 10 New
          -1
          Quote: smersh70
          Well, they love to exaggerate their most recent story)))) ....

          Yeah ... Armenian stories are "World History"))))))
  3. Nickel
    Nickel 19 January 2018 11: 03 New
    -1
    The article is far from scientific, but you can not argue with this:
    What are some interesting cards)))

    1.Http: //www.celtica.ru/maps/maps_eur_rim395.html
    2. https://ru.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Fenner,_Rest
    ._Persis, _Parthia, _Armenia._1835_ (A) .jpg
    3.https://commons.m.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:1753_Va
    ugondy_Map_of_Persia, _Arabia_and_Turkey _-_ Geograp
    hicus _-_ TurkeyArabiaPersia-vaugondy-1753.jpg
    4.https://commons.m.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Fenner,
    _Rest._Persis, _Parthia, _Armenia._1835_ (A) .jpg # mw-
    jump-to-license
    5.https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/
    48 / Mapa_Imperium_Romanum.jpg
    6.https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/5/
    56 / Gelmolt-karta_01.jpg


    And most importantly - they were printed sooooo long ago))) and obviously not Armenians, who, in your opinion, like to “embellish”)

Великие полководцы мира: Арташес I

Одним из самых древних восточноевропейских государств является Армения. Сегодня – это небольшое государство со столицей в Ереване и общей численностью населения около 3 миллионов человек. Но относительно небольшая территория Армении – это современность.
Великие полководцы мира: Арташес I

Во времена Арташеса I, который относится к славной когорте полководцы Армении эпохи войн с Селевкидами, территории Армянского государства были существенно больше. Столица тогдашней Великой Армении располагалась в городе Армавир (не путать с российским городом с одноимённым названием). Сама Великая Армения вбирала в себя территории не только Армении современной, но и земли Ближнего Востока, часть нынешних Турции и Ирака, Ирана и других государств. По оценкам историков, населением Армянской империи уже в 4 столетии н.э. составляло более трёх миллионов человек, что по тем временам можно было считать огромной цифрой.
Помимо Великой Армении, первым правителем которой и стал Арташес I, в то же время существовала и так называемая Малая Армения. Правителем этой территории был Митридат. Великая Армения как единое государство во время правления Арташеса I превратилось в грозную силу. Враги империи в течение многих лет не могли оказать существенного давления на новое государство.
Арташес I провёл многоступенчатую систему реформ, одно из которых была реформа земельная, итогом которой стало возникновение частной собственности на землю. Важной составляющей правления этого стратега-императора-полководца стало объединение разрозненных армянских общин с использованием единого языка – армянского.
Арташес I перенёс столицы в город Арташат, который сегодня называют четвёртой столицей Армянского государства. Сегодня Арташату около 2100 лет, и он является одним из древнейший городов на постсоветском пространстве.

Военные достижения Арташеса I связаны с походами против Селевкидов. Это эллистинистическое территориальное объединение, которое было основано одним из полководцев Александра Великого после его кончины. Арташес в середине 2 века до н.э. завоевал регион Таморида, завоевал его, после чего в его руки попали другие владения Селевкидов. Арташеса I называют человеком, который нанёс сокрушительный удар по эллинистическим государствам Передней Азии.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. T-100 26 июля 2013 10:17
    Думал будет список, а здесь это, расходимся))))
  2. 094711601 27 июля 2013 23:59
    Что за бред? Кто автор ? Какая Армянская Империя, Какой император? Да Арташес 1/189 год до н.з.-160 г. до н.э./ стал основателем новой династии -Династии Арташесидов /189 г. до н.э.-1 год н.э./, лишь после того как Римская республика нанесла поражение Селевкидам в 190 г. до н.э. в битве при Магнезии. Да Арташес 1 был Великим Царем-Собирателем Армянских земель! Но ,извините, титула Императора не носил, и не относился к "Великим Полководцам" древности, в силу того, что берег свой народ, прекрасно сознавая, что молодое государство, в процессе своего становления, остро нуждается в мире! А народ Армении ответил своему царю любовью и вечной памятью, о чем свидетельствуют все исторические источники!
    1. Gladiatir-Zlo 28 июля 2013 21:09
      А вдруг автор этнический армянин, и ему остро захотелось немножко приукрасить. На юге довольно много армян, весьма занятный народ, любит рассказывать сказки о величии, и свято в них верит. У них особой любовью пользуется недавняя война в Карабахе. У в ней то, народ торговец, проявил себя жутко хитрым и тактически грамотным. Есть у моих знакомых, дружок, главное лет ему под сорок, а все равно не зажило в нем. На вечеринки опаздывает, и о чем бы не говорили, быстро тема перескакивает на военные, финансовые и иные достижения армян. Причем его мало волнует, что его рассказы вообще не вяжутся с военной реальностью. Типа, что во время войны в Карабахе была рота сирийских армян, которые шли в бой только с ножами, пленных не брали, жуть -терминаторы прям. Не выдержав, спросил у него боевую скорострельность АК-74, он не чуть не сомневаясь - спросил -"а какое это имеет значение?" И тут, полковник-пограничник, уже и сам не выдержав, спокойно и доходчиво разъяснил торгашу, что подобный фантастический рассказ возможен лишь в случае атаки мирного села, только никакой это не бой, а резня.Чем сильно его опечалил, вскорости он ушел, весь красный как рак.
      Gladiatir-Zlo
      1. smersh70 28 июля 2013 21:19
        Цитата: Gladiatir-Zlo
        Чем сильно его опечалил, вскорости он ушел, весь красный как рак.



        Респект и Уважуха!!!! drinks хороший ответ дали.)))ну любят они преувеличивать свою НАИДРЕВНЕЙШУЮ историю))))....
        smersh70
        1. 225chay 9 августа 2013 00:10
          Цитата: smersh70
          ну любят они преувеличивать свою НАИДРЕВНЕЙШУЮ историю))))....

          Да уж... армянские истории- это " Мировая история" ))))))
          225chay

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня