Military Review

Americans are developing a plane that does not need to fall to the ground

6
A team from the American University Lehay is engaged in the preparation of a large unmanned aerial vehicle, which is designed for continuous flights. Back in 1883, Nobel Prize winner John Strutt, as well as physicist Baron Releigh, put forward one radical idea. John Strutt studied the flight mechanics of birds, in particular pelicans, and suggested that birds scooped energy for flight from the difference in wind speeds, which in turn allowed them to soar in the sky without flapping their wings. Using such a flight technique, which received the designation of dynamic soaring, the aircraft could, at least theoretically, fly practically without using fuel for many weeks, months, and maybe even years.


Dynamic soaring is a soaring method in which the flight altitude is maintained by constantly changing layers of air with excellent horizontal speeds. Areas of significant wind speed gradients are most often found in any kind of interference with the flow of air or at the surface of the earth. This method is often used by birds. Most often they are used by seabirds that hover above the ocean waves, using very little energy for flight. Particularly experienced in the application of this method are albatrosses, who with the help of dynamic soaring can travel for many thousands of kilometers. Gliders in turn rarely find such gradients at high altitudes.

Dynamic soaring is based on the fact that the wind speed in each subsequent layer is higher than in the previous one. For example, a strong wind speed at a height of 1 meter is 10 m / s, but if you rise to a height of 10 meters, the wind speed on it will increase 1,5 times. This phenomenon, which is especially noticeable above the water surface, is very actively used by large birds: sea and ocean birds. Initially, they rise to the upper layers of air in order to stock up on the necessary inertia, after which they perform a loop, returning to the lower layers of air at a higher speed. At the moment of repeating the cycle, the birds or any of their artificial analogues accelerate even more.

Americans are developing a plane that does not need to fall to the ground

For dozens of years, the work on dynamic hover has been moving very slowly. Operators of radio-controlled gliders used the advantages of this technique in order to increase the range of flights, but scientists did not know whether this knowledge could be applied to larger aircraft. Despite this, in 2006, a team of engineers, which consisted of NASA members and the United States Air Force, made a long flight on a modified L-23 Blanik glider over Edwards Air Force Base, proving in practice that a sufficiently large aircraft is able to apply the dynamic-hovering technique.

It is worth noting that modern gliders often enough and have long been using bird tricks to accelerate and climb. For example, in 2005, the NASA Flight Research Center. Drydena launched a glider with an autopilot that was able to hold out for a full hour in the sky longer than usual due to the fact that it was catching rising currents of warm air (the so-called static soaring). And in 2009, a relatively small radio-controlled aircraft was able to accelerate to 630 km / h, thanks to the use of the dynamic soaring method.

Currently, a team from Lehigh University, led by engineering professor Yohim Grenstedt, is working to improve the concept of dynamic soaring. They are trying to create a large unmanned aerial vehicle that is intended for continuous flights. Not so long ago, they completed work on the creation of an 7-meter wing, made of carbon fiber and designed to perform flights in jet air streams at an altitude of more than 6 kilometers. This model must withstand overloads up to 20 G (dynamic soaring causes serious loads on the wing of the machine), as well as speeds up to 480 km / h.


Later in 2013, this team of researchers is going to test technology with a model of a glider at a low altitude. In the event that these tests are successful, Grenstedt notes, they are going to launch their aircraft, called the Jet Streamer, into a jet stream in which the wind speed can reach 320 km / h. As soon as the aircraft engineer manages to get rid of the load of fuel and power plant, flights in the sky can turn into something completely new.

In the distant future, dynamically floating aircraft can become observational platforms that will be able to observe wild animals, people, or the weather. They can also serve as communication transmitters, retransmitting cellular or television signals. In addition, they will even get the opportunity to travel at very high speed over long distances.

How it works: Dynamic soaring is based on the difference in wind speed

1. The glider rises, overcoming the layers of calm air at low altitude to the higher and turbulent layers of air with its nose to the wind.
2. The glider maintains its own ground speed as it passes through the air flow. Headwind gives it a higher flight speed and generates more lift as the wind moves across its wings.
3. Having made a turn, the glider hovers down, overcoming significant distances.
4. After leaving the windy layers of air, the glider is taken back in order to repeat its maneuver. As long as there is a difference in wind speeds, this cycle can be performed an infinite number of times.



Information sources:
-http: //www.mk.ru/science/technology/article/2013/07/05/879929-amerikantsyi-razrabatyivayut-samolet-kotoromu-ne-nuzhno-opuskatsya-na-zemlyu.html
-http: //gearmix.ru/archives/3603
-http: //airspot.ru/news/raznoje/bespilotnyy-planer-uchitsya-parit-kak-ptitsa
Author:
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. aksakal
    aksakal 12 August 2013 10: 40 New
    +3
    Previously, they argued whether the creation of "predatory" UAVs in the image and likeness of their natural counterparts is possible. laughing While we argue, designers are mastering other skills of birds, in particular, such highly economical forms of flight. I dare to suggest what kind of UAV appearance will be in the future. And there will be the same bird, only a carbon fiber skeleton and aluminum feathers, well, a little dumber than a crow laughing
    1. KG_patriot_last
      KG_patriot_last 12 August 2013 17: 06 New
      +1
      A biological artificial analogue of a mosquito can be created in general, with only one difference - a camera on the forehead laughing Dumber ravens, but annoying to people ...
  2. lazy
    lazy 12 August 2013 17: 47 New
    -1
    you can still electric motorized gliders powered by solar panels, etc., etc. human fantasies are endless
  3. Just Vasilich
    Just Vasilich 12 August 2013 19: 18 New
    +1
    Obviously, such an apparatus should be equipped with some kind of sensor-detector of air layers with different flow rates, included in the automatic flight control system. Well, any engine should still be there to restore the inevitable loss of flight energy.
  4. serge
    serge 12 August 2013 20: 52 New
    -3
    Another attempt to invent a perpetual motion machine.
  5. studentmati
    studentmati 12 August 2013 23: 27 New
    0
    To model, create and raise such a product is quite possible. The question arises about its practical application?

    In the distant future, dynamically floating aircraft can become observational platforms that will be able to observe wild animals, people, or the weather. They can also serve as communication transmitters, retransmitting cellular or television signals. In addition, they will even get the opportunity to travel at very high speed over long distances.

    A great many modern electronic gadgets enter into a debate about efficiency.
  6. Backfire
    Backfire 13 August 2013 01: 38 New
    +1
    Meanwhile, in Skolkovo ....

Американцы разрабатывают самолет, которому не нужно опускаться на землю

Команда из американского Университета Лехай занимается подготовкой крупного беспилотного летательного аппарата, который предназначен для проведения непрерывных полетов. Еще в 1883 году лауреат нобелевской премии Джон Струтт, а также физик Барон Релей выдвинули одну радикальную идею. Джон Струтт изучил механику полета птиц, в частности пеликанов, и выдвинул предположение, согласно которому птицы черпали энергию для полета из разности скоростей ветра, что в свою очередь позволяло им парить в небе, не взмахивая крыльями. Применяя такую технику полета, которая получила обозначение динамического парения, летательный аппарат мог бы, по крайней мере, теоретически, совершать полеты практически не используя топливо в течение многих недель, месяцев, а может даже и лет.

Динамическим парением называют такой метод парения, при котором высота полета поддерживается при помощи постоянно изменяющихся слоев воздуха, обладающих отличными горизонтальными скоростями. Районы значительных градиентов скорости ветра чаще всего встречаются у каких-либо помех движению потокам воздуха или у поверхности земли. Данный метод достаточно часто применяют птицы. Чаще всего им пользуются морские птицы, которые парят над океанскими волнами, задействуя очень мало энергии для полета. Особенно опытными в применении данного метода считаются альбатросы, которые с помощью динамического парения могут путешествовать на многие тысячи километров. Пилоты планеров в свою очередь достаточно редко находят подобные градиенты на больших высотах.

Динамическое парение основано на том, что скорость ветра в каждом последующем слое выше, чем в предыдущем. Например, скорость сильного ветра на высоте в 1 метр составляет 10 м/с, но если подняться на высоту 10 метров, скорость ветра на ней увеличиться в 1,5 раза. Данным явлением, которое особенно заметно над водной поверхностью, очень активно пользуются крупные пернатые: морские и океанские птицы. Первоначально они поднимаются в верхние слои воздуха, для того чтобы запастись необходимой инерцией, после чего выполняют петлю, возвращаясь в нижние слои воздуха на большей скорости. В момент повторения цикла птицы или какие-либо их искусственные аналоги разгоняются еще сильнее.


Американцы разрабатывают самолет, которому не нужно опускаться на землю

На протяжении десятков лет, работы над динамическим парением двигались очень медленно. Операторы радиоуправляемых глайдеров использовали преимущества данной техники, для того чтобы увеличить дальность полетов, однако ученые не знали, можно ли применить данное знание к более крупным летательным аппаратам. Несмотря на это в 2006 году команда инженеров, которая состояла из членов NASA и ВВС США совершила длительный полет на модифицированном планере L-23 Blanik над военно-воздушной базой Эдвардс, на практике доказав, что достаточно крупный летательный аппарат в состоянии применять методику динамического парения.

Стоит отметить, что современные планеры достаточно часто и уже давно используют птичьи приемы для ускорения и набора высоты. К примеру, в 2005 году Центр летных исследований NASA им. Драйдена запустил планер с автопилотом, который смог продержаться в небе на целый час дольше обычного за счет того, что ловил восходящие потоки теплого воздуха (так называемое статическое парение). А в 2009 году сравнительно небольшой радиоуправляемый самолет смог разогнаться до 630 км/ч, благодаря использованию метода динамического парения.

В настоящее время команда из Университета Лехай, которую возглавляет профессор инженерии Иохим Гренштедт, трудится над усовершенствованием концепции динамического парения. Они пытаются создать крупный беспилотный летательный аппарат, который предназначается для выполнения непрерывных полетов. Не так давно они завершили работы по созданию 7-метрового крыла, выполненного из углеволокна и спроектированного для выполнения полетов в реактивных потоках воздуха на высоте более 6 километров. Данная модель должна выдерживать перегрузки до 20 G (динамическое парение вызывает серьезные нагрузки на крыло машины), а также скорости до 480 км/ч.

Американцы разрабатывают самолет, которому не нужно опускаться на землю

Позднее в 2013 году данная команда исследователей собирается осуществить испытания технологии с моделью планера на небольшой высоте. В том случае, если данные испытания пройдут успешно, отмечает Гренштедт, они собираются запустить свой летательный аппарат, получивший название «Jet Streamer», в реактивный поток, в котором скорость ветра может достигать 320 км/ч. Как только авиаинженерам удастся избавиться от груза топлива и силовой установки, полеты в небе могут превратиться во что-то совершенно новое.

В отдаленном будущем, динамически парящие летательные аппараты смогут стать наблюдательными платформами, которые будут в состоянии вести наблюдение за дикими животными, людьми или погодой. Также они смогут служить коммуникационными передатчиками, ретранслируя сотовые или телевизионные сигналы. Помимо этого они даже получат возможность путешествовать с очень большой скоростью на большие расстояния.

Как это функционирует: Динамическое парение основано на разности в скорости ветра

1. Планер поднимается, преодолевая слои спокойного воздуха на малой высоте к более высоким и бурным слоям воздуха носом к ветру.
2. Планер сохраняет собственную наземную скорость по мере прохождения через границу воздушных потоков. Встречный ветер придает ему более высокую скорость полета и генерирует больше подъемной силы по мере движения ветра поперек его крыльев.
3. Совершив поворот, планер парит вниз, преодолевая при этом существенные расстояния.
4. Покинув ветреные слои воздуха, планер забирается обратно, для того чтобы повторить свой маневр. До тех пор, пока будет существовать разница в скоростях ветра, данный цикл можно будет выполнять бесконечное количество раз.

Американцы разрабатывают самолет, которому не нужно опускаться на землю


Источники информации:
-http://www.mk.ru/science/technology/article/2013/07/05/879929-amerikantsyi-razrabatyivayut-samolet-kotoromu-ne-nuzhno-opuskatsya-na-zemlyu.html
-http://gearmix.ru/archives/3603
-http://airspot.ru/news/raznoje/bespilotnyy-planer-uchitsya-parit-kak-ptitsa
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 6
  1. аксакал 12 августа 2013 10:40
    Ранее спорили, возможно ли создание "хищных" БПЛА по образу и подобию их естесственных аналогов laughing Пока спорим, конструкторы осваивают другие умения птиц, в частности вот такие высокоэкономичные формы полета. Смею предположить, како вбудет облик БПЛА в будущем. А будет та же птица, только скелет из углеволокна и перья из алюминия, ну малость потупее вороны laughing
    1. KG_patriot_last 12 августа 2013 17:06
      Создать могут вообще биологический искусственный аналог комара, в одним лишь отличием - камерой на лбу laughing Тупее вороны, но назойлив до людей...
  2. ленивый 12 августа 2013 17:47
    ещё можно мотопланеры с электрическим двигателем с питанием от солнечных батарей и т.д и т.п фантазии человека безграничны
  3. Просто Василич 12 августа 2013 19:18
    Очевидно, такой аппарат должен быть оборудован каким-то датчиком-детектором слоев воздуха с различными скоростями течения, включенным в автоматическую систему управления полетом. Ну и какой-никакой двигатель все равно должен быть для восстановления неизбежной потери энергии полета.
  4. serge 12 августа 2013 20:52
    Очередная попытка изобрести вечный двигатель.
    serge
  5. studentmati 12 августа 2013 23:27
    Смоделировать, создать и поднять такое изделие вполне возможно. Возникает вопрос о его практическом применении?

    В отдаленном будущем, динамически парящие летательные аппараты смогут стать наблюдательными платформами, которые будут в состоянии вести наблюдение за дикими животными, людьми или погодой. Также они смогут служить коммуникационными передатчиками, ретранслируя сотовые или телевизионные сигналы. Помимо этого они даже получат возможность путешествовать с очень большой скоростью на большие расстояния.

    В спор об эффективности вступает великое множество современных электронных "гаджетов".
  6. Backfire 13 августа 2013 01:38
    А тем временем в Сколково ....
    Backfire

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня