Military Review

The Armed Forces of Argentina suspended the TAM tank modernization program

3
The Armed Forces of Argentina suspended the TAM tank modernization program

Modernization Program of Armed Forces of Argentina tanks TAM (Tanque Argentino Mediano) is frozen because the government has not decided to allocate funds for this project.


It is reported by "Janes Defense Weekly", citing sources in Buenos Aires.

The TAM tank was developed in 1973 by the German company Thyssen-Henschel for the Argentinean artillery on the chassis of the Marder BMP and manufactured by the Tank Argentino Median Sociedad del Estado (TAMSE - Tanque Argentino Mediano Sociedad deldo), which in 1996 was eliminated.

The first TAM tanks were transferred to the NE of Argentina in 1980. They replaced the outdated Sherman. TAM TAM combat weight of about 30 t equipped with 105-mm cannon, develops a maximum speed of 80 km / h, power reserve - 500 km.

The command of the Armed Forces of Argentina in 2010 year decided to carry out a deep modernization of the TAM tanks developed in 1973 year. As stated, the upgrade procedure must go through all 235 vehicles in service. At the first stage it was supposed to improve 108 tanks. The first batch of 20 tanks planned to adopt the 8-th armored cavalry regiment 1-th armored brigade.

The Israeli company Elbit Systems (Elbit Systems) and the Argentine Directorate of R & D and Production (Research, Development, and Production Directorate) participated in the development of the TAM 2C modernization project. The first prototype of the upgraded tank was demonstrated in April of this year.

According to sources, Janes, the reason for the suspension of the project is its high cost. According to some estimates, it amounts to 2,5-3,0 million dollars per unit, which is comparable to the price in the secondary market of the modernized 60-ton MBT "Leopard-2A4" with the 120-mm gun.

According to other sources, in the process of a thorough survey of tanks, problems were identified with the quality of steel armor plates and other signs of structural fatigue, which could lead to a complete reassessment of the program.
Originator:
http://www.armstrade.org/
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. avt
    avt 13 August 2013 14: 10 New
    +3
    Well, it really dawned on the dancers that this is how it is easier and better for Chileans to use it. "Leopards" to buy, how to revive this misunderstanding !? laughing
    1. Hammer
      Hammer 14 August 2013 05: 40 New
      +2
      Well, for 3 lemons, you can bargain with Russia for the purchase of new T-90s ... it's better than used Leopards, not to mention TAMs ...
      Defense Export Officials! Awww! Where are you?! Your way out! laughing
  2. experienced
    experienced 13 August 2013 14: 13 New
    +3
    According to sources, Janes, the reason for the suspension of the project is its high cost. According to some estimates, it amounts to 2,5-3,0 million dollars per unit, which is comparable to the price in the secondary market of the modernized 60-ton MBT "Leopard-2A4" with the 120-mm gun.

    Not weak they swung to modernization belay
  3. Manager
    Manager 13 August 2013 14: 20 New
    +3
    I am amused with a side rearview mirror ???
    1. olegff68
      olegff68 14 August 2013 03: 17 New
      0
      Quote: Manager
      I am amused with a side rearview mirror ???

      Well, there you have to have a lot of chuckles - for example, over the tin cover of the mechanical water manhole., Over brooms on the tower and over the crew of the second tank. lol
  4. experienced
    experienced 13 August 2013 14: 28 New
    +2
    Quote: Manager
    I am amused with a side rearview mirror ???

    And what’s funny about this, on many samples of armored vehicles they are present ... request

    Here is a turkish tank

  5. Hudo
    Hudo 13 August 2013 14: 31 New
    +1
    Quote: Manager
    I am amused with a side rearview mirror ???


    And the rear view mirror, for example on the BTR-80, why won't you make me laugh?
  6. Akim
    Akim 13 August 2013 14: 43 New
    +1
    I read the Argentinean forums. They don’t say anything about it. On the contrary, 5 have already been upgraded.
    1. Avenger711
      Avenger711 13 August 2013 19: 35 New
      -1
      We know about 5 pieces, but we thought about seeing.
  7. Manager
    Manager 13 August 2013 14: 47 New
    +1
    Quote: seasoned
    Here is a turkish tank

    I understand everything, just the fact that the tank has rear-view mirrors is a bit of fun. Especially when you consider that when the driver-mechanic plunges into the tank with his head, there will be no use from them at all. So it turns out that these mirrors are needed in 2 cases. Either for the parade or at the exit from the wagons, etc.
    1. sedoj
      sedoj 13 August 2013 19: 11 New
      +2
      Mirrors on the tanks are set for movement on the field. In this case, when driving around the city. Abroad, light armored vehicles move mainly on their own. Mirrors are a must.
  8. Manager
    Manager 13 August 2013 14: 49 New
    0
    Quote: Hudo
    And the rear view mirror, for example on the BTR-80, why won't you make me laugh?

    Well, an APC will still have a better viewing angle.
    Although I am not a tanker, so do not find fault. It's just that the fact of having mirrors seemed funny to me
  9. experienced
    experienced 13 August 2013 14: 49 New
    +2
    Quote: Akim
    TAM Tank Upgrade Program

    In order not to be unfounded, here is a quote
    "Jane's Defense Weekly in Patricia Samfelt's article "Argentina's TAM modernization has stalled" referring to its sources in senior circles in Buenos Aires, reports that the Argentinean government decided not to allocate funds for the program of modernization of the main tanks of the Argentinean army TAM (Tanque Argentino Mediano). Although nominally the program is only "postponed", however, most likely, this means the actual death of this project.

    The Argentine TAM tank modernization program has a long history, reduced mainly to projects and conversations that were not implemented due to lack of funds. After approximately two decades of projection, in December 2010, the Argentine Ministry of Defense finally signed a contract with the Israeli company Elbit Systems to develop and implement a TAM tank modernization project. Under the terms of the contract Elbit had to upgrade five TAM tanks with its own forces as prototypes for testing. Subsequent work was to be carried out in Argentina. on the technical base of the 601th and 602nd arsenal (technical) battalions (Batallón de Arsenales 601 y 602) of the 601th arsenal group (Agrupación de Arsenales 601) of the Argentine army in Boulogne-sur-Mer (province of Buenos Aires), created based on the former TAMSE tank factory, where TAM tanks were once produced. There, together with Elbit, five more tanks were to be modernized, and then serial modernization of the very first combat batch of 108 vehicles was to begin.
    The first modernized Elbit tank, designated TAM 2C, was delivered in February 2013 and officially handed over to the Argentine army on April 26. By the end of the year, the remaining four cars to be upgraded by Elbit should be completed. However, now the Argentinean government has decided not to allocate funds for the serial modernization of the first 20 combatant vehicles, which were supposed to come from the 8th Cavalry Tank Regiment of the 1st Armored Brigade.
  10. Akim
    Akim 13 August 2013 14: 51 New
    0
    Quote: Manager
    Either for the parade or at the exit from the wagons, etc.

    With the help of side mirrors, any truck driver sees the dimensions of his car.
  11. Akim
    Akim 13 August 2013 15: 10 New
    0
    Quote: seasoned
    In order not to be unfounded, here is a quote

    No doubt, there is such an article. But I do not see in the Spanish-speaking sources of its confirmation (Modernización del Tanque Argentino Mediano se ha estancado). Maybe you will find.
    https://www.facebook.com/FuerzaAereaMundial
  12. smiths xnumx
    smiths xnumx 13 August 2013 15: 10 New
    +4
    Dear Akim, my opinion is that the main problem is that the Argentines wanted to create their own lightweight infantry fighting vehicle, especially since at that time none of their neighbors had anything like this: Brazil (M-41, and M- 3 "Stuart"), Chile (M-41 and M-24 "Chaffee" and the modernized Israeli "Sherman" M-51), and at the same time design an infantry fighting vehicle on its basis. Like cheap and cheerful. We took the German "Marder" fitted a turret with a 105-mm L-7 cannon from the "Thyssen-Henschel", it turned out "cheap and cheerful", and at the same time, on the basis of the tank and its Argentine BMP, they created a VCTP. Plus, they were planning a family of vehicles and an SG with a turret from the "Palmaria" and MLRS and BREM. But then, after the defeat in the Falklands War, the military junta left, the financial crisis broke out, and there was a catastrophic lack of money for the army. During this time, the Chileans moved to Leopards-2, Brazilians to M-60A3 and Leopard-1A3, Venezuelans to T-72, Peruvians also choose between Leopard-22 and T-90, and even Uruguayans bought from Israel 15 Ti-67 (modification of the captured T-55 with a 105-mm cannon), which cover THERE like a bull a sheep. And now there is nowhere to go from being inferior to them in all performance characteristics of TAM, but there is no money to buy new tanks, even to modernize it It remains to be expected that someone will help once again, as Spain "threw off" the Argentos on the cheap their Mirages F1. In general, with the army at the Argentos, they have recently sunk their Sheffield-class destroyer right on the roadstead. Sincerely. hi. here by the way the photo of the same Argentinean BMP based on TAM VCTP
  13. Akim
    Akim 13 August 2013 15: 31 New
    0
    Chile from Leopards 1V did not refuse besides Leopard 2A4CHL. In addition to MBT, Peru is also planning to modernize its T-55s. Most likely, Argentina will do the same. In addition to the purchase, MBT will continue to upgrade TAMs.
    1. smiths xnumx
      smiths xnumx 13 August 2013 21: 53 New
      +1
      Dear Akim, the Argentines, as I know the Argentines do not plan to purchase new armored vehicles, they don’t have enough money to upgrade the TAM, unless someone throws them into poverty, as with fighters. Moreover, their main enemy is England, and with it without the Air Force and Navy, nowhere. The truth is, here the Spaniards fussed and sold them 20 Mirage F.1 for 10 million pounds on the cheap.
      http://www.militaryparitet.com/ttp/data/ic_ttp/6030/
      ... And in the navy it’s even more fun: General Belgrano is at the bottom, the aircraft carrier “May 25” has gone to pieces, the Sheffield-class destroyer Santisima Trinidad sank themselves right in the roadstead, so it cannot be restored. By the way, here is his photo.

      1. Akim
        Akim 14 August 2013 07: 01 New
        +1
        Quote: Kuznetsov 1977
        Argentines, as I know, Argentines do not plan to purchase new armored vehicles

        I did not say that Argentina is going to buy new or used MBTs right now. But in the forums they are actively discussing this ... (I don’t have a snapper, I just know Spanish very well, climbed up and read). But Argentina has money. It’s just that domestic prices are high - more than in the USA.
  14. Avenger711
    Avenger711 13 August 2013 19: 38 New
    -1
    But TAM is conceptually an interesting car, something similar to Psheks stirs up, though, as you call a yacht, General Aders has nothing to be proud of. When moving our tanks over 50 tons in weight, a similar machine with 100-105 mm guns and armor protection, mainly from RPGs, can be a good option for air transport forces.
  15. smiths xnumx
    smiths xnumx 14 August 2013 09: 52 New
    0
    Akim, what if the Argentos are planning now their tanks are not a fountain: 232 There, 4 upgraded TAM Patagon, 41 AMX-13 with a 105-mm cannon, 112 Austrian SK-105 Kurassier (AMX-13 turret on the chassis of an Austrian tracked armored personnel carrier )
    http://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ej%C3%A9rcito_Argentino
    That is, not a single MBT, only light tanks, which Chilean, Brazilian, Venezuelan Leopards, M-60A3 and T-72 cover like a bull a sheep. And this is in the country that was the first in Latin America to produce its own tank in 1944, the DL 43, Nahuel, based on the M4 Sherman and M3 Grant tanks. Yours faithfully! hi
    Here is a photo of "Nahuel"

ВС Аргентины приостановили программу модернизации танков TAM

ВС Аргентины приостановили программу модернизации танков TAM

Программа модернизации состоящих на вооружении СВ Аргентины танков TAM (Tanque Argentino Mediano) заморожена, поскольку правительство страны не приняло решение о выделении средств на реализацию данного проекта.

Об этом сообщает «Джейнс дифенс уикли» со ссылкой на источники в Буэнос-Айресе.

Танк TAM был разработан в 1973 году немецкой компанией «Тиссен-Хеншель» для СВ Аргентины на шасси БМП «Мардер» и изготовлен компанией «Танк Архентино медиано сосьедад дэль эстадо» (TAMSE – Tanque Argentino Mediano Sociedad del Estado), которая в 1996 году была ликвидирована.


Первые танки TAM были переданы СВ Аргентины в 1980 году. Они заменили устаревшие «Шерман». Танк TAM боевой массой около 30 т оснащен 105-мм пушкой, развивает максимальную скорость 80 км/ч, запас хода – 500 км.

Командование ВС Аргентины в 2010 году приняло решение о проведении глубокой модернизации разработанных в 1973 году танков ТАМ. Как было заявлено, процедуру модернизации должны пройти все 235 машин, состоящих на вооружении. На первом этапе предполагалось усовершенствовать 108 танков. Первую партию из 20 танков планировалось принять на вооружение 8-го бронекавалерийского полка 1-й бронетанковой бригады.

В разработке проекта модернизации TAM 2C приняли участие израильская компания «Элбит системз» (Elbit Systems) и аргентинский Директорат НИОКР и производства (Research, Development, and Production Directorate). Первый опытный образец модернизированного танка был продемонстрирован в апреле этого года.

По оценке источников «Джейнс», причиной приостановки проекта является его высокая стоимость. По некоторым оценкам, она составляет 2,5-3,0 млн дол за единицу, что сравнимо с ценой на вторичном рынке модернизированного 60-тонного ОБТ «Леопард-2A4» со 120-мм пушкой.

По данным других источников, в процессе тщательного обследования танков были выявлены проблемы с качеством стальных бронеплит и другие признаки усталости конструкции, что может привести к полной переоценке программы.
Первоисточник: http://www.armstrade.org/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. avt 13 августа 2013 14:10
    Ну неужели до танцоров дошло что вот как чилийцам проще и лучше б.у. ,,Леопарды" купить ,чем зто недоразумение реанимировать !? laughing
    avt
    1. Hammer 14 августа 2013 05:40
      Ну за 3 лимона можно поторговаться с Россией за покупку новых Т-90... всяко лучше чем подержанные Леопарды, не говоря уже о ТАМах...
      Чиновники от оборон-экспорта! Ауууу! Где вы?! Ваш выход! laughing
  2. бывалый 13 августа 2013 14:13
    По оценке источников «Джейнс», причиной приостановки проекта является его высокая стоимость. По некоторым оценкам, она составляет 2,5-3,0 млн дол за единицу, что сравнимо с ценой на вторичном рынке модернизированного 60-тонного ОБТ «Леопард-2A4» со 120-мм пушкой.

    Не слабо они замахнулись на модернизацию belay
  3. Манагер 13 августа 2013 14:20
    Меня одного боковое зеркало заднего вида насмешило???
    1. olegff68 14 августа 2013 03:17
      Цитата: Манагер
      Меня одного боковое зеркало заднего вида насмешило???

      Ну так то там надо многим посмеяться можно - например над жестяной крышкой люка мех.вода., над вениками на башне и над экипажем второго танка. lol
  4. бывалый 13 августа 2013 14:28
    Цитата: Манагер
    Меня одного боковое зеркало заднего вида насмешило???

    И чего в этом смешного, на многих образцах бронетехники они присутствуют... request

    Вот турецкий танк

  5. Hudo 13 августа 2013 14:31
    Цитата: Манагер
    Меня одного боковое зеркало заднего вида насмешило???


    А зеркало заднего вида, к примеру на БТР-80, отчего Вас не смешит?
    Hudo
  6. Akim 13 августа 2013 14:43
    Я почитал аргентинские форумы. Ничего об это не говорят. Наоборот, уже модернизировали 5 штук.
    Akim
    1. Avenger711 13 августа 2013 19:35
      Про 5 шт знаем, но видать задумались.
      Avenger711
  7. Манагер 13 августа 2013 14:47
    Цитата: бывалый
    Вот турецкий танк

    Я все понимаю, просто сам факт наличии у танка зеркал заднего вида это немного весело. Особенно если учесть что когда водитель-механик погрузится в танк с головой, прока от них вовсе не будет.Так что получается что зеркала эти нужны в 2 случаях. Либо для парада либо при съезде с вагонов итд.
    1. sedoj 13 августа 2013 19:11
      Зеркала на танки ставятся для движения по походному. В данном случае при езде по городу. За рубежом лёгкая бронированная техника передвтгается в основном своим ходом. Зеркала просто необходимы.
  8. Манагер 13 августа 2013 14:49
    Цитата: Hudo
    А зеркало заднего вида, к примеру на БТР-80, отчего Вас не смешит?

    НУ у БТР все же угол обзора получше будет.
    Хотя я не танкист поэтому не придерайтесь. Просто мне факт наличия зеркал показался забавным вот и делов
  9. бывалый 13 августа 2013 14:49
    Цитата: Akim
    программу модернизации танков TAM

    Чтобы не быть голословным, вот цитата
    "Журнал "Jane's Defence Weekly" в статье Patricia Samfelt "Argentina's TAM modernisation has stalled" со ссылкой на свои источники в высокопоставленных кругах в Буэнос-Айресе сообщает, что правительство Аргентины приняло решение не выделять средства на осуществление программы модернизации основных танков аргентинской армии ТАМ (Tanque Argentino Mediano). Хотя номинально программа только "отложена", однако, скорее всего, это означает фактическую смерть данного проекта.

    Аргентинская программа модернизации танков ТАМ имеет длительную историю, сводящуюся в основном к проектам и разговорам, нереализовывавшимся из-за отсутствия средств. После примерно двух десятилетий прожектирования, в декабре 2010 года министерство обороны Аргентины подписало, наконец, контракт с израильской компанией Elbit Systems на разработку и реализацию проекта модернизации танков ТАМ. По условиям контракта, Elbit должна была своими силами осуществить модернизацию пяти танков ТАМ в качестве опытных образцов для испытаний. Последующие работы должны были осуществляться в Аргентине на технической базе 601-го и 602-го арсенальных (технических) батальонов (Batallón de Arsenales 601 y 602) 601-й арсенальной группы (Agrupación de Arsenales 601) аргентинской армии в Булонь-сюр-Мер (провинция Буэнос-Айрес), созданной на базе бывшего танкового завода TAMSE, где в свое время и производились танки ТАМ. Там совместно с Elbit должны были пройти модернизацию еще пять танков, а потом должна была начаться серийная модернизация собственными силами уже первой строевой партии из 108 машин.
    Первый модернизированный Elbit танк, получивший обозначение ТАМ 2С, был поставлен в феврале 2013 года и официально передан аргентинской армии 26 апреля. До конца года должны быть закончены и остальные четыре машины, модернизируемые Elbit. Однако сейчас правительство Аргентины приняло решение не выделять средства на серийную модернизацию первых 20 строевых машин, которые должны были поступить из 8-го танкового кавалерийского полка 1-й бронетанковой бригады.
  10. Akim 13 августа 2013 14:51
    Цитата: Манагер
    Либо для парада либо при съезде с вагонов итд.

    С помощью боковых зеркал любой водитель грузовика видит габариты своей машины.
    Akim
  11. Akim 13 августа 2013 15:10
    Цитата: бывалый
    Чтобы не быть голословным, вот цитата

    Спору нет, есть такая статья. Но не вижу я в испаноговорящих источниках ее подтверждения (Modernización del Tanque Argentino Mediano se ha estancado). Может быть Вы найдете.
    https://www.facebook.com/FuerzaAereaMundial
    Akim
  12. кузнецов 1977 13 августа 2013 15:10
    Уважаемый Аким, мое мнение, что главная проблем в том, что аргентинцы захотели создать свой легкий на базе БМП, тем более, что в тот период ни у кого и из их соседей ничего подобного не было: Бразилия (М-41, и М-3 "Стюарт"), Чили (М-41 и М-24 "Чаффи" и модернизированный израильский "Шерман" М-51), да заодно и сконструировать на его базе БМП. Типа дешево и сердито. Взяли немецкую "Мардер" приладили башню со 105-мм пушкой L-7 от "Тиссен-Хеншеля", получилось "дешево и сердито", да заодно на базе танка и свою аргентинскую БМП создали VCTP. Плюс планировали еще семейство машин и СГ с башней от "Палмарии" и РСЗО и БРЭМ. Но тут после поражения в Фолклендской войне военную хунту ушли, грянул финансовый кризис, денег на армию стало катастрофически не хватать. За это время чилийцы пересели на "Леопарды-2", бразильцы на М-60А3 и "Леопард-1А3", венесуэльцы на Т-72, перуанцы вон тоже выбирают между "Леопардом-22 и Т-90 и даже уругвайцы по случаю прикупили у Израиля 15 Ti-67 (модификация трофейного Т-55 со 105-мм пушкой), которые кроют ТАМ как бык овцу. А теперь деватся некуда от уступающего им по всем ТТХ ТАМа избавится, да новые танки прикупить денег нет, даже на модернизацию его их не хватает. Остается ждать, что кто-нибудь в очередной раз поможет, как Испания "скинувшая" аргентосам по дешевке свои "Миражи Ф1". Вообщем с армией у аргентосом полный швах6 они недавно вон свой эсминец типа "Шеффилд" прямо на рейде утопили. С уважением. hi. вот кстати фото той-самой аргентинской БМП на базе ТАМа VCTP
    кузнецов 1977
  13. Akim 13 августа 2013 15:31
    Чили от Леопардов 1V не отказалась помимо Leopard 2A4CHL. Перу тоже кроме ОБТ свои Т-55 собирается модернизировать. Скорей всего так поступит и Аргентина. Кроме покупки ОБТ будет продолжать модернизировать ТАМы.
    Akim
    1. кузнецов 1977 13 августа 2013 21:53
      Уважаемый Аким, аргентинцы, как мне известно аргентинцы не планируют закупку новой бронетехники, им денег на модернизацию ТАМа не хватает, разве только что кто-нибудь на нищету подкинет, как с истребителями. Тем более основной противник у них Англия, а с ней без ВВС и ВМС никуда. Правда тут испанцы подсуетились продали им по дешевке 20 Mirage F.1 за 10 млн ф.ст.
      http://www.militaryparitet.com/ttp/data/ic_ttp/6030/
      . А на флоте так еще веселей: "Хенерал Бельграно" на дне, авианосец "25 мая" пошел на иголки, эсминец "Santisima Trinidad" типа "Шеффилд" арги сами утопили прямо на рейде, да так что он восстановлению не подлежит. Вот кстати его фотография.

      кузнецов 1977
      1. Akim 14 августа 2013 07:01
        Цитата: кузнецов 1977
        аргентинцы, как мне известно аргентинцы не планируют закупку новой бронетехники

        Я не говорил, что Аргентина собирается покупать сейчас новые или подержанные ОБТ. Но на форумах у них это активно обговаривают... ( я не морниторю, просто хорошо знаю испанский, залез и почитал). А деньги у Аргентины есть. Там просто внутренние цены большие - больше чем в США.
        Akim
  14. Avenger711 13 августа 2013 19:38
    А TAM концептуально машина интересная, что-то похожее пшеки мутят, правда, как вы яхту назовете, а генералу Адерсу гордиться по факту нечем. При переходе наших танков за 50 тонн весу, подобная машина со 100-105 мм орудием и бронезащитой, преимущественно от РПГ может стать неплохим вариантом для авиатранспортабельных сил.
    Avenger711
  15. кузнецов 1977 14 августа 2013 09:52
    Аким, а что хоть аргентосы планируют сейчас у них танков не фонтан: 232 Там, 4 модернизированных ТАМа "Патагон", 41 АМХ-13 со 105-мм пушкой, 112 австрийских SK-105 Kurassier (башня АМХ-13 на шасси австрийского гусеничного БТР)
    http://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ej%C3%A9rcito_Argentino
    То есть ни одного ОБТ, одни легкие танки, которые чилийские, бразильские, венесуэльские "Леопарды", М-60А3 и Т-72 кроют как бык овцу. И это в стране, которая первая в Латинской Америке произвела свой собственный танк в 1944 году DL 43, Науэль на основе танков M4 «Шерман» и М3 «Грант». С уважением! hi
    Вот фотография "Науэля"
    кузнецов 1977

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня