Military Review

Is Brandtaucher drowning?

2
There are several opinions about the oldest submarine in the world. Some believe that the first such boat was constructed in Ancient China, others believe that Leonardo da Vinci became the inventor of a full-fledged submarine, and others are inclined to believe that the first submarine appeared in Germany in the 19 century. On the new type of boats can be found on www.kapitan.ua now.

If you remember that German submarine, which a certain circle of specialists considers to be the first submarine, similar in spirit to the modern one, then it was created in the distant 1850 year. The chief engineer of the submarine became a German engineer Wilhelm Bauer. The name of his brainchild, he gave a rather unusual: "Brandtauher", which literally translated into Russian sounds like "fire diver". Another name for the boat, which was used by the sailors, is “Iron Seal”. This name arose because of the shape of the submarine and its color.
The main feature of Brandtaucher was that the water was not injected into the special ballast tanks, but directly into the hull of the boat, the wall thickness of which was about 6 mm. Instead of special tanks, necessary for the correction of the boat in the water, was used semitone dynamic cast iron ballast. The crew of the boat consisted of only three people.
The maximum depth of the Brandtaucher, apparently, was calculated erroneously. Already on the fourth test Brandtauher sank. The cause of the catastrophe was associated with excess water, which was poured into the hull of the boat and not enough successful use of the cast-iron ballast, which was discussed above. The walls of the submarine were severely deformed.
Let us return to the strange name of a submarine from Germany. "Fire diver". Its name is such for the reason that the so-called “Brand” (fire) was carried on board the boat. This is a relatively small bomb that could be attached to the bottom or side wall of an enemy ship. The bomb exploded, causing a fire on the ship. With the help of Brandtaucher, it was planned to cause fires on enemy bridges, disrupting the transport infrastructure.
If you decide to see the first German submarine with your own eyes, then for this you can go to Dresden, where she is exhibited in the Museum of the Bundeswehr.
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. alex86
    alex86 14 August 2013 19: 50 New
    0
    Yes, well done! It’s not very clear how they took water into the body - under the floor, or what? That is, splashing under your feet? Then it’s clear why they drowned. And immediately the question: did the crew survive? and how was it raised (apparently raised, since there are conclusions about the causes of the accident)? And once again - well done: knowing nothing plainly, on some assumptions! ...
  2. sub307
    sub307 16 August 2013 15: 23 New
    0
    Interesting information, I will be in Dresden - I will try to see.

Тонет ли «Брандтаухер»?

Существует несколько мнений по поводу самой старой подводной лодки в мире. Одни считают, что первым такую лодку сконструировали ещё в Древнем Китае, другие уверены, что изобретателем полноценной субмарины стал Леонардо да Винчи, третьи склонны полагать, что первая подлодка появилась в Германии в 19-м столетии. О лодках нового типа можно узнать на www.kapitan.ua уже сейчас.
Тонет ли «Брандтаухер»?

Если вспоминать ту немецкую подводную лодку, которую определённый круг специалистов считает первой субмариной, близкой по духу современным, то создана она была в далёком 1850 году. Главным проектировщиком той субмарины стал немецкий инженер Вильгельм Бауэр. Название своему детищу он дал достаточно необычное: «Брандтаухер», что в дословном переводе на русский звучит как «пожарный ныряльщик». Другое название лодки, которое использовали моряки, это «Железный тюлень». Такое название возникло из-за формы субмарины и её цвета.
Основной особенностью Брандтаухера являлось то, что вода впускалась не в специальный балластные баки, а непосредственно в корпус лодки, толщина стен которого составляла около 6 мм. Вместо специальных цистерн, необходимых для коррекции лодки в воде, использовался полутонный динамичный балласт из чугуна. Экипаж лодки состоял всего из трёх человек.
Максимальная глубина погружения Брандтаухера, судя по всему, была рассчитана ошибочно. Уже на четвёртом испытании Брандтаухер затонул. Причину катастрофы связали с переизбытков воды, которая залилась в корпус лодки и недостаточно успешным использованием того чугунного балласта, о котором речь шла выше. Стенки подлодки были сильно деформированы.
Вернёмся к странному названию субмарины из Германии. «Пожарный ныряльщик». Её название таково по той причине, что на борту лодки перевозился так называемый «Бранд» (пожар). Это относительно небольшая бомба, которую можно было прикреплять к днищу или боковой стенке вражеского корабля. Бомба взрывалась, что вызывало пожар на корабле. С помощью Брандтаухера планировалось вызывать пожары на мостах противника, нарушая транспортную инфраструктуру.

Если вы решили увидеть первую немецкую подводную лодку своими глазами, то для этого можно отправиться в Дрезден, где она и выставляется в музее Бундесвера.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
  1. alex86 14 августа 2013 19:50
    Да просто молодцы! Не сильно понятно, как они воду в корпус принимали - под настил, что-ли? Т.е., под ногами плескалось? Тогда понятно, почему потонули. И сразу вопрос: экипаж выжил? и как подняли (видимо, подняли, раз есть выводы о причинах аварии)? И ещё раз - молодцы: ничего не зная толком, на одних предположениях!...
  2. sub307 16 августа 2013 15:23
    Интересная информация, буду в Дрездене - попробую посмотреть.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня