Military Review

The Great Battle of Kursk: Operation Rumyantsev. 3 part

3
Battle of Kharkov


While the offensive of the troops of the Voronezh Front was halted by the operational reserves of the Wehrmacht and they had to conduct heavy battles under Bogodukhov and Akhtyrka, the Stepnoy Front fought for Kharkov. The front commander Ivan Stepanovich Konev, having intelligence data about the powerful defenses of the German troops in the Kharkiv region, planned to destroy as much of the German group as possible at the approaches to the city, preventing their withdrawal to the defensive lines and into the city limits.

The Germans prepared the city well for defense. At a distance of 8-14 km from Kharkov there was an outer bypass, which was based on several strong points. The most important of them were Dergachi, Cherkasskoe Lozovoe, Tsirkuny, Prelestny, Yuzhny, Vasischevo. All settlements were prepared for a perimeter defense. The approaches to settlements and strongholds were covered by anti-tank and anti-personnel minefields, and engineering barriers. All the roads that led to Kharkov from the north and southeast were destroyed, the bridges on them were destroyed. Separate areas were mined, prepared "surprises" in the form aviation bombs. The area between the outer and urban outlines was also prepared for defense. It was equipped with intermediate and cut-off positions, strong points and resistance nodes were prepared. From the north and west, the city was "helped" by nature to protect it, there were significant forests. The Germans fortified these areas with notches, rubble, mined the passages, set up groups of machine gunners.

The urban defensive line was based on sturdy stone buildings that were turned into long-term firing points. Artillery and mortar positions were created on the lower floors, and machine gun nests on the upper floors. All the direct approaches to the city, the entrances and exits from it, the outlying streets were mined and barricaded and obstructed. The inner quarters, especially in the northern and eastern parts of the city, were prepared for all-round defense. The main part of the artillery means was concentrated on the eastern and northern part of the city bypass.

For the defense of the Kharkov fortified area, the German command formed a strong group, which consisted of units of the 167th, 198th, 168th, 106th, 320th, 282nd and 39th infantry, as well as units of the 3rd and 6th tank divisions. These divisions were already seriously battered in previous battles, but retained combat effectiveness. In addition, they were regularly reinforced by the transfer of reinforcements. So, on August 19, south of Kharkov, in the Konstantinovka area, the German command brought into battle a fresh 355th infantry division, which was transferred from the Crimean peninsula. In addition, various SS detachments, security and police units were involved in the defense of the city. Adolf Hitler demanded to keep the city "at all costs" and widely apply repression against soldiers and officers who show signs of cowardice and unwillingness to fight to the last.


The defeat of the Kharkov group of Germans.

11 August 1943, parts of the Steppe Front approached the outer defensive line and tried to overcome it. However, only 12 August, pulling up all the artillery forces, the front forces were able to somewhat penetrate the defensive lines of the Wehrmacht. The position of the troops was complicated by the fact that the 5-I Guards Tank Army, which was handed over to the Steppe Front, was involved in repelling the German counterstrike under Bogodukhov, and then in the area of ​​Akhtyrka. The shortage of armored vehicles had to be compensated by artillery. On August 13, the troops of the 53, 57, 69 and 7 Guards armies broke through an external defensive line, and in a number of places reached the city line, engaging in fighting on the outskirts of the city. 13-17 August were fierce battles on the outskirts of the city, the battle continued at night. Both sides suffered heavy losses. Thus, in some regiments of the 7 Guards Army, commanded by Mikhail Shumilov, only 600 people remained, and only 1 of the tank remained in the 44-m mechanized corps of Mikhail Solomatin (less than the number of the tank brigade). German prisoners reported high casualties in German troops. 30-40 people remained in many companies of the Kempf task force in Kharkiv.

The Great Battle of Kursk: Operation Rumyantsev. 3 part

German gunners firing a leFH 18 howitzer at the advancing Soviet troops. Kharkiv direction, August 1943

August 18 The 57 Army under the command of Nikolai Gagen resumed the offensive, bypassing Kharkov from the south. The shock grouping of the army as part of the 5 rifle divisions reinforced by armored vehicles, was to advance in the general direction of Merefa. 18-22 August 1943, both flank of the Steppe Front fought hard. The 57 Army tried to cover Kharkov from the southeast. 53-I army under the command of Ivan Managarov tried to cover the city from the north-west. On August 18, Managarov’s army attempted to break through the forest in the north-western outskirts of Kharkov. However, the Germans turned the forest into a real fortified area, with a multitude of machine-gun and artillery firing points. All attacks of the Soviet troops were repulsed. Only at nightfall, pulling up artillery, the 53-I army was able to break through the forest. In addition, part of the army troops went around the forest from the western direction. In the morning of August 19, army troops reached the Uda River and crossed it in a number of places. By 20 August, the 53 Army achieved success in the area of ​​Korotich, a city located on the Kharkov-Poltava railway. Soviet troops occupied a number of settlements in 6-12 km north-west of Kharkov. Using the success of the neighboring 53 Army, the Kryuchenkin 69 Army concentrated most of its forces on its right flank. Kryuchyonkin's army began to quickly bypass Kharkiv along the northwestern and western fashi of the urban defensive line.

By order of G. Zhukov, in order to speed up the liberation of Kharkiv, on August 20 the 5 Guards Tank Army was transferred to the forest massif south of Field. Rotmistrov’s army was to strike at Korotich and cut the railway and prevent the German troops from retreating from Kharkov in the western and south-western directions. The 18 Tank Corps under the command of A. V. Egorov and the 5 th Guards Mechanized Corps of BM Skvortsov participated in the strike (one building of Rotmistrov’s army was left in the area of ​​Bogodukhov, in case of a new German counterattack).

Rotmistrov's army launched an offensive in the morning of August 21 1943. In the first echelon, the 18 tank corps was advancing. Tankmen had to force Udu under attack by the enemy, part of the tanks got stuck on the marshy flood plain and exploded on mines. As a result, the corps was able to go on the offensive only in the evening and advanced only 1 km in a day. On August 22, the 5 th Guards Mechanized Corps was brought into battle. After a fierce battle by the end of the day, the Soviet soldiers occupied Korotichi. At the disposal of the German command, only two roads remained in the southwestern direction, one iron and one highway, they led from Kharkov to Merefa and Krasnograd. Both communications were subject to the continuous influence of the Soviet Air Force.

On August 22, the SS Panzer Division Das Reich received reinforcements from Germany — the Panther tank battalion. The division "Reich" immediately launched an offensive. This allowed the German command to stabilize the situation on this sector for some time. It began a fierce tank battle. Rotmistrov tank crews fought with the Reich SS. On August 23, German troops were able to knock out Rotmistrov’s army (which had lost most of its equipment in previous battles) from Korotich. The forward detachments of the army were surrounded. Soviet troops fiercely resisted. The rifle men established themselves in a small area of ​​the forest and, with the support of several tanks and anti-tank guns, fought off attacks from the 11 Army Corps. The Germans suffered heavy losses. Only the attack of flamethrowing tanks put an end to the resistance of the Russians, this section of the forest was simply burned.

The success of the Reich division could no longer help the German command to keep Kharkov in their hands. He only provided the withdrawal of troops from the city. Under the threat of complete encirclement of the Kharkov group, the German command 22 of August began withdrawing troops from the city. In the afternoon, Soviet intelligence reported that the enemy’s columns were retreating in a southwesterly direction. Trying to prevent the Germans from withdrawing their troops from attack, the Soviet command on the evening of August 22 issued an order for a night storming of the city. The city itself was stormed by units of the 69 Army and the 7 Army Guards. The German rear guards put up strong resistance, firing dense artillery and machine gun fire. They were also reinforced with tanks and assault guns. In 4 hours 30 minutes 183-division was able to get through to Dzerzhinsky Square. By dawn, most of the city was liberated from enemy forces. By 12.00 23 August 1943, the battles were completed and on the outskirts, Kharkov was freed from the occupiers. The remnants of the enemy troops, pursued by Soviet tank crews and pilots, fled to the south-west — across the Meref and Mzh rivers. The Germans threw a significant amount of equipment and weapons. During this time, German troops lost 78 tanks, 340 vehicles, 249 guns, and 900 machine guns. On this the main part of the operation "Rumyantsev" was completed. The Soviet capital saluted the liberators of Kharkov.


"Panther" on the street of the liberated Kharkov. August-September 1943

Soon was released and Akhtyrka. 19-21 August 27-I army was replenished with personnel and equipment. On the morning of August 21, the army launched an offensive, receiving orders from the front command to take Ahtyrka. However, due to the strong resistance of the enemy and the lack of tank support, the task could not be completed. German troops firmly held the immediate approaches to the city. In addition, the battle formations of the 27 Army were subjected to strong air strikes. As a result, the 27 Army was unable to independently solve the task of mastering Akhtyrka.


Tank T-34 on the outskirts of Kharkov.

Fracture occurred after the release of Kharkov by the Red Army. After leaving Kharkiv, the value of Akhtyrka as a Wehrmacht stronghold in the general defense system of the Belgorod-Kharkov sector was lost. In addition, there was a threat surrounding Akhtyrka. The German command decided to withdraw the Akhtyr garrison and withdraw the troops to a new defensive line. 23-24 August German troops left Akhtyrka. Intelligence of the 27 Army discovered the enemy’s retreat, and the commander Trofimenko ordered the pursuit of the enemy. 25 August 8, 147 and 155 rifle divisions of the 166 army moved to the attack in 27 o'clock in the morning. During the day, the 147-rifle division occupied the southern part of the city, the 155-rifle division — the northern part to the Akhtyrka river, the 166-division — freed the central part of the Akhtyrka.


Soviet artillery enters Kharkov.

Conclusion

In three weeks, the formations of the Voronezh and Steppe fronts liberated Belgorod, Kharkov, advanced south and south-west by 140 km and expanded the front of the offensive, which amounted to 300 – 400 km. During this time, the Wehrmacht 15 divisions, including the 4 tank divisions, were defeated. The successful completion of Operation Rumyantsev and the liberation of Kharkov played an important role in the liberation of Donbass. In addition, the liberation of Kharkov further developed into a powerful offensive, which led our troops after the liberation from the occupiers of Left-Bank Ukraine, to the line of the Dnieper River.

It should be noted that the offensive of the Voronezh and Steppe Fronts made it impossible for the enemy command to maneuver large operational and strategic reserves, create shock groups of them that would disrupt the offensive operations of the Red Army on one or another sector of the front or even be able to fundamentally change the overall situation on the Eastern Front . The German leadership was forced to drive its reserves from one front to another. In particular, the Great Germany tank division, which participated in the Citadel offensive operation, was first transferred to the Oryol sector, then it was sent from the Orel area to the offensive site of the Voronezh Front, to the Okhtyrka area. And the tank corps divisions of the SS were redeployed from the Belgorod-Kharkov direction to Mius-Front, with the start of the Rumyantsev operation, and hastily returned to the Kharkov region, where they took part in organizing a counterstrike under Bogodukhov. The transfer of selected German divisions from the Donbass to Kharkov allowed the troops of the Southern and Southwestern fronts to successfully carry out an operation to break through the Miuss defense line and liberate the Donetsk industrial region.

Many units and formations were awarded orders, received the title of the Guard, 26 units received honorary titles. In particular, the 89-I Guards Rifle Division, 305-I Rifle Division and 25-th Guards Red Banner Fighter Aviation Regiment received the title of "Belgorod". Ten divisions received the name - "Kharkov". More than 100 thousand soldiers and commanders were awarded orders and medals, more than 180 people became Heroes of the Soviet Union.


In the liberated Kharkov. 23 August 1943

Sources:
Battle of Kursk. - M .: Military Publishing, 1945. // http://militera.lib.ru/h/kursk/index.html
Isaev A.V. Liberation 1943. "From Kursk and Orel, the war brought us ...". M., 2013.
Katukov ME On the edge of the main attack. M., 1974 // http://militera.lib.ru/memo/russian/katukov/index.html
Konev I.S. Notes front commander. - M .: Science, 1972 // http://militera.lib.ru/memo/russian/konev/index.html
Kursk Arc, July 5 - August 23 1943. // http://lib.rus.ec/b/224976/read
Author:
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vladimirets
    Vladimirets 15 August 2013 08: 31
    +4
    The article is interesting, as always, only this somehow jarred:

    "Only the attack of the flamethrower tanks put an end to the Russian resistance"

    This can be written by a German historian or another Westerner, and our author does not write about his soldiers.
  2. kanevsvv
    kanevsvv 15 August 2013 19: 57
    0
    quality outlined, thanks.
  3. valdissumy
    valdissumy 13 October 2019 13: 31
    0
    Only by looking at the sources that served to write the article, we can conclude that it is unscientific. When writing an article, not a single document of that time was used (battle logs, orders, combat reports) as well as enemy documents.
    Let us take the date of the liberation of Kharkov on August 23, 1943, which was reported in the report of the Sovinformburo and on the same day a festive salute was given in Moscow. In fact, that day one third of Kharkov (Cold Mountain, New Bavaria) was in the hands of German troops, and on August 29, 1943, German infantry advanced almost to the city center. And only on August 30 the city was finally liberated. The reports of the Sovinformburo reported that the city of Sumy was liberated on February 23, 1943, and in fact on September 2, 1943. The error came out.
    A similar heresy is described with the release of Akhtyrka. The article says that the liberation of Akhtyrka began on August 21, 1943 and for unknown reasons could not be taken. In fact, the assault on Akhtyrka began early in the morning on August 11, 1943, first only by the forces of the 4th Guards Kantemirovsky tank corps, and then by the approaching infantry units of the 27th army. It would be necessary to say about the quantitative and qualitative superiority of German tanks in this sector of the offensive. About the conflict between the commander of a tank corps Poluboyarov and the commander of the army Trofimenko, which led to the encirclement of two tank corps and an infantry division in the so-called "Akhtyrsky bag", the death or capture of a large number of Red Army soldiers, as well as the loss of military equipment. I will cite data only on the Kantemirovsky tank corps: -596 people were killed, -2412 missing, -1121 wounded, this is half of the personnel available at the time of the start of the operation. The corps lost almost all of its tanks and self-propelled guns - 197, half of the armored personnel carriers and armored cars-38, almost all mortars - 81, cars - 379.
    After the troops of the 40th Army liberated the city of Lebedin of the Sumy Region and continued their attack on Poltava, there was a threat to encircle the fascist group from the north, on August 25, 1945, the Nazis left Akhtyrka.
    My father served in the 4th GKTK since March 1944, but the soldiers who survived them were told about the hardest battles near Akhtyrka.

Великая Курская битва: операция "Румянцев". Часть 3

Битва за Харьков

В то время как наступление войск Воронежского фронта было остановлено оперативными резервами вермахта и им пришлось вести тяжелые бои под Богодуховым и Ахтыркой, Степной фронт вёл битву за Харьков. Командующий фронтом Иван Степанович Конев, имея данные разведки о мощных оборонительных сооружениях немецких войск в районе Харькова, планировал по возможности уничтожить большую часть немецкой группировки на подступах к городу, не допустив их отвода за оборонительные рубежи и в черту города.

Немцы хорошо подготовили город к обороне. На расстоянии 8—14 км от Харькова шёл внешний обвод, который основывался на нескольких опорных пунктах. Важнейшими из них были - Дергачи, Черкасское Лозовое, Циркуны, Прелестный, Южный, Васищево. Все поселения были подготовлены к круговой обороне. Подступы к поселениям и опорным пунктам прикрывали противотанковые и противопехотные минные поля, инженерные заграждения. Все дороги, которые вели к Харькову с севера и с юго-востока, были уничтожены, мосты на них разрушены. Отдельные участки заминировали, подготовили «сюрпризы» в виде авиационных бомб. Территория между внешним и городским обводами, была также подготовлена к обороне. Её оборудовали промежуточными и отсечными позициями, подготовили опорные пункты и узлы сопротивления. С северного и западного направления город «помогала» защищать природа, там располагались значительные лесные массивы. Немцы укрепили эти направления засеками, завалами, заминировали проходы, поставили группы автоматчиков.


Городской оборонительный обвод основывался на крепких каменных зданиях, которые были превращены в долговременные огневые точки. На нижних этажах создавались артиллерийские и минометные позиции, на верхних - пулеметные гнезда. Все непосредственные подступы к городу, въезды и выезды из него, окраинные улицы были заминированы и перекрыты баррикадами, завалами. Внутренние кварталы, особенно в северной и восточной частях города, были подготовлены к круговой обороне. Основная часть артиллерийских средств была сконцентрирована на восточной и северной части городского обвода.

Для обороны Харьковского укрепрайона немецкое командование сформировало сильную группировку, которая состояла из соединений 167-й, 198-й, 168-й, 106-й, 320-й, 282-й и 39-й пехотных, а также частей 3-й и 6-й танковой дивизий. Эти дивизии были уже серьёзно потрёпаны в предшествующих боях, но сохраняли боеспособность. К тому же их регулярно усиливали переброской подкреплений. Так, 19 августа южнее Харькова, в районе Константиновки, немецкое командование ввело в бой свежую 355-ю пехотную дивизию, которую перебросили с Крымского полуострова. Кроме того, для обороны города привлекались различные отряды СС, охранные и полицейские подразделения. Адольф Гитлер требовал удержать город «любой ценой» и широко применять репрессии против солдат и офицеров, которые проявляют признаки трусости и нежелания воевать до последнего.

Великая Курская битва: операция "Румянцев". Часть 3

Разгром харьковской группировки немцев.

11 августа 1943 года части Степного фронта подошли к внешнему оборонительному обводу и попытались его преодолеть. Однако только 12 августа, подтянув все артиллерийские силы, войска фронта смогли несколько вклиниться в оборонительные рубежи вермахта. Положение войск осложнялось тем, что 5-я гвардейская танковая армия, которую передали в распоряжении Степного фронта, была задействована в отражении немецкого контрудара под Богодуховым, а затем в районе Ахтырки. Нехватку бронетехники пришлось возмещать артиллерией. 13 августа войска 53-й, 57-й, 69-й и 7-й гвардейской армий пробили внешний оборонительный обвод, и в ряде мест вышли к городскому обводу, завязав бои на окраинах города. 13-17 августа шли жестокие бои на окраинах города, сражение продолжалось и ночью. Обе стороны несли большие потери. Так, в некоторых полках 7-й гвардейской армии под командованием Михаила Шумилова осталось по 600 человек, а в 1-м механизированном корпусе Михаила Соломатина осталось всего 44 танка (меньше численности танковой бригады). Немецкие пленные сообщали о высоких потерях в немецких войсках. Во многих ротах обороняющихся в Харькове соединений оперативной группы «Кемпф» осталось по 30-40 человек.

Великая Курская битва: операция "Румянцев". Часть 3

Немецкие артиллеристы ведут огонь из гаубицы leFH 18 по наступающим советским войскам. Харьковское направление, Август 1943 г.

18 августа 57-я армия под командованием Николая Гагена возобновила наступление, обходя Харьков с южного направления. Ударная группировка армии в составе 5 стрелковых дивизий усиленных бронетехникой, должна была наступать в общем направлении на Мерефу. 18-22 августа 1943 года оба фланга Степного фронта вели упорные бои. 57-я армия пыталась охватить Харьков с юго-востока. 53-я армия под началом Ивана Манагарова пыталась охватить город с северо-запада. 18 августа армия Манагарова пыталась прорваться через лесной массив на северо-западной окраине Харькова. Однако немцы превратили лес в настоящий укрепрайон, с множеством пулеметно-артиллерийских огневых точек. Все атаки советских войск были отбиты. Лишь с наступлением ночи, подтянув артиллерию, 53-я армия смогла пробиться через лесной массив. К тому же часть войск армии обошла лес с западного направления. У утру 19 августа войска армии вышли к реке Уды и в ряде мест переправились через неё. К 20 августа 53-я армия достигла успехов в районе Коротича, города расположенного на железной дороге Харьков – Полтава. Советские войска заняли ряд населенных пунктов в 6-12 км к северо-западу от Харькова. Используя успех соседней 53-й армии, 69-я армия Крючёнкина сконцентрировала большую часть сил на своём правом фланге. Армия Крючёнкина стала быстро обходить Харьков вдоль северо-западного и западного фасов городского оборонительного обвода.

По приказу Г. Жукова, чтобы ускорить освобождение Харькова, 20 августа в лесной массив южнее Полевого стали перебрасывать 5-ю гвардейскую танковую армию. Армия Ротмистрова должна была ударом на Коротич перерезать железную дорогу и не дать немецким войскам отступить из Харькова в западном и юго-западном направлениях. В ударе участвовали 18-й танковый корпус под началом А. В. Егорова и 5-й гвардейский мехкорпус Б. М. Скворцова (один корпус армии Ротмистрова оставили в районе Богодухова, на случай нового немецкого контрудара).

Армия Ротмистрова перешла в наступление утром 21 августа 1943 года. В первом эшелоне наступал 18-й танковый корпус. Танкистам пришлось форсировать Уду под обстрелом противника, часть танков застряла на заболоченной пойме и подорвалась на минах. В результате корпус смог перейти в наступление только к вечеру и продвинулся за день только на 1 км. 22 августа ввели в бой 5-й гвардейских механизированный корпус. После ожесточенного боя к концу дня советские воины заняли Коротичи. В распоряжении немецкого командования осталось лишь две дороги в юго-западном направлении, одна железная и одна шоссейная, они вели из Харькова на Мерефу и Красноград. Обе коммуникации подвергались непрерывному воздействию советских Военно-Воздушных сил.

22 августа танковая дивизия СС «Дас Райх» получила из Германии подкрепление – танковый батальон «Пантер». Дивизия «Рейх» сразу перешла в наступление. Это позволило немецкому командованию на некоторое время стабилизировать ситуацию на этом участке. Началось яростное танковое сражение. Танкисты Ротмистрова бились с эсэсовцами «Рейха». 23 августа немецкие войска смогли выбить армию Ротмистрова (утратившую большую часть техники в предшествующих боях) из Коротича. Передовые отряды армии оказались в окружении. Советские войска оказали ожесточенно сопротивление. Мотострелки закрепились на небольшом участке леса и при поддержке нескольких танков и противотанковых пушек отбивали атаки 11-го армейского корпуса. Немцы понесли большие потери. Только атака огнемётных танков положила конец сопротивлению русских, этот участок леса был просто сожжен.

Успех дивизии «Рейх» уже не мог помочь немецкому командованию сохранить Харьков в своих руках. Он только обеспечил отход войск из города. Под угрозой полного окружения харьковской группировки, немецкое командование 22 августа начало вывод войск из города. Во второй половине дня советская разведка сообщила, что колонны противника отступают в юго-западном направлении. Пытаясь не дать немцам вывести из под удара свои войска, советское командование вечером 22 августа отдало приказ о ночном штурме города. Непосредственно город штурмовали части 69-й армии и 7-й гвардейской армии. Немецкие арьергарды оказывали сильное сопротивление, ведя плотный артиллерийско-пулеметный огонь. Они также были усилены танками и штурмовыми орудиями. В 4 часа 30 минут 183-я дивизия смогла пробиться на площадь Дзержинского. К рассвету большая часть города была освобождена от войск противника. К 12.00 23 августа 1943 года бои были завершены и на окраинах, Харьков были освобожден от оккупантов. Остатки вражеских войск, преследуемые советскими танкистами и летчиками, бежали на юго-запад— за реки Мерефа и Мжа. Немцы бросили значительное количество техники и оружия. Немецкие войска за это время потеряли 78 танков, 340 автомашин, 249 орудий, около 900 пулеметов. На этом основная часть операции «Румянцев» была завершена. Советская столица салютовала освободителям Харькова.

Великая Курская битва: операция "Румянцев". Часть 3

«Пантера» на улице освобождённого Харькова. Август-сентябрь 1943 г.

Вскоре была освобождена и Ахтырка. 19-21 августа 27-я армия была пополнена личным составом и техникой. Утром 21 августа армия перешла в наступление, получив приказ командования фронтом занять Ахтырку. Однако из-за сильного сопротивления противника и отсутствия танковой поддержки, задачу выполнить не удалось. Немецкие войска прочно удерживали непосредственные подступы к городу. К тому же боевые порядки 27-й армии подвергались сильным ударам с воздуха. В результате 27-я армия не смогла самостоятельно решить задачу по овладению Ахтыркой.

Великая Курская битва: операция "Румянцев". Часть 3

Танк Т-34 на окраинах Харькова.

Перелом произошёл после освобождения Красной Армией Харькова. После оставления Харькова значение Ахтырки как опорного пункта вермахта в общей системе обороны белгородско-харьковского направления была утрачено. К тому же возникла угроза окружения Ахтырки. Немецкое командование приняло решение вывести ахтырский гарнизон и отвести войска на новый оборонительный рубеж. 23-24 августа немецкие войска оставили Ахтырку. Разведка 27-й армии обнаружила отступление противника, и командарм Трофименко отдал приказ на преследование врага. 25 августа в 8 часов утра 147-я, 155-я и 166-я стрелковые дивизии 27-й армии перешли в атаку. В течение дня 147-я стрелковая дивизия заняла южную часть города, 155-я стрелковая дивизия – северную часть до реки Ахтырка, 166-я дивизия – освободила центральную часть Ахтырки.

Великая Курская битва: операция "Румянцев". Часть 3

Советская артиллерия вступает в Харьков.

Заключение

За три недели соединения Воронежского и Степного фронтов освободили Белгород, Харьков, продвинулись на юг и юго-запад на 140 км и расширили фронт наступления, который составил 300–400 км. За это время было разгромлено 15 дивизий вермахта, в том числе 4 танковых. Успешное завершение операции «Румянцев» и освобождение Харькова сыграло важную роль в освобождении Донбасса. Кроме того, освобождение Харькова в дальнейшем переросло в мощное наступление, которое привело наши войска после освобождения от оккупантов Левобережной Украины, к рубежу реки Днепр.

Надо отметить, что наступление Воронежского и Степного фронтов лишило командование противника возможности целесообразно маневрировать крупными оперативными и стратегическими резервами, создавать из них ударные группировки, которые сорвут наступательные операции Красной Армии на том или ином участке фронта или даже смогут коренным образом изменить общую ситуацию на Восточном фронте. Немецкое руководство было вынуждено гонять свои резервы с одного участка фронта на другой. В частности, танковую дивизию «Великая Германия», которая участвовала в наступательной операции «Цитадель», сначала перебросили на орловское направление, затем из района Орла её направили на участок наступления Воронежского фронта, в район Ахтырки. А танковые дивизии корпуса СС перебросили с белгородско-харьковского направления на Миус-фронт, с началом операции «Румянцев», спешно вернули в район Харькова, где они приняли участие в организации контрудара под Богодуховым. Перевод отборных дивизий Германии из Донбасса под Харьков позволил войскам Южного и Юго-Западного фронтов успешно провести операцию по прорыву миусской оборонительной линии и освобождению Донецкого промышленного района.

Многие части и соединения были отмечены орденами, получили звание гвардейских, 26 частей получили почётные наименования. В частности, 89-я гвардейская стрелковая дивизия, 305-я стрелковая дивизия и 25-й гвардейский Краснознаменный истребительный авиаполк получили звание «Белгородских». Десять дивизий получили наименование — «Харьковские». Более 100 тыс. бойцов и командиров были награждены орденами и медалями, более 180 человека стали Героями Советского Союза.

Великая Курская битва: операция "Румянцев". Часть 3

В освобожденном Харькове. 23 августа 1943 г.

Источники:
Битва под Курском. — М.: Воениздат, 1945. // http://militera.lib.ru/h/kursk/index.html
Исаев А. В. Освобождение 1943. «От Курска и Орла война нас довела…». М., 2013.
Катуков М.Е. На острие главного удара. М., 1974 // http://militera.lib.ru/memo/russian/katukov/index.html
Конев И.С. Записки командующего фронтом. — М.: Наука, 1972 // http://militera.lib.ru/memo/russian/konev/index.html
Курская дуга, 5 июля — 23 августа 1943 г. // http://lib.rus.ec/b/224976/read
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
  1. Владимирец 15 августа 2013 08:31
    Статья интересная, как всегда, только вот это как то покоробило:

    "Только атака огнемётных танков положила конец сопротивлению русских"

    Так может писать немецкий историк или другой западный, а наш автор про своих солдат так не пишет.
  2. kanevsvv 15 августа 2013 19:57
    качественно изложено, спасибо.
    kanevsvv

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня