Military Review

January 29 1856 was established the highest military award of Great Britain

0
January 29 1856 was established the highest military award of Great BritainFor almost the entire 18th century, England did not show a keen interest in the Ottoman Empire. During the Russian-Turkish war of 1768 – 1774, it even provided assistance to Russia because of the long-standing trade relations that linked both states. But Kyukyuk-Kaynardzhiysky peace treaty, the annexation of the Crimea to Russia, the new Russian-Turkish war, the capture of Ochakov, the alliance of Russia with Austria - all this greatly changed the mood in the English parliament, which in the new alignment of forces saw threats to its interests in the East.

From this time on, for almost 100 years, England considered the preservation of the integrity of the Ottoman Empire as the most important goal of its foreign policy. This was even more evident when Russia seized the Turkish principalities on the Danube, and Turkey, although weak, was a friend of Great Britain. England could attack Russia only from the sea, and therefore the British fleet under the command of Admiral Naper entered the Baltic waters, and in September 1853, the British landed in the Crimea: their main goal was to capture Sevastopol.

The Crimean War delivered to the English crown mostly pleasant news and impressions. It was pleasant to be a patriot, to select suitable prayers for reading in the church, to learn about glorious victories and to feel proud of yourself as an Englishman. After the end of the Crimean War, Queen Victoria set up a medal in 1856, which was the highest award for the military who committed heroic feats and proved loyalty to their homeland. The medal began to be called the Victoria Cross: it was a special kind of award, which is not inferior in meaning to any other orders, but did not have any organization behind it. It is said that the creation of the "Victoria Cross" is associated with a visit by the Queen in 1855, the parade of injured and wounded British soldiers and officers who returned from the Crimea. There is, however, the version that the new award was established on the initiative of the spouse of Queen Victoria, Prince Consort Albert, who also proposed to celebrate the most distinguished in battles during the Crimean War.

The first presentation of the award took place on July 26 1857 of the year in the famous Hyde Park, when the Victoria Cross was awarded 85 servicemen. Two years later, the statute of this award was expanded: now it was awarded not only for the heroism shown in the battles, but also for any manifestation of courage. However, guided by the new principle, the Victoria Cross was awarded only to one person who put out a fire on a train with ammunition in 1866. Therefore, in 1881, the original principles of awarding were restored, and since 1902, King Edward II allowed posting the "Victoria Cross" posthumously.

“Victoria Cross” is a cross with triangular rays - narrow in the middle and expanding to the edges. In the center of it is a disk with the image of the royal crown and a lion, below is a scroll with the inscription “FOR VALOR” (“For courage”). The Victoria Cross is supported by the capital “V” below. The award is worn on a blue ribbon (for fleet) and red (for land parts), although the latter in color can most likely be called pale raspberry. On the back of the cross is the date of the feat, as well as the name, rank and military unit of the awarded.

Over the years of this award, 150 has been awarded to a total of about 1500 people. The Victoria Cross may be granted a military serviceman of any rank and of both sexes, but there is not a single woman among the men of this Order. In addition, the Order Statute emphasizes that if a heroic feat is performed by a whole group of military men, those who are worthy are chosen by secret ballot. Cavaliers of the Cross of Victoria are allowed to add the letters “VC” to their names, but if the award is not an officer, he receives a pension.

For the battle of Inkerman during the Crimean War 18 Englishmen were awarded the "Victoria Cross". Only one hero of the battle did not get the insignia, as he was too small for this award: the trumpeter T. Kip from the 3 battalion was then only ten years old. But he was a fearless boy and in the midst of the battle, under a hail of bullets and nuclei, supported bonfires that warmed up frozen soldiers, carried hot tea, helped the wounded out of the shelling. Many veterans of Inkerman remember for a long time the red uniform of T. Kip, who for all his life was nicknamed “the little hero”. He served for a long time and gloriously in the British army with the rank of sergeant of the 4-th Midllsek Rifle Regiment and retired with many awards and a pension.

Until now, there is a legend in England that the “Victoria Cross” from the first day of its establishment has been cast in bronze from Russian cannons captured by the British in Sevastopol to this day. However, it is known that since 1858, the guns captured by the British in the 1857 – 1860s during the expedition to China served as material for making this award. Victoria Cross is made by a private firm, and subsequently it received bronze of various content and origin for this purpose.

To award the soldiers and officers who distinguished themselves during the siege of Sevastopol during the Crimean War, two more awards were instituted in England. In 1854, in the army, the medal “For Excellent Actions” was introduced, which was awarded at the rate of 7 for each cavalry regiment and 15 for each infantry battalion. In the Navy, the medal “For Outstanding Bravery” was introduced. The Queen, admiring the "glorious soldiers", wrote to the King of Belgium:

“I perceive them as my own children; my heart beats for them just as for the closest and dearest people to me. They were so touched, so pleased; I heard many crying. And when they were offered to engrave their names with medals, they didn’t even want to hear about it, because they were afraid that the medals they received from my hands would not be returned to them. ”
Originator:
http://topwar.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://topwar.ru
Add a comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

29 января 1856 года учреждена высшая военная награда Великобритании

29 января 1856 года учреждена высшая военная награда ВеликобританииНа протяжении почти всего XVIII века пристального интереса к Османской империи Англия не проявляла. Во время Русско-турецкой войны 1768–1774 годов она даже оказывала России помощь в силу давних торговых отношений, связывавших оба государства. Но Кючюк-Кайнарджийский мирный договор, присоединение Крыма к России, новая Русско-турецкая война, взятие Очакова, союз России с Австрией — все это сильно изменило настроения в английском парламенте, который в новой расстановке сил увидел угрозы для своих интересов на Востоке.

С этого времени в течение почти 100 лет важнейшей целью своей внешней политики Англия считала сохранение целостности Османской империи. Это с еще большей очевидностью проявилось, когда Россия захватила турецкие княжества на Дунае, а Турция была хоть и слабым, но другом Великобритании. Англия могла атаковать Россию только с моря, и потому британский флот под командованием адмирала Нейпера вошел в балтийские воды, а в сентябре 1853 года англичане высадились в Крыму: главной их целью был захват Севастополя.

Крымская война доставляла английской короне по большей части приятные новости и впечатления. Приятно было быть патриотом, подбирать для чтения в церкви подходящие молитвы, узнавать о славных победах и с гордостью ощущать себя англичанином. После завершения Крымской войны королева Виктория в 1856 году учредила медаль, которая стала высшей наградой для военных, совершивших героические подвиги и доказавших преданность родине. Медаль стала называться «Крест Виктории»: она представляла особый вид награды, по значению не уступающей никаким другим орденам, но не имела за собой никакой организации. Рассказывают, что создание «Креста Виктории» связано с посещением королевой в 1855 году парада увечных и раненых английских солдат и офицеров, вернувшихся из Крыма. Есть, правда, версия, что новая награда была учреждена по инициативе супруга королевы Виктории, принца-консорта Альберта, который тоже предложил отметить наиболее отличившихся в боях во время Крымской войны.


Первое вручение новой награды состоялось 26 июля 1857 года в знаменитом Гайд-парке, когда «Креста Виктории» удостоились 85 военнослужащих. Через два года статут этой награды был расширен: теперь она вручалась не только за проявленный в сражениях героизм, но и за любое проявление отваги. Однако, руководствуясь новым принципом, «Крест Виктории» вручили только одному человеку, который в 1866 году потушил в Канаде пожар на поезде с боеприпасами. Поэтому в 1881 году были восстановлены первоначальные принципы награждения, а с 1902 года король Эдуард II разрешил награждать «Крестом Виктории» посмертно.

«Крест Виктории» представляет собой крест с треугольными лучами — узкими в середине и расширяющимися к краям. В центре его — диск с изображением королевской короны и льва, ниже расположен свиток с надписью «FOR VALOUR» («За отвагу»). Снизу «Крест Виктории» поддерживает большая буква «V». Награду носят на ленте голубого цвета (для флота) и красного цвета (для сухопутных частей), хотя последнюю по цвету можно скорее всего назвать бледно-малиновой. На оборотной стороне креста проставлена дата совершения подвига, а также имя, звание и воинское подразделение награжденного.

Почти за 150 лет существования этой награды ее удостоились в общей сложности около 1500 человек. «Крест Виктории» может быть пожалован военнослужащим любого звания и обоего пола, однако среди кавалеров этого ордена нет ни одной женщины. Кроме того, в орденском статуте особо отмечается, что, если героический подвиг совершает целая группа военных, достойные выбираются тайным голосованием. Кавалерам «Креста Виктории» позволено прибавлять к своим именам буквы «V.C.», если же награжденный не офицер — он получает пенсию.

За сражение под Инкерманом во время Крымской войны 18 англичан были награждены «Крестом Виктории». Не достался знак отличия лишь одному герою битвы, так как он оказался слишком мал для этой награды: трубачу Т. Кипу из 3-го батальона было тогда всего десять лет. Но он был бесстрашным мальчиком и в разгар боя, под градом пуль и ядер, поддерживал костры, у которых грелись замерзшие бойцы, разносил горячий чай, помогал раненым выбраться из-под обстрела. Многим ветеранам Инкермана надолго запомнился красный мундирчик Т. Кипа, которого на всю жизнь прозвали «маленьким героем». Он долго и славно служил в британской армии в звании сержанта 4-го Мидллсекского стрелкового полка и вышел в отставку со множеством наград и пенсией.

До сих пор в Англии бытует легенда, что «Крест Виктории» с первого дня своего учреждения и по сей день отливается из бронзы русских пушек, захваченных англичанами в Севастополе. Однако известно, что уже с 1858 года материалом для изготовления этой награды служили и пушки, захваченные англичанами в 1857–1860-е годы во время экспедиции в Китай. «Крест Виктории» изготавливает частная фирма, и впоследствии она получала для этой цели бронзу самого различного содержания и происхождения.

Для награждения солдат и офицеров, отличившихся во время осады Севастополя во время Крымской войны, в Англии были учреждены еще две награды. В 1854 году в армии была введена медаль «За отличные действия», которая вручалась из расчета 7 на каждый кавалерийский полк и 15 на каждый пехотный батальон. Во флоте была введена медаль «За выдающуюся храбрость». Королева, восхищаясь «славными солдатами», писала королю Бельгии:

«Я воспринимаю их как собственных детей; мое сердце бьется за них так же, как за самых близких и дорогих мне людей. Они были так тронуты, так довольны; я слышала, как многие плакали. А когда им предложили выгравировать на медалях их имена, они не хотели даже слышать об этом, потому что боялись, что им вернут не те медали, которые они получили из моих рук».
Первоисточник: http://topwar.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://topwar.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 0

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня