Military Review

World is arming

1
World is armingIn 2009, military spending worldwide reached $ 1,53 trillion. This is 5,9% more compared to 2008. In general, over the past ten years, defense spending has increased by almost half. The global financial crisis and economic downturn, as it turned out, had little impact on the modernization of the army and fleet. It remains in first place in terms of US military spending, followed by China, and Russia closes the top five.

The Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) has published a regular yearbook, SIPRI Yearbook 2010, on trends in armaments, disarmament and international security in the world.

Swedish experts estimate that over the past ten years, military spending in the world has grown by almost half. In 2009, their volume reached 1,53 trillion dollars, which is 5,9% more than 2008 in the year and 49% in the year with 2000.
Interestingly, the financial crisis had virtually no effect on military spending. Of all the countries for which relevant data are available, military spending increased 65 countries last year.

The most notable growth was shown by the states of Asia and Oceania - 8,9%. However, the title of the country with the highest military spending is still being held by the United States - they accounted for 54% growth in world defense spending. In absolute terms, the costs of Americans in the field of armaments amounted to 661 billion dollars.

The United States is followed by China (100 billion), France (63,9 billion), Great Britain (58,3 billion) and Russia (53,3 billion).
The top ten, according to SIPRI, also includes Japan (51,8 billion), Germany (45,6 billion), India (36,3 billion), Italy (35,8 billion) and Saudi Arabia (41,3 billion), ITAR-TASS reported.

"Many countries increased government spending in 2009, which was one way to increase demand to combat the economic downturn," said Sam Perlo-Freeman, SIPRI program for military spending.

According to him, military spending did not become a noticeable part of these stimulation economic packages, but they were not cut back. States preferred to cut other articles, finding them less important than spending on defense.

"The data show that military spending is often a long-term strategic choice of many large and medium-sized powers, such as the United States, China, Russia, India and Brazil, and they adhere to this choice even in difficult economic times," the expert explained.
It should be noted that the SIPRI collection contains fairly detailed statistics not only on military expenditures, but also on stocks of nuclear arsenals, on global manufacturers weapons, as well as trends in the arms trade.

By the way, according to SIPRI, Russia is not only among the top five leaders in defense spending, but also ranks second after the United States on the conventional arms market. The share of the United States in global exports for the past five years amounted to 30%, Russia - 24%.

In general, over the past five years, the growth in international arms supplies amounted to 22%. The leaders among the recipients of weapons, as in the case of increasing defense spending, were the countries of Asia and Oceania.
Originator:
http://www.vz.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://www.vz.ru
1 comment
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Andrei
     Andrei 27 July 2013 17: 08
    0
    And we need to arm ourselves

Мир вооружается

Мир вооружаетсяВ 2009 году военные расходы во всем мире достигли 1,53 трлн долларов. Это на 5,9% больше по сравнению с 2008 годом. В целом за последние десять лет затраты на оборону увеличились почти наполовину. Мировой финансовый кризис и экономический спад, как оказалось, несильно отразились на модернизации армии и флота. По-прежнему на первом месте по уровню военных расходов США, за ними следует Китай, а замыкает пятерку лидеров Россия.

Стокгольмский международный институт исследования проблем мира (SIPRI) опубликовал очередной ежегодник – SIPRI Yearbook 2010, посвященный тенденциям в сфере вооружения, разоружения и международной безопасности в мире.

Шведские эксперты подсчитали, что за последние десять лет расходы на военные цели в мире выросли почти наполовину. В 2009 году их объем достиг 1,53 тлрн долларов, это на 5,9% больше по сравнению с 2008 годом и на 49% – с 2000 годом.
Интересно, что финансовый кризис практически не сказался на тратах в военной сфере. Из всех государств, по которым имеются соответствующие данные, в прошлом году военные расходы увеличили 65 стран.


Самый заметный рост показали государства Азии и Океании – 8,9%. Однако титул страны с наибольшими военными расходами по-прежнему удерживают США – на их долю выпало 54% роста мировых расходов на оборону. В абсолютном исчислении затраты американцев на сферу вооружений составили 661 млрд долларов.

За Соединенными Штатами следуют Китай (100 млрд), Франция (63,9 млрд), Великобритания (58,3 млрд) и Россия (53,3 млрд).
В десятку, согласно данным SIPRI, входят также Япония (51,8 млрд), Германия (45,6 млрд), Индия (36,3 млрд), Италия (35,8 млрд) и Саудовская Аравия (41,3 млрд), сообщает ИТАР-ТАСС.

«Многие страны увеличили в 2009 году государственные расходы, что стало одним из способов повышения спроса в целях борьбы с экономическим спадом», – отмечает руководитель программы SIPRI по военным расходам Сэм Перло-Фриман.

По его словам, военные расходы не стали заметной частью этих стимуляционных экономических пакетов, но они и не были урезаны. Государства предпочли сократить другие статьи, посчитав их менее важными, чем траты на оборону.

«Данные показывают, что военные расходы нередко являются долгосрочным стратегическим выбором многих крупных и средних держав, таких как США, Китай, Россия, Индия и Бразилия, и этого выбора они придерживаются даже в трудные экономические времена», – пояснил эксперт.
Отметим, что в сборнике SIPRI представлена довольно подробная статистика не только по поводу военных расходов, но и о запасах ядерных арсеналов, о мировых производителях оружия, а также о тенденциях в сфере торговли оружием.

К слову, по данным SIPRI, Россия не только входит в пятерку лидеров по объему расходов на оборону, но и занимает второе место после США на рынке обычных вооружений. Доля Соединенных Штатов в глобальных экспортных поставках за последние пять лет составила 30%, России – 24%.

В целом за последние пять лет рост объемов международных поставок вооружений составил 22%. Лидерами среди получателей оружия, как и в случае с наращиванием расходов на оборону, оказались страны Азии и Океании.
Первоисточник: http://www.vz.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://www.vz.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
  1.  Андрей 27 июля 2013 17:08
    И нам надо вооружаться
     Андрей

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня