Military Review

The US blogosphere knows everything: why does Russia support the regime in Syria?

2
Russia's support of the Syrian regime and the strong pressure from the Western and Arab countries of the Persian Gulf is due to the extensive banking, trade and military interests that manifested themselves during the Soviet era. The Russian financial system is in close contact with the Syrian banking system. The process is carried out according to the same principles. bankruptcy of individuals in both countries, the approach to credit mechanisms in Russia and Syria is similar.
Russian officials may not care about peace in the country of Assad and its actions during the crisis, but they will not give up their loyal Arab ally, who is ready to defend Russian interests in his state.
Assad is an old friend of Moscow
Syria was at odds with the West almost since its independence in 1946, and this hostility intensified due to the growing support of Israel, the main rival of Syria, by the American authorities. In this regard, it is quite logical that the leaders in Damascus, vulnerable to their stronger neighbors, will seek support from Moscow.
Under the leadership of the late Syrian leader Hafez al-Assad, Syria’s relations with the Soviet Union became one of the most stable strategic partnerships in the Middle East that survived the collapse of the Soviet Union and Bashar Assad’s rise to power in 2000.
Russia's interests in Syria
This is not a manifestation of sentimental feelings of old friends, Russia has its own interests in Syria
Defense industry: civil war is good for business. In 2011, the Russian defense industry exported weapons to Syria for $ 1 billion, plus - there were unclosed contracts worth about $ 4 billion. Reuters news agency also reported an increase in Russian supplies of small arms to the Syrian authorities since the beginning of the uprising. These supplies should entail new revenues to the Russian budget.
Trade relations: Russian businessmen can lose a lot in Syria. As the manufacturing sector of Syria collapses under the weight of sanctions, the Assad regime depends on imports of oil products, grain, electrical equipment and other Russian goods. According to some Russian sources, from 2011, trade between Syria and Russia jumped by 58% to $ 1,97 billion, which suggests that Moscow is benefiting from a civil war in Syria.
Port of Tartus: Moscow’s most tangible prize from this relationship is its access to the naval base in the port city of Syria, Tartus, the only naval outpost fleet Russia in the Mediterranean Sea. If Russia refuses to support Assad, then she risks losing Tartus for her Navy. Cooperation in this area dates back to 1971, and in 2008 Tartus was transformed into a permanent base of Russia with ambitious plans for the modernization of facilities, which is not consistent with the interests of NATO.
Nevertheless, Russia is trying to convey to the world community the idea that the West is striving to sow new chaos in the Middle East, mentioning the unsuccessful example for NATO in Libya. At the same time, Russia is not going to recognize that civilians are dying from its support of the regime in Syria, including from the chemical weapons used by Asad. But the Kremlin’s political game has long been exposed, and his desire to retain control over the Syrian market is understandable. The Assad regime for Moscow today fits perfectly, but the eternal fraternization of regimes is not destined to happen.
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. dmitreach
    dmitreach 27 August 2013 22: 32 New
    +1
    Kindly a reference to the original "this opus" !? I want to know the "heroes" in person! am
  2. Antokha
    Antokha 28 August 2013 20: 22 New
    0
    Another nonsense of the information war

Блогосфера США знает всё: почему Россия поддерживает режим в Сирии?

Поддержка Россией сирийского режима и сильное давление со стороны западных и арабских стран Персидского залива объясняется обширными банковскими, торговыми и военными интересами, которые проявлялись ещё в советскую эпоху. Российская финансовая система находится в тесном контакте с банковском системой Сирии. По одним и тем же принципам осуществляется процесс банкротство физических лиц в обеих странах, похож и подход к кредитным механизмам в России и Сирии.
Российские чиновники, возможно, не заботятся о мире в стране Асада и о его действиях во время кризиса, но они не сдадут верного им арабского союзника, который готов защищать российские интересы в своём государстве.
Асад - старый друг Москвы
Сирия был в ссоре с Западом практически с момента обретения ею независимости в 1946 году, и враждебность эта усиливалась в связи с растущей поддержкой американскими властями Израиля, главного конкурента Сирии. В связи с этим вполне логично, что лидеры в Дамаске, уязвимые для своих более сильных соседей, будут искать поддержку у Москвы.
Под руководством покойного сирийского лидера Хафеза аль-Асада отношения Сирии с Советским Союзом превратились в одно из наиболее устойчивых стратегических партнерств на Ближнем Востоке, которое пережило крах Советского Союза и приход к власти Башара Асада в 2000 году.
Интересы России в Сирии
Это не проявление сентиментальных чувств старых друзей, у России есть свои интересы в Сирии
Оборонная промышленность: гражданская война хороша для ведения бизнеса. В 2011 году российская оборонная промышленность экспортировала оружия в Сирию на $ 1 млрд., плюс - остались незакрытые контракты на сумму примерно $ 4 млрд. Информационное агентство Рейтер также сообщало об увеличении поставок Россией стрелкового оружия сирийским властям с начала восстания. Эти поставки должны повлечь новые поступления в бюджет России.
Торговые связи: российские бизнесмены могут многое потерять в Сирии. Так как производственный сектор Сирии рушится под тяжестью санкций, режим Асада зависит от импорта нефтепродуктов, зерна, электрооборудования и других российских товаров. Согласно некоторым российским источникам, с 2011 года торговля между Сирией и Россией подскочила на 58% до $ 1,97 млрд., что говорит о том, что Москве выгодна гражданская война на территории Сирии.
Порт Тартус: наиболее ощутимым призом Москвы, который она получает от этих отношений, является доступ к военно-морской базе в портовом городе Сирии Тартусе, единственном форпосте военно-морского флота России в Средиземном море. Если России откажется от поддержки Асада, то она рискует потерять Тартус для своего ВМФ. Сотрудничество по этому направлению восходит ещё к 1971 году, а в 2008 году Тартус был преобразован в постоянную базу России с амбициозными планами по модернизации объектов, что не согласуется с интересами НАТО.
Тем не менее, Россия старается донести до мирового сообщества идею о том, что Запад стремится посеять новый хаос на Ближнем Востоке, упоминая о неудачном для НАТО примере в Ливии. При этом Россия не собирается признавать того, что от её поддержки режима в Сирии гибнет мирное население, в том числе, и от используемого Асадом химического оружия. Но политическая игра Кремля давно обнажена, и его стремление оставить за собой контроль над сирийским рынком понятно. Режим Асада для Москвы сегодня подходит идеально, но вечному братанию режимов бывать не суждено.
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. dmitreach Офлайн
    dmitreach 27 августа 2013 22:32
    +1
    Будьте любезны ссылочку на оригинал "сего опуса"!? желаю знать "героев" в лицо! am
  2. Антоха
    Антоха 28 августа 2013 20:22
    0
    Очередной бред информационной войны