Military Review

American 155-mm self-propelled howitzer M109

19
The M109 is an American self-propelled artillery mount, a class of self-propelled howitzers that has become the most common in the world. M109 was created in 1953 — 1960. to replace the unsuccessful SAU M44, in parallel with the M108 caliber 105 mm. Serially produced in the United States. In the period from 1962 to 2003 years repeatedly upgrading. In 1990-s produced under license in South Korea. Total for the time was released 9205 self-propelled guns of all modifications. Pretty quickly, it became the standard self-propelled artillery installation of US troops, displacing not only older models, but also M108. The first combat use of M109 during the Vietnam War and subsequently applied in almost all military conflicts involving the United States. In addition to the United States, has become a standard self-propelled NATO countries.




In the middle of the 1950, self-propelled artillery systems in the field artillery of the United States took a firm place. However, the US participation in numerous military conflicts unleashed throughout the world and the emergence of a nuclear weapons socialist countries served as the reason for putting forward new requirements for self-propelled guns. To quickly transport self-propelled guns to anywhere in the world by air, they had to have a small mass and dimensions. To protect the crew of the self-propelled guns from the damaging factors of nuclear weapons, the reservation of vehicles had to be complete. In addition, they were equipped with filtering units. In the list of requirements, not least was occupied by good cross through the use of specials. chassis, overcoming swimming water obstacles and increasing the sector of horizontal fire by using a rotating tower. At this time, the US Army was armed with a 105-mm self-propelled guns M52 and 155-mm self-propelled guns M44, created on the basis of tank M41. Self-propelled artillery mounts did not meet the new requirements and had some drawbacks, the main of which were: limited angle of fire, heavy weight and insignificant range.

To eliminate the flaws inherent in the M44 and M52, in 1952, they began to create a self-propelled howitzer Т195 of the 110 caliber mm. It was decided to use the gun turret and hull T195 as the basis of self-propelled gun equipped with 156-mm howitzer. A new howitzer project was presented in August 1954, however, it did not receive customer approval. In the 1956 year, for unification within NATO, it was decided to adhere to the caliber 155 millimeters, and in 1959, the first prototype was completed, which was assigned the designation T196. ACS T196 for military tests sent to Fort Knox.



According to the results of these tests, it was decided that to increase the operating range, all American armored vehicles will be equipped with diesel engines. In addition, a number of changes were made to the design of the hull, tower and chassis. Taking into account the new equipment, the model was assigned the designation T196-1. In 1961, it was put into service as the howitzer М109 SP. The first production vehicles were produced at the end of the 1962 of the year at the Cleveland Army Tank Plant under the leadership of the Cadillac Motor Car Division, later Chrysler. A total of Chrysler plant built around 2500 guns. In the 1970s, production of the M109 family was transferred to Bowen McLaughlin-York (today United Defense).

The body and turret of the ACS M109 are made of aluminum rolled armor, which provides protection against fragments of field artillery shells, small arms fire and the light radiation of a nuclear explosion. The stern and sides of the hull were installed vertically, and the upper front sheet at a significant angle. The roof of the case is horizontal. At the stern of the self-propelled gun, a closed circular rotational tower was installed, having an almost semicircular frontal sheet. Rectangular hatches opening backwards are made in the sides of the tower.



In the self-propelled howitzer, M109 adopted a layout with a front-mounted engine-transmission group. In the aft part of the hull there was a circular rotation tower with a 155-mm howitzer. The driver's seat is located in front of the self-propelled gun on the left, the engine compartment - on the right. The tower is located behind. M109 self-propelled howitzer suspension rod. There are 7 rollers on each side, a guide drum in the rear and a transport drum in the front. Rolls for reverse are absent. The standard equipment includes infrared driving lights, as well as amphibious equipment, enabling self-propelled guns to move independently through slow-flowing rivers. There was a double hatch in the stern, which was used to load ammunition. The crew entered / exited through hatches in the stern of the tower and side walls, as well as through hatches in the roof of the tower.

Detroit diesel diesel engine 8V-T71.

The M109 self-propelled howitzer crew consists of six people: a driver, a gun commander, a gunner and his assistant, as well as two calculation numbers.

The 155 mm M126 howitzer with a barrel length 23 caliber serves as the main tool. The gun is installed on the machine M127, equipped with a muzzle brake and an ejector. The angle of vertical guidance is -3 ... + 75 degrees, horizontal - 360 degrees. The howitzer is equipped with hydro-pneumatic recoil devices. The main drive guidance - hydraulic, auxiliary - manual. The gun has a large exhaust device, muzzle brake and threaded Welm bolt. Submission of propelling charges and priming tubes is carried out manually. The latter are invested in the gate after a projectile with a propellant charge has already been placed in the charging chamber. The maximum rate of fire is 6 shots per minute. Auxiliary weapons - 12,7-mm machine gun M2HB mounted above the commander's hatch in the tower on the right. Ammunition machine gun - 500 cartridges.



these munitions are used for self-propelled howitzer M109: M712 «Copperhead" (guided missile), M107 and M795 (high-explosive shells), M718 / M741, M692, M483A1 and M449A1 (cluster bombs), M549 (high-explosive rocket-assisted projectile ), M485 and M818 (lighting projectiles), M825 (smoke projectile), M804 (practical projectile). Ammunition - 28 shots.

The M109 ACS is equipped with three МNNUMX periscopes, М45 periscope, МХNUMXС optical sight with ХХNUMX magnification, М27 panoramic optical sight with МХNUMX magnification and МХNUMXА118 and МХNUMX artillery quadrants. Also for night driving there are night vision devices. Some machines are equipped with a system of protection against weapons of mass destruction.

The M109 self-propelled howitzer can overcome water obstacles by swimming: on water, the self-propelled gun is held using a special set of boats, which consists of 3 wave deflectors and 6 inflatable rubberized containers. Movement on the water is carried out by rewinding the tracks. The M109 ACS is capable of firing from the water, but only to produce a “sound effect” since horizontal guidance fails and turning on the move leads to a loss of accuracy.



One of the reasons for the durability of the M109 self-propelled howitzer is that the base chassis of the machine is amenable to modernization and can easily “accept” long-barreled artillery with a greater range of fire.

The M109 ACS family includes the following modifications:
M109A1 - Adopted in 1973 year. The main difference from the base model is the increased length of the barrel, reinforced suspension and advanced targeting drives. You can use M864 cluster shells with bottom gas generator.

M109A2 - adopted in the 1979 year. Changed design recoil devices and rammer. Ammunition increased by 22 shot.

M109A3 is an upgraded version of the M109A1. Cannon machine replaced. It has an improved mechanic-driver dashboard, an air removal system from the fuel system, a system for monitoring the condition of the ammunition, rollback brake, knurl and torsion shafts. The maximum range of firing by an active-missile projectile is increased to 24 km, high-explosive fragmentation - to 18 km.
The modification M109A4 is equipped with a system of protection against weapons of mass destruction. In the power plant made some changes, horizontal guidance mechanisms improved.

M109A5 - equipped with an M284 gun with a barrel length 39 calibers on the machine M182. The maximum firing range is 30 km. Upon request, it is possible to install an automated fire control system and a GPS system.
M109A6 “Paladin” (Paladin) - modification developed in the framework of the HIP program. Adopted in 1992 year. Installed a new tower with improved armor protection and the inner lining of Kevlar. The M284 cannon is mounted on the M182A1. Replaced radio station.

The M109A6 ACS is equipped with a fire control system, a navigation system and an onboard ballistic computer that provide automatic guidance of the weapon. There is a receiver of the space radio navigation system NAVSTAR.

In 1983, in Germany, a modernized version of the M109A3G was developed. Production started in 1985. It has a new gun with a barrel from the FH70 “Rheinmetall” howitzer. It features more advanced anti-recoil devices, a wedge gate and a reinforced warhead introduced into the ammunition (which made it possible to increase the firing range to 18 km, and the rate of fire - to 6 shots). By changing the placement of ammunition, the number of shots increased to 34 pcs. Also, new, West German observation devices, sights, tracks, communications equipment, smoke grenade launchers and MG.3 anti-aircraft machine gun 7,62 mm were installed on the machine.
Modernization M109A3GN was developed in 1988 year and was made for the army of Norway in 1988 — 1990. Installed new trunks company "Rhinemetall", which allowed to increase the range of fire.

M109L is a modernized version of a self-propelled howitzer made in Italy.

M109A6 PIM is an upgraded version of the M109A6 "Paladin". The main goal of the upgrade was the extension of the life span of the ACS by 30-40.

M109A6 and increase their combat performance. The upgraded self-propelled howitzer has a digital fire control system and an improved semi-automatic loading system. In addition, the hydraulic control system of the instrument was replaced by electric drives. The base chassis replaced the improved transmission and suspension elements of the Bradley BMN M2. The Detroit Diesel 440-strong diesel engine has been replaced by the MXNMX Bradley BMP engine (2-strong Cummins V600). The US military plans to upgrade to a PIM 903 M580A109 modification from 6.



The US Army M109 self-propelled howitzer is supplied in the amount of 54 pcs. per mechanized or tank division (3 division for 18 ACS, in division - 3 batteries for 6 machines). Except for the rest of the world. M109A189B, M109A2, M109A3GEA109, M5A2007), Denmark (24 M109A37DK), Egypt (109 M3A499, M109A3, M197A109), Israel (1 M109A2), Jordan (109 M3A1, M109A5), Iran (76 M109), Spain (3 M367A109, Mxv MXA2GN), UAE (109 M2A109), Pakistan (3 M350A109), Peru (1 M253A109), Portugal (1 M109A2, M180A109), Saudi Arabia (112 M109A2B, M109A5), Thailand (260 M109A109), Republic of China (1040 M109A2, M23A109), Switzerland (14 M109U).

The M109 self-propelled howitzer was used in many conflicts in the Middle East (used by Israel and Iran) and the Far East (by the United States in Kampuchea and Vietnam).

Performance characteristics:
Combat weight - 23,8 tons;
Body length - 6114 mm;
Length with a gun forward - 6614 mm;
Case width - 3150 mm;
Height - mm 3279;
Clearance - 450 mm;
Crew - 4-6 man (depending on version);
Type of armor - aluminum rolled
The forehead of the body (top) - 32 mm / 75 °;
The forehead of the body (middle) - 32 mm / 19 °;
The forehead of the body (bottom) - 32 mm / 60 °;
Board and hull feed - 32 mm / 0 °;
Bottom - 32 mm;
The roof of the case - mm 32;
The forehead and side of the tower - 32 mm / 22 °;
Tower feed - 32 mm / 0 °;
The roof of the tower - 32 mm;
Type of gun - howitzer;
Make and caliber of the gun - M126, 155 mm;
Barrel length - 23,4 calibers;
Ammunition gun - 28 shots;
Vertical guidance angles - from −3 to + 75 degrees;
Firing range - 19,3 km (with an active-projectile);
Sights - M42 (periscopic), M118C (telescopic), M117 (panoramic periscopic);
Machine gun - M2HB caliber 12,7 mm;
Engine - diesel, V-shaped, 8-cylinder, liquid cooled;
Engine power - 405 l. with.;
Highway speed - 56 km / h;
Cruising on the highway - 350 km;
Specific power - 15,5 l. s./t;
Ground pressure is 0,78 kg / cm²;
Overcoming rise - 30 grad .;
Breakable wall - 0,55 m;
Overcoming ditch - 1,85 m;
Passable ford - 1,05 m, with optional equipment floats.





Based on materials:
http://zonawar.ru
http://www.thetankmaster.com
http://detavlad.ru
http://voenteh.com
Author:
19 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. MilaPhone
    MilaPhone 2 September 2013 09: 14 New
    +5
    Half a century use and do not steam.
    1. Nayhas
      Nayhas 2 September 2013 09: 31 New
      +2
      Well, as if soared, there was the XM2001 Crusader project which was closed due to the high cost of development and insufficient characteristics, the car came out as much as $ 21 million, with performance worse than the German PzH 2000 in terms of rate of fire, while the PzH 2000 cost $ 10 million ...
    2. Lopatov
      Lopatov 2 September 2013 11: 39 New
      0
      They relied on towed. Wars on the other side of the ball require such decisions. ACS they have only in the "heavy" teams.
      1. Akim
        Akim 2 September 2013 12: 19 New
        +2
        Quote: Spade
        ACS they have only in the "heavy" teams.

        And they are Turks in all brigades. (Well, or planned). In addition to the mountain brigade (Hakkari Mountain and Commando Brigade). Or am I wrong?
        1. Lopatov
          Lopatov 2 September 2013 12: 46 New
          0
          Quote: Akim
          And they are Turks in all the brigades.

          Right And because the Turks "soar", creating a new self-propelled guns. Have you heard about the T-155 "Firtina"?
          1. Akim
            Akim 2 September 2013 13: 19 New
            0
            Quote: Spade
            Have you heard about the T-155 "Firtina"?

            Yes, this is also called our engineering machine (T-155). Only they designed it as an addition to those M109 that are, and not to the rearmament program. In the same way as the Altai tank and BMP and armored personnel carriers.
            1. Lopatov
              Lopatov 2 September 2013 13: 26 New
              0
              And what does "in addition" mean? Turks decided to make life extremely difficult for themselves? Exactly that replacement.
      2. Pimply
        Pimply 2 September 2013 12: 34 New
        +5
        In the pictures, by the way, 109 Tsakhal. Tsahal completely switched to self-propelled guns
        1. Lopatov
          Lopatov 2 September 2013 12: 47 New
          +1
          And yours also "steamed", but the money for the new car, like the Americans, was not enough.
          1. Pimply
            Pimply 3 September 2013 01: 05 New
            +1
            Steam, I do not argue. "Scholef." In the series did not go. It turned out to be easier to upgrade 109-ku.
      3. Andrey77
        Andrey77 6 September 2013 19: 11 New
        0
        Lists "their" "heavy" brigades. It is possible by numbers.
  2. krot00f
    krot00f 2 September 2013 13: 37 New
    0
    As I understand it, An analogue of our MSTA, Well, with a threaded bolt, of course they gave a blunder just like on our howitzer guns in 1938.)
    1. Lopatov
      Lopatov 2 September 2013 13: 46 New
      +1
      An analogue of our 2C3. Piston lock.
      1. E.S.A.
        E.S.A. 25 January 2019 15: 12 New
        0
        The 2C3 has a vertical wedge gate. And it’s strange that at the same time, it would seem that “Acacia” has a rate of fire of the order of 3-4 V / m (every 18-20 seconds), not more often.
  3. kind
    kind 2 September 2013 15: 48 New
    +1
    In the lower middle photo, the gun has rust at the end of the breech. In the Soviet army, the gun commander would at least receive an educational pendal for this.
    1. Pimply
      Pimply 3 September 2013 01: 12 New
      0
      High humidity. Rye appears as if it weren't protecting a piece of iron.
      1. Tourist Breakfast
        Tourist Breakfast 3 September 2013 12: 25 New
        0
        High humidity. Rye appears as if it weren't protecting a piece of iron.

        It is also indicated there that this is not Tsakhalevskaya 109. Maybe a photo from some museum.
  4. Eksgayster
    Eksgayster 2 September 2013 17: 25 New
    +1
    On the "Acacia" the shutter is wedge-shaped, semi-automatic, but here, look, the piston. In theory, for guns with shutters such as on our self-propelled guns, the exception is "Peony", the rate of fire should be higher, at least theoretically. Or is the data for the basic version with a short barrel?
    1. Andrey77
      Andrey77 6 September 2013 19: 27 New
      0
      Guru Lopatov was shy. Can invite him to Peter? We go to the Bar, then to the art museum.
  5. hiukoko
    hiukoko 4 September 2013 14: 20 New
    0
    Quote: Milafon
    Half a century use and do not steam.

    Have you heard about AK? It would seem - the age of nanotechnology, but no, still in the ranks. :)
    1. Andrey77
      Andrey77 6 September 2013 19: 22 New
      0
      With AK to you individually.
  6. komsomolets
    komsomolets 7 September 2013 01: 37 New
    0
    I understand that without special craft she doesn’t walk on water?

Американская 155-мм самоходная гаубица M109

М109 является американской самоходной артиллерийской установкой, класса самоходных гаубиц, ставшей самой распространенной в мире. М109 создана в 1953—1960 гг. для замены малоудачной САУ M44, параллельно с M108 калибра 105 мм. Серийно производилась в Соединенных Штатах. В период с 1962 по 2003 годы неоднократно модернизируясь. В 1990-х годах выпускалась по лицензии в Южной Корее. Всего за время было выпущено 9205 самоходок всех модификаций. Довольно быстро стала стандартной самоходной артиллерийской установкой войск США, вытеснив не только более старые образцы, но и M108. Первое боевое применение M109 во время Вьетнамской войны и впоследствии применялась практически во всех военных конфликтах с участием Соединенных Штатов. Помимо США, стала стандартной самоходкой стран НАТО.

Американская 155-мм самоходная гаубица M109


В середине 1950-х годов самоходные артиллерийские системы в полевой артиллерии США заняли прочное место. Однако участие США в многочисленных развязанных по всему миру военных конфликтах и появление ядерного оружия у соцстран послужили причиной выдвижения новых требований к САУ. Для быстрой переброски самоходки в любую точку мира по воздуху они должны были обладать небольшой массой и габаритами. Для защиты экипажа САУ от поражающих факторов ядерного оружия бронирование машин должно было быть полным. Кроме этого они оборудовались фильтровентиляционными установками. В списке требований не последнее место занимали хорошая проходимость за счет использования спец. шасси, преодоление вплавь водных преград и увеличение сектора горизонтального обстрела путем использования вращающейся башни. В данный период на вооружении армии США стояли 105-миллиметровая САУ M52 и 155-миллиметровая САУ M44, созданные на базе танка M41. Самоходные артиллерийские установки не соответствовали новым требованиям и имели некоторые недостатки, главными из которых были: ограниченный угол обстрела, большой вес и незначительный запас хода.


Чтобы исключить недостатки, свойственные M44 и M52, в 1952 году приступили к созданию самоходной гаубицы Т195 калибра 110 мм. Было принято решение использовать орудийную башню и корпус Т195 в качестве основы самоходки оснащенной 156-миллиметровой гаубицей. Проект новой гаубицы представили в августе 1954 года однако, он не получил одобрения заказчика. В 1956 году, для унификации в рамках НАТО было решено придерживаться калибра 155 миллиметров, и в 1959 году завершили первый прототип, которому присвоили обозначение Т196. САУ Т196 для прохождения войсковых испытаний направили в Форт-Нокс.

Американская 155-мм самоходная гаубица M109


По результатам данных испытаний было решено, что для увеличения рабочего диапазона все американские бронемашины будут оснащаться дизельными двигателями. Кроме этого в конструкцию корпуса, башни и ходовой части внесли ряд изменений. С учетом нового оснащения модели присвоили обозначение Т196Е1. В 1961 году ее приняли на вооружение в качестве гаубицы М109 SP. Первые серийные машины были произведены в конце 1962 года на танковом заводе в Кливленде (Cleveland Army Tank Plant) под руководством Cadillac Motor Car Division, впоследствии Chrysler. Всего на заводе Chrysler построили около 2500 орудий. В 1970-х годах производство семейства М109 было передано Bowen McLaughlin-York (на сегодняшний день United Defense).

Корпус и башня САУ М109 выполнены из алюминиевой катаной брони, обеспечивающей защиту от осколков снарядов полевой артиллерии, огня стрелкового оружия и светового излучения ядерного взрыва. Корма и борта корпуса устанавливались вертикально, а верхний лобовой лист под значительным углом. Крыша корпуса – горизонтальная. На корме самоходки устанавливалась закрытая башня кругового вращения, имеющая почти полукруглый лобовой лист. В бортах башни выполнены открывающиеся назад прямоугольные люки.

Американская 155-мм самоходная гаубица M109


В самоходной гаубице M109 приняли компоновку с передним расположением моторно-трансмиссионной группы. В кормовой части корпуса размещалась башня кругового вращения со 155-миллиметровой гаубицей. Место водителя располагается в передней части самоходки слева, моторное отделение – справа. Башня размещается сзади. Подвеска самоходной гаубицы М109 стержневая. С каждой стороны имеется 7 катков, направляющий барабан - в задней части и транспортирующий – в передней. Валки обратного хода отсутствуют. В состав стандартного оснащения входят инфракрасные ведущие огни, а также земноводное оборудование, дающее возможность самостоятельно передвигаться САУ через медленно текущие реки. В корме имелся двухстворчатый люк, служащий для загрузки боеприпасов. Вход/выход экипажа осуществлялся через люки в корме башни и боковых стенках, а также через люки в крыше башни.

Дизельный двигатель 8V-T71 компании «Детройт дизель».

Экипаж самоходной гаубицы М109 состоит из шести человек: механика-водителя, командира орудия, наводчика и его помощника, а также двух номеров расчета.

В качестве основного орудия служит 155-миллиметровая гаубица M126 с длиной ствола 23 калибра. Орудие установлено на станок M127, оснащенное дульным тормозом и эжектором. Угол вертикального наведения составляет -3…+75 градусов, горизонтального – 360 градусов. Гаубица оснащается гидропневматическими противооткатными устройствами. Основной привод наведения — гидравлический, вспомогательный – ручной. Орудие имеет большое выхлопное устройство, дульный тормоз и резьбовой Welm затвор. Подача метательных зарядов и капсюльных трубок осуществляется вручную. Последние в затвор вкладываются после того, как в зарядную камеру уже помещены снаряд с метательным зарядом. Максимальная скорострельность составляет 6 выстрелов в /минуту. Вспомогательное вооружение – 12,7-миллиметровый пулемет M2HB установленный над командирским люком в башне справа. Боекомплект пулемета — 500 патронов.

Американская 155-мм самоходная гаубица M109


Для самоходной гаубицы М109 применяются следующие боеприпасы: M712 «Копперхед» (управляемый снаряд), M107 и M795 (осколочно-фугасные снаряды), M718/M741, M692, M483A1 и M449A1 (кассетные снаряды), M549 (осколочно-фугасный активно-реактивный снаряд), M485 и M818 (осветительные снаряды), M825 (дымовой снаряд), M804 (практический снаряд). Возимый боекомплект – 28 выстрелов.

САУ М109 оснащается тремя перископами М45, перископом М27, оптическим прицелом М118С с увеличением х4, панорамным оптическим прицелом М117 с увеличением х4 и артиллерийскими квадрантами М1А1 и М15. Также для вождения в ночное время имеются приборы ночного видения. Некоторые машины оснащены системой защиты от оружия массового поражения.

Самоходная гаубица M109 может преодолевать водные преграды вплавь: на воде самоходка удерживается при помощи специального комплекта плавсредств, который состоит из 3 волноотражающих щитков и 6 надувных прорезиненных контейнеров. Движение на воде осуществляется перемоткой гусениц. САУ M109 способна вести огонь с воды, однако только для произведения «шумового эффекта» поскольку горизонтальное наведение не удается, а наведение поворотом на ходу приводит к потере меткости.

Американская 155-мм самоходная гаубица M109


Одной из причин долговечности самоходной гаубицы М109 заключается в том, что базовое шасси машины поддается модернизации и легко «принимает» длинноствольную артиллерию с большей дальностью стрельбы.

В семейство САУ M109 входят следующие модификации:
M109A1 — принята на вооружение в 1973 году. Главное отличие от базовой модели заключается в увеличенной длине ствола, усиленной подвеской и усовершенствованными приводами наведения. Возможно использование M864 кассетных снарядов с донным газогенератором.

M109A2 — принята в 1979 году. Изменена конструкция противооткатных устройств и досылателя. Боекомплект возрос на 22 выстрела.

M109A3 является модернизированным вариантом M109A1. Орудийный станок заменен. Имеет усовершенствованную приборную панель механика-водителя, систему удаления из топливной системы воздуха, систему контроля состояния боеукладки, тормоза отката, накатника и торсионных валов. Максимальная дальность стрельбы активно-реактивным снарядом увеличена до 24 км, осколочно-фугасным – до 18 км.
На модификации M109A4 оборудована система защиты от оружия массового поражения. В силовую установку внесены некоторые изменения, механизмы горизонтального наведения усовершенствованы.

M109A5 — оснащается орудием M284 с длиной ствола 39 калибров на станке M182. Максимальная дальность ведения огня составляет 30 км. По требованию заказчика возможна установка автоматизированной системы управления огнем и система GPS.
M109A6 «Paladin» (Паладин) — модификацию разработали в рамках программы HIP. На вооружение принята в 1992 году. Установлена новая башня, имеющая улучшенную броневую защиту и внутреннюю обшивку из кевлара. Орудие M284 устанавливается на станке M182A1. Заменена радиостанция.

САУ M109A6 оснащается системой управления огнем, навигационной системой и бортовым баллистическим вычислителем обеспечивающими автоматическое наведение орудия. имеется приемник космической радионавигационной системой NAVSTAR.

В 1983 году в ФРГ разработан модернизированный вариант M109A3G. Производство наладили в 1985 году. Имеет новое орудие со стволом от гаубицы FH70 «Rheinmetall». Отличается более совершенными противооткатными устройствами, клиновым затвором и усиленным боевым зарядом, введенным в боекомплект (что дало возможность увеличить дальность стрельбы до 18 км, а скорострельность — до 6 выстрелов). За счет изменения укладки боеприпасов количество выстрелов увеличилось до 34 шт. Также на машине установили новые, западногерманские приборы наблюдения, прицелы, гусеницы, средства связи, дымовые гранатометы и зенитный пулемёт MG.3 калибра 7,62 мм.
Модернизация M109A3GN была разработана в 1988 году и производилась для армии Норвегии в 1988—1990 годах. Установлены новые стволы компании «Рейнметалл», позволившие увеличить дальность ведения огня.

M109L — производившийся в Италии модернизированный вариант самоходной гаубицы.

M109A6 PIM — модернизированный вариант M109A6 «Паладин». Главной целью модернизации стало продление на 30-40 лет срока эксплуатации САУ

M109A6 и повышение их боевых характеристик. Модернизированная самоходная гаубица имеет цифровую систему управления огнем и усовершенствованную полуавтоматическую систему заряжания. Кроме того гидравлические системы управления орудием заменили электрическими приводами. Базовое шасси заменило улучшенное с трансмиссией и элементами подвески БМП M2 «Брэдли». 440-сильный дизельный двигатель «Детройт Дизель» заменен двигателем БМП M2 «Брэдли» (600-сильный «Камминс» V903). Американские вооруженные силы планируют модернизировать до модификации PIM 580 M109A6 из 975.

Американская 155-мм самоходная гаубица M109


В армию США самоходная гаубица M109 поступает в количестве 54 шт. в расчете на одну механизированную или танковую дивизию (3 дивизиона по 18 САУ, в дивизионе — 3 батареи по 6 машин). Кроме Морской пехоты и армии США самоходки M109 поставлялись в Австрию (189 машин модификаций M109A2, M109A3, M109A5Ö – по состоянию на 2007 год), Бельгию (24 САУ M109), Бразилию (37 M109A3), Германию (499 M109A3G), Грецию (197 M109A1B, M109A2, M109A3GEA1, M109A5), Данию (76 M109A3DK), Египет (367 M109A2, M109A2, M109A3), Израиль (350 M109A1), Иорданию (253 M109A1, M109A2), Иран (180 M109), Испанию (112 M109A2, M109A5), Италию (260 M109G, M109L), Республику Корея (1040 M109A2), Кувейт (23 M109), Ливию (14 M109), Марокко (44 M109A1, M109A1B), Нидерланды (120 M109A3), Норвегию (126 M109A3GN), ОАЭ (85 M109A3), Пакистан (200 M109A2), Перу (12 M109A2), Португалию (20 M109A2, M109A5), Саудовскую Аравию (110 M109A1B, M109A2), Таиланд (20 M109A2), Китайскую Республику (225 M109A2, M109A5), Швейцарию (224 M109U).

Самоходная гаубица M109 применялась во многих конфликтах на Ближнем Востоке (использовалась Израилем и Ираном) и Дальнем Востоке (Соединенными Штатами — в Кампучии и Вьетнаме).

Тактико-технические характеристики:
Боевая масса – 23,8 тонн;
Длина корпуса – 6114 мм;
Длина с пушкой вперед – 6614 мм;
Ширина корпуса – 3150 мм;
Высота – 3279 мм;
Клиренс – 450 мм;
Экипаж – 4-6 человек (в зависимости от модификации);
Тип брони - алюминиевая катаная
Лоб корпуса (верх) – 32 мм/75°;
Лоб корпуса (середина) – 32 мм/19°;
Лоб корпуса (низ) – 32 мм/60°;
Борт и корма корпуса – 32 мм/0°;
Днище – 32 мм;
Крыша корпуса – 32 мм;
Лоб и борт башни – 32 мм/22°;
Корма башни – 32 мм/0°;
Крыша башни – 32 мм;
Тип пушки – гаубица;
Марка и калибр пушки – M126, 155 мм;
Длина ствола – 23,4 калибров;
Боекомплект пушки – 28 выстрелов;
Углы вертикального наведения – от −3 до +75 град.;
Дальность стрельбы – 19,3 км (с активно-реактивным снарядом);
Прицелы – M42 (перископический), M118C (телескопический), M117 (панорамный перископический);
Пулемет – M2HB калибра 12,7 мм;
Двигатель – дизельный, V-образный, 8-цилиндровый, жидкостного охлаждения;
Мощность двигателя – 405 л. с.;
Скорость по шоссе – 56 км/ч;
Запас хода по шоссе – 350 км;
Удельная мощность – 15,5 л. с./т;
Удельное давление на грунт – 0,78 кг/см²;
Преодолеваемый подъем – 30 град.;
Преодолеваемая стенка – 0,55 м;
Преодолеваемый ров – 1,85 м;
Преодолеваемый брод – 1,05 м, с дополнительным оборудованием плавает.

Американская 155-мм самоходная гаубица M109
Американская 155-мм самоходная гаубица M109
Американская 155-мм самоходная гаубица M109


Подготовлено по материалам:
http://zonawar.ru
http://www.thetankmaster.com
http://detavlad.ru
http://voenteh.com
Автор: Пётр Улякин


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 18
  1. Милафон 2 сентября 2013 09:14
    Полвека используют и не парятся.
    Милафон
    1. Nayhas 2 сентября 2013 09:31
      Ну как бы парились, был проект XM2001 Crusader который закрыли по причине дороговизны разработки и недостаточным характеристикам, машина выходила аж 21 млн. долларов, при характеристиках хуже немецкой PzH 2000 по скорострельности, при этом PzH 2000 стоил 10 млн. долларов...
    2. Лопатов 2 сентября 2013 11:39
      Они сделали ставку на буксируемые. Войны на другой стороне шарика требуют таких решений. САУ у них только в "тяжёлых" бригадах.
      1. Akim 2 сентября 2013 12:19
        Цитата: Лопатов
        САУ у них только в "тяжёлых" бригадах.

        А турков они всо всех бригадах.( ну или планируется). Кроме горной бригады (Hakkari Mountain and Commando Brigade). Или я не прав?
        Akim
        1. Лопатов 2 сентября 2013 12:46
          Цитата: Akim
          А турков они всо всех бригадах.

          Точно. И потому турки "парятся", создавая новую САУ. Слышали про Т-155 "Firtina"?
          1. Akim 2 сентября 2013 13:19
            Цитата: Лопатов
            Слышали про Т-155 "Firtina"?

            Да, так еще наша инженерная машина называется (Т-155). Только они его спроектировали как дополнение к тем М109, что есть, а не к программе перевооружения. Точно так же как и танк Алтай и БМП и БТРы.
            Akim
            1. Лопатов 2 сентября 2013 13:26
              А что значит "в дополнение"? Турки решили предельно осложнить себе жизнь? Именно, что замена.
      2. Пупырчатый 2 сентября 2013 12:34
        На фотках, кстати, 109-ки Цахаля. Цахаль полностью перешел на САУ
        1. Лопатов 2 сентября 2013 12:47
          И ваши тоже "парились", но денег на новую машину, как и американцам, не хватило.
          1. Пупырчатый 3 сентября 2013 01:05
            Парились, не спорю. «Шолеф». В серию не пошел. Модернезировать 109-ку оказалось проще.
      3. Андрей77 6 сентября 2013 19:11
        Перечисли "их" "тяжелые" бригады. Можно по номерам.
  2. krot00f 2 сентября 2013 13:37
    Я так понимаю Аналог нашей МСты, Ну с резьбовым затвором конечно дали маху прям как на наших пушках-гаубицах в 1938г.)
    krot00f
    1. Лопатов 2 сентября 2013 13:46
      Аналог нашей 2С3. Затвор поршневой.
  3. Добрый 2 сентября 2013 15:48
    На нижнем среднем фото, у орудия ржавчина на торце казенной части. В Советской армии, командир орудия за это, как минимум получил бы воспитательный пендаль.
    1. Пупырчатый 3 сентября 2013 01:12
      Высокая влажность. Ржа появляется как бы железяку не защищал.
      1. Завтрак Туриста 3 сентября 2013 12:25
        Высокая влажность. Ржа появляется как бы железяку не защищал.

        Там же указанно, что это не цахалевская 109. Может фото из музея какого-нибудь.
  4. Eksgayster 2 сентября 2013 17:25
    На "Акации" затвор клиновой, полуавтоматический, а здесь ,смотри ка, поршневой. По идее у орудий с такими затворами, как на наших САУ, исключение "Пион", скорострельность должна быть выше, по крайней мере теоретически. Или приводятся данные для базовой версии с коротким стволом?
    Eksgayster
    1. Андрей77 6 сентября 2013 19:27
      Гуру Лопатов застеснялся. Может пригласить его в Питер? Сходим в Бар, потом в артмузей.
  5. hiukoko 4 сентября 2013 14:20
    Цитата: Милафон
    Полвека используют и не парятся.

    Про АК слышали? Казалось бы - век нанотехнологий, ан нет, всё равно в строю. :)
    1. Андрей77 6 сентября 2013 19:22
      С АК вам в индивидуальное.
  6. komsomolets 7 сентября 2013 01:37
    Я так понял что без спецплавсредств она по воде не ходит?

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня