Military Review

The Internet will become a theater of war

14
The global outcry over the uncontrolled activities of the US intelligence services overshadowed a much more important discussion — the security of countries in cyberspace, as well as the prevention of large-scale cyber warfare. In the XXI century, information technologies, penetrating all spheres of human life, bring with them not only various benefits, but also no less real threats and challenges. The scandal over unlimited surveillance of users of the world wide web, initiated by Snowden, demonstrated the vulnerability of every single person in the face of modern technology. But states are also vulnerable.


Nowadays, cyberwarfare has already become a reality, it is enough to recall the attack prepared by Israel and the United States against Iran’s nuclear facilities in July 2010. Then the unique Stuxnet computer virus struck Iran’s nuclear facilities in Bushehr and Natanz. In the summer of 2010, this virus destroyed the engines of hundreds of uranium centrifuges, dramatically increasing and decreasing the rotational speed of the converter. A number of experts believe that this virus could have thrown off Iran’s nuclear program a few years ago. It did not require any use of military force.

According to experts, the use of this virus in its effectiveness was tantamount to a full-fledged military operation, with no casualties among the people. According to German IT-specialists, Iran had to send to the dump all the computers that were infected with this virus, since getting rid of it is extremely difficult. Also, do not forget that a huge number of centrifuges needed repairs and may have needed the purchase of a new turbine for the Bushehr nuclear power plant.

The Internet will become a theater of war

According to German experts, the Stuxnet virus code included more than 15 thousands of lines, which suggests that it was not an ordinary hacker that was engaged in its creation. Most likely, the virus was the fruit of the collective work of a large number of developers, who are able to support only a very limited number of countries in the world. That is why the responsibility for its creation was entrusted to the United States and Israel, which were most concerned about the Iranian nuclear program and had all the means to organize such a sabotage. According to unconfirmed information at the moment, this virus was used as part of Operation Olympic Games, which was directed against Iran’s nuclear facilities.

After the emergence of the Stuxnet virus, which caused physical damage to infrastructure facilities, the countries of the world began to more actively increase their potential in the cybersphere, including the military. Currently, special structures are being deployed in the world that would be responsible for ensuring cyber security and cyber defense. Under the ministries of defense of the leading countries of the world, special cyber departments are being formed. For example, in the US, its number was recently increased to 5 thousand people. Work is underway to create separate cyber commands, strategies are being created in cyberspace, and even full-fledged military exercises with imitations of cyber warfare are underway.

A special militarized structure to repel cyber attacks in the United States was created in 2009. In 2013, her staff decided to increase from 900 to 4900 people. At the same time, experts do not exclude that this figure may increase in the future. In addition, Cyber ​​Command can get independent status. Currently, it is a unit within the US Strategic Command, along with missile defense forces, strategic nuclear forces and space forces. Sources in the Pentagon do not exclude that, over time, the cyber arm will be transformed into a separate command.


Create their own cyber divisions in other countries. Not long ago, Rossiyskaya Gazeta wrote that a special branch of the military would be created in our country, which would be responsible for ensuring information security. It is planned to complete its formation by the end of 2013. According to a source in the defense department, the main tasks that these troops will have to deal with will be the processing and monitoring of information coming from outside, as well as the fight against modern cyber threats. It is reported that officers who are trained for service in these troops must necessarily undergo appropriate linguistic training, that is, to learn a foreign language - primarily English.

Earlier, the Ministry of Defense of Russia has already announced a “big hunt” for programmers graduates of civilian universities, in order to attract them to serve in emerging scientific companies. According to Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu, with the emergence of scientific companies in Russia, a “new generation of people who will move military science forward” may appear. In addition, the Minister of Defense instructed to find students from one of St. Petersburg's universities, who already won the World Programming Championships for the 5 time.

It is worth noting that the situation in cyberspace is characterized by particular explosiveness, since it is outside international law. All the modern international legal foundations of the world order were laid back in the first post-war decades, at a time when information technologies were at a very low level of their development. At the same time, in the information space there are simply no state borders, no such concepts as “aggressor” and “aggression”, and therefore there is no international consensus about what exactly should be considered a cyber attack and how to react to them.


At present, Russia continues to insist that it is necessary to adapt international law to the realities of the information space, while the West does not notice the fundamental difference between real and virtual hostilities. The International Strategy for Cyberspace adopted in the US 2011 year provides for the possibility of responding to cyber attacks in any available way, including the use of nuclear weapons. Moreover, the US has already tried to consolidate this approach at the international level. All the tendencies towards militarization of the information space are evident.

Beginning with 1998-1999, Russia is quite actively promoting on the international stage, primarily within the UN, the idea of ​​the need to reach international agreements banning the use of cyber weapons by countries. That is, appeals to the world community to abandon the conduct of cyberwar. Although to achieve complete consensus with NATO and, above all, with the United States in the near future is unlikely to succeed.

Despite this, there are positive developments in this issue. In June 2013 of the year, at the G8 summit, which took place in Northern Ireland's Lough Erne, Presidents Vladimir Putin and Barack Obama signed an agreement on confidence-building measures in cyberspace. These agreements involve the organization of hotlines between Washington and Moscow to prevent escalation in cyberspace. An analogue of the hot lines that existed during the Cold War and were used to prevent nuclear conflict. In parallel with this, Russia is negotiating with other Western states, in particular Germany and France.

Information sources:
-http: //rus.ruvr.ru/2013_09_02/Internet-kak-teatr-voennih-dejstvij-4377
-http: //news.mail.ru/politics/11774722
-http: //lenta.ru/news/2010/12/15/stuxnet
-http: //www.rg.ru/2013/07/05/cyberwar-site-anons.html
Author:
14 comments
Ad

Our projects are looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. DEMENTIY
    DEMENTIY 6 September 2013 09: 39 New
    +3
    Why will it be? It has long been!
    1. The comment was deleted.
  2. The Indian Joe
    The Indian Joe 6 September 2013 09: 55 New
    -3
    A good answer to American viruses is Yars ICBMs.
    1. Kibalchish
      Kibalchish 6 September 2013 10: 39 New
      +4
      In response to the virus - a nuclear missile? Wow and cool comrade. belay
    2. Karlsonn
      Karlsonn 6 September 2013 11: 13 New
      +3
      Quote: Native American Joe
      A good answer to American viruses is Yars ICBMs.


      Maybe then immediately tear all the nuclear loaves in the mines, well, so that the whole globe is in ruin? Like it’s not ours, so don’t you get anyone!



      Quote: Native American Joe
      A good answer to the viruses of Americans
  3. scientist
    scientist 6 September 2013 12: 35 New
    0
    It has long been. On the one hand, it’s good, there is an opportunity to do without victims, and if there are competent politicians and leaders, they will begin to mobilize students and youth to work on forums, social networks and Internet sites in order to protect state interests, information and psychological confrontation .
  4. Luga
    Luga 6 September 2013 13: 10 New
    0
    The first thing that occurred to me when I read the title of the article was “has long been” laughing The first comment clearly showed a like-minded smile
    I understand that the concept of "cyber war" includes only the creation and distribution of malware. I am not special in this, but the fact that such units, which are discussed in the article, should be created, it was clear to me in the last century. The same applies to the legal framework and measures of responsibility for violations, as well as mechanisms for regulating relations in cyberspace. Only I, to my shame, thought that all this had already been done for a long time.
    Per article plus.
  5. washi
    washi 6 September 2013 13: 53 New
    +1
    Cherepovets School. Those who wish can enter.
  6. Constantine
    Constantine 6 September 2013 14: 22 New
    0
    Good article. In fact, the potential of such troops is simply huge. Especially in conditions of active robotization of the armies of many countries, as well as the connection of the army into a single information network. A couple of point strikes by such craftsmen and the US army, for example, will be paralyzed, and some ammunition, in the field, may begin to explode right under the wings and in the warehouses. You can, without blood, consider throwing the country back to the Stone Age and sow fierce chaos. It would be necessary to study the matter more deeply. Thanks again to the author hi
  7. left-wing
    left-wing 6 September 2013 18: 21 New
    0
    Russia is a recognized leader in the professionalism of hackers, so we are not afraid of anything, let them be afraid of us. Recall at least the story of the burial of the remains of Soviet wars in the Baltic.
  8. Justme
    Justme 6 September 2013 19: 31 New
    0
    It seems - the Americans have made good progress in the field of quantum computers - they can then destroy all the most popular encryption programs now.
    The theory of such systems is “gouged” (can be found on the mechanics department of Moscow State University), but it looks like we don’t have the “hardware” for this.
    As for the Chinese - they have a huge handicap - now the main "iron" - "Made in China". And here the piquancy is that they "sew" in the "window" (and more than competently ..)
    Regarding our hackers - yes they are appreciated ..
    For example, the author of the world's largest Zeus botnet code is now working for the NSA ...
  9. Technologist
    Technologist 7 September 2013 06: 48 New
    0
    A familiar lieutenant colonel-communications officer said that in our units it is forbidden to connect computers to the Internet, I do not know the truth or not.
  10. Stalinets
    Stalinets 7 September 2013 19: 53 New
    0
    He always was. yes
  11. MG42
    MG42 7 September 2013 19: 58 New
    0
    According to German IT experts, Iran had to send to the landfill all the computers that were infected with this virus, since getting rid of it is extremely difficult.

    Interestingly, reformatting the screws in this case saves? What makes this virus reflash the BIOS of the motherboard?
    1. scientist
      scientist 7 September 2013 21: 50 New
      +1
      Such computers are usually very strictly isolated from the Internet. The Internet does not even lead to buildings where such systems stand, and the premises themselves are shielded with a fine grid.
      The Stuxnet virus was introduced into the Iranian uranium enrichment centrifuge system via Siemens electronics, which supplied their equipment and carried out its technical support. After infection, it was hard-wired to all ROMs responsible for production. It was only necessary to initiate the launch of the virus. Details here (http://www.it-simple.ru/?p=5026)
      That is why only the Russian element base and only certified software are used in the Russian army, space, nuclear and other critical industries. This of course significantly slows down the development of information systems and it is not as steep as foreign analogues, but with a guarantee of work in any conditions and the absence of undeclared functions.
      1. MG42
        MG42 7 September 2013 21: 57 New
        +1
        Sensible answer, thanks.
        It’s like in protection against interference, digital systems are duplicated by analogue old ones but more noise-proof.
        And they didn’t hear the stories that some imp. microcircuits are flashed so that just in part <H> by the signal from the satellite to work differently or simply can be disabled ..
        1. scientist
          scientist 13 September 2013 20: 23 New
          0
          Why tales. There was a real situation in 1991 in Iraq. There, the air defense control system and the communication system were supplied by Thomson (now it is Thales). At the time of the commencement of Operation Desert Storm, all this equipment turned off upon a signal. The same situation was repeatedly with the Israeli Tadiran equipment, which they supplied to third countries. But the most interesting thing is that the representatives of these companies themselves do not deny the sudden and complete failure of their equipment in combat conditions, but they blame all the blame on the Americans, accusing them of testing a new type of electromagnetic weapon.
          And the fact that the situation is right now is that all these companies are actively supplying their equipment to the Armed Forces of Kazakhstan. Probably the Kazakh military in case of equipment failure will also blame the nasty Americans lol

Интернет станет театром боевых действий

Огромное возмущение мировой общественности по поводу бесконтрольной деятельности спецслужб США отодвинуло на второй план гораздо более важную дискуссию – о безопасности стран в киберпространстве, а также недопущении масштабной кибервойны. В XXI веке информационные технологии, пронизывая все сферы жизни человека, несут вместе с собой не только различные выгоды, но и не менее реальные угрозы и вызовы. Скандал по поводу неограниченной слежки за пользователями всемирной сети, инициатором которого стал Сноуден, продемонстрировал уязвимость каждого отдельного человека перед лицом современных технологий. Но также уязвимы и государства.

В наше время кибервойны уже стали реальностью, достаточно вспомнить подготовленную Израилем и США атаку против ядерных объектов Ирана в июле 2010 года. Тогда уникальный компьютерный вирус Stuxnet поразил иранские ядерные объекты в Бушере и Натанзе. Летом 2010 года данный вирус разрушил двигатели сотен урановых центрифуг, резко увеличивая и снижая частоты вращения конвертера. Ряд экспертов полагает, что данный вирус мог отбросить ядерную программу Ирана на несколько лет назад. При этом не потребовалось никакого применения военной силы.

По словам экспертов, использование данного вируса по своей эффективности было равносильно полноценной военной операции, при этом жертвы среди людей отсутствовали. По мнению немецких IT-специалистов, Ирану пришлось отправить на свалку все компьютеры, которые были заражены данным вирусом, так как избавиться от него крайне сложно. Так же не стоит забывать о том, что огромному числу центрифуг потребовался ремонт и, возможно, понадобилась покупка новой турбины для бушерской АЭС.


Интернет станет театром боевых действий

По словам немецких экспертов код вируса Stuxnet включал в себя более 15 тысяч строк, что говорит о том, что его созданием занимался не обычный хакер. Скорее всего, вирус был плодом коллективного труда большого числа разработчиков, содержать которых под силу лишь очень ограниченному числу государств мира. Именно поэтому ответственность за его создание была возложена на США и Израиль, которые больше других были обеспокоены иранской ядерной программой и имели все средства для организации подобной диверсии. По неподтвержденной на данный момент информации, данный вирус использовался в рамках операции «Олимпийские игры», которая была направлена против ядерных объектов Ирана.

После появление вируса Stuxnet, который стал причиной физического повреждения объектов инфраструктуры, страны мира стали более активно наращивать свой потенциал в киберсфере, в том числе и военный. В настоящее время в мире происходит развертывание специальных структур, которые были бы ответственны за обеспечение кибербезопасности и киберобороны. При министерствах обороны ведущих стран мира формируются специальные киберотделы. К примеру, в США его численность не так давно была увеличена до 5 тысяч человек. Идет работа над созданием отдельных киберкомандований, создаются стратегии поведения в киберпространстве и даже проходят полноценные военные учения с имитацией кибервойны.

Специальная военизированную структуру для отражения кибератак в США была создана в 2009 году. В 2013 году ее штат было решено увеличить с 900 до 4900 человек. При этом эксперты не исключают, что в дальнейшем данная цифра может возрасти. Помимо этого Киберкомандование может получить самостоятельный статус. В настоящее время оно является подразделением в составе Стратегического командования ВС США (US Strategic Command), наряду с силами ПРО, стратегическими ядерными силами и космическими войсками. Источники в Пентагоне не исключают, что со временем кибервойска преобразуют в отдельное командование.

Интернет станет театром боевых действий

Создают собственные киберподразделения и в других странах. Не так давно «Российская газета» писала о том, что в нашей стране будет создан специальный род войск, который будет отвечать за обеспечение информационной безопасности. Завершить его формирование планируется до конца 2013 года. По словам источника в оборонном ведомстве, главными задачами, которые предстоит решать данным войскам, станут обработка и мониторинг информации поступающей извне, а также борьба с современными киберугрозами. Сообщается, что офицеры, которых готовят для службы в данных войсках, в обязательном порядке должны будут пройти соответствующую лингвистическую подготовку, то есть выучить иностранный язык – в первую очередь английский.

Ранее Минобороны России уже объявляло «большую охоту» на программистов выпускников гражданских вузов, для того чтобы привлечь их к службе в формирующихся научных ротах. По словам министра обороны Сергея Шойгу, с возникновением научных рот в России может появиться «новое поколение людей, которые будут двигать вперед военную науку». Помимо этого министр обороны поручил разыскать студентов одного из вузов Санкт-Петербурга, которые уже в 5-й раз выигрывают чемпионат мира по программированию.

Стоит отметить, что ситуация в киберпространстве характеризуется особой взрывоопасностью, так как она находится вне международного права. Все современные международно-правовые основы миропорядка были заложены еще в первые послевоенные десятилетия, в те времена, когда информационные технологии находились на очень низком уровне своего развития. В то же время в информационном пространстве просто отсутствуют государственные границы, нет таких понятий как «агрессор» и «агрессия», а значит нет и международного консенсуса о том, что именно считать кибератакой и как на них реагировать.

Интернет станет театром боевых действий

В настоящее время Россия продолжает настаивать на том, что необходимо провести адаптацию международного права к реалиям информационного пространства, Запад же не замечает принципиальной разницы между реальными и виртуальными военными действиями. В принятой еще в 2011 году в США Международной стратегии для киберпространства предусматривается возможность реагирования на кибератаки любым доступным способом, вплоть до использования ядерного оружия. Более того, США уже пробовали закрепить данный подход на международном уровне. Налицо все тенденции к милитаризации информационного пространства.

Начиная с 1998-1999 годов, Россия достаточно активно продвигает на международной сцене – прежде всего в рамках ООН – идею о необходимости достижения международных соглашений о запрете на использовании странами кибероружия. То есть выступает с призывом к мировому сообществу об отказе от ведения кибервойн. Хотя добиться полного консенсуса с НАТО и, прежде всего, с США в ближайшее время вряд ли получится.

Несмотря на это, положительные сдвиги в этом вопросе есть. В июне 2013 года, на саммите G8, который состоялся в североирландском Лох-Эрне президенты Владимир Путин и Барак Обама подписали договоренности о мерах доверия в киберпространств. Данные договоренности предполагают организацию горячих линий между Вашингтоном и Москвой по предотвращению эскалации в киберпространстве. Аналог горячих линий, которые существовали еще во времена Холодной войны и использовались для предотвращения ядерного конфликта. Параллельно с этим Россия ведет переговоры и с другими западными государствами, в частности Германией и Францией.

Источники информации:
-http://rus.ruvr.ru/2013_09_02/Internet-kak-teatr-voennih-dejstvij-4377
-http://news.mail.ru/politics/11774722
-http://lenta.ru/news/2010/12/15/stuxnet
-http://www.rg.ru/2013/07/05/cyberwar-site-anons.html
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 14
  1. DEMENTIY 6 сентября 2013 09:39
    Почему станет? Давно стал!
    1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Индеец Джо 6 сентября 2013 09:55
    Хороший ответ на вирусы американцев - МБР "Ярс".
    Индеец Джо
    1. Кибальчиш 6 сентября 2013 10:39
      В ответ на вирус - ядерной ракетой? Ух вы и круты товарищ. belay
    2. Karlsonn 6 сентября 2013 11:13
      Цитата: Индеец Джо
      Хороший ответ на вирусы американцев - МБР "Ярс".


      Может тогда сразу рванем все ядерные батоны в шахтах, ну чтобы весь земной шар в труху? Типа раз не по нашему, так не достанься же ты никому!



      Цитата: Индеец Джо
      Хороший ответ на вирусы американцев
  3. ученый 6 сентября 2013 12:35
    Давно уже стал. С одной стороны это хорошо, есть возможность обойтись без жертв, а так же если найдутся грамотные политики и руководители, то они начнут мобилизовывать студентов и молодеж для работы на форумах, соц.сетях и интернет сайтах с целью защиты государственных интересов, информационного и психологического противоборства.
  4. Лужский 6 сентября 2013 13:10
    Первое, что пришло в голову, когда прочитал название статьи - "уже давно стал" laughing Первый же комментарий со всей очевидностью выдал единомышленника smile
    Я так понимаю, что в понятие "кибервойна" входят только создание и распространение вредоносных программ. Я в этом не спец, но то, что такие подразделения, о каких говориться в статье, должны быть созданы, мне было ясно еще в прошлом веке. То же касается и правовой базы и мер ответственности за нарушения, а также механизмов регулирования отношений в киберпространстве. Только я, к стыду своему, думал, что все это давно уже сделано.
    За статью плюс.
  5. вася 6 сентября 2013 13:53
    Череповецкое училище. Желающие могут поступить.
  6. Constantine 6 сентября 2013 14:22
    Хорошая статья. На самом деле, потенциал таких войск просто огромен. Особенно в условиях активной роботизации армий многих стран, а так же соединением армии в единую информационную сеть. Пару точечных ударов таких умельцев и армия США, например, будет парализована, а некоторые боеприпасы, вполе возможно, начнут взрываться прямо под крыльями и на складах. Можно без крови, считай, откинуть страну в каменный век и посеять лютый хаос. Надо бы глубже изучить вопрос. Автору еще раз спасибо hi
    Constantine
  7. links 6 сентября 2013 18:21
    Россия общепризнанный лидер по профессионализму хакеров, так что нам боятся не чего пускай боятся нас. Вспомнить хотя бы историю с захоронением останков советских войнов в Прибалтике.
  8. JustMe 6 сентября 2013 19:31
    Похоже - у американцев хороший прогресс в области квантовых компьютеров - ими то и можно крушить все наиболее популярные сейчас программы шифрования.
    Теория таких систем у нас "раздолбана" (можно найти на мехмате МГУ) но похоже - самого "железа" для этого у нас нет.
    Что касается китайцев - у них огромная фора - сейчас основное "железо" - "Made in China". И тут пикантность в том что они "зашивают" туда "форточки" (и более чем грамотно..)
    Относительно наших хакеров - да их ценят..
    К примеру автор кода самого большого в мире ботнета Zeus сейчас работает на АНБ США...
  9. Технолог 7 сентября 2013 06:48
    Знакомый подполковник-связист говорил, что в наших частях запрещено подключение компьютеров к интернету, не знаю правда или нет.
  10. Сталинец 7 сентября 2013 19:53
    Он им и всегда был . yes
    Сталинец
  11. MG42 7 сентября 2013 19:58
    По мнению немецких IT-специалистов, Ирану пришлось отправить на свалку все компьютеры, которые были заражены данным вирусом, так как избавиться от него крайне сложно.

    Интересно, что переформатирование винтов в данном случае спасает? Что делает этот вирус перепрошивает биос материнской платы?
    MG42
    1. ученый 7 сентября 2013 21:50
      Такие компы обычно очень жестко изолируются от интернета. Интернет даже к зданиям, где стоят подобные системы не подводят, а сами помещения экранируют мелкой сеткой.
      Вирус Stuxnet в систему иранских центрифуг по обогащению урана был внесен через электронику Siemens, которые поставляли свое оборудование и проводили его техническое сопровождение. После заражения он жестко прошивался во все ПЗУ отвечающие за производство. Нужно было только инициировать запуск вируса. Подробности здесь (http://www.it-simple.ru/?p=5026)
      Именно по этому в российской армии, космической, атомной и другой критически-важной промышленности используют только российскую элементную базу и только сертифицированное ПО. Это конечно существенно замедляет развитие информационных систем и она не такая крутая как импортные аналоги, но зато с гарантией работы в любых условиях и отсутствия не декларируемых функций.
      1. MG42 7 сентября 2013 21:57
        Толковый ответ, спасибо.
        Это как в защите от помех цифровые системы дублированы аналоговыми старыми но более помехозащищёнными.
        А не слышали байки ходят что некоторые имп. микросхемы прошиваются так чтобы как раз в часть <Ч> по сигналу со спутника работать иначе или просто могут выведены из строя..
        MG42
        1. ученый 13 сентября 2013 20:23
          Ну почему байки. Была реальная ситуация в 1991 году в Ираке. Там систему АСУ ПВО и систему связя поставляла фирма Томсон (сейчас она Талес). В момент начала операции "Буря в пустыне" все это оборудование по сигналу выключилось. Такие же ситуации неоднократно были с израильским оборудование Тадиран, которые они поставляли в третьи страны. Но самое интересное, что сами представители этих фирмы не отрицают случаи внезапного и полного отказа своего оборудования в боевых условиях, однако всю вину сваливают на американцев, обвиняя их в испытаниях нового типа электрамагнитного оружия.
          А порадаксальность ситуации в том, что сейчас все эти фирмы активно поставляют свое оборудование ВС Казахстана. Наверное казахстанские военные в случае отказа оборудования тоже будут винить во всем противных американцев lol

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня