Military Review

American experienced tank XM803 (1971 year)

11
In the mid-1960s, the United States, together with Germany, designed a promising new main battle tank MBT-70. The new machine was supposed to replace the M60 tank and surpass the T-64 in service with the USSR. MBT-70 embodied quite a lot of original technical solutions for that time. The tank turned out to be relatively successful but had one very significant drawback - the high cost. In this regard, in September 1969, the US Department of Defense revised its attitude to this program, and on January 20, 1970 the project was discontinued. Both the US and Germany continued independent work on the main combat a tank - American XM803 and German Leopard II.




In the United States, after completing work on the MBT-70 in 1970, the army proposed that the US Congress military committee allocate funds to continue work on the next generation tank. As a basis, it was proposed to use MBT-70. The “simplified” version was assigned the XM803 index. Since the main reason for abandoning the MBT-70 project was the high cost of the vehicle, the main efforts were aimed at simplifying and cheapening the new tank.

In the tank XM803 was saved layout MBT-70. The front compartment of the tank served to accommodate the fuel tank, separated by an airtight armored barrier from the combat compartment. In the tank there was no separate department of management, the driver, like other crew members, was located in the tank turret. In this case, the driver had a separate rotating capsule inside the tower. Rear engine compartment located.

The hull and the hull tower largely repeated the MBT-70. Since the entire crew was located in the tower, it was quite large. The tower had a cylindrical closed basket, which in fact was a fighting compartment. In the XM803 tank, as in its predecessor, there were no habitable compartments outside the turret basket. Tower XM803 tank had some differences. For example, due to the fact that the command transmitter for anti-tank guided missiles was moved from the left side of the turret to the gun mask, the number of different grooves decreased, which simplified its design and reduced the cost of manufacturing the turret.



The main weapon of the XM803 tank was a XM150 E6 rifled tank gun of the 152 mm caliber, which was also the launcher for the Shillelagh guided missile system. The gun was stabilized in two planes and equipped with an automatic loader. To improve the reliability of the automatic loader improved the company "General Motors". With the main gun was paired machine gun M73 caliber 7,62 mm. Gun ammunition was 50 shots, machine gun - 6000 ammunition. On the left, on the tower of the MBT-70 tank, there was a remote-controlled retractable 20-mm gun. However, to make the XM803 cheaper, the Americans replaced this gun with a 12,7-mm M85 machine gun with a remote control mounted on a thumbnail carriage. The ammunition of the machine gun M85 was 900 ammunition.

The tank was equipped with a fire control system with a laser range finder, an electronic ballistic computer, and atmospheric sensors. They were able to reduce the total cost of the tank, including by combining the commander of the day and night sights into one in the panoramic sight (the construction is simpler and the cost is lower).

On the XM803 was installed 12-cylinder V-shaped diesel Continental AVCR-1100-3 with turbocharging. The engine at 2800 revolutions per minute gave out the power of the 1475 hp, but for greater reliability it was lowered to 1250 hp. The transmission and hydropneumatic suspension with variable ground clearance remained virtually unchanged, the only thing that the suspension lost one of the hydraulic shock absorbers to facilitate maintenance and reduce the cost.




But, despite all the efforts of the designers, the cost of the main battle tank XM803 dropped by only 100 thousand dollars. After long debates in November 1971, the committee submitted to Congress a proposal to stop financing the XM803 project. The main arguments were again unreasonably great complexity and high cost of the tank. The proposal of the military committee Congress supported. At the same time, during the discussion of this issue, it was recognized that it was necessary to continue work with a view to replacing the M1980 tank in the 60s. The final decision on the minimization of work on XM803 was taken in 1972 year.

Despite the fact that only one main battle tank XM803 was built and tested, the developments on it were used when creating the main battle tank M1 Abrams.

Performance characteristics:
Crew - 3 person;
Combat weight - 51,6 t;
Length with a gun forward - 9385 mm;
Body length - 6832 mm;
Case width - 3696 mm;
The height of the anti-aircraft machine gun - 3244 mm;
Clearance - changeable from 150 to 635 mm;
Type of armor - aluminum and steel cast and rolled, protivosnaryadnaya, exploded;
Armament:
XM150E6 gun caliber 152 mm, ammunition - 50 shots;
Twin machine gun M73 caliber 7,62 mm, ammunition - 6000 cartridges;
M85 anti-aircraft machine gun caliber 12,7 mm, ammunition - 900 cartridges;
Scopes stabilized daytime, active night periscopic, laser range finder;
Engine - AVCR-1100-3 diesel 12-cylinder, V-shaped, with turbocharging;
Engine power - 1475 l. with. (reduced to 1250 hp);
Specific power - 28,6 l. s./t;
Suspension type - hydropneumatic individual
Ground pressure is 0,91 kg / cm;
Overcoming rise - 30 grad .;
Breakable wall - 1,09 m;
Overcoming ditch - 2,80 m;
Overcoming ford:
with preparation - 2,2 m;
with OPVT - 4,88 m.

Prepared by materials
http://raigap.livejournal.com
http://www.dogswar.ru
http://armoredgun.org
http://rove.biz
Author:
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. The comment was deleted.
  2. Kars
    Kars 9 September 2013 09: 34 New
    +2
    ______________
    1. Kars
      Kars 9 September 2013 09: 35 New
      +1
      ___________________
    2. Kars
      Kars 9 September 2013 09: 37 New
      +1
      ____________________
      1. loft79
        loft79 9 September 2013 09: 46 New
        +1
        Greetings to Kars.
        A question. You do not accidentally have a diagram of a tower "basket", otherwise you are very interested
        separate rotating driver capsule inside the tower.
        1. Kars
          Kars 9 September 2013 09: 59 New
          +1
          Is that so.
          The layout of the XM803 turret appears at the upper right and the turret
          armor assembly is depicted at the lower right. Below is a drawing
          of the turret basket


          And the question is - was the first photo in the article this morning?
          1. loft79
            loft79 9 September 2013 10: 19 New
            0
            Quote: Kars
            Is that so.

            Not a very clear diagram (. How did the driver function there? Controls, observation devices? In theory, the basket rotates with the turret, therefore the driver's capsule should also rotate while remaining "directed" along the axis of the tank's movement. Something like this. Maybe you know?

            Quote: Kars
            And the question is - was the first photo in the article this morning?

            I don’t know. I recently looked here.
            1. Kars
              Kars 9 September 2013 11: 36 New
              +1
              _________________
            2. Kars
              Kars 9 September 2013 11: 39 New
              +2
              The driver's station in the XM803 can be seen above and at the right.
              Note the ammunition stowed behind the driver's seat in the latter view.
              1. loft79
                loft79 9 September 2013 12: 37 New
                +1
                Thanks for the circuit. hi
                I also unearthed something.
                http://www.fprado.com/armorsite/mbt_70.htm
                "Instead he was placed with the rest of the crew in the seemingly oversized turret, in a contra rotating cupola that was geared to keep him facing forward."

                The driver’s capsule did rotate in the opposite direction to the tower to be oriented in the direction of travel. It could also be oriented backward when reversing.

                True, not the XM803 but the MBT-70, but the essence is one.
            3. ulyakinmariupol
              9 September 2013 12: 28 New
              0
              The driver's capsule was the same as on the MBT-70
    3. Kars
      Kars 9 September 2013 09: 37 New
      +1
      _________________
  3. NOMADE
    NOMADE 9 September 2013 10: 11 New
    +3
    Interesting article! I did not know about this tank. 152 mm gun (as far as I understand, and rifled), sooo impressed! Interestingly, the charges are unitary or separate? Ammunition - 50 pcs., Impressive for this caliber. The very idea and advantages of placing a crew in a tower are not entirely clear .., but it is interesting to hear the opinions of specialists. Judging by the size, the tank turned out to be compact. according to ideas and booking should be up to standard! At first glance, this tank looks more successful than Abrams.
    1. Max otto
      Max otto 9 September 2013 11: 07 New
      +1
      Quote: NOMADE
      The very idea and advantages of placing a crew in a tower are not entirely clear ..,

      I'm really not an expert, but placing a driver in a tower dramatically increases his chances of survival in case of damage to the tank, isn’t it? And then in his present chances to get out of the tank the least, especially on the Soviet T-64, without the help of the crew from the tower, if it is impossible to open his hatch, he is doomed.
      1. NOMADE
        NOMADE 9 September 2013 16: 25 New
        +1
        Quote: Max Otto
        Quote: NOMADE
        The very idea and advantages of placing a crew in a tower are not entirely clear ..,

        I'm really not an expert, but placing a driver in a tower dramatically increases his chances of survival in case of damage to the tank, isn’t it? And then in his present chances to get out of the tank the least, especially on the Soviet T-64, without the help of the crew from the tower, if it is impossible to open his hatch, he is doomed.

        thanks for the information, heard about it, but still! :-) I wonder what are the ballistic characteristics of the gun? a fairly thin barrel wall is visible in the photograph, which hints at a low initial velocity of the projectile, as well a relatively small barrel length .., as a result, the gun is closer to the howitzer. But this is a personal opinion, I can be very mistaken, although this tank is very attractive and interesting!
  4. sub307
    sub307 9 September 2013 11: 17 New
    0
    Curious car.
  5. nightingale
    nightingale 9 September 2013 11: 31 New
    0
    yes ... amers tried all the layout options with a round tower before coming to the abrash. I wonder why they abandoned her.
  6. _KM_
    _KM_ 9 September 2013 11: 31 New
    0
    How much I watch stories about creating cheaper equipment - everything ends the same way. As a result, a machine or weapon system is created that is more expensive than the original version.
  7. Denga
    Denga 9 September 2013 15: 41 New
    0
    I would like to believe that our Armata will not differ for the worse from the T-95, like the XM803 from the M1A1.
  8. dvvv
    dvvv 9 September 2013 17: 40 New
    0
    Quote: Denga
    I would like to believe that our Armata will not differ for the worse from the T-95, like the XM803 from the M1A1.

    - will be ... not even trying to discuss ...

Американский опытный танк XM803 (1971 год)

В середине 1960-х годов США совместно с Германией проектировали новый перспективный основной боевой танк MBT-70. Новая машина должна была заменить танк M60 и превзойти Т-64 стоявший на вооружении в СССР. В MBT-70 воплотили довольно много оригинальных для того времени технических решений. Танк получился относительно успешным но имел один весьма значительный недостаток – высокая стоимость. В связи с этим в сентябре 1969 года Минобороны США пересмотрело отношение к данной программе, а 20 января 1970 года проект был прекращен. И США и Германия продолжили независимые работы над основным боевым танком – американским XM803 и германским Leopard II.

Американский опытный танк XM803 (1971 год)


В Соединенных Штатах после завершения работ над MBT-70 в 1970 году, армия предложила военному комитету американского конгресса выделить средства на продолжение работ по танку следующего поколения. В качестве основы предлагалось использовать MBT-70. «Упрощенному» варианту присвоили индекс XM803. Поскольку основной причиной отказа от проекта MBT-70 стала высокая стоимость машины, основные усилия были направленны на упрощение и удешевление нового танка.


В танке XM803 была сохранена компоновка MBT-70. Переднее отделение танка служило для размещения топливного бака, отделенного герметичной бронеперегородкой от боевого отделения. В танке отсутствовало отдельное отделение управления, водитель как и другие члены экипажа располагаясь в башне танка. При этом у водителя имелась отдельная вращающаяся капсула внутри башни. Сзади располагалось моторно-трансмиссионное отделение.

Корпус и башня корпуса во многом повторяли MBT-70. Поскольку весь экипаж размещался в башне, она имела довольно большие размеры. Башня имела цилиндрическую закрытую корзину, которая фактически и являлась боевым отделением. В танке XM803, как и в предшественнике, за пределами корзины башни отсутствовали обитаемые отделения. Башня танка XM803 имела и некоторые отличия. Например, благодаря тому, что передатчик команд для противотанковых управляемых реактивных снарядов был передвинут с левой стороны башни к маске пушки, уменьшилось количество различных выемок, что в свою упростило конструкцию и удешевило изготовление башни.

Американский опытный танк XM803 (1971 год)


В качестве основного вооружения танка XM803 использовалась нарезная танковая пушка XM150E6 калибра 152 мм, которая также являлась пусковой установкой для комплекса управляемого ракетного вооружения «Shillelagh». Орудие стабилизировалось в двух плоскостях и оснащалось автоматом заряжания. Для повышения надежности автомат заряжания усовершенствовала фирма «Дженерал Моторс». С основным орудием был спарен пулемет M73 калибра 7,62 мм. Боекомплект пушки составлял 50 выстрелов, пулемета – 6000 патронов. Слева на башне танка MBT-70 размещалась дистанционно управляемая убирающаяся 20-мм пушка. Однако американцы для удешевления XM803 эту пушку заменили 12,7-мм пулеметом M85 с дистанционным управлением, установленным на тумбовом лафете. Боекомплект пулемета M85 составлял 900 патронов.

Танк оснащался системой управления огнем с лазерным дальномером, электронным баллистическим вычислителем, и атмосферными датчиками. Снизить общую стоимость танка смогли, в том числе и за счет объединения в панорамном прицеле командира дневного и ночного прицелов в один (конструкция проще, а стоимость ниже).

На танке XM803 устанавливался 12-цилиндровый V-образный дизельный Continental AVCR-1100-3 с турбонаддувом. Двигатель при 2800 оборотах в минуту выдавал мощность 1475 л.с., однако для большей надежности ее понизили до 1250 л.с. Трансмиссия и гидропневматическая подвеска с изменяемым клиренсом остались практически без изменений, единственное, что для облегчения обслуживания и снижения стоимости подвеска лишилась одного из гидроамортизаторов.

Американский опытный танк XM803 (1971 год)
Американский опытный танк XM803 (1971 год)


Но, несмотря все усилия конструкторов, стоимость основного боевого танка XM803 снизилась всего на 100 тыс. долларов. Комитет после долгих дебатов в ноябре 1971 г. внес в конгресс предложение прекратить финансирование проекта XM803. Основными аргументами вновь стали неоправданно большая сложность и высокая стоимость танка. Предложение военного комитета конгресс поддержал. В то же время во время обсуждения данного вопроса было признано необходимым продолжить работы с целью замены в 1980-х годах танка M60. Окончательное решение по сворачиванию работ по XM803 приняли в 1972 году.

Несмотря на то что был построен и испытан всего один основной боевой танк XM803, наработки по нему использовались при создании основного боевого танка М1 Абрамс.

Тактико-технические характеристики:
Экипаж – 3 человека;
Боевая масса – 51,6 т;
Длина с пушкой вперед – 9385 мм;
Длина корпуса – 6832 мм;
Ширина корпуса – 3696 мм;
Высота по зенитному пулемету – 3244 мм;
Клиренс – изменяемый от 150 до 635 мм;
Тип брони – алюминиевая и стальная литая и катаная, противоснарядная, разнесенная;
Вооружение:
Пушка XM150E6 калибра 152 мм, боекомплект – 50 выстрелов;
Спаренный пулемет M73 калибра 7,62 мм, боекомплект – 6000 патронов;
Зенитный пулемет M85 калибра 12,7 мм , боекомплект – 900 патронов;
Прицелы стабилизированный дневной, активный ночной перископический, лазерный дальномер;
Двигатель – AVCR-1100-3 дизельный 12-цилиндровый, V-образный, с турбонаддувом;
Мощность двигателя – 1475 л. с. (снижена до 1250 л.с.);
Удельная мощность – 28,6 л. с./т;
Тип подвески – гидропневматическая индивидуальная
Удельное давление на грунт – 0,91 кг/см;
Преодолеваемый подъем – 30 град.;
Преодолеваемая стенка – 1,09 м;
Преодолеваемый ров – 2,80 м;
Преодолеваемый брод:
с подготовкой – 2,2 м;
с ОПВТ – 4,88 м.

Подготовлено по материалам
http://raigap.livejournal.com
http://www.dogswar.ru
http://armoredgun.org
http://rove.biz
Автор: Пётр Улякин


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 11
  1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Kars 9 сентября 2013 09:34
    ______________
    1. Kars 9 сентября 2013 09:35
      ___________________
    2. Kars 9 сентября 2013 09:37
      ____________________
      1. loft79 9 сентября 2013 09:46
        Приветствую Карс.
        Такой вопрос. У вас случайно нет схемы башенной "корзины", а то очень заинтересовала
        отдельная вращающаяся капсула водителя внутри башни.
        1. Kars 9 сентября 2013 09:59
          Разве что такая.
          The layout of the XM803 turret appears at the upper right and the turret
          armor assembly is depicted at the lower right. Below is a drawing
          of the turret basket


          И вопрос--первое фото в статье было таким с утра?
          1. loft79 9 сентября 2013 10:19
            Цитата: Kars
            Разве что такая.

            Не очень наглядная схема(. Как там водитель функционировал? Органы управления, приборы наблюдения? По идее корзина вращается вместе с башней, следовательно капсула водителя должна тоже вращаться оставаясь "направленной" по оси движения танка. Как-то так. Может знаете?

            Цитата: Kars
            И вопрос--первое фото в статье было таким с утра?

            Не знаю недавно сюда заглянул.
            1. Kars 9 сентября 2013 11:36
              _________________
            2. Kars 9 сентября 2013 11:39
              The driver's station in the XM803 can be seen above and at the right.
              Note the ammunition stowed behind the driver's seat in the latter view.
              1. loft79 9 сентября 2013 12:37
                Спасибо за схемы. hi
                Тоже кое-чего раскопал.
                http://www.fprado.com/armorsite/mbt_70.htm
                " Instead he was placed with the rest of the crew in the seemingly oversized turret, in a contra rotating cupola that was geared to keep him facing forward."

                Капсула водителя действительно вращалась в противоход башне, чтобы быть ориентированной по направлению движения. Также могла быть ориентированна назад, при заднем ходе.

                Правда не XM803 а MBT-70, но суть одна.
            3. ulyakinmariupol 9 сентября 2013 12:28
              Капсула водителя была такой же как и на MBT-70
    3. Kars 9 сентября 2013 09:37
      _________________
  3. N.O.M.A.D.E. 9 сентября 2013 10:11
    Интересная статья! Не знал о данном танке. 152 мм орудие (насколько понял ещё и нарезное), ооочень впечатлило! Интересно, заряды унитарные или раздельные? Боекомплект - 50 шт., впечатляет для такого калибра. Сама идея и преимущества размещения экипажа в башне, не совсем понятна.., но интересно выслушить мнение специалистов. Судя по размерам, танк получился компактным. по идеи и бронирование должно быть на уровне! На первый взгляд, данный танк по удачнее Абрамса выглядит.
    1. Макс Отто 9 сентября 2013 11:07
      Цитата: N.O.M.A.D.E.
      Сама идея и преимущества размещения экипажа в башне, не совсем понятна..,

      Я правда не специалист, но размещение мехвода в башне резко увеличивает его шансы на выживание в случае повреждения танка, разве нет? А то в теперешних у него шансов вылезть из танка меньше всех, особенно на советских Т-64, без помощи экипажа из башни, в случае невозможности открыть свой люк, он обречен.
      1. N.O.M.A.D.E. 9 сентября 2013 16:25
        Цитата: Макс Отто
        Цитата: N.O.M.A.D.E.
        Сама идея и преимущества размещения экипажа в башне, не совсем понятна..,

        Я правда не специалист, но размещение мехвода в башне резко увеличивает его шансы на выживание в случае повреждения танка, разве нет? А то в теперешних у него шансов вылезть из танка меньше всех, особенно на советских Т-64, без помощи экипажа из башни, в случае невозможности открыть свой люк, он обречен.

        спасибо за информацию, слышал об этом, но всё же! :-) интересно, каковы баллистические характеристики орудия? на фотографии видна достаточно тонкая стенка ствола, что намекает на низкую начальную скорость снаряда, так же относительно не большую длину ствола.., как итог орудие ближе к гаубице. Но это личное мнение, могу и сильно ошибаться, хотя данный танк, очень привлекателен и интересен!
  4. sub307 9 сентября 2013 11:17
    Любопытная машина.
  5. nightingale 9 сентября 2013 11:31
    да ... амеры попробовали все варинты компоновки с круглой башней прежде чем прийти к абраше. интересно почему они отказались от неё.
  6. _КМ_ 9 сентября 2013 11:31
    Сколько я смотрю историй о создании более дешевой техники - все оканчивается одинаково. В итоге создается машина или система вооружений, которая дороже изначального варианта.
  7. Denga 9 сентября 2013 15:41
    Хочется верить, что наша Армата не будет отличатся в худшую сторону от Т-95, как XM803 от М1А1.
    Denga
  8. dvvv 9 сентября 2013 17:40
    Цитата: Denga
    Хочется верить, что наша Армата не будет отличатся в худшую сторону от Т-95, как XM803 от М1А1.

    - будет... не пытаюсь даже дискутировать...

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня