Military Review

American smart mine XM-7 "Spider"

13
To date, of all existing species weapons one of the most effective remains are mine-explosive barriers, at the same time they are the most dangerous and insidious. These factors are determined not so much by the impact of the mines at the moment of detonation, as by the constant, over a rather long period of time, the degree of readiness for operation, the difficulty of detection, the disguised position on the ground, the difficulty of neutralization. In this case, the action of this type of weapon does not depend on the time of day, weather or season. Mina is not a selective weapon, that is, it does not comply with the principles of “yours is a stranger”, “the child is an adult”, “the military is a civilian”, etc. Mines retain their deadly danger to people after the end of active hostilities.


Modern minefields are created with the aim of delaying the advance of a potential enemy, as well as inflicting as large losses as possible in manpower and equipment and creating the most favorable conditions for their troops to defeat the enemy from all types of weapons. At the same time, minefields and individual mines, which are installed by specialists, are resistant to many types of fire impact and are located in unexpected places for the enemy. That is why mines today are one of the worst weapons on the planet.

American smart mine XM-7 "Spider"

Every year in the world, landmines are undermined and die from 15 to 20 thousand people. Mainly these are children, women and old people, even more people for the whole life remain cripples. Humankind has massively used these terrible killing machines in every major military conflict since 1938. So far, around 78 of millions of different mines remain in the 110 countries of the world. The worst thing is that many of them retain their functionality for decades, even after the last battles died down and civilians returned to their places of permanent residence. The result of this are severed limbs, if you are lucky and death - if not.

That is why, after numerous complaints from international non-profit organizations and individual civilians, the UN country 161 agreed to sign the Ottawa Treaty, which outlaws the use of permanent mines in all future conflicts of humanity. It is worth noting that the United States did not become parties to this treaty, but introduced their own similar local regulation, which is called the “National Agreement on the use of landmines” of 2004. The text of a US ordinance prohibits the use of "any permanent land mines - whether anti-tank mines or anti-personnel mines - in any conflicts after 2010 of the year".

However, any resolution can be circumvented, which was done by the new smart mine XM-7 “Spider” (born Spider). The Spider mine is a very inventive product that is able to automatically neutralize itself after the military conflict has come to an end, while it remains super-lethal while the fighting continues. Moreover, this mine can be charged with both deadly and non-lethal charges, and also it will not work until it receives the appropriate confirmation from the person. Mina XM-7 "Spider" is based on an earlier prototype called "Matrix", which was widely used in the first Iraq war. This prototype was created based on the M18 "Claymore" mine and was the sister of the XM1100 "Scorpion" cleared from use of the smart anti-tank mine.


Mina XM-7 Spider works in much the same way as ordinary anti-personnel mines. Each such system includes a “charge control unit” (MCU) 63. The central, largest part of the mine is the MCU. The six blue cylinders are exchangeable charges, each of which is able to cover an 60-degree angle and can emit both non-lethal charges: a neutralizing gas, a sticky gel, and quite deadly shrapnel. 6 charges provide circular damage (360 degrees). The XM-7 system can be used to integrate the Claymore 6 anti-personnel mines using a special adapter unit.

The XM-7 mine is located where it is able to provide maximum coverage, after which the container in automatic mode shoots a set of 6 wires — one for each charge. A human operator is able to control the MCU (or all of the 63 of them) from a single laptop at a distance of up to 3,8 kilometers. As soon as one of the wires becomes disturbed, the MCU sends a signal to the operator, who independently commands the detonation, ensuring the detonation of one charge or several of them at once.

Each of the MCU systems is able to work up to 30 days, powered by one replaceable battery pack. While the mine is in active state, it continuously transmits an encrypted signal about its location using the built-in GPS chip, allowing operators to know exactly where they positioned the device at the price of 5 000 dollars. This fact allows military experts to quickly find and retrieve unused charges and mines. Moreover, with the end of the battery charge, the MCU is automatically deactivated. So even if the mine is never removed, the XM-7 Spider will no longer be a danger to civilians.


In this regard, the mine XM-7 Spider is the mine that is able to solve a large number of problems arising from the possible spontaneous detonation. Being a controlled device, each mine has a known location. This means that this weapon will never pose a danger to its troops (the death of servicemen in their own minefields is not such a rare thing). In addition, the mine Spider does not pose a danger to the civilian population after the end of the conduct of hostilities, as it is either taken by the military or deactivated independently. At the same time, mines will not be detonated even if one of the wires is disconnected, since detonation is possible only from the operator’s command. Today, this mine successfully solves many humanistic problems and is rightfully considered to be a smart weapon.

Information sources:
-http: //gearmix.ru/archives/5073
-http: //www.mobiledevice.ru/XM-7-Spider-mina-fugasnaia-vzrivchatka-neletalnii-gaz_1.aspx
-http: //rus-sur.ru/forum/16-80-1
-http: //en.wikipedia.org/wiki/XM-7_Spider
Author:
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Nayhas
    Nayhas 11 September 2013 08: 57 New
    +4
    Clever of course, but damn expensive. Mines are a massive weapon and a priori should be cheap. Wouldn't it be easier to create a mechanism for deactivating a mine after a certain time?
    1. Zerstorer
      Zerstorer 12 September 2013 20: 25 New
      0
      Such mechanisms for mines have long been created.
  2. igordok
    igordok 11 September 2013 09: 21 New
    +5
    If the mine is remotely controlled, why the enemy cannot do this. It’s clear that the channel is encoded, but time does everything.
    Quote: Nayhas
    Clever of course, but damn expensive. Mines are a massive weapon and a priori should be cheap. Wouldn't it be easier to create a mechanism for deactivating a mine after a certain time?

    Another small drop for "cutting" the military budget under the slogan of "humanity."
  3. Agent 008
    Agent 008 11 September 2013 09: 50 New
    +4
    To kill a person, or tear off his leg or arm, the humanist operator decides ... Thanks to military specialists for taking care of people!
  4. Lech from ZATULINKI
    Lech from ZATULINKI 11 September 2013 09: 53 New
    +4
    humane mina-laugh.

    A priori weapons cannot be humane - and so the mine’s device is interesting.
  5. sven27
    sven27 11 September 2013 10: 26 New
    +2
    In the event of a large-scale and prolonged war, the use of such mines can go broke
    1. Apollo
      Apollo 11 September 2013 11: 03 New
      +3
      video footage in the topic

  6. vietnam7
    vietnam7 11 September 2013 19: 57 New
    +4
    The questions immediately arise:
    charge of 30 days at what ambient temperature?
    if at night his fighter breaks the banner, how will the operator distinguish that he is his own?
    the operator will be staring at his tablet for 30 days, even to the toilet with him, otherwise God forbid the spirits decided to visit, but did he feel like it?
    I think an expensive toy to protect the base in the wars with the Papuans.
  7. knn54
    knn54 11 September 2013 21: 26 New
    +1
    The mine (radio mine) with GPS is easy to detect and easy to jam, the same interference ...
    And THE MAIN THING that the Pentagon famously circumvented the International Mine Ban Treaty ...
  8. Grifan
    Grifan 12 September 2013 00: 12 New
    0
    Well, maskprivka at this bush of pomegranates wassat
  9. discripter
    discripter 15 September 2013 12: 51 New
    +3
    A good comfortable mine, from 100 meters it’s convenient to shoot from Kalash.
  10. Curious
    Curious 9 October 2013 14: 07 New
    0
    Too complicated, too smart! More than once proven: the simpler, the better and more effective!
  11. Larus
    Larus 12 October 2013 12: 58 New
    0
    And when you supported such laws, taking into account their HUGE military lobby, which saturated all power with bribes.
  12. Pyrotechnician
    Pyrotechnician April 22 2014 20: 09 New
    0
    Mina is certainly smart, but the cost is off scale.
  13. Nail
    Nail 13 March 2015 11: 31 New
    0
    Now you can use the drone to search for mines. scan the area, explore the video and go ...

Американская умная мина XM-7 «Spider»

На сегодняшний день из всех существующих видов оружия одним из самых действенных остаются минно-взрывные заграждения, одновременно с этим они же являются наиболее опасными и коварными. Эти факторы определяются не столько поражающим воздействием мин в момент подрыва, сколько постоянной, в течение довольно длительного периода времени, степенью готовности к срабатыванию, сложностью обнаружения, замаскированным положением на местности, сложностью обезвреживания. При этом действие данного вида оружия никак не зависит от времени суток, погоды или сезона. Мина – это не избирательное оружие, то есть оно никак не отвечает принципам «свой – чужой», «ребенок – взрослый», «военный – гражданский» и т.д. Мины сохраняют свою смертоносную опасность для людей и после окончания активных боевых действий.

Современные минные заграждения создаются с целью задержания продвижения вероятного противника, а также нанесения ему как можно больших потерь как в живой силе, так и в технике и создания наиболее благоприятных условий для своих войск по поражению противника из всех видов оружия. При этом минные поля и отдельные мины, которые установлены специалистами, устойчивы ко многим видам огневого воздействия и расположены в неожиданных для противника местах. Именно поэтому мины на сегодняшний день являются одним из самых страшных видов оружия на планете.

Американская умная мина XM-7 «Spider»

Ежегодно в мире на наземных минах подрывается и гибнет от 15 до 20 тысяч человек. Главным образом это дети, женщины и старики, еще больше людей на всю жизнь остается калеками. Эти страшные машины для убийств человечество массово использовало в каждом крупном военном конфликте, начиная с 1938 года. До сих пор в 78 странах мира остаются рассеянными около 110 миллионов различных мин. Самое страшное заключается в том, что многие из них сохраняют свою функциональность на протяжении десятилетий, даже после того как отгремели последние бои и мирные жители вернулись в места своего постоянного проживания. Результатом этого являются оторванные конечности, если вам повезло и смерть – если нет.


Именно поэтому, после многочисленных жалоб со стороны международных некоммерческих организаций и отдельных гражданских лиц, 161 страна ООН согласилась подписать Оттавский договор, который ставит вне закона использование постоянных мин во всех будущих конфликтах человечества. Стоит отметить, что США не стали участниками данного договора, но ввели собственное сходное локальное постановление, которое носит название «Национальное соглашение об использовании наземных мин» от 2004 года. Текст, принятого в США постановления запрещает применение «любых постоянных наземных мин – будь то противотанковые или противопехотные мины – в любых конфликтах после 2010 года».

Однако любое постановление можно обойти, что и сделала новая умная мина XM-7 «Spider» (англ. Паук). Мина системы Spider – это очень изобретательное изделие, которое в состоянии автоматически обезвреживать сама себя, после того как военный конфликт подошел к концу, при этом она остается сверх-летальной в то время, пока боевые действия продолжаются. Более того, данная мина может быть заряжена как смертельными, так и несмертельными зарядами, а также она не сработает, пока не получит соответствующего подтверждения от человека. Мина XM-7 «Spider» основана на более раннем прототипе под названием «Matrix», который широко использовался еще в первой Иракской войне. Данный прототип был создан на основе мины M18 «Claymore» и являлся сестрой выведенной из обращения умной противотанковой мины XM1100 «Scorpion».

Американская умная мина XM-7 «Spider»

Мина XM-7 Spider работает во многом схожим образом с обыкновенными противопехотными минами. Каждая такая система включает в себя 63 «блока контроля зарядов» (MCU). Центральная, самая большая часть мины как раз и является MCU. Шесть цилиндров синего цвета – это сменные заряды, каждый из которых в состоянии покрыть 60-градусный угол и может выбрасывать как нелетальные заряды: обезвреживающий газ, липкий гель, так и вполне смертоносную шрапнель. 6 зарядов обеспечивают круговое поражение (360 градусов). В систему XM-7 можно при помощи специального блока-адаптера интегрировать 6 противопехотных мин Claymore.

Мина XM-7 располагается там, где она в состоянии обеспечить максимальное покрытие, после чего контейнер в автоматическом режиме выстреливает набор из 6 проводов – по одному для каждого из зарядов. Человек-оператор в состоянии контролировать MCU (или все 63 из них) с одного единственного ноутбука на удалении до 3,8 километров. Как только один из проводов оказывается потревоженным, MCU посылает сигнал об этом оператору, который самостоятельно отдает команду на подрыв, обеспечивая подрыв одного заряда или сразу нескольких из них.

Каждый из MCU системы в состоянии проработать до 30 дней, питаясь от одного сменного комплекта батарей. Пока мина находится в активном состоянии, она непрерывно передает зашифрованный сигнал о своем месторасположении с помощью встроенного чипа GPS, позволяя операторам точно знать, где именно они расположили устройство ценой в 5 000 долларов. Этот факт позволяет военным специалистам довольно быстро находить и извлекать неиспользованные заряды и мины. Более того, с окончанием заряда батареи, MCU в автоматическом режиме деактивируется. Так что даже в том случае, если мина никогда в дальнейшем не будет извлечена, XM-7 Spider больше не будет представлять опасности для мирных граждан.

Американская умная мина XM-7 «Spider»

В этом плане мина XM-7 Spider является той миной, которая в состоянии решить большое количество проблем, возникающих в связи с возможной самопроизвольной детонацией. Будучи управляемым устройством, каждая мина обладает известным расположением. Это значит, что данное оружие никогда не будет представлять опасности для своих войск (гибель военнослужащих на собственных минных полях не такое редкое дело). Помимо этого мина Spider не представляет опасности для гражданского населения уже после окончания ведения боевых действий, так как она либо забирается военными, либо самостоятельно деактивируется. При этом подрыв мины не произойдет даже при отсоединении одного из проводов, так как детонация возможна лишь с команды оператора. На сегодняшний день данная мина успешно решает многие гуманистические проблемы и по праву считается умным видом вооружений.

Источники информации:
-http://gearmix.ru/archives/5073
-http://www.mobiledevice.ru/XM-7-Spider-mina-fugasnaia-vzrivchatka-neletalnii-gaz_1.aspx
-http://rus-sur.ru/forum/16-80-1
-http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/XM-7_Spider
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 13
  1. Nayhas 11 сентября 2013 08:57
    Умно конечно, но блин дорого. Мины это массовое оружие и априори должны быть дешевы. Не проще ли было создать механизм деактивирующий мину через определенное время?
    1. Zerstorer 12 сентября 2013 20:25
      Такие механизмы для мин давно созданы.
  2. igordok 11 сентября 2013 09:21
    Если мина управляется дистанционно, почему этого не сможет сделать враг. Понятно что канал закодирован, но время делает всё.
    Цитата: Nayhas
    Умно конечно, но блин дорого. Мины это массовое оружие и априори должны быть дешевы. Не проще ли было создать механизм деактивирующий мину через определенное время?

    Еще одна маленькая капля для "распила" военного бюджета под лозунгом "гуманности".
  3. агент 008 11 сентября 2013 09:50
    Убить человека,или оторвать ему ногу или руку,-решает оператор "гуманист"...Спасибо военным специалистам за заботу о людях!
  4. Леха с ЗАТУЛИНКИ 11 сентября 2013 09:53
    гуманная мина-обхохочешься.

    Оружие априоре не может быть гуманным - а так устройство мины интересное.
    Леха с ЗАТУЛИНКИ
  5. sven27 11 сентября 2013 10:26
    В случае крупномоштабной и продолжительной войны на использовании таких мин можно разориться
    sven27
    1. Apollon 11 сентября 2013 11:03
      видеоматериалы в тему

  6. vietnam7 11 сентября 2013 19:57
    Сразу возникают вопросы:
    заряд 30 суток при какой температуре окружающей среды?
    если ночью свой боец сорвет растяжку, как оператор отличит, что он свой?
    оператор так и будет все 30 дней пялится в свой планшет, даже в туалет с ним, а то не дай бог духи решили в гости зайти, а ему приспичило?
    помоему дорогая игрушка для охраны базы в войнах с папуасами.
    vietnam7
  7. knn54 11 сентября 2013 21:26
    Мину(радио мину) с GPS легко обнаружить и легко глушить,та же помеха…
    А ГЛАВНОЕ, что Пентагон ЛИХО обошел Международное соглашения о запрете минных вооружений…
  8. Grifan 12 сентября 2013 00:12
    Ну и маскипрвка у этого кустика гранат wassat
  9. discripter 15 сентября 2013 12:51
    Хорошая удобная мина, с 100 метров удобно расстреливать с калаша.
    discripter
  10. Интересующийся 9 октября 2013 14:07
    Слишком сложно, слишком умно! Не единожды доказано: чем проще, тем лучше и эффективнее!
  11. Larus 12 октября 2013 12:58
    А когда ы поддерживали такие законы,с учётом их ОГРОМНОГО военного лобби,пропитавшего всю власть взятками.
    Larus
  12. Пиротехник 22 апреля 2014 20:09
    Мина конечно умная, но стоимость зашкаливает.
    Пиротехник
  13. Nail 13 марта 2015 11:31
    сейчас можно и беспилотник задействовать для поиска мин. просканировать местность, изучить видео и вперед...
    Nail

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня