Military Review

Researchers have created a new camouflage coating of ordinary squid proteins.

5
Researchers have created a new camouflage coating of ordinary squid proteins.What can the US military learn from a simple squid? According to researchers from the University of California, there is a lot to the art of hiding from the enemy.


A team of engineers managed to create a biomimetic infrared camouflage coating inspired by Loliginidae - better known as regular squid.

It is based on reflectin, a structural protein that is critical for squid's ability to change colors and reflect light. The researchers were able to get it using ordinary bacteria, and create from it thin, optically active films that mimic the skin of a squid.

In the presence of the right chemical stimulant, the colors and reflectivity of the film can switch from one state to another, allowing it to appear and disappear in the light of an infrared camera.

Infrared detection is actively used by the military in night vision devices for navigation, reconnaissance and guidance. The innovativeness of this coating lies in its functionality in the near-infrared part of the electromagnetic spectrum - from 700 to 1.200 nanometers - which corresponds to the range of most tracking devices. This site is usually unattainable for reflective materials of biological origin.

This invention is only the first step in the development of material that will be able to self-configure in response to external signals. At the moment, the project team is looking for an alternative non-chemical way to trigger color changes in the reflectin coating.

“Our long-term goal is to create fabrics that are able to dynamically change their texture and color to adapt to the external environment,” says project head Alon Gorodetsky. “In fact, we are looking for a way to make mimicking clothes from science fiction films a reality.”
Originator:
http://gearmix.ru/
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Basileus
    Basileus 11 September 2013 11: 03 New
    +4
    Of course, why do we need the Russian word "protein"? Only borrowing, only protein!
  2. sashka
    sashka 11 September 2013 11: 13 New
    0
    More likely to report nanoskolkovo .. Or personally to the "president". A couple of lards will be immediately dumped. Funny and sad ..
  3. mak210
    mak210 11 September 2013 11: 20 New
    +1
    And more beautiful and incomprehensible. It would be better to polypeptides in general, here hamsters would generally orgasm.

    Proteins are not very stable in the environment, are easily exposed to toxic substances and are actively eaten by most types of molds. In general, the class, if true, of course. It would be better if the chamelion, the general champion of the world in disguise, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=owwhnfHr8Vs
  4. AK-47
    AK-47 11 September 2013 11: 21 New
    0
    It would be great if it turned out, mimicry in order to disguise.
  5. viruskvartirus
    viruskvartirus 11 September 2013 11: 25 New
    +1
    I read periodically about Amer’s super duper achievements and naturally envy takes me. But then the news periodically skips over a topic that I understand a little ... recently they decided to start a super environmentally friendly nuclear reactor with natural uranium and with helium as a coolant and giggled for a long time. So far, amers from a truly worthy have come up with only the Internet and that's it. It seems they say they have great achievements in medicine, but they did not even kill cancer or AIDS, despite the awesome money that they spend.
  6. Konsmo
    Konsmo 11 September 2013 11: 31 New
    +2
    They’ll dump horseradish. I’m giving birth, I’m dealing with animal proteins at the institute. There is no equipment, everyone wanted to give a microscope for my birthday, normal. I took a coffee grinder with a hairdryer for experiments from home.
    True, they came up with something, in July they filed a patent.
    Protein is good for healing wounds, cartilage, joints. The skin, they say, is almost restored before our eyes. Since there is one protein in the skin.
    A guy at the institute hangs out, for the army they are going to make dressings for medical packages.

Исследователи создали новое камуфляжное покрытие из протеинов обычного кальмара

Исследователи создали новое камуфляжное покрытие из протеинов обычного кальмараЧему американские военные могут научиться у простого кальмара? По словам исследователей из Университета Калифорнии – весьма многому в том, что касается искусства прятаться от врага.

Команде инженеров удалось создать биомиметическое инфракрасное камуфляжное покрытие, вдохновлённое Loliginidae – больше известным как обычный кальмар.

В его основе лежит рефлектин – структурный протеин, который критически важен для способности кальмара менять цвета и отражать свет. Исследователи сумели получить его с помощью обычной бактерии, и создать из него тонкие, оптически активные плёнки, которые имитируют кожу кальмара.


В присутствии правильного химического стимулянта, цвета и отражающая способность плёнки могут переключаться из одного состояния в другое, позволяя ей проявляться и исчезать в свете инфракрасной камеры.

Исследователи создали новое камуфляжное покрытие из протеинов обычного кальмараИнфракрасное обнаружение активно используется военными в приборах ночного видения, для навигации, разведки и наведения. Инновационность же этого покрытия лежит в его функциональности в около-инфракрасном участке электромагнитного спектра – от 700 до 1.200 нанометров – что соответствует диапазону большинства приборов слежения. Этот участок обычно недостижим для отражающих материалов биологического происхождения.

Данное изобретение является лишь первым шагом в развитии материала, который будет способен самоконфигурироваться в ответ на внешние сигналы. В настоящий момент команда проекта ищет альтернативный нехимический способ запускать изменения цвета в рефлектиновом покрытии.

«Нашей долгосрочной целью является создать ткани, которые способны динамически менять свою текстуру и цвет для адаптации к внешней среде», говорит глава проекта Алон Городецкий. «Фактически, мы ищем способ сделать мимикрирующую одежду из научно-фантастических фильмов реальностью».
Первоисточник: http://gearmix.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5
  1. Basileus 11 сентября 2013 11:03
    Конечно, зачем нам русское слово "белок"? Только заимствования, только протеин!
  2. сашка 11 сентября 2013 11:13
    Скорее на доклад наносколково..Или лично "президенту".Пару лярдов сразу отвалят. Смешно и грустно..
    сашка
  3. mak210 11 сентября 2013 11:20
    А так красивее и непонятнее. Лучше было бы вообще полипептиды, тут бы хомячки вообще бы оргазмировали.

    Белки не очень устойчивы во внешней среде, легко подвержены действию токсичных веществ и активно поедаются большинством видов плесеней. А вообще класс, если правда, конечно. Лучше бы хамелион, тот вообще чемпион мира по маскировке https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=owwhnfHr8Vs
  4. AK-47 11 сентября 2013 11:21
    Было бы здорово если бы получилось, мимикрия в целях маскировки.
    AK-47
  5. viruskvartirus 11 сентября 2013 11:25
    Читаю я периодически о амеровских супер пупер достижениях и естественно меня зависть берет. Но потом периодически проскакивают новости по теме в которой я маленько разбираюсь...во недавно они решили зафигачить супер экологичный ядерный реактор на природном уране и с гелием в качестве теплоносителя и долго хихикал. Пока что амеры из действительно достойного придумали только интернет и все. Вроде говорят у них большие достижения в медицине, но ни рак ни спид они так и не попебедили, не смотря на офигенные деньги которые они тратят.
  6. Konsmo 11 сентября 2013 11:31
    Хрен отвалят.У меня племяшь, белками животными в институте занимается.Оборудования нет, микроскоп все хотели подарить на день рождения, нормальный.Кофемолку, с феном для опытов из дома забрал.
    Правда, чего то придумали,в июле патент подали.
    Белок хорош для восстановления ран,хрящей, суставов. Кожа, говорят, чуть не на глазах восстанавливается.Поскольку в коже один белок и есть.
    Мужик в институте тусуется, для армии собираются делать повязки для мед.пакетов.
    Konsmo

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня