Military Review

Abkhaz business trip, 1992 year. h.1

7
Abkhaz business trip, 1992 year. h.1“I'm leaving for war, to mountainous Abkhazia ...”


On a hot August evening, 1992, I lingered in the service, in my office, preparing some urgent "paper". It’s not me that the initiative in the army is punishable, but to remain in the evenings, unless absolutely necessary, is “counterproductive.”

So it happened. A control officer looked into the office: “Oh! Sergey, I'm looking for you! Come to Colonel Ispakov urgently! ”Surprised why I might need the acting chief of staff of our Special Control Service of the Russian Defense Ministry (today we can openly call this structural unit of our Main Headquarters, because by that time, perhaps, the Africans had not visited objects in the delegation of the “newly minted allies”) I proceeded to his office.

For some reason, Nikolay Ivanovich was glad, warmly welcomed and invited me to sit down.

- Sergey, do you know that a war has begun in Abkhazia between Georgians and Abkhazians ?! - he asked. I knew that, of course.

Now, many years later, when more than a dozen of such wars have passed on the territory of the USSR, mention of them does not cause any special emotions. Then - it was something unimaginable: WAR !!! Former Soviet people, recent citizens of a united country, are killing each other!

True, our "independent" and most democratic television talked about this very little and somehow vaguely. To understand who is right there, and who was to blame was simply impossible.

“Right on the front line, our 24 lab in Esher was,” the chief of staff's acting officer continued.

(About this laboratory, then, quite a lot was written in the media and even showed on TV its battered structures with shells. Journalists called it the “seismic laboratories” of MO. We will keep this name in this story.)

I knew that too. We regularly communicated by phone with the deputy commander of this unit, Igor Naturschikov. Even on the ZAS apparatus, sporadic machine-gun bursts and shell explosions sounded there.

- Pasha Grachev made a decision to evacuate the laboratory, equipment, weapons, families of officers and ensigns, their property and the entire personnel of our unit. We create a task force for the evacuation of the part. I want to include you in its composition. Fly there ?!

- If I have to, I will fly, of course! - I replied. My thoughts did not have to look for any reasons for refusal.

(Already after my return, I learned that some of our officers categorically refused then, in Ispakov’s office, a mission “to the war.” “I'll take off the shoulder straps, but I won't go!” They said, “refusers”.)

At that moment I, of course, did not know this, and I was surprised by the unexpectedly joyful reaction of Ispakov: “Well, well done !!! Depart tomorrow at 8.00 from Chkalovsky, the board has already been ordered. ” In the course of further conversation, it turned out that in order to catch the plane, I would send a car to Lyubertsy (where I was renting a room with my family) to 5.00. (Such courtesy happened for the first and last time in all the years of service in this part).

The operations team was a small, 3 officer. It was planned that we would reach the Bombora airfield (located near the Abkhaz town of Gudauta) with a military “board”, and from there we would get to the part by car. How to carry out the evacuation Ispakov represented vaguely. “If you arrive, you will figure it out on the spot. Maybe we will take out the helicopters, maybe by cars, or in general this mess there will end and they will give a “retirement” of evacuation, ”he described his“ vision ”of the situation.

I was a little embarrassed by the mention of helicopters, but on the other hand, since the decision to evacuate was made by the all-powerful then “the best defense minister” - what the hell is not joking, maybe they will send the helicopters for evacuation!

Iskhakov assured that the whole trip will last for a day on 3-4, a maximum of a week.

The fact how little we understood the real situation in that Abkhazia is indicated by the fact that the uniform of the war we determined was not “field”, but “everyday”.

At home, I wrote a letter to my wife (who, together with her daughter, rested with her mother in the Novgorod region) and collected my unintelligent business travelers.

The next morning we were at the Chkalovsky airfield. We were included in the flight list of AN-72, flying with the commission of the General Staff in Tbilisi. Then the headquarters of the Transcaucasian Military District was stationed there. It was decided to land us on the way, in Gudauta. It was the only airport in Abkhazia that was controlled by Russian troops there.

Flew normally. True, before landing, the crew commander came into the aircraft: “Comrades, generals and officers! In view of the fact that we will land in a combat zone, where it is possible to use air defense weapons on an airplane, I will conduct an anti-aircraft maneuver. I ask everyone to sit down and fasten their seat belts! ”

The maneuver was so energetic that for a while it seemed to me that we were just falling directly into the Black Sea, which was rapidly approaching us. However, right next to the water, the engines roared, the plane leveled off, and we boarded the runway of the Bombohy airfield.

Only three of us came out, our operations team. The rest of our fellow travelers took off and continued their flight to Tbilisi.

We were met by an unfamiliar man in “Afghan” without distinctions:
- “Mikhail Mikhailovich Mikhailov. Military intelligence. I was asked to meet and escort you to your unit. I supervise her at the time of the fighting. Welcome to the war! His surname and name - patronymic he was clearly fictional, but the lack of insignia - was surprised. It was an unusual phenomenon.

“You would also need to change everyday to field form. You are too visible on the war in such a bright form. Attract the attention of a sniper. And they are full here. Shoot the Moscow colonels for them - the highest chic! Well, okay, I'll take you to the part - they'll change you there, ”he continued the introductory instruction. "Come, I will introduce you to the senior group."

Then the senior was General Sibudkin. The small paratrooper, not too friendly talked with us: “Your unit commander was confused, got nervous. Just think, shelling the territory. I sent a reinforced company of paratroopers to help him. Keep in touch with me. If Georgians shell you too hard - report, I’ll raise Aviationscare them. ”

At the same time, a short conversation with him ended, and we went to the part where we arrived safely, overcoming pieces of 15 of various checkpoints. On them sat gangster-looking abreks, armed with who in that much. From machine guns and grenade launchers, to hunting rifles and daggers. Some of the "militia" - drank along the way, right in front of us.

Michal Mikhalych, although he knew all the older checkpoints by name, hid his pistol away from sin. “Wild people!” He said, chuckling. “Bind: give, let’s exchange - don’t get rid of it. Before the conflict can reach. They do not understand what a service weapon is. ”
It was clear that the war here was special - with Caucasian specifics.

Meanwhile, the scout gradually brought us up to speed. The acute phase of the war lasted already 5 days. According to him, it began with the entry of Shevardnadze's troops into Abkhazia and the ensuing massacre. First of all, both sides crushed all the commercial stalls of representatives of “hostile” nations. However, the Abkhaz were smashed and killed mostly Georgians, and the Georgians, on the occupied territory, were not all Georgians. Exceptions were, of course, but the general rule was valid. Before the war, Michal Mikhalych himself had a three-room apartment in Sukhumi.

“The entire apartment was ransacked and burned by the Georgians when Sukhumi was captured,” he said gloomily. “Nothing left, a goal like a falcon. Well, at least I managed to send my wife and children in the spring to her mother. ”

By the time of our arrival, the Georgians had captured a significant part of Abkhazia: from its border to the Gumista River (on the right bank of which our seismic laboratory was stationed). She was right on the front line. In the windows of the apartments of the houses of the officers and ensigns the crazy machine guns easily flew. In such conditions there lived wives and children. We slept on the floor, trying to "not loom" in the windows. The atmosphere among family members was nervous, of course.

Another Georgian enclave was north of Gudauta. At the beginning of the war, sudden, for the Abkhaz, a landing from the sea, with the support of local residents - Georgians, captured Gagra and the area adjacent to it. The Abkhaz, in whose territory our part was located, controlled the entire 2 piece of their republic: from the Gumista River to Gagra (including its temporary capital Gudauta) and the stretch north of Gagra to the Psou River, the border with Russia. On the contact line of the warring troops were fighting. As a rule, during the day time there were sluggish exchanges of gunfire, at night, clashes assumed, at times, a fierce character.

There was no overland route from part to Russia. It was not clear how to take out people and, especially, to evacuate their property.
Author:
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Sunjar
    Sunjar 16 September 2013 06: 55
    +2
    We are waiting for the development of events. I’m intrigued ...
  2. wulf66
    wulf66 16 September 2013 10: 04
    +1
    An interesting topic, all the more according to the participant. I look forward to continuing.
    1. Modus
      17 September 2013 19: 30
      +1
      The sequel has already been published - take a look.
      Yours faithfully,
  3. Misantrop
    Misantrop 17 September 2013 19: 37
    +1
    I visited that airport. Not then, a little later, in June of the 93rd ...
    1. Modus
      17 September 2013 19: 42
      +1
      And we flew away in October 1992.
      1. Misantrop
        Misantrop 17 September 2013 19: 56
        +1
        My brother at the very beginning of 1993 moved to serve in 345 DCPA, so I came to him
        1. Modus
          17 September 2013 20: 19
          +1
          Clear. Good airfield there and the place is beautiful ...

Абхазская командировка, 1992 год. ч.1

Абхазская командировка, 1992 год. ч.1«Уезжаю на войну, в горную Абхазию…»

Жарким августовским вечером 1992 года я задержался на службе, в рабочем кабинете, готовя какую-то срочную «бумагу». Не мной замечено, что инициатива в армии наказуема, а оставаться по вечерам, без крайней необходимости – «контрпродуктивно».

Так и вышло. В кабинет заглянул дежурный по управлению: «О! Сергей, тебя и ищу! Срочно зайди к полковнику Испакову!» Удивляясь, зачем я мог понадобиться ВРИО начальника штаба нашей Службы специального контроля МО РФ (сегодня уже можно открыто назвать это структурное подразделение нашего Главка, т.к. к этому времени только, пожалуй, африканцы не побывали на наших объектах в составе делегаций « новоиспеченных союзников») я проследовал в его кабинет.


Николай Иванович, увидев меня, почему-то обрадовался, тепло поприветствовал и пригласил присесть.

– Сергей, ты знаешь, что в Абхазии началась война между грузинами и абхазами?! - спросил он. Я это знал, разумеется.

Сейчас, много лет спустя, когда таких войн на территории СССР прошло больше десятка, особых эмоций упоминание о них не вызывает. Тогда – это было нечто невообразимое: ВОЙНА!!! Бывшие советские люди, недавние граждане единой страны, убивают друг друга!

Правда, наше «независимое» и демократичнейшее телевидение говорило про это совсем мало и как-то невнятно. Понять, кто там прав, а кто виноват было просто невозможно.

- Прямо на линии фронта оказалась наша 24 лаборатория в Эшерах , - продолжил ВРИО начальника штаба.

(Про эту лабораторию, потом, довольно много писали в СМИ и даже показывали по телевидению её избитые снарядами строения. Журналисты называли её «сейсмической лабораторий» МО. Такое наименование сохраним и в этом рассказе.)

Я это тоже знал. Мы регулярно общались по телефону с заместителем командира этой части Игорем Натурщиковым. Даже по аппарату ЗАС были слышны спорадические пулемётные очереди и разрывы снарядов, звучавшие там.

- Пашей Грачёвым принято решение об эвакуации лаборатории, техники, оружия, семей офицеров и прапорщиков, их имущества и всего личного состава нашей части. Мы создаём опергруппу для эвакуации части. Хочу включить тебя в её состав. Полетишь туда?!

- Раз надо – полечу, конечно! - ответил я. У меня и в мыслях не было искать какие-то поводы для отказа.

(Уже после своего возвращения я узнал, что некоторые наши офицеры категорически отказывались тогда, в кабинете Испакова, от командировки «на войну». «Погоны сниму, но не поеду!» - заявили «отказники».)

В тот момент я этого, разумеется, не знал, и меня удивила неожиданно радостная реакция Испакова: «Ну и молодец!!! Вылет завтра в 8.00 из Чкаловского, борт уже заказан». В ходе дальнейшей беседы выяснилось, что для того, чтобы мне успеть к самолёту, в Люберцы (где я со своей семьёй снимал комнату) в 5.00 пришлют машину. (Такая любезность случилась в первый и последний раз за все годы службы в этой части).

Опергруппа была небольшая, 3 офицера. Планировалось, что мы военным «бортом» долетим до аэродрома Бомборы (расположенного около абхазского городка Гудаута), а оттуда автомобилем доберёмся до части. Как проводить эвакуацию Испаков представлял смутно. «Приедете – на месте разберётесь. Может, вертолётами вывозить будем, может машинами, или вообще эта заваруха там закончится и «отбой» эвакуации дадут», - так обрисовал он свое «видение» ситуации.

Меня немного смутило упоминание о вертолётах, но с другой стороны, раз решение об эвакуации принял всемогущий тогда «лучший министр обороны» - чем черт не шутит, может и вертолёты для эвакуации пришлют!

Исхаков заверил, что вся командировка продлится дня 3-4, максимум неделю.

О том, как мало мы понимали реальную ситуацию в той Абхазии, говорит то, что форму одежды на войну нам определили не «полевую», а «повседневную».

Дома я написал письмо жене (которая, вместе с дочкой, отдыхала у своей мамы в Новгородской области) и собрал свои немудрёные командировочные «манатки».

Следующим утром мы были на аэродроме Чкаловский. Нас включили в полётный лист АН-72, летевшего с комиссией Генерального штаба в Тбилиси. Там тогда дислоцировался штаб Закавказского военного округа. Нас было решено высадить по пути, в Гудауте. Это был единственный аэропорт в Абхазии, который там контролировали российские войска.

Долетели нормально. Правда, перед приземлением в салон самолёта вышел командир экипажа: «Товарищи генералы и офицеры! Ввиду того, что посадку будем производить в зоне боевых действий, где возможно применение по самолёту средств ПВО, я проведу противозенитный манёвр. Прошу всех сесть и пристегнуть ремни!».

Манёвр был настолько энергичным, что некоторое время мне казалось, что мы просто падаем прямо в Чёрное море, которое стремительно приближалось к нам. Однако у самой воды, двигатели взревели, самолёт выровнялся, и мы сели на взлетно-посадочную полосу аэродрома «Бомборы».

Там вышли только мы втроём, наша опергруппа. Остальные наши попутчики – взлетели и продолжили полёт на Тбилиси.

Нас встречал незнакомый мужчина в «афганке» без знаков различия:
- «Михаил Михайлович Михайлов. Военная разведка. Меня попросили вас встретить и сопроводить в вашу часть. Я её курирую, на время боевых действий. Добро пожаловать на войну!». Фамилия и имя - отчество у него были явно вымышленные, а вот отсутствие знаков различия – удивило. Это было непривычным тогда явлением.

«Вам бы тоже надо сменить повседневную форму на полевую. Слишком вы заметны на войне в таком ярком виде. Привлечёте внимание снайпера. А их тут полно. Подстрелить московских полковников для них – высший шик! Ну да ладно, до части я вас довезу – там вас переоденут», - продолжил он вводный инструктаж. «Пойдём, представлю вас старшему группировки».

Старшим тогда был генерал Сибудкин. Маленького роста десантник, не слишком приветливо пообщался с нами: «Растерялся ваш командир части, занервничал. Подумаешь, обстреливают территорию. Я направил к нему в помощь усиленную роту десантников. Держите со мной связь. Если грузины будут слишком сильно вас обстреливать – докладывайте, подниму авиацию, пуганём их».

На этом короткая беседа с ним завершилась, и мы поехали в часть, куда благополучно прибыли, преодолев штук 15 различных блок-постов. На них сидели бандитского вида абреки, вооружённые кто во что горазд. От пулемётов и гранатомётов, до охотничьих ружей и кинжалов. Некоторые «ополченцы» – выпивали по ходу дела, прямо при нас.

Михал Михалыч, хотя и знал всех старших этих блок-постов по именам, свой пистолет спрятал от греха подальше. «Дикий народ!» - посмеиваясь сказал он. «Привяжутся: подари, да давай обменяемся – не отвяжешься. До конфликта может дойти. Они же не понимают, что такое табельное оружие».
Ясно было, что война тут особая – с кавказской спецификой.

Тем временем, разведчик постепенно ввёл нас в курс дела. Острая фаза войны длилась уже 5 дней. По его словам, началась она с ввода войск Шеварднадзе в Абхазию и последовавшей за этим взаимной резни. В первую очередь обе стороны разгромили все коммерческие палатки представителей «враждебных» наций. Однако абхазы громили и убивали в основном грузин, а грузины, на захваченной территории – всех не грузин. Исключения бывали, конечно, но общее правило действовало. У самого Михал Михалыча до войны была трёхкомнатная квартира в Сухуми.

-«Всю квартиру разграбили и сожгли грузины, когда захватили Сухуми», - хмуро сказал он. «Ничего не осталось, гол, как сокол. Хорошо, хоть жену с детьми весной к её матери успел отправить».

К моменту нашего прилёта, грузины захватили значительную часть Абхазии: от своей границы до реки Гумиста (на правом берегу которой и дислоцировалась наша сейсмическая лаборатория). Она оказалась прямо на линии фронта. В окна квартир домов офицеров и прапорщиков легко залетали шальные автоматные пули. В таких условиях там жили жёны и дети. Спали на полу, стараясь «не маячить» в окнах. Обстановка среди членов семей была нервная, конечно.

Ещё один грузинский анклав оказался севернее Гудауты. В начале войны, внезапным, для абхазов, десантом с моря, при поддержке местных жителей – грузин, была захвачена Гагра и прилегающая к ней местность. Абхазы, на чьей территории находилась наша часть, контролировали всего 2 куска своей республики: от реки Гумисты до Гагры (включая и свою временную столицу Гудауту) и участок севернее Гагр до реки Псоу, границы с Россией. На линии соприкосновения враждующих отрядов шли боевые действия. Как правило, днём шли вялые перестрелки, ночью же боестолкновения принимали, порой, ожесточённый характер.

Сухопутного пути из части в Россию не было. Как вывозить людей и уж, тем более, эвакуировать их имущество – было непонятно.
Автор: Сергей Дроздов


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 7
  1. Sunjar 16 сентября 2013 06:55
    Ждем развития событий. Вот же заинтриговал...
  2. wulf66 16 сентября 2013 10:04
    Интересная тема, тем паче со слов участника. Жду продолжения.
    1. Модус 17 сентября 2013 19:30
      Продолжение уже опубликовано - посмотрите.
      С уважением,
      Модус
  3. Misantrop 17 сентября 2013 19:37
    Бывал я на том аэродроме. Не тогда, чуть позже, в июне 93-го...
    Misantrop
    1. Модус 17 сентября 2013 19:42
      А мы улетели в октябре 1992 оттуда.
      Модус
      1. Misantrop 17 сентября 2013 19:56
        У меня брат в самом начале 1993 в 345 ОПДП перевелся служить, вот я к нему и приехал
        Misantrop
        1. Модус 17 сентября 2013 20:19
          Понятно. Хороший там аэродром и место красивое...
          Модус

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня