Military Review

DARPA will create a multi-headed "Hydra" for the US Navy

8
The US Congress demands that the Pentagon drastically reduce costs. The military budget for the next ten years should be reduced by 500 billion dollars. This means that a number of important programs and projects will be subject to a serious reduction, while others will be completely closed. In this regard, even now the US Department of Defense is attempting to reduce its costs without deteriorating the state of the armed forces and preserving their defense potential. Not so long ago, the agency DARPA, engaged in promising developments, launched preliminary work on the Hydra program (“Hydra”). The aim of the program is to create a set of tools designed to assist the naval forces in patrolling the oceans.




An interesting fact is that the name of the program, taken from ancient Greek mythology, fully corresponds to the look of the finished complex. The result of the Hydra program should be the creation and deployment of a network of universal unmanned platforms with different payloads. Like the heads of the mythical Hydra, the Hydra platforms will be able to follow relatively large water areas. This system is expected to allow monitoring of important areas and taking appropriate action if necessary. It is assumed that the vehicles created during the Hydra program will be able to take on part of the work of the naval forces. This will not only ensure the presence of the US Navy in all the necessary regions, but also reduce the cost of operating ships and numerous trips.

Currently, the Hydra program is in its very early stages and therefore most of the information about it concerns the economic aspects. It is emphasized that a complex of unmanned vehicles is a highly profitable way to ensure the presence in the right areas of the oceans. In addition, even a large group of autonomous vehicles capable of tracking a relatively large area will cost the budget much less than a ship connection with similar monitoring capabilities. As for combat operations, unmanned vehicles may be able to carry some weapons. It is also proposed to use them exclusively for reconnaissance purposes, at the time it is necessary to tighten full-fledged ship connections to the dangerous region.

The technical appearance of the devices created in the course of the Hydra program has so far been defined only in very general terms. It is assumed that these will be small (in comparison with the ships of the naval forces) unmanned submarines or something similar to them. Already it is argued that the payload of the devices will be done on a modular basis. Thus, most of the units of unmanned vehicles will be unified, and the remaining equipment will be mounted in accordance with the goals and objectives of the specific product.

Unified parts of the apparatus must ensure the performance of the target equipment for a long time. The required working life has not yet been determined, but it is already clear that each of the Hydra devices will have to work from several weeks to several months. The main payload at the moment are modules with surveillance and reconnaissance systems. In the future, it is expected to expand the range of usable target modules.

The dimensions and technical aspects of the operation of the Hydra apparatuses must be such that they can be transported and applied by carriers of various classes. It is assumed that the delivery of vehicles to the desired area and discharge into the water will be conducted by ships, submarines and aircraft. Because of this, there are not only requirements for the size and weight of the devices, but also restrictions on the complexity of operation. Ideally, all service should consist only in loading the program of actions and receiving the information collected by the apparatus. A variant with a remote control is also considered, which will allow to control the movement of one or several vehicles.

The use of standardized vehicles with various instrumentation equipment is expected to provide an opportunity to create a unified monitoring system for underwater and surface targets, as well as for airspace in the area where the group of unmanned systems is located. In practice, this will allow both to ensure the presence in the required area, and to increase the operational radius of the ship connections. In the latter case, the devices of the Hydra system will become a kind of replacement of the radio-acoustic buoys used to search for submarines, but at the same time having great potential for finding targets.

As a result of the successful completion of the Hydra program, the US Navy will receive a convenient multipurpose tool for monitoring the necessary water areas without the involvement of ships and submarines. It is already clear that such systems are quite capable of fulfilling their main goal, namely the realization of presence without extra expenses for organizing hikes. However, the stated requirements for unmanned vehicles and their payload can adversely affect the course of the entire program.

Creating technology with such characteristics may be too expensive for the current US military budget. Hydra devices must be in one place for several months, monitor the situation and transmit information to the command post. In addition, it is necessary to observe not only the water, but also the airspace, which greatly complicates the equipment and operation of a large number of devices for various purposes. Thus, the development of promising multi-purpose underwater vehicles alone can cost a fairly large amount. Another equally important and unpleasant aspect of the Hydra program will be the fact that quite complex and expensive devices are not likely to be reusable. This will also negatively affect the financial aspects of the program.

Nevertheless, the massive use of Hydra systems will save on the operation of reconnaissance ships, anti-submarine aircraft, etc. equipment designed to monitor the waters. These savings in the future may cover at least part of the cost of developing a Hydra project, building a sufficient number of unmanned vehicles, and equipping carriers with appropriate systems. Because of this, it is currently not possible to talk with certainty about the specific prospects of the program.

Another reason that the future prospects of the Hydra program remain questionable is the current state of the project. In early August, the DARPA agency held a meeting of specialists at which the proposed concept was discussed. The meeting resulted in the development of basic requirements for projected unmanned vehicles. In the near future, experts will continue to analyze the opportunities, prospects and risks. The next session on Hydra is scheduled for October 22.

The timing of the implementation of the program - if it is not recognized as unpromising and the development of a technical project begins - is still in question. The second half of the current decade is referred to as the approximate starting time for the operation of the first prototypes of unmanned vehicles. Full operation of the Hydra system can begin no earlier than 2018 of the year. Thus, the practical application of promising multi-purpose underwater unmanned vehicles is still a matter of a sufficiently distant future. but news on the progress of the project itself will appear in the near future. At the end of October, it will become clear whether the Pentagon will support the new project of the DARPA agency and, as a result, whether it will use the multi-headed marine “Hydra” in the future.

On the materials of the sites:
http://darpa.mil/
http://wired.com/
http://defensereview.com/
Author:
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Ivan79
    Ivan79 17 September 2013 08: 53 New
    0
    "What progress has come to ... descended to the depths and ascended to heaven ..." But seriously, the concept of such an apparatus, I think, is rather difficult to implement.
  2. denson06
    denson06 17 September 2013 10: 39 New
    -1
    Submarine drone .. not surprised by the news .. expected ..
  3. Asan Ata
    Asan Ata 17 September 2013 11: 23 New
    0
    Thanks for good news. 500 billion cabbage - this, my opinion, cannot be done a lot of nasty things. Russia will create a Hercules system for the planned humiliation of Hydra. I think it will be a system that paralyzes Hydra sensors at the right time. And so let him swim.
  4. Asan Ata
    Asan Ata 17 September 2013 12: 06 New
    +2
    Hercules wets Hydra.
  5. JonnyT
    JonnyT 17 September 2013 12: 11 New
    0
    America is all dreaming of creating a robotic army .... and slowly but surely is moving towards the realization of its goal ....... how is it capitalistically - to replace human labor with machines .......
    But I don’t understand how they want to build a network? It is remembered that the USSR also worked on a similar topic - the creation of a tracking system of radio buoys - but then its value was considered simply astronomical! How will the drone group be supplied? And if the batteries run out or does the fuel run out? What will happen if the command center is destroyed? How to protect control channels?
    How are Americans going to realize their observant hydra in times of crisis and budgets?
    1. Xroft
      Xroft 17 September 2013 16: 54 New
      0
      They will print even more candy wrappers, take fuel from the remaining free countries, the monarchy will throw a thread. In Latin America, they will soon look for chemical weapons ...
      1. 31231
        31231 17 September 2013 19: 31 New
        0
        Not tired of myths about the "candy wrappers" scatter ?! No one will give the go-ahead to print extra greens for Barnanka. When will you grow up and understand that in the West economists are some of the smartest ?!
        What oil production ?! All US wars in BV only increased the size of public debt.
  6. Starover_Z
    Starover_Z 19 September 2013 19: 04 New
    0
    New surveillance system? Have they already abandoned their tracking system SOSUS?
    Now they will demand that they print money for the mobile Hydra. And how are they going to solve the problem of communication with their unmanned underwater vehicles?
    One must think that they want to impose Russian submarine bases on this Hydra so as not to run after them across all oceans.
    Underwater missile defense system, damn it. Inventors ...

DARPA создаст многоголовую «Гидру» для ВМС США

Конгресс США требует от Пентагона кардинально сократить расходы. Бюджет военного ведомства за ближайшие десять лет должен уменьшиться на 500 миллиардов долларов. Это означает, что ряд важных программ и проектов подвергнутся серьезному сокращению, а иные и вовсе будут закрыты. В связи с этим уже сейчас американское министерство обороны предпринимает попытки сократить свои расходы, не ухудшая состояние вооруженных сил и сохраняя их оборонный потенциал. Не так давно агентство DARPA, занимающееся перспективными разработками, развернуло предварительные работы по программе Hydra («Гидра»). Целью программы является создание комплекса средств, призванного помочь военно-морским силам в деле патрулирования Мирового океана.




Интересен тот факт, что название программы, взятое из древнегреческой мифологии, полностью соответствует облику готового комплекса. Результатом программы Hydra должно стать создание и развертывание сети универсальных беспилотных платформ с различной полезной нагрузкой. Подобно головам мифической Гидры платформы комплекса Hydra смогут следить за сравнительно крупными акваториями. Эта система, как ожидается, позволит контролировать важные районы и при необходимости принимать соответствующие меры. Предполагается, что аппараты, созданные в ходе программы Hydra, смогут взять на себя часть работы военно-морских сил. Это позволит не только обеспечить присутствие ВМС США во всех необходимых регионах, но и сократит затраты на эксплуатацию кораблей и многочисленные походы.

В настоящее время программа Hydra находится на самых ранних стадиях и поэтому большинство сведений о ней касается экономических аспектов. Подчеркивается, что комплекс беспилотных средств является высокорентабельным способом обеспечить присутствие в нужных районах Мирового океана. Кроме того, даже большая группа автономных аппаратов, способная следить за сравнительно крупным районом, будет стоить бюджету гораздо меньше, чем корабельное соединение с аналогичными возможностями по наблюдению. Что касается боевых операций, то беспилотные аппараты, возможно, смогут нести некое вооружение. Также предлагается использовать их исключительно в разведывательных целях, в нужно время стягивая в опасный регион полноценные корабельные соединения.

Технический облик аппаратов, создаваемых в ходе программы Hydra, пока определен лишь в самых общих чертах. Предполагается, что это будут небольшие (в сравнении с кораблями военно-морских сил) беспилотные подводные лодки или что-то похожее на них. Уже сейчас утверждается, что полезная нагрузка аппаратов будет делаться по модульному принципу. Таким образом, основную часть агрегатов беспилотных аппаратов выполнят унифицированной, а оставшееся оборудование будет монтироваться в соответствии с целями и задачами конкретного изделия.

Унифицированные части аппарата должны обеспечивать работоспособность целевого оборудования в течение длительного времени. Требуемый срок работоспособности пока не определен, но уже сейчас понятно, что каждый из аппаратов системы Hydra должен будет работать от нескольких недель до нескольких месяцев. Основной полезной нагрузкой на данный момент считаются модули с системами наблюдения и разведки. В дальнейшем ожидается расширение номенклатуры пригодных для использования целевых модулей.

Габариты и технические аспекты эксплуатации аппаратов Hydra должны быть такими, чтобы их могли перевозить и применять носители различных классов. Предполагается, что доставка аппаратов в нужный район и сброс в воду будут вестись кораблями, подводными лодками и самолетами. Из-за этого возникают не только требования по габаритам и весу аппаратов, но и ограничения, касающиеся сложности эксплуатации. В идеале все обслуживание должно заключаться лишь в загрузке программы действий и приеме собранной аппаратом информации. Также рассматривается вариант с дистанционным управлением, которое позволит руководить перемещением одного или нескольких аппаратов.

Использование унифицированных аппаратов с различным приборным оснащением, как ожидается, даст возможность создать единую систему наблюдения за подводными и надводными целями, а также за воздушным пространством в районе нахождения группы беспилотных систем. На практике это позволит как обеспечить присутствие в необходимом районе, так и увеличить оперативный радиус корабельных соединений. В последнем случае аппараты системы Hydra станут своеобразной заменой радиогидроакустических буев, применяемых для поиска подводных лодок, но при этом имеющей большие возможности по поиску целей.

В результате удачного завершения программы Hydra военно-морские силы США получат удобный многоцелевой инструмент для наблюдения за необходимыми акваториями без привлечения кораблей и подлодок. Уже сейчас понятно, что подобные системы вполне способны выполнять свою главную цель, а именно осуществление присутствия без лишних затрат на организацию походов. Однако заявленные требования к беспилотным аппаратам и их полезной нагрузке могут негативно сказаться на ходе всей программы.

Создание техники с такими характеристиками может быть слишком дорогим для нынешнего американского военного бюджета. Аппараты Hydra должны в течение нескольких месяцев находиться на одном месте, следить за обстановкой и передавать информацию на командный пункт. Кроме того, требуется наблюдать не только за водой, но и за воздушным пространством, что значительно усложняет оснащение и эксплуатацию большого количества аппаратов разного назначения. Таким образом, одна только разработка перспективных многоцелевых подводных аппаратов может обойтись в достаточно крупную сумму. Другой не менее важной и неприятной стороной программы Hydra станет тот факт, что достаточно сложные и дорогие аппараты, скорее всего, не будут многоразовыми. Это тоже негативно скажется на финансовых аспектах программы.

Тем не менее, массовое использование систем Hydra позволит сэкономить на эксплуатации разведывательных кораблей, противолодочных самолетов и т.п. техники, предназначенной для наблюдения за акваториями. Эта экономия в будущем может перекрыть, как минимум, часть расходов на разработку проекта Hydra, строительство достаточного количества беспилотных аппаратов и оборудование носителей соответствующими системами. Из-за этого в настоящее время нельзя с уверенностью говорить о конкретных перспективах программы.

Другой причиной того, что дальнейшие перспективы программы Hydra остаются под вопросом, служит нынешнее состояние проекта. В начале августа агентство DARPA провело собрание специалистов, на котором обсуждалась предложенная концепция. Результатом заседания стала выработка основных требований к проектируемым беспилотным аппаратам. В ближайшее время специалисты продолжат анализировать возможности, перспективы и риски. Следующее заседание, посвященное «Гидре», назначено на 22 октября.

Сроки реализации программы – если она не будет признана бесперспективной и начнется разработка технического проекта – пока под вопросом. В качестве примерного времени начала эксплуатации первых прототипов беспилотных аппаратов называется вторая половина текущего десятилетия. Полноценная эксплуатация системы Hydra может начаться не ранее 2018 года. Таким образом, практическое применение перспективных многоцелевых подводных беспилотных аппаратов пока остается делом достаточно далекого будущего. Однако новости о ходе самого проекта появятся в самое ближайшее время. В конце октября станет ясно, будет ли Пентагон поддерживать новый проект агентства DARPA и, как следствие, станет ли в будущем использовать многоголовую морскую «Гидру».

По материалам сайтов:
http://darpa.mil/

http://wired.com/
http://defensereview.com/
Автор:
Рябов Кирилл
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти