Military Review

British SAU Alecto

18
Not too successful start of a landing career tanks “Harry Hopkins” and “Tetrarch” did not completely disappoint the tank building department of Vickers. The designers were confident in the prospects of the selected suspension scheme. Indeed, there was no place for light tanks on the Western Front, and affairs in North Africa and the Far East in 1941-1942 were not developed in favor of the British. The success of German self-propelled guns clearly spoke of the need to introduce vehicles of this type in the British army. So, the idea arose to create a self-propelled artillery fire support unit based on the tank. The initiative of the company Vickers was supported by the army command.




The British designers, striving to create for the airborne troops a machine with good armament, booking, speed and, most importantly, suitable for transportation by means of aircraft, developed an Alecto self-propelled gun. The name was not chosen by chance: in ancient Greek mythology, Alecto is the goddess of vengeance, one of the three Furies. Alecto translates as ruthless, unforgiving. However, since the light tank of Harry Hopkins was originally taken as the basis for the new self-propelled artillery, the machine wore the designation “Harry Hopkins ICS” (“Harry Hopkins near infantry support”) and the A.25 Е2 index. Later, the car was recognized as an independent model and was given its frightening "divine" name.

The engine compartment of SAU Alecto was located in the stern. As the power plant, as in the “Harry Hopkins” tank, the Meadows horizontally opposed Meadows 12-cylinder carburetor engine with liquid-cooled power 149 hp was used. The composition of the transmission included: the main friction dry friction, stepped drive shaft, gearbox, turning mechanism. The chassis was equipped with an individual hydropnemodynamic suspension for each support roller. The suspension consisted of four rubber support wheels, where the drive wheel is front and rear roller is sloth. Single-lobe caterpillar, small-part with pinwheel type of engagement.

British SAU Alecto


Harri Hopkins tank was removed from the tower, and the low open-top cabin was converted to accommodate five crew members. 95-millimeter howitzer was installed at the very bottom of the front sheet. This allowed us to get a self-propelled gun with a low profile and, accordingly, small weight and dimensions. The angles of horizontal guidance were 30 degrees in each direction. The ammunition, consisting of 48 shots, also included smoke and high-explosive shells. At the end of 1944, the first prototype of Alecto Mk.I. The war came to an end, and in service there was a significant number of vehicles of the same purpose. In addition, during the test, several technical problems were identified, which were not quickly resolved. That is what caused the rejection of SAU Alecto on arms.

However, the designers did not stop there and developed a number of modifications.

Alecto Recce (Alecto II, Mk. II) SAU equipped with a 6-pound anti-tank gun (57-mm QF 6 pdr gun). New weapons allowed to effectively use this self-propelled gun against the Japanese tanks, but against the Germans, it was clearly weak. They managed to build only a few prototypes and pre-production machines, but they did not accept them.



Alecto III is a project with a 25-pound howitzer (87,6-mm QF 25 pounder gun-howitzer). Despite the start of construction, not a single prototype was made.

Alecto IV is a project with 32-pound (94-mm) howitzer, the project was not implemented in the gland. The reason for this was to bring to the maximum limit of fire power ACS. Chassis weight characteristics reached a maximum value. In fact, a 94-mm howitzer without revising the recoil system during a shot could disable the Alecto ACS.

In addition to self-propelled artillery mounts, the engineers tested the variant of the engineering vehicle equipped with the Centipid mine trawl (Centipid, centipede), which was originally intended for Sherman Crab.



Another development on this base was Alecto Dozer - the weapons were dismantled, and in the front of the machine they installed a double-faced dozer blade with a hydraulic drive. The controls of the blade are located on the roof of the hull. Made just a few of these machines.

Another rather interesting modification was the attempt to make the “Alecto” light tracked armored personnel carrier. Compared to Universal Carrier, this car differed noticeably for the better in terms of booking thickness and speed. After in the 1945 year, work on the SAU were stopped, Vickers designers decided to convert one of the prototypes into an armored personnel carrier. Thus, the engine compartment was moved to the front of the case, and the thickness of the armor plates was increased to 38 mm. In the rear of the hull equipped fully enclosed troop compartment. The “box” of the compartment was fully armored. In the aft part of the troop compartment for the landing-landing of soldiers a double-wing door was performed. Fans were installed on the gable roof than they had previously largely neglected. Thus, it turned out a good armored personnel carrier, designed for the transport of 6 soldiers. However, the cessation of the release of “Harry Hopkins” tanks led to the closure of this modernization program of Alecto. It is not excluded that the armored personnel carrier remained in a single copy, and was subsequently dismantled.



Work on Alecto began in the 1942 year, but it developed very slowly. This delay was caused not so much by technical difficulties, but by the disinterest of the General Staff in projects based on light tanks. By 1945, none of the projects was brought to the stage of mass production, so with the end of the Second World War, interest in these developments instantly disappeared, and the work was stopped. With the closure of the project Alecto ended the era of light tanks and self-propelled artillery installations, which the British wanted to give up before the outbreak of war.



Technical characteristics of SAU Alecto:
Length - 4270 mm;
Width - 2710 mm;
Height - mm 2110;
Weight - 8600 kg;
Reservations - 6 .. 30 mm;
Maximum speed on the highway - 48 km / h;
Power reserve - 200 km;
The main armament:
Mk I - 3,75-inch howitzer;
Mk II - QF 6 pounder;
Mk III - QF 25 pounder;
Mk IV - 32-pound howitzer.

Based on materials:
http://vn-parabellum.com
http://rove.biz
http://tanki-v-boju.ru
Author:
18 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Alligator_S
    Alligator_S 20 September 2013 10: 10 New
    +3
    To be honest, some were scared ... wassat
    1. Igarr
      Igarr 20 September 2013 10: 23 New
      +2
      Yes, I was scared.
      As in my opinion, only Germans, we and Americans could make beautiful cars during World War II.
      And then, the Americans - only at the end, barely.
      Here, of course, it is applied that since childhood I basically only saw the T-IV, the Tigers and the T-34 with ISs.
      Although now I look at the silhouettes ... ours - like, especially not licked by the British, like the T-26 and generally multi-tower. German - also like, similar to such Teutonic knights.
      And neither English, nor French, nor American (except later ones, closer to the present) - do not like. Some kind of rectangular, clumsy, carts, not tanks.
      Damn .... Germans ... everyone knows how to do. And cars - to be stunned. And tanks - give the way.
      Nafig ... it is necessary to extinguish all. Leave the Germans alone. And U.S.
      1. Constantine
        Constantine 20 September 2013 14: 02 New
        +6
        The British have almost all the technology is very peculiar. The same strategic bombers, well, or AWAC Nimrod, for example.
      2. Eugeniy_369
        Eugeniy_369 20 September 2013 16: 56 New
        0
        Quote: Igarr
        As in my opinion, only Germans, we and Americans could make beautiful cars during World War II.
        And then, the Americans - only at the end, barely.

        + + + +
      3. Eugeniy_369
        Eugeniy_369 20 September 2013 16: 59 New
        0
        Quote: Igarr
        Nafig ... it is necessary to extinguish all. Leave the Germans alone. And U.S

        Painfully cool enough ...
      4. datur
        datur 20 September 2013 17: 13 New
        0
        our SU-76- against this miracle !!! wink
    2. soldier's grandson
      soldier's grandson 20 September 2013 23: 47 New
      +1
      looking at the picture I got the impression that they stuck a pipe into the cart
  2. ka5280
    ka5280 20 September 2013 11: 21 New
    +2
    Creepy Tarantas =)
  3. The comment was deleted.
  4. The comment was deleted.
  5. Bigriver
    Bigriver 20 September 2013 11: 53 New
    +3
    Our first, for the Airborne Forces - ASU-76.
    Almost half a meter lower than the English :)
    True, and a little later.
  6. Bigriver
    Bigriver 20 September 2013 11: 56 New
    +6
    And here is the "mother" of ASU-76 - OSU-76.
    Development 43-44 years. for divisional artillery.
    Right - SU-76
    The silhouette is impressive.
    1. Igarr
      Igarr 20 September 2013 15: 27 New
      +1
      Impressive.
      Especially those who know what it is like to dig out the escarpment.
  7. Avenger711
    Avenger711 20 September 2013 13: 32 New
    +1
    Good frag. Easy.
  8. teceitap
    teceitap 20 September 2013 13: 45 New
    +1
    really could not copy the sleeping or German? fool
  9. Atenon
    Atenon 20 September 2013 16: 19 New
    +3
    As for me, as well as many British weapons are ugly.
  10. Snoop
    Snoop 20 September 2013 18: 24 New
    0
    Well, not English, it's a matter of building tanks))))
  11. AX
    AX 20 September 2013 18: 35 New
    0
    Everything that they sculpted is in our favor ... The target is easy ...
  12. itr
    itr 20 September 2013 20: 14 New
    0
    Budget technology
  13. Yemelya
    Yemelya 20 September 2013 20: 16 New
    0
    On questions of arming the landing, the British in WW2 are ahead of the rest.
  14. soldier's grandson
    soldier's grandson 20 September 2013 23: 38 New
    0
    awkward tarantas, clean sidewalks
  15. VEKT
    VEKT 27 September 2013 20: 56 New
    0
    When talking about English technology, you need to remember that they are always ready to fight until the last soldier, until the last RUSSIAN soldier ...
    While we are sharpening the technique, they bleed countries and come when everything is already clear.
  16. Volga Cossack
    Volga Cossack 10 March 2016 23: 15 New
    0
    funny machine ........ but apparently - oh scary)))))

Британская САУ Alecto

Не слишком удачный старт карьеры десантных танков «Harry Hopkins» и «Tetrarch» танкостроительный отдел фирмы Vickers совершено не разочаровало. Конструкторы были уверены в перспективности выбранной схемы ходовой части. Действительно, места для легких танков на Западном фронте не нашлось, а дела в Северной Африке и на Дальнем Востоке в 1941—1942 годах разворачивались не в пользу британцев. Успех немецких самоходных установок, однозначно говорили о необходимости ввода в британской армии машин данного типа. Так, возникла идея создать на базе танка самоходную артиллерийскую установку огневой поддержки. Инициативу фирмы Vickers поддержало и армейское командование.

Британская САУ Alecto


Британские конструкторы, стремясь создать для воздушно-десантных войск машину, имеющую хорошее вооружение, бронирование, скорость и главное пригодную для транспортировки при помощи летательных аппаратов разработали самоходное орудие Alecto. Название было выбрано не случайно: в древнегреческой мифологии Алекто – богиня мщения, одна из трех Фурий. Alecto переводится как безжалостная, непрощающая. Впрочем, поскольку в качестве основы для новой самоходной артиллерийской установки был взят легкий танк Хэрри Хопкинс изначально машина носила обозначение «Harry Hopkins ICS» («Хэрри Хопкинс ближней поддержки пехоты») и индекс А.25 Е2. Позднее машину признали самостоятельной моделью и дали ее устрашающее «божественное» имя.


Моторное отделение САУ Alecto размещалось в корме. В качестве силовой установки, как и на танке «Harry Hopkins», использовался горизонтально-оппозитный двенадцатицилиндровый карбюраторный двигатель Meadows с жидкостным охлаждением мощностью 149 л.с. В состав трансмиссии входили: основной фрикцион сухого трения, ступенчатый карданный вал, коробка передач, поворотный механизм. Ходовая часть оснащалась индивидуальной гидропневмодинамической подвеской по каждому опорному катку. Ходовая состояла из четырех опорных обрезиненных колес, где ведущее колесо переднее, задний каток – ленивец. Гусеница одногребневая, мелкозвенчатая с цевочным типом зацепления.

Британская САУ Alecto


С танка Хэрри Хопкинс сняли башню, а низкую рубку с открытым верхом переоборудовали для размещения пяти членов экипажа. 95-миллиметровую гаубицу установили в самом низу лобового листа. Это позволило получить самоходку с низким профилем и соответственно небольшими массой и габаритами. Углы горизонтальной наводки составляли по 30 градусов в каждую сторону. В боекомплект, состоявший из 48 выстрелов, также входили дымовые и фугасные снаряды. В конце 1944 года на испытания поступил первый прототип «Alecto» Mk.I. Война шла к завершению, и на вооружении имелось значительное количество машин того же назначения. Кроме того, в процессе испытаний было выявлено несколько проблем технического характера, устранить которые быстро не удалось. Именно это послужило причинами непринятия САУ Alecto на вооружение.

Однако конструкторы на этом не остановились и разработали ряд модификаций.

Alecto Recce (Alecto II, Mk. II) САУ оснащенная 6-фунтовой противотанковой пушкой (57-мм QF 6 pdr gun). Новое вооружение позволяло эффективно использовать данную самоходку против японских танков, однако против немецких оно была явно слабым. Построить успели всего нескольких прототипов и предсерийных машин, однако на вооружение их так и не приняли.

Британская САУ Alecto


Alecto III – проект с 25-фунтовой гаубицей (87,6-мм QF 25 pounder gun-howitzer). Несмотря на начало строительства ни одного прототипа не изготовили.

Alecto IV – проект с 32-фунтовой (94-мм) гаубицей, проект не был реализован в железе. Причиной этого стало доведение до максимального предела огневой мощности САУ. Шасси по весовым характеристикам достигло максимального значения. Фактически 94-мм гаубица без доработки противооткатной системы во время выстрела могла вывести САУ Alecto из строя.

Кроме самоходных артиллерийских установок, конструкторами в экспериментальном порядке испытывался вариант инженерной машины оборудованной минным тралом Centipid (Сентипид, сороконожка), который изначально предназначался для Sherman Crab.

Британская САУ Alecto


Еще одной разработкой на этой базе стал Alecto Dozer – вооружение демонтировали, а в передней части машины установили двухгранный отвал бульдозера с гидроприводом. Органы управления отвалом разместили на крыше корпуса. Изготовили всего несколько подобных машин.

Ещё одной довольно интересной модификацией стала попытка сделать «Alecto» легкий гусеничный бронетранспортер. Данная машина сравнительно с Universal Carrier заметно отличалась в лучшую сторону по части толщине бронирования и скоростных качеств. После того, как в 1945 году работы по САУ были прекращены, конструкторам Vickers приняли решение переделать один из прототипов в бронетранспортер. Так, моторно-трансмиссионное отделение перенесли в переднюю часть корпуса, а толщина бронелистов была доведена до 38 мм. В задней части корпуса оборудовали полностью закрытое десантное отделение. «Коробка» отделения была полностью бронированной. В кормовой части десантного отделения для высадки-посадки солдат была выполнена двухстворчатая дверь. На двускатной крыше установили вентиляторы, чем ранее в основном пренебрегали. Таким образом, получился неплохой бронетранспортер, рассчитанный на перевозку 6 солдат. Однако прекращение выпуска танков «Harry Hopkins» привело к закрытию и этой программы модернизации «Alecto». Не исключено, что бронетранспортер так и остался в единственном экземпляре, и в дальнейшем был разобран.

Британская САУ Alecto


Работы над Alecto были начаты в 1942 году, однако развивались очень медленно. Данная задержка была вызвана не столько техническими сложностями, а незаинтересованностью Генштаба в проектах на основе легких танков. К 1945 году ни один из проектов не был доведен до стадии серийного производства, поэтому с окончанием Второй Мировой войны интерес к данным разработкам мгновенно пропал, а работы были прекращены. С закрытием проекта Alecto завершилась эпоха легких танков и самоходных артиллерийских установок, от которых англичане хотели отказаться еще до начала войны.

Британская САУ Alecto


Технические характеристики САУ Alecto:
Длина – 4270 мм;
Ширина – 2710 мм;
Высота – 2110 мм;
Масса – 8600 кг;
Бронирование – 6 .. 30 мм;
Максимальная скорость по шоссе – 48 км/ч;
Запас хода – 200 км;
Основное вооружение:
Mk I – 3,75-дюймовая гаубица;
Mk II – QF 6 pounder;
Mk III – QF 25 pounder;
Mk IV – 32-фунтовая гаубица.

Подготовлено по материалам:
http://vn-parabellum.com
http://rove.biz
http://tanki-v-boju.ru
Автор: Пётр Улякин


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 18
  1. Alligator_S 20 сентября 2013 10:10
    Если честно, то какая-то страшила... wassat
    1. Игарр 20 сентября 2013 10:23
      Да, страшила.
      Как на мой взгляд, только немцы, мы и американцы могли делать красивые машины во время Второй мировой.
      И то, американцы - только в конце, едва-едва.
      Тут, конечно, прикладывается, что я с детства в основном только и видел Т-IV, Тигры да Т-34 с ИСами.
      Хотя и сейчас, разглядываю силуэты... наши - нравятся, особенно не слизанные у англичан, типо Т-26 и вообще многобашенных. Немецкие - тоже нравятся, на таких рыцарей -тевтонцев похожие.
      А ни английские, ни французские, ни американские (кроме поздних, ближе к современности) - не нравятся. Прямоугольные какие-то, корявые, телеги, а не танки.
      Блин....немцы...все умеют делать. И машины - обалдеть. И танки - дай дорогу.
      Нафиг...надо гасить всех. Одних немцев оставлять. И нас.
      1. Constantine 20 сентября 2013 14:02
        У Англичан почти вся техника весьма своеобразная. Те же стратегические бомберы, ну или ДРЛО Нимрод, например.
        Constantine
      2. Eugeniy_369 20 сентября 2013 16:56
        Цитата: Игарр
        Как на мой взгляд, только немцы, мы и американцы могли делать красивые машины во время Второй мировой.
        И то, американцы - только в конце, едва-едва.

        ++++
        Eugeniy_369
      3. Eugeniy_369 20 сентября 2013 16:59
        Цитата: Игарр
        Нафиг...надо гасить всех. Одних немцев оставлять. И нас

        Больно круто хватили...
        Eugeniy_369
      4. datur 20 сентября 2013 17:13
        наша СУ-76- СУПРОТИВ ЭТОГО ЧУДА!!! wink
    2. внук солдата 20 сентября 2013 23:47
      глядя на фотку у меня сложилось впечатление что в телегу трубу воткнули
      внук солдата
  2. ka5280 20 сентября 2013 11:21
    Жуткий тарантас =)
    ka5280
  3. Комментарий был удален.
  4. Комментарий был удален.
  5. BigRiver 20 сентября 2013 11:53
    Наша первая, для ВДВ - АСУ-76.
    На почти полметра ниже, чем англичанская:)
    Правда, и чуть позднее.
  6. BigRiver 20 сентября 2013 11:56
    А вот "мама" АСУ-76 - ОСУ-76.
    Разработка 43-44 г.г. для дивизионной артиллерии.
    Справа - СУ-76
    Силуэт впечатляет.
    1. Игарр 20 сентября 2013 15:27
      Впечатляет.
      Особенно тех, кто знает, каково отрыть эскарп.
  7. Avenger711 20 сентября 2013 13:32
    Хороший фраг. Легкий.
    Avenger711
  8. teceitap 20 сентября 2013 13:45
    неужели не могли скопировать снаших или немецких? fool
    teceitap
  9. AtenON 20 сентября 2013 16:19
    Как по мне так Как и многое британское оружие- уродливое.
  10. Snoop 20 сентября 2013 18:24
    Ну не английское это дело танки строить))))
  11. ТОПОР 20 сентября 2013 18:35
    Всё ,что они лепили,нам на пользу...Мишень лёгкая...
  12. itr 20 сентября 2013 20:14
    Бюджетная техника
    itr
  13. Емеля 20 сентября 2013 20:16
    По вопросам вооружения десанта британцы во 2МВ впереди планеты всей.
    Емеля
  14. внук солдата 20 сентября 2013 23:38
    несуразный тарантас, тротуары чистить
    внук солдата
  15. VEKT 27 сентября 2013 20:56
    Когда говоришь о английской технике, нужно помнить что они всегда готовы воевать до последнего солдата, до последнего РУССКОГО солдата...
    Пока мы точим технику они стравливают страны и приходят когда уже все ясно.
  16. казак волгский 10 марта 2016 23:15
    забавная машинка........ но внешне - ой страшна)))))

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня