Military Review

AGM-176 Griffin missile will be used on ships

12
Modern local wars are often asymmetric, which creates new threats. A few days ago, the American company Raytheon, in conjunction with the US Navy, conducted tests on a new missile system designed to protect ships and combat boats from the attack of poorly armed formations.




The Mk60 missile system with the AGM-176 "Griffin" missile is supposed to be used to protect against small-sized high-speed targets trying to break through to the ship. This could be a motor boat with enemy manpower or some kind of watercraft equipped with a powerful explosive device and intended to attack a warship. The characteristics of the Mk60 complex allow you to destroy a target before it enters the zone of action of small-caliber artillery or machine guns mounted on a ship. Thus, the operation of the Mk60 complex provides a multi-layered defense against small surface targets that pose a danger to the combat ship.

On September 27, as part of testing the Mk60 missile system, a demonstration launch took place at the Point Mugu test site in the state of California. One of the patrol boats of the Cyclon type took part in the tests. In accordance with the test launch plan for the rocket, a light boat with a remote control tried to approach the ship. The calculation of the Mk60 complex in time discovered the training target and successfully hit it with a rocket. It is worth noting that this is not the first successful launch, during which the "Griffin" rocket, applied by the Mk60 complex, was able to hit a conventional target.

AGM-176 Griffin missile will be used on ships


The Mk60 complex consists of several modules that can be installed on any suitable ship or boat. On the ship mounted launcher and control panel. In addition to them, the complex includes the AGM-176 missile, delivered in a transport and launch container. This rocket was created in the middle of the last decade as a cheap alternative to widely used aviation AGM-114 "Hellfire" missiles. In its appearance, the Griffin missile is significantly reminiscent of anti-tank guided munitions, which is due to the widespread use of developments gained from previous guided missile weapons projects, including the FGM-148 "Javelin" and AIM-9X "Sidewinder". Currently, the AGM-176 missile is used in the US Air Force as an armament for combat helicopters and attack aircraft or unmanned aerial vehicles.

The AGM-176 guided missile with a length of about 1,1 meters has a starting weight of 33 pounds (about 15 kg) and carries an 13-pound (about 6 kg) high-explosive fragmentation warhead. Ammunition is equipped with a solid-fuel engine. When launching from a ship, a rocket is capable of hitting a target at a distance of 5,6 kilometers. The Griffin missile guidance system is a combination. Depending on the type of target, the calculation of the missile system can use the most appropriate guidance system. So, for the attack of fixed targets it is proposed to use inertial guidance system or satellite, receiving signals from GPS satellites. In the case of an attack of a moving target, the operator of the complex has the ability to direct a rocket using a semi-active laser system. As stated, the controls of the Mk60 complex have the most simplified interface, which greatly simplifies the work of the operator. When using a laser guidance system, it is enough for the operator of the complex to hold an aiming mark on the target. Highlighting the target and guidance missiles are made automatically. Allegedly, several variants of the attack of the target, differing from each other by the rocket's flight path, have been developed. Depending on the tactical situation, the operator of the complex can send a missile in a straight line or attack the target from above. Undermining the warhead can be made as a contact fuse, and on command from the remote.



Recent tests have confirmed the combat effectiveness of the new missile system. The official Raytheon press release cites the words of the representative of the US Navy, Captain M. Ledner. Representative fleet noted that the Mk60 complex provides the required accuracy and effectiveness of hitting targets. According to the management of the company Raytheon Missile Systems, which was engaged in the direct development of the complex and the Griffin rocket, the use of the Mk60 will ensure the safety of ships and minimize possible side effects without reducing combat effectiveness.

In the near future, the Mk60 missile system will be adopted by the naval forces and the United States Coast Guard. Thus, the AGM-176 "Griffin" rocket will expand the range of its tasks. Now this ammunition is used in versions intended for the air force and ground forces. Now the rocket will also be used by naval units. It is assumed that the use of missile systems Mk60 will allow in the future to protect ships from all sorts of attacks from the water, including with the participation of suicide bombers. The contract for the supply of missile systems Mk60 for installation on ships and boats of the coast guard may be signed this year.


On the materials of the sites:
http://raytheon.com/
http://asdnews.com/
http://militaryparitet.com/
http://defensenews.com/
Author:
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. tlauicol
    tlauicol 3 October 2013 10: 42
    -3
    it's time to get rid of bulky machine guns in favor of light air defense systems in UVP
    1. Nuar
      Nuar 3 October 2013 11: 14
      +8
      Quote: Tlauicol
      it's time to get rid of bulky machine guns in favor of light air defense systems in UVP

      Nikita Sergeevich, are you alive?
      1. vadim dok
        vadim dok 3 October 2013 18: 57
        +2
        We need not only air defense systems but also artillery
  2. abc_alex
    abc_alex 3 October 2013 16: 37
    +3
    I do not understand, but why the heck is it necessary? Cannon artillery fail to defend against "attack by poorly armed formations"? The destroyers are equipped with heavy-caliber artillery machines with advanced control systems, and a helicopter is at the stern.
    1. tlauicol
      tlauicol 3 October 2013 17: 41
      +5
      AK 630 weighs almost 4 tons (instead of it they put 16 SAM Barak), Falanks approx. 6 tons, Chestnut 9 tons. Complexes are not foreshortening, so you need to put a few on the ship. Huge weight and size characteristics, dead zones, number of moving parts, the need for frequent replacement of trunks, maintenance, etc., etc. Yes, and inferior in accuracy. All this is yesterday. We need light rockets in UVP. Even the Indians understand this
      1. Santa Fe
        Santa Fe 4 October 2013 19: 58
        0
        Quote: Tlauicol
        630 AK weighs almost 4

        much more - installation (1,8 tons) + bed, cables and power equipment (800 kg) + ammunition (~ 2 tons, tape 2000 shots)

        + Ogem control radar MR-123 "Vympel" (5 tons with drives and control station)
        Also note that usually a standard ship battery includes two AK-630Ms - one shoots, one cools down



        The Yankees are all easier - the phalanx replaces the 2 AK-630 with Vympel, only 5 tons, compact installation

        An even simpler option:
        Mk.38 mount (MGL-25) - installation weight 1984 pounds (900 kg with b / c 220 shots)
        25 mm gun Bushmaster, 175 rds / min. One hit will smash the gum of the terrorists to shreds. The main thing is TIME TO DETECT. And this is a problem.

        Mk.38




        Remote control from a gun of a similar purpose - EMNIP is "Millenium"

        No jokes with the Griffins, Phalanxes and Mk.38 will save the Yankees - in the event of a real war, only an armored belt will help.

        Phalanx
  3. Starover_Z
    Starover_Z 3 October 2013 17: 02
    +3
    On a small boat or motor boat with a rocket and only up to 5,6 km - "From a cannon to sparrows" the system is called!
    And the cost of a missile system, against the cost of shells of high-speed ship artillery systems that are already on ships?
    Yes, plus a separate service charge ...
    Again lather money.
  4. ivanovbg
    ivanovbg 3 October 2013 17: 04
    +2
    A speedboat will not attack a warship on the high seas, but will jump out at a speed of at least 20 knots. (36 or more km / h) due to some cape or large ship. A helicopter will not help in any way, unless it is already in the air.

    Here it is necessary either automatic quick-firing cannons of caliber 20-40 mm or such special missiles of the near zone. There is little hope on machine guns alone. It is good if a normal fighter is on duty on a machine gun and carries out service strictly according to the charter. And if you get any slack or an old fighter decided to smoke weed or go away for a minute - the end of the ship.
    1. vadim dok
      vadim dok 3 October 2013 18: 59
      +1
      We need not only air defense systems but also artillery
  5. rosomaha
    rosomaha 3 October 2013 20: 44
    +1
    and the rocket "Griffin" has the designation AGM-175 or AGM-176, met both .. which is correct? Or are they different models?
  6. Fofan
    Fofan 3 October 2013 23: 03
    -4
    absolutely useless system and it pleases
  7. Zomanus
    Zomanus 6 October 2013 08: 39
    0
    Well, the idea is interesting. Vertical take-off means a circular defense of one PU. Well, the question of course is the cost of the rocket, but in my opinion this is not worth saving. Of course, no one canceled the cannons, but it is also worthwhile to have such missiles on the 6-12.

Ракета AGM-176 "Griffin" будет использоваться на кораблях

Современные локальные войны нередко носят асимметричный характер, что порождает новые угрозы. Несколько дней назад американская компания Raytheon совместно с ВМС США провела испытания нового ракетного комплекса, предназначенного для защиты кораблей и боевых катеров от нападения плохо вооруженных формирований.

Ракета AGM-176 "Griffin" будет использоваться на кораблях


Ракетный комплекс Mk60 с ракетой AGM-176 "Griffin" предполагается использовать для защиты от малоразмерных быстроходных целей, пытающихся прорваться к кораблю. Это может быть моторная лодка с живой силой противника или какое-либо плавсредство, оборудованное мощным взрывным устройством и предназначенным для атаки боевого корабля. Характеристики комплекса Mk60 позволяют уничтожать цель до того, как она войдет в зону действия малокалиберной артиллерии или пулеметов, установленных на корабле. Таким образом, эксплуатация комплекса Mk60 обеспечивает эшелонированную оборону от небольших надводных целей, представляющих опасность для боевого корабля.


27 сентября в рамках испытаний ракетного комплекса Mk60 на морском полигоне Point Mugu (штат Калифорния) состоялся показательный пуск. В испытаниях принял участие один из патрульных катеров типа Cyclon. В соответствии с планом тестового запуска ракеты, к кораблю попытался приблизиться легкий катер с дистанционным управлением. Расчет комплекса Mk60 вовремя обнаружил учебную цель и успешно поразил ее ракетой. Стоит отметить, это уже не первый успешный пуск, в ходе которого ракета "Griffin", примененная комплексом Mk60, смогла поразить условную цель.

Ракета AGM-176 "Griffin" будет использоваться на кораблях


Комплекс Mk60 состоит из нескольких модулей, которые можно установить на любом подходящем корабле или катере. На корабле монтируются пусковая установка и пульт управления. Кроме них в состав комплекса входит ракета AGM-176, поставляемая в транспортно-пусковом контейнере. Эта ракета была создана в середине прошлого десятилетия как дешевая альтернатива широко применяемым авиационным ракетам AGM-114 "Hellfire". По своему облику ракета "Griffin" значительно напоминает противотанковые управляемые боеприпасы, что обусловливается широким использованием наработок, полученных в ходе предыдущих проектов управляемого ракетного вооружения, в том числе FGM-148 "Javelin" и AIM-9X "Sidewinder". В настоящее время ракета AGM-176 используется в ВВС США в качестве вооружения боевых вертолетов и ударных самолетов или беспилотных летательных аппаратов.

Управляемая ракета AGM-176 длиной около 1,1 метра имеет стартовый вес 33 фунта (около 15 кг) и несет 13-фунтовую (около 6 кг) осколочно-фугасную боевую часть. Боеприпас оснащается твердотопливным двигателем. При пуске с корабля ракета способна поражать цель на расстоянии до 5,6 километров. Система наведения ракеты "Griffin" - комбинированная. В зависимости от типа цели расчет ракетного комплекса может использовать наиболее подходящую систему наведения. Так, для атаки неподвижных целей предлагается использовать инерционную систему наведения или спутниковую, принимающую сигналы спутников GPS. В случае атаки движущейся цели оператор комплекса имеет возможность наводить ракету при помощи полуактивной лазерной системы. Как утверждается, средства управления комплексом Mk60 имеют максимально упрощенный интерфейс, что значительно упрощает работу оператора. При использовании лазерной системы наведения оператору комплекса достаточно удерживать на цели прицельную метку. Подсветка цели и наведение ракеты производятся автоматически. Как утверждается, разработаны несколько вариантов атаки цели, отличающихся друг от друга траекторией полета ракеты. В зависимости от тактической обстановки оператор комплекса может направить ракету по прямой линии или атаковать цель сверху. Подрыв боевой части может производиться как контактным взрывателем, так и по команде с пульта.

Ракета AGM-176 "Griffin" будет использоваться на кораблях


Недавние испытания подтвердили боевую эффективность нового ракетного комплекса. В официальном пресс-релизе компании Raytheon приведены слова представителя ВМС США капитана М. Леднера. Представитель флота отметил, что комплекс Mk60 обеспечивает требуемые точность и эффективность поражения целей. Согласно заявлениям руководства компании Raytheon Missile Systems, занимавшейся непосредственной разработкой комплекса и ракеты "Griffin", использование Mk60 позволит обеспечить безопасность кораблей и минимизировать возможные побочные последствия, не снижая боевую эффективность.

В течение ближайшего времени ракетный комплекс Mk60 будет принят на вооружение военно-морских сил и береговой охраны Соединенных Штатов. Таким образом, ракета AGM-176 "Griffin" расширит спектр своих задач. Сейчас этот боеприпас используется в вариантах, предназначенных для военно-воздушных сил и сухопутных войск. Теперь же ракета будет применяться и флотскими подразделениями. Предполагается, что использование ракетных комплексов Mk60 позволит в будущем защитить корабли от разного рода нападений с воды, в том числе и с участием террористов-смертников. Контракт на поставку ракетных комплексов Mk60 для установки на корабли и катера береговой охраны может быть подписан уже в этом году.


По материалам сайтов:
http://raytheon.com/
http://asdnews.com/
http://militaryparitet.com/
http://defensenews.com/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 12
  1. тлауикол 3 октября 2013 10:42
    давно пора избавиться от громоздких автоматов в пользу легких ЗРК в УВП
    1. Nuar 3 октября 2013 11:14
      Цитата: тлауикол
      давно пора избавиться от громоздких автоматов в пользу легких ЗРК в УВП

      Никита Сергеевич, так вы живы?
      1. вадим dok 3 октября 2013 18:57
        нужны не только ЗРК но и cтвольная артиллерия
  2. abc_alex 3 октября 2013 16:37
    Я не понял, а нахрена оно надо? Ствольная артиллерия не в состоянии защитить от "нападения плохо вооруженных формирований"? На эсминцах стоят артиллерийские автоматы солидных калибров с продвинутыми СУО, на корме -- вертолет.
    1. тлауикол 3 октября 2013 17:41
      АК 630 весит почти 4т ( вместо него ставят 16 ЗУР Барак ), Фаланкс ок.6т, Каштан 9т. Комплексы не всеракурсны, поэтому на корабль нужно ставить несколько. Огромные массо-габаритные характеристики, мертвые зоны, кол-во подвижных частей, необходимость частой замены стволов, техобслуживание и т.д и т.п. Да еще и по точности уступают.Все это вчерашний день. Нужны легкие ракеты в УВП. Даже индусы это понимают
      1. SWEET_SIXTEEN 4 октября 2013 19:58
        Цитата: тлауикол
        АК 630 весит почти 4т

        гораздо больше - установка (1,8 тонн) + станина, кабели и силовое обрудование (800 кг) + боекомплект (~ 2 тонн, лента 2000 выстрелов)

        + РЛС управления огем МР-123 "Вымпел" (5 тонн с приводами и постом управления)
        Также учти, что обычно в состав стандартной корабельной батареи входят две АК-630М - одна стреляет, одна остывает



        У янки все проще - фаланкс заменяет 2 АК-630 с Вымпелом, всего 5 тонн, компактность установки

        Еще еще более простой вариант:
        Mk.38 mount (MGL-25) - масса установки 1984 фунтов (900 кг с б/к 220 выстр.)
        25 мм пушка Бушмастер, 175 выстр/мин. Одно попадание разнесет резинку террористов в клочья. Главное - ВОВРЕМЯ ОБНАРУЖИТЬ. А с этом проблемы.

        Mk.38




        Remote control от пушки сходного назначения - ЕМНИП это "Милллениум"

        Никакие приколы с Гриффинами, Фаланксами и Mk.38 янки не спасут - в случае настоящей войны поможет только бронепояс.

        Фаланга
  3. Starover_Z 3 октября 2013 17:02
    По малому катеру или моторной лодке ракетой и всего до 5,6 км - "Из пушки по воробьям" система называется !
    А стоимость ракеты системы, против стоимости снарядов скорострельных корабельных артсистем, которые уже есть на кораблях ?
    Да плюс отдельный расчёт обслуживания ...
    Опять деньги намыливают.
  4. ivanovbg 3 октября 2013 17:04
    Быстроходный катер не будет атаковат боевого корабля в открытом море, а выскочит на скорости не менее 20 узл. (36 и более км/ч) из-за какого-нибудь мыса или большого судна. Вертолет по любому не поможет, если только уже не находится в воздухе.

    Здесь надо или автоматических скорострельных пушек калибром 20-40 мм или такие вот специальные ракеты ближней зоны. На одних пулеметах надежды мало. Хорошо если на пулемете дежурит нормальный боец и несет службу строго по уставу. А если попадется какой-нибудь недотяпа или старый боец решил курнут травку или отлучится на минуточку - конец кораблю.
    1. вадим dok 3 октября 2013 18:59
      нужны не только ЗРК но и cтвольная артиллерия
  5. rosomaha 3 октября 2013 20:44
    а ракета "Griffin" имеет обозначение AGM-175 или AGM-176, встречал оба..какое верно? Или это разные модели?
  6. Фофан 3 октября 2013 23:03
    абсолютно бесполезная система, и это радует
  7. Zomanus 6 октября 2013 08:39
    Ну задумка то интересная. Вертикальный взлет, значит круговая защите одной ПУ. Ну вопрос конечно в стоимости ракеты, но по-моему на таком не стоит экономить. Пушки конечно никто не отменял, но пусковуху на 6-12 таких ракет тоже нелишне иметь.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня