Military Review

"Katyusha" - a weapon of victory

0


The first appearance in the Great Patriotic War of BM-13 rocket launchers, later nicknamed "Katyushas", was a big surprise for the Germans. The troops of Hitlerite Germany that broke into the Soviet Union received many unexpected and unpleasant surprises. The first was the staunch resistance of Soviet soldiers. Nobody denies that in the first weeks of the war hundreds of thousands of our soldiers and officers were taken prisoner. But, and who will deny, for example, the stubborn resistance of the border outposts. Hitler gave only 30 minutes to destroy them - and they fought for several days, weeks, and the Brest Fortress resisted for a whole month, chaining one of the Nazi divisions to itself. A new surprise was the appearance before the Germans tanks  T-34 and KV. None of the German command expected that in bastard Russia they would be able to build such advanced scientific and technical samples that they were capable of. military equipment that time. The next unpleasant surprise awaited the Nazis in mid-July 1941.


Having received a telegram from the Supreme Commander-in-Chief, ordering to test the Eres battery, General A. Eremenko was at a loss, which then grew into violent delight. The “work” of this battery was worth seeing. On July 14, 1941 at 15 hours 15 minutes she fired at the Orsha railway junction. 112 missiles, which had come off the guides a few seconds before, bore "hello" to the "friendly" enemy troops who had accumulated at the station. A fiery tornado raged on the railroad tracks, which were jammed with German trains. Artillery and aviation the Germans immediately directed their fire at the battery position area. However, the Katyushas were already far away.


The next day, a battery of RS (rockets) under the command of Captain Flerov made a quick rush to the city of Rudnya, where the bloodshed Soviet units defended. Knowing this, the German command decided that a small vanguard was enough to overcome their resistance. The main forces were built in marching columns with the aim of bringing them to the main line between Smolensk and Yartsevo. It was on these columns that Captain Flerov's artillerymen continued to "train". 336 heavy shells were fired at them. The Germans, after such a blow, took out their dead and wounded for two days.


"Katyusha" - a weapon of victory

Already at the end of July 1941, two more RS batteries were delivered to the Western Front, and during the month of August and the second half of September five more batteries were delivered. And not only General Eremenko was delighted watching the "work" of the new weapons... The sudden appearance and deafening power of the barrage of fire demoralized the enemy troops. Katyusha strikes sometimes “softened” the German defenses to such an extent that the Soviet infantry did not meet any resistance during the subsequent attack. There are known cases when the Nazis, distraught from the experience, fled in the direction of the location of the Soviet troops. In their every evening prayer, German soldiers prayed to God to save them from the Katyusha strikes. The action of rocket artillery was also highly appreciated by General of the Army G.K. Zhukov, the future great commander, Colonel-General of Artillery N. Voronov, and Major General of Artillery I. Kamera.


In addition to trucks, Katyushas were also equipped water transport - armored boats and specialized vessels to support the amphibious assault. Such installations, already designed for launching heavier, 82-mm shells, were installed on the armored boats of the Volzhskaya flotilla, which at one time played a major role during the Battle of Stalingrad.


The military industry of the Soviet Union continued to increase the production of Katyushas throughout the war. If in August 1941, according to the directive of the German command, it was required to immediately report on the appearance of rocket launchers, then in April 1945 it was already simply unthinkable to fulfill it. By the beginning of the battle for Berlin, the Red Army already possessed 40 separate divisions, 105 regiments, 40 brigades and 7 divisions of rocket artillery. During the storming of the German capital, they fired from all directions. The Germans could not oppose anything to this weapon.

Originator:
http://topwar.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://topwar.ru
Add a comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

«Катюша» – оружие победы

«Катюша» – оружие победы


Первое появление в Великой Отечественной войне ракетных установок БМ-13, прозванных впоследствии «катюшами», оказалось для немцев большой  неожиданностью. Ворвавшиеся в Советский Союз войска гитлеровской Германии получили много неожиданных и неприятных сюрпризов. Первым было стойкое сопротивление советских солдат. Никто не отрицает, что в первые недели войны в плен попали сотни тысяч наших солдат и офицеров. Но, а кто станет отрицать, к примеру, упорное сопротивление пограничных застав. На их уничтожение Гитлер дал всего 30 минут  – а они сражались по нескольку суток, недель, а Брестская крепость сопротивлялась целый месяц, приковав к себе одну из гитлеровских дивизий.  Новым сюрпризом было появление перед немцами танков  Т-34 и КВ. Никто из немецкого командования не ожидал, что в  лапотной  России смогут построить настолько передовые научно-технические образцы, на которые была способна военная техника того времени. Очередной же неприятный сюрприз ожидал гитлеровцев в середине июля 1941 года.


Получив телеграмму от Верховного главнокомандующего, предписывающую испытать эрэсовскую батарею, генерал А. Еременко был в недоумении, которое затем  переросло в бурный восторг. «Работу» этой батареи стоило увидеть.  14 июля 1941 года в 15часов 15 минут ею был обстрелян  железнодорожный узел Орша. 112 ракет, за несколько секунд до этого сошедшие с направляющих, понесли «привет»  «дружественным» войскам противника, скопившимся на станции. На железнодорожных путях, которые были забиты немецкими эшелонами, забушевал огненный смерч.  Артиллерия и авиация немцев тут же направили свой огонь в район позиций батареи. Однако «катюши» были уже далеко.


На следующий день батарея РС (реактивных снарядов) под командованием капитана Флерова совершила быстрый бросок к городу Рудня, где оборонялись обескровленные советские части. Зная об этом, немецкое командование  решило, что для преодоления их сопротивления достаточно небольшого авангарда.  Основные же силы  были построены в походные колонны с целью вывода их на магистраль между Смоленском и Ярцевым. На этих-то колоннах и продолжили  «тренироваться» артиллеристы капитана Флерова. По ним было выпущено 336 тяжелых снарядов. Немцы, после такого удара, два дня вывозили своих убитых и раненых.


«Катюша» – оружие победы


Уже в конце июля 1941 года на Западный фронт были доставлены еще две батареи РС, а в течение августа месяца и второй половины сентября еще пять батарей. И уже не только генерал Еременко испытывал восторг, наблюдая за «работой» нового оружия. Внезапное появление и оглушающая мощь огневых валов деморализовывала  вражеские войска. Удары  «катюш» иногда до такой степени «размягчали» немецкую оборону, что советская пехота не встречала никакого сопротивления во время последующей атаки. Известны случаи, когда гитлеровцы, обезумев от пережитого, бежали по направлению  расположения советских войск. В ежевечерней молитве немецкие солдаты молили бога избавить их от ударов «катюш». Высоко оценивали действие реактивной артиллерии также генерал армии Г. К. Жуков, будущий великий полководец,  генерал-полковник артиллерии Н. Воронов, а также генерал-майор артиллерии И.Камера.


Кроме грузовых автомобилей, «катюшами»  также оснащали водный транспорт - бронекатера и специализированные суда для поддержки высадки морского десанта. Такие установки, предназначенные уже  для пуска более тяжелых, 82-мм снарядов, установили на бронекатерах Волжской флотилии,   сыгравшей в свое время большую роль во время Сталинградской битвы.


Военная промышленность Советского Союза продолжала наращивать выпуск «катюш» на продолжении всей войны. Если  в  августе 1941 года по директиве немецкого командования требовалось сразу же докладывать о  появлении реактивных установок, то в апреле 1945 года выполнить ее было уже просто немыслимо. К началу битвы за Берлин Красная Армия уже обладала  40 отдельными дивизионами, 105 полками, 40 бригадами и 7 дивизиями реактивной артиллерии.  При штурме немецкой столицы  они вели огонь со всех направлений. Немцы так ничего и не смогли противопоставить этому оружию.

Первоисточник: http://topwar.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://topwar.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 0

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня