Military Review

Dirk, the origin and development of the blade

21

Dirk - the history of the blade

A modern dirk has a thin faceted diamond-shaped, double-edged, not sharpened blade, 215-240 mm long. Today it is personal cold weapon, носимое с парадной и парадно-выходной формой одежды офицеров в военно-морских fleets, сухопутных армейских подразделениях и полиции некоторых государств.

The short, not sharpened blade, intended mainly for stabbing, causes controversial feelings regarding the effectiveness of the dagger as a melee weapon. Why, then, was the dirk, and not a more functional dagger, so caught on the fleet, became a symbol of the honor and courage of its owner? The heroes of the 17 naval battles of the century died in battle, but did not part with the dirk.

Dirk, the origin and development of the blade

There are several versions of the origin of this blade. According to one of them dirk was a weapon for the left hand in a pair of rapier, or a heavier sword. According to another, it occurred in the process of shortening the rapier, which is extremely inconvenient in close hold-up battles, which are inevitable during boarding. In the third dirk is a type of dagger.

Anyway, история This glorious weapon began in the middle of the 16 century.

In the course of the confrontation between the Spaniards and the Turks on the sea, a rapier was widely used in the navy, known among Spanish nobility from the end of the 15 century as “espada” - a dress sword. The long (up to 1300 mm) thin blade of a military rapier gave a great advantage in battles with the Ottoman pirates with their short curved scimitars.

The civil “espada” had a lot of variations of execution: it could be either double-edged or with one-sided sharpening, and not sharpened at all, as a piercing-cutting and exclusively piercing weapon. Received great popularity as a duel weapon. As the art of fencing developed, it became shorter, lighter, and finally gave way to a piercing-chopping sword. But that's another story.

All in the same half of the 16 century in the battles for the sea routes between Spain and England, the latter received the captured espada. Elizabeth 1's nationals appreciated the trophy for the fact that the straight blade of the rapier perfectly hit the enemy, passing through the articulation of the armor of the Spanish armor.

But if the long-bladed weapon gave an indisputable advantage in battles in open space, then in the ship’s premises, which did not differ in breadth, the long blade was only a hindrance. The knife or dagger, by virtue of its small length, was not a serious weapon against the same sword or scimitar.

This is where our hero appears on the scene - a dirk!

The exact parameters of the first dirks are not known, their length ranged from 500 to 800 mm, and they called him the hunting cleaver, then the bukanerny dirk. There were both sharpened double-edged blades for butchering, and faceted, exclusively for piercing beats. By the beginning of the 17 century, combining in themselves the attacking and defensive properties, convenience and outstanding efficiency in battle, dirks gained extraordinary popularity not only among the military, but also among civilians. Nobles preferred a short, light and elegant dirk to a heavy and long sword.

At first, the dirk was used by combat officers and sailors who had to travel a lot around the ship, and the long blades of sabers were constantly clinging to something in narrow hold spaces. But by the second half of the 18 century, they were armed with command personnel. Dirk was not just a weapon, but a symbol of honor and courage.

In the Russian fleet, the dirk first appeared in the time of Peter 1, as the official naval weapon, an element of the parade uniform of the officer corps.

The length and shape of the blade of the Russian dagger throughout the 17-19 centuries changed many times. There were double-edged diamond-shaped blades, and tetrahedral needle-like. Blade decoration was most often associated with a maritime theme. The dagger blade of the 1913 sample of the year was 240 mm long, and in 1945 a diamond blade 215 mm long was adopted with a latch on the handle from falling out of the sheath. In 1917, the wearing of a dirk was canceled, and only in 1940 was it re-approved as a personal weapon to the fleet command.

Now admiral, officer, combined arms, army or maritime dirk can be a wonderful gift for a person whose profession is in any way connected with the army or fleet, for a historian or collector.

21 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. andrei332809
    andrei332809 10 October 2013 21: 28 New
    +4
    sat at the table, drank. Captry took out a dagger produced in 1986. found the Soviet ruble "coin". laid on the table. kaptri stuck a dagger and ruined the table. very easily perforated the ruble. it was in 1995 drinks
    1. The comment was deleted.
      1. Misantrop
        Misantrop 10 October 2013 22: 40 New
        +3
        Quote: Colonel
        Nailed to the coffin under the cap at the funeral of officers of the Navy, but before descending into the grave, it is removed and transferred to the family ...
        In Ukraine, they no longer risk doing this. Officers from military registration and enlistment offices at the funeral were confiscated from confiscating daggers from already heartbroken relatives, explaining that he was a weapon and had a number. Well, then they sell it, of course. Now a dagger of the USSR Navy, depending on the state, costs from $ 300, than no extra work ... wink
        1. mirag2
          mirag2 11 October 2013 08: 22 New
          0
          Can not be?!!
          In the sense, it cannot be that they are confiscated there.
    2. Col.
      Col. 10 October 2013 22: 38 New
      +4
      Quote: andrei332809
      Kaptri took out a dagger 1986 year of production.


      I keep my dagger compiled in the 70's. Thing!!! The ivory handle, the blade is gorgeous, if you put the tip vertically on the finger, it will pierce the skin with its own weight! A work of art and a symbol of officer honor!
      PS Nailed to the coffin under the cap at the funeral of officers of the Navy, but before descending into the grave it is removed and passed on to the family ...
    3. 505506
      505506 11 October 2013 09: 23 New
      -2
      Did this Captri then with a microscope hammer nails into a bad head?
      1. 505506
        505506 17 October 2013 16: 48 New
        0
        The one who minus, apparently does not understand, the dagger is not a hole punch, and the microscope is not a hammer. Also boast that "my knife will be chopped down," a foolish person. Each thing has its own purpose. And if you find out that the dirk is a symbol, be proud that you scored a pig with them, n
        farther!
  2. Knizhnik
    Knizhnik 10 October 2013 21: 36 New
    +3
    Not enough ... still let's
  3. shitovmg
    shitovmg 10 October 2013 21: 41 New
    +1
    An interesting, informative article. I understand that the dagger replaced the checker.
    1. Col.
      Col. 11 October 2013 09: 05 New
      0
      Quote: shitovmg
      I understand that the dagger replaced the checker.

      No, not a saber, but a broadsword. Broadsword (blade length about 70 cm, if not mistaken) was awarded upon graduation from the school until the beginning of the 70's, but then it was replaced with a dagger. By the way, somewhere at the turn of the 60's - 70's the broadswords (and afterwards the daggers) began to be removed from the young officers for a while before the graduation banquet in order to avoid drunken stabbing (and there were such cases).
  4. kirpich
    kirpich 10 October 2013 21: 58 New
    +2
    I don’t remember which of the writers of Moreman read how the newly made lieutenant got in the face for deciding to cut the sausage with a dagger at the general Sabantui
    1. Alex 241
      Alex 241 10 October 2013 22: 00 New
      0
      Baranets: "Notes by an officer of the General Staff"
      1. kirpich
        kirpich 10 October 2013 22: 08 New
        0
        Oh sure! Thank.
  5. Misantrop
    Misantrop 10 October 2013 22: 07 New
    +2
    The modern sea dagger is not only a part of the full dress. The person on duty parted with him in the outfit. Only the sword belt then dresses not in the front door, but in black, everyday
  6. Taoist
    Taoist 10 October 2013 22: 20 New
    +6
    I don’t know how now, but they gave us daggers from Zlatoust damask steel and they really easily pierced a coin ... so we can’t say that it was a purely ceremonial weapon. A dagger appeared and took root in the Navy precisely as a boarding weapon. On low decks of sailing ships there is nowhere to swing a long blade (you can’t do much of the same sword.) So there was a shortened version that could be effectively chopped and chopped in cramped conditions. The most interesting thing is that if a sword or broadsword remained the parade weapon of the officers of the Russian fleet for quite a while, the dagger was an everyday weapon. It was much later that he replaced the parade uniform ...
    Mine is hanging on the wall ...
    1. Misantrop
      Misantrop 10 October 2013 22: 57 New
      +1
      Quote: Taoist
      I don’t know how now, but they gave us daggers from Zlatoust damask
      Now this plant is called Zlatoust Steel Engraving LLC and continues to produce daggers. The technology is slightly changed, instead of ivory, plastic began to be used in the early 80s, but the details and dimensions are completely the same. By the way, now there is an opportunity for those who want to order a dagger of the Navy of several options, with an inscription on the blade (name, school and year of graduation). A blade made of good steel, but hardened to 29 units (so as not to be considered a cold weapon). In fact, such hardness is enough if you do not try to open the safes lol
  7. Locksmith
    Locksmith 10 October 2013 23: 12 New
    +1
    Quote: Misantrop
    but hardened to 29 units

    Probably a mistake, the state of supply of steel was about 40 units, somewhere around 55-58 units just right, oil quenching with deep tempering. wink
    1. Misantrop
      Misantrop 11 October 2013 00: 00 New
      0
      Quote: Locksmith
      Probably a mistake, the state of supply of steel was about 40 units, somewhere around 55-58 units just right, oil quenching with deep tempering.
      Alas, with such a shape and size, everything that is 30 units or more is already considered a weapon and requires special clearance. So 29 units are chosen precisely from the calculation of free acquisition and transportation. It is clear that license plates are issued with a standard hardened blade, for which they are license plates
  8. svp67
    svp67 10 October 2013 23: 54 New
    0
    THANKS to the author - "+". It was more interesting to read the story of the Russian dagger, if anyone in the "subject" write, I know that this story is quite interesting. By the way, when he saw the Russian naval officers, the first German emperor was very surprised by the brevity and courage of his form, and he especially liked the Russian sea dagger, which he ordered to take as a model when creating the form of his "kriegsmarin" ...
  9. alex-cn
    alex-cn 11 October 2013 04: 40 New
    0
    the author tried, though not everything in his article is indisputable. I can only say that all the ceremonial daggers of the army officers were only decorative weapons, steel is clearly not military.
  10. serezhasoldatow
    serezhasoldatow 11 October 2013 08: 16 New
    +3
    produced in 1976. Then only daggers of a new sample went. The officers at the school changed theirs for new ones, and I got a dagger in 1954. My peer. Great personal weapon. When you get the hell out of the mood, you will stroke and it gets better.
  11. individual
    individual 11 October 2013 08: 17 New
    0
    The captain’s dagger is an attribute and symbol of the officer honor of the navy.
    1. Col.
      Col. 11 October 2013 09: 07 New
      +1
      Quote: individ
      The captain’s dagger is an attribute and symbol of the officer honor of the navy.


      Why "captain"? Just a sea dagger.
      1. Misantrop
        Misantrop 11 October 2013 16: 03 New
        0
        Quote: Colonel
        Why "captain"?
        Because every officer to whom he was handed over, before the captain (captain-lieutenant) will be promoted in every way laughing
  12. Witold
    Witold 11 October 2013 12: 42 New
    0
    Dirks were issued not only in the Navy. From the father of the colonel of the Ministry of Internal Affairs there was a dagger with a lanyard.
  13. xomaNN
    xomaNN 11 October 2013 18: 16 New
    0
    My father served in naval aviation, starting in the 50s, in Pärnu (Estonia). Then, when Khrushchev abruptly began to reduce the air force, their flight division was disbanded and some of the officers moved north in a mess and in a hurry. Then he left the first dagger (similar to a sea dagger, but with a different pattern) And with complete demobilization, he would also inherit the usual sea dirk, as he had promised in advance. In the ship we were not given :)
  14. D_L
    D_L 13 October 2013 10: 34 New
    0
    Good article. Thank. Dirk - a great weapon in the right hands!

Военное обозрение

Кортик, происхождение и развитие клинка

21

Кортик - история клинка

Современный кортик имеет тонкий граненный ромбовидный обоюдоострый не заточенный клинок, длиной 215-240 мм. Сегодня это - личное холодное оружие, носимое с парадной и парадно-выходной формой одежды офицеров в военно-морских флотах, сухопутных армейских подразделениях и полиции некоторых государств.

Короткий не заточенный клинок, предназначенный главным образом для колющих ударов, вызывает спорные чувства в отношении эффективности кортика как холодного оружия. Почему же именно кортик, а не более функциональный кинжал, так прижился на флоте, стал символом чести и мужества своего владельца? Герои морских сражений 17 века умирали в битве, но не расставались с кортиком.

Кортик, происхождение и развитие клинка

Существует несколько версий происхождения этого клинка. По одной из них кортик был оружием для левой руки в паре к рапире, или более тяжелой шпаги. По другой произошел в процессе укорочения рапиры, крайне неудобной в тесных трюмных боях, неизбежных в ходе абордажа. По третьей кортик является разновидностью кинжала.

Так или иначе, история этого славного оружия началась в середине 16 века.

В ходе противостояния испанцев с турками на морских просторах широкое распространение на флоте получила рапира, известная среди испанской знати с конца 15 века как «espada» - меч для платья. Длинный (до 1300 мм) тонкий клинок военной рапиры давал большое преимущество в боях с османскими пиратами с их короткими кривыми ятаганами.

Гражданская же «espada» имела множество вариаций исполнения: могла быть как обоюдоострой или с односторонней заточкой, так и не заточенной вовсе, как колюще-режущим так и исключительно колющим оружием. Получила большую популярность как дуэльное оружие. По мере развития искусства фехтования становилась короче, легче, и в конце концов уступила место колюще-рубящей шпаге. Но это уже совсем другая история.

Все в той же половине 16 века в сражениях за морские пути между Испанией и Англией последние получили на вооружение трофейные «espada». Подданные Елизаветы 1 по достоинству оценили трофей за то, что прямой клинок рапиры идеально поражал врага, проходя сквозь сочленения лат испанской брони.

Но если длинно-клинковое оружие давало неоспоримое преимущество в боях на открытом пространстве, то в корабельных помещениях, не отличающихся раздольем, длинный клинок был только помехой. Нож или кинжал в силу своей малой длинны не был серьезным оружием против той же сабли или ятагана.

Вот тут и появляется на сцене наш герой – кортик!

Точные параметры первых кортиков не известны, длина их колебалась от 500 до 800 мм, да и называли его то охотничьим тесаком, то буканьерским кортиком. Были как заточенные обоюдоострые клинки для разделки туш, так и граненные, исключительно для колющих ударов. К началу 17 века, совмещая в себе атакующие и защитные свойства, удобство и выдающуюся эффективность в бою, кортики завоевали необычайную популярность не только у военных, но и у гражданских. Дворяне предпочитали короткий, легкий и изящный кортик тяжелой и длиной шпаге.

Поначалу кортиком пользовались боевые офицеры и матросы, которым приходилось много перемещаться по кораблю, а длинные клинки сабель постоянно за что-нибудь цеплялись в узких трюмных помещениях. Но ко второй половине 18 века ими вооружился и командный состав. Кортик стал не просто оружием, но символом чести и мужества.

На Русском флоте кортик впервые появился во времена Петра 1, как официальное морское оружие, элемент парадной формы офицерского состава.

Длина и форма клинка Русского кортика на протяжении 17-19 веков многократно менялась. Были и двухлезвийные ромбовидные клинки, и четырехгранные игольчатые. Украшение клинков чаще всего было связано с морской тематикой. Клинок кортика образца 1913 года был длиной 240 мм, а в 1945 году был принят ромбовидный клинок длиной 215 мм с защелкой на рукояти от выпадения из ножен. В 1917 году ношение кортика отменили, и только в 1940 г. он был вновь утвержден как личное оружие командования флота.

Сейчас адмиральский, офицерский, общевойсковой, армейский или морской кортик может стать замечательным подарком для человека, чья профессия как-либо связана с армией или флотом, для историка или коллекционера.

21 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. andrei332809
    andrei332809 10 октября 2013 21:28 Новый
    +4
    сидели за столом,выпивали.каптри достал кортик 1986 года производства. нашли советскую рублёвую "монету".положили на стол. каптри воткнул кортик и испортил стол. очень легко продырявил рубль. это было в 1995 годе drinks
    1. Комментарий был удален.
      1. Misantrop
        Misantrop 10 октября 2013 22:40 Новый
        +3
        Цитата: полковник
        Прибивается на крышку гроба под фуражкой при похоронах офицеров ВМФ, но перед опусканием в могилу снимается и передаётся семье...
        На Украине уже не рискуют это делать. Повадились офицеры из военкоматов на похоронах конфисковывать кортики у и без того убитых горем родственников, мотивируя это тем, что он является оружием и имеет номер. Ну а потом продают, понятно. Сейчас кортик ВМФ СССР в зависимости от состояния стоит от 300 долларов, чем не приработок... wink
        1. mirag2
          mirag2 11 октября 2013 08:22 Новый
          0
          Не может быть?!!
          В смысле-не может быть,что конфискуют их там.
    2. полковник
      полковник 10 октября 2013 22:38 Новый
      +4
      Цитата: andrei332809
      каптри достал кортик 1986 года производства.


      Я храню свой кортик, собранный в 70-х годах. Вещь!!! Рукоятка из слоновой кости, клинок великолепен, если поставить вертикально остриём на палец, то собственной тяжестью проткнёт кожу! Произведение искусства и символ офицерской чести!
      P.S Прибивается на крышку гроба под фуражкой при похоронах офицеров ВМФ, но перед опусканием в могилу снимается и передаётся семье...
    3. 505506
      505506 11 октября 2013 09:23 Новый
      -2
      Этот каптри потом микроскопом гвозди в дурную голову не забивал?
      1. 505506
        505506 17 октября 2013 16:48 Новый
        0
        Тот кто минусовал, видимо не понимает, кортик это не дырокол, а микроскоп это не молоток. Похвастайся еще тем, что "мой нож твой изрубит", неумный человек. У каждой вещи есть свое назначение. И уж если выяснили, что кортик это символ, погордись, что свинью им забил, н
        едалекий!
  2. Knizhnik
    Knizhnik 10 октября 2013 21:36 Новый
    +3
    Маловато...еще давайте
  3. shitovmg
    shitovmg 10 октября 2013 21:41 Новый
    +1
    Интересная, познавательная статья. Я так понял, что кортик заменил шашку.
    1. полковник
      полковник 11 октября 2013 09:05 Новый
      0
      Цитата: shitovmg
      Я так понял, что кортик заменил шашку.

      Нет, не шашку, а палаш. Палаш (длина клинка около 70 см, если не ошибаюсь) вручался при выпуске из училища вплоть до начала 70-х годов, но затем его заменили кортиком. Кстати, где-то на рубеже 60-х - 70-х палаши (а после и кортики) стали перед выпускным банкетом изымать у молодых офицеров на время, дабы избежать пьяной поножовщины (а такие случаи были).
  4. kirpich
    kirpich 10 октября 2013 21:58 Новый
    +2
    Не помню у кого из писателей-мореманов прочитал,как новоиспечённый лейтенант получил по морде за то,что решил на всеобщем сабантуе кортиком колбаску порезать
    1. алекс 241
      алекс 241 10 октября 2013 22:00 Новый
      0
      Баранец:"Записки офицера генерального штаба"
      1. kirpich
        kirpich 10 октября 2013 22:08 Новый
        0
        О,точно! Спасибо.
  5. Misantrop
    Misantrop 10 октября 2013 22:07 Новый
    +2
    Современный морской кортик - не только часть парадной формы. Дежурный по части с ним заступает в наряд. Только портупея тогда одевается не парадная, а черная, повседневная
  6. Даос
    Даос 10 октября 2013 22:20 Новый
    +6
    Не знаю как сейчас а нам выдавали кортики из златоустовского булата и они действительно легко пробивали монету ... так что нельзя сказать что это было чисто парадное оружие. А появился кортик и прижился на флоте именно как абордажное оружие. На низких палубах парусных кораблей негде размахнуться длинно клинковым (той же шпагой не сильно пофехтуешь.) Вот и появился укороченный вариант которым можно было эффективно рубить и колоть в стеснённых условиях. Самое интересное, если шпага или палаш довольно долго оставались парадным оружием офицеров российского флота то кортик был оружием повседневным. Это уже много позже он заменил собой принадлежность парадной формы одежды...
    Мой так и висит на стене...
    1. Misantrop
      Misantrop 10 октября 2013 22:57 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: Даос
      Не знаю как сейчас а нам выдавали кортики из златоустовского булата
      Сейчас этот завод именуется ООО "Златоустовская гравюра на стали" и продолжает выпускать в том числе и кортики. Технология немного изменена, вместо слоновой кости уже в начале 80-х начали применять пластмассу, но деталировка и размеры полностью совпадают. Кстати, сейчас есть возможность для желающих заказать кортик ВМФ нескольких вариантов исполнения, с надписью на клинке (ФИО, училище и год выпуска). Клинок из хорошей стали, но закален до 29 единиц (чтобы не считался холодным оружием). По факту такой твердости вполне хватает, если не пытаться вскрывать сейфы lol
  7. Слесарь
    Слесарь 10 октября 2013 23:12 Новый
    +1
    Цитата: Misantrop
    но закален до 29 единиц

    Наверное ошибка,состояние поставки стали около 40 единиц,где нибудь в районе 55-58 единиц в самый раз,закалка на масло с глубоким отпуском. wink
    1. Misantrop
      Misantrop 11 октября 2013 00:00 Новый
      0
      Цитата: Слесарь
      Наверное ошибка,состояние поставки стали около 40 единиц,где нибудь в районе 55-58 единиц в самый раз,закалка на масло с глубоким отпуском.
      Увы, при такой форме и размерах все, что 30 единиц и выше, уже считается оружием и требует специального оформления. Так что 29 единиц выбрано именно из расчета свободного приобретения и транспортировки. Понятно, что номерные выпускаются со стандартно закаленным клинком, на то они и номерные
  8. svp67
    svp67 10 октября 2013 23:54 Новый
    0
    Автору СПАСИБО - "+". Было бо интересно прочитать историю российского кортика, если кто в "теме" напишите, знаю, что это история довольна интересна. К слову именно увидав русских морских офицеров первый германский император,был очень удивлен лаконичностью и мужественностью формы и особо ему приглянулся русский морской кортик, который он повелел взять за образец при создании формы своего "кригсмарина"...
  9. алекс-сп
    алекс-сп 11 октября 2013 04:40 Новый
    0
    автор постарался, хоть и не все в его статье бесспорно. Могу лишь сказать, что все парадные кортики офицеров сухопутных войск, были только декоративным оружием, сталь явно не боевая.
  10. serezhasoldatow
    serezhasoldatow 11 октября 2013 08:16 Новый
    +3
    выпускался в 1976 году. Тогда только пошли кортики нового образца. Офицеры в училище свои меняли на новые, мне и достался кортик 1954 года. Мой ровесник. Великолепное личное оружие.Когда настроение ни к черту-достанешь, погладишь и становится лучше.
  11. individ
    individ 11 октября 2013 08:17 Новый
    0
    Капитанский кортик - атрибут и символ офицерской чести военно-морского флота.
    1. полковник
      полковник 11 октября 2013 09:07 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: individ
      Капитанский кортик - атрибут и символ офицерской чести военно-морского флота.


      Почему "капитанский"? Просто "морской кортик".
      1. Misantrop
        Misantrop 11 октября 2013 16:03 Новый
        0
        Цитата: полковник
        Почему "капитанский"?
        Потому, что каждый офицер, кому он вручался, уж до капитана (капитан-лейтенанта) всяко дослужится laughing
  12. Витольд
    Витольд 11 октября 2013 12:42 Новый
    0
    Кортики выдавались не только в ВМФ. От отца полковника МВД остался кортик с темляком.
  13. xomaNN
    xomaNN 11 октября 2013 18:16 Новый
    0
    Отец служил в морской авиации, начиная еще с 50-х в Пярну (Эстония) Потом, когда Хрущев резко взялся сокращать ВС, их летную дивизию расформировывали и часть офицеров переводиди на Север в чехарде и спешке. Тогда у него остался первый кортик (похож на морской, но с другим рисунком) А уже при полной демобилизации и обычный морской кортик мне в наследство, как память он заранее обещал. В Корабелке то нам не давали:)
  14. D_L
    D_L 13 октября 2013 10:34 Новый
    0
    Хорошая статья. Спасибо. Кортик - отличное оружие в умелых руках!