Military Review

Media: Seoul surrenders to Washington's coaxing on global missile defense

22
Media: Seoul surrenders to Washington's coaxing on global missile defense

“In words, no, in fact, most likely yes, the Korean media described the recent actions of the South Korean government, which, according to journalists, seemed to succumb to Washington's persuasion and agreed to participate in the US global missile defense system. At least, the Ministry of Defense of the South intends to purchase exactly those missiles that are key components in the case of Seoul’s joining the missile defense system to the US Officials of South Korea, however, deny this, claiming that this is only a matter of creating exclusively ABM is not a member of the global anti-missile of the United States network.


Recall that recently South Korea announced its intention to complete the creation of the Kill Chen system by 2016, which will be intended for strikes against North Korean missile targets. By the beginning of the 2020-ies, the South is going to create its own missile defense system, which is abbreviated KAMD. The United States, as far as we know, is calling for Seoul to participate in the global American missile defense system, as Japan has already done. However, this is guaranteed to encounter a negative reaction from the main trading partner of Seoul - China. Definitely it will cause concern and Russia.

New speculations about the possible accession of South Korea to the US missile defense system arose when it became aware of the intention of the government of the South to buy Lockheed Martin's Terminal High Altitude Area Defense (THAAD) missiles for its missile defense. Experts immediately noted that these missiles are exactly what is needed if Seoul decides to enter the global US missile defense network.

For the sake of justice, it should be noted that Seoul did not directly mention the procurement of THAAD missiles. "The military department is exploring various opportunities to improve the ability to neutralize the North Korean missile and nuclear threat," said South Korean Defense Ministry spokesman Kim Min Sok, adding that this is about improving the capabilities of the Korean missile defense system. Meanwhile, another military source, on condition of anonymity, said that the Air Force would soon turn to the General Staff of the South Korean armed forces with a request to buy missiles "equivalent in their capabilities to the American THAAD." In addition, the vice president of Lockheed Martin confirmed that Seoul expressed interest in acquiring the THAAD complexes.

As military experts explain, at the moment, Seoul intends to create its missile defense system, focusing on the introduction of the PAC-3 Patriot systems, which will replace the PAC-2 currently in service with Korea. However, even with the PAC-3, there are some doubts about their effectiveness. Having an effective ceiling of no more than 30 kilometers, they can hit enemy missiles in close proximity on approach. If the missiles were supplied with nuclear or chemical warheads, even downed missiles could damage South Korea. In this regard, Seoul and interested complexes THAAD, which have a ceiling already up to 150 kilometers. Thus, the South Korean missile defense system would have two echelons of defense - more distant, with THAAD missiles, and a neighbor with the PAC-3.

However, speculation immediately arose about the fact that all this may mean the accession of Seoul to the US missile defense system. In turn, Washington has repeatedly made it clear that he would like the South to follow the example of Japan and join the global American missile defense system.

There were also rumors that South Korea is going to buy SM-3 missiles for the sea-based missile defense component. If this were confirmed, it would have turned out that the South creates a system both on land and at sea, which coincides with the US missile defense system.

All these suspicions and rumors were hurriedly categorically refuted by South Korean Defense Minister Kim Gwan-jin. Over the past couple of days, he has said several times that Seoul "does not intend to join the US missile defense system." He also added that South Korean missile defense in its tasks is fundamentally different from what the Americans want. The minister recalled the "astronomical value" of such participation in the global US initiative. He refuted and rumors about the purchase of SM-3 missiles.

Nevertheless, a number of experts and deputies suspected that the South Korean government did make a deal. The South is keen to postpone the transfer of command over the combined forces on the Korean Peninsula to a later time. According to the logic of Seoul, he is not yet ready to take command. The United States also declared the need to transfer to the end of 2015 of the year, but more recently for some reason they decided to yield to the Koreans. In this connection, suspicions arose that there was a “command in exchange for missile defense” deal: Seoul gets a deferment on the transfer of command, and instead joins the American anti-missile system.

However, while officials unanimously refute these speculations. The media and a number of experts state: recently, one after another, there is evidence that the South, saying no to the US missile defense system, in fact, is gradually creating its missile defense system that can be easily integrated into the American one. And all this rhetoric, which categorically denies the fate of the United States, is aimed only at not getting angry with China, which, if desired, can bring South Korea a lot of trouble.
Originator:
http://www.rg.ru/
22 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. bddrus
    bddrus 18 October 2013 12: 20
    13
    now our people know where to put the next Iskander brigade, better two
    1. Russ69
      Russ69 18 October 2013 12: 30
      13
      Quote: bddrus
      now our people know where to put the next Iskander brigade, better two

      Here, not only ours, but also China will begin to oppose. He does not like such a gift, more than to us ....
  2. Far East
    Far East 18 October 2013 12: 34
    +5
    I think so: why wait for something, put iskanders around the perimeter of the entire border of the Russian Federation and more modern technology. as long as there is America and RUSSIA the arms race will not end! you have to be with all your weapons! soldier
  3. bomg.77
    bomg.77 18 October 2013 12: 43
    +5
    Crap bastards.
  4. Silkway0026
    Silkway0026 18 October 2013 12: 47
    +7
    This P. Indos simply vtyuhivayut naive Koreans their missiles ... Pontus is actually something - no !!!
  5. Alexkorzun
    Alexkorzun 18 October 2013 12: 50
    +5
    so and what do the little Koreans ... wander in the mainstream)))
  6. Edward72
    Edward72 18 October 2013 12: 55
    +5
    It would be nice in Cuba and although now it is problematic in Venezuela to give striped gifts.
  7. Ruslan_F38
    Ruslan_F38 18 October 2013 13: 37
    +3
    Apparently the war is just around the corner. All this huge amount of armaments should be fired sooner or later. And prudence in people does not increase unfortunately.
  8. avg
    avg 18 October 2013 13: 38
    +2
    I don’t like Nikita Khrushchev, but the fact that he knew how to put a “hedgehog in the pants” of the amers cannot be taken away from him.
    1. AVV
      AVV 18 October 2013 15: 09
      +2
      Long-range Iskanders are on their way! Oh, how come in handy for both Europe and Korea !!!
    2. alone
      alone 18 October 2013 20: 05
      0
      laughing Khrushchev has nothing to do with it, it is the state system that launched a hedgehog in his amers trousers. He would have done the same instead of Khrushchev anyway
  9. shaitan
    shaitan 18 October 2013 13: 54
    +4
    But can we join the North Korean territory and the Syrian region?
  10. Galinanp
    Galinanp 18 October 2013 18: 03
    0
    There was a higher opinion of the level of adequacy of the South Koreans. They themselves make haemorrhoids.
  11. KOH
    KOH 18 October 2013 18: 29
    +2
    It is necessary to accept North Korea in the CSTO ...
    1. alone
      alone 18 October 2013 20: 06
      +1
      you that other parasites are not enough chtoli, to also feed Yna?
      1. atalef
        atalef 18 October 2013 20: 21
        +1
        Quote: CON
        It is necessary to accept North Korea in the CSTO ...

        Then war is definitely not necessary. so. they’ll definitely gobble up and not choke.
        In general, judging by the comments (including the previous ones), the CSTO wants to accept S. Korea, Cuba, Nicaragua, Syria, Venezuela, Egypt (not so long ago a comment was made) - will Bolivar really pull so many hungry people?
        Maybe for a start
        About 50 thousand Syrian Christians ask Russia for citizenship
        October 18 16: 05
        The appeal of the Syrians emphasizes that they are asking for citizenship not in order to receive money from Russia, but simply want to be under the protection of the Russian Federation if they are subjected to "the threat of physical destruction by terrorists."

        see from 3.17
  12. Mr. Tyler
    Mr. Tyler 18 October 2013 18: 55
    0
    Quote: CON
    It is necessary to accept North Korea in the CSTO ...

    ??? why do we need a regime where people are starving? This is DICTATURE, the Soviet Union in the era of Stalin
  13. Migari
    Migari 18 October 2013 19: 30
    +1
    Quote: Edward72
    It would be nice in Cuba and although now it is problematic in Venezuela to give striped gifts.

    The states are very fond of creating threats to others, but when their reconnaissance aircraft discovered our missiles in Cuba, they did a great job of it, I don’t know why our leadership, in response to the threat of missile defense, which they imposed on us from all sides, will not respond in the same way, so that the Yankees don’t covered themselves with Europe, but they knew that retaliation was inevitable, and that the approach of our missiles had sharply decreased, in addition to strategic aviation and the Navy. The USSR went to import these missiles to Cuba for a rather simple reason - the United States deployed its missiles in Turkey at that time, which could reach Moscow in 10 minutes. The flight time of Soviet missiles from Cuba to the United States was even less. Therefore, the idea of ​​placing them there looked, at first glance, as an effective answer to the Americans. Naturally, no one was going to launch rockets. They were considered as a weapon of deterrence and a means of retaliation. As they say, the new is the well-forgotten old.
    1. Andrey Yuryevich
      Andrey Yuryevich 19 October 2013 04: 35
      +1
      it will be so scary for them that there will be a temptation for a preemptive strike on the island and this is the same war.
  14. Rustam009
    Rustam009 18 October 2013 20: 26
    0
    Establish a permanent route for commercial container ships to the shores of the states with KLUB-S, supposedly with the aim of trading with Venezuela and Cuba, and all issues have been resolved.
  15. APASUS
    APASUS 18 October 2013 21: 02
    0
    So South Korea bought ...........
  16. nod739
    nod739 18 October 2013 21: 43
    0
    Koreans are one nation, but how many confrontations ???
    and if we are brought to Ukraine with this? - missiles along the border will be instructed - or will you say science fiction?
    thirty years ago it was fantastic that the Soviet republics gained self-sufficiency — and not now — as the norm, and for a salary in greenery — you could catch a deadly term,
    need to unite ...
    it will be warmer under one blanket))
  17. scientist
    scientist 18 October 2013 21: 44
    +2
    The USA has done a lot of "good" things for Japan and Korea. First, they tested nuclear bombs in Hiroshima and Nagasaki, then the accident at the Fokushima nuclear power plant of the "genius" design of General Electric, now Lockheed Martin with the US global missile defense system and super missiles. The US experience with security in the Far East is costly.
    И why does Russia not agitate anyone to join its Global Missile Defense? Maybe it’s time to start. I think there will be a lot of people.
  18. Siberian
    Siberian 19 October 2013 11: 21
    0
    When the Americans sucked in their missile defense system in Europe, they referred to (if the memory had not lost) the threat from Iran. And now what excuse?
  19. Misantrop
    Misantrop 19 October 2013 11: 37
    0
    Quote: Siberian
    And now what excuse?
    That Iran’s missiles have increased range laughing

СМИ: Сеул поддается на уговоры Вашингтона по глобальной ПРО

СМИ: Сеул поддается на уговоры Вашингтона по глобальной ПРО

"На словах - "нет", на деле - скорее всего "да" - примерно так охарактеризовали корейские СМИ последние действия правительства Южной Кореи, которое, как утверждают журналисты, вроде бы поддалось на уговоры Вашингтона и согласилось на участие в системе глобальной ПРО США. По крайней мере, минобороны Юга намерено закупить именно те ракеты, которые являются ключевыми компонентами в случае присоединения Сеула к ПРО США. Официальные лица Южной Кореи, тем не менее, отрицают это, утверждая, что речь идет всего лишь о создании исключительно собственной ПРО, не входящей в глобальную противоракетную сеть Соединенных Штатов.

Напомним, что недавно Южная Корея заявила о намерении к 2016 году завершить создание системы "Килл Чэин", которая будет предназначена для ударов по ракетным объектам КНДР. К началу 2020-х годов Юг собирается создать уже собственную систему противоракетной обороны, которая сокращенно именуется KAMD. США, насколько известно, призывают Сеул к участию в глобальной американской ПРО, как это уже сделала Япония. Однако это гарантированно натолкнется на негативную реакцию со стороны главного торгового партнера Сеула - Китая. Однозначно это вызовет обеспокоенность и у России.

Новые спекуляции о возможном присоединении Южной Кореи к ПРО США возникли, когда стало известно о намерении правительства Юга закупить для своей ПРО ракеты Terminal High Altitude Area Defense (THAAD) производства компании "Локхид Мартин". Эксперты тут же отметили, что эти ракеты как раз то, что необходимо в случае решения Сеула войти в глобальную противоракетную сеть США.


Ради справедливости следует отметить, что Сеул прямо не сказал о закупках ракет THAAD. "Военное ведомство изучает различные возможности для улучшения возможностей по нейтрализации северокорейской ракетной и ядерной угрозы", - заявил представитель Минобороны Южной Кореи Ким Мин Сок, добавив, что речь идет о совершенствовании возможностей корейской ПРО. Тем временем другой военный источник на условиях анонимности сообщил, что ВВС в ближайшее время обратятся к Генштабу ВС Южной Кореи с просьбой закупить ракеты, "эквивалентные по своим возможностям американским THAAD". Кроме того, вице-президент компании "Локхид Мартин" подтвердил, то Сеул высказывал заинтересованность в приобретении комплексов THAAD.

Как поясняют военные эксперты, в настоящий момент Сеул намерен создавать свою ПРО, ориентируясь на внедрение комплексов "Пэтриот" РАС-3, которые заменят находящиеся сейчас на вооружении у Кореи РАС-2. Однако даже по поводу РАС-3 есть определенные сомнения в их эффективности. Имея эффективный потолок не более 30 километров, они могут поражать вражеские ракеты в непосредственной близости на подлете. Если ракеты будут снабжены ядерными или химическими боеголовками, то даже сбитые ракеты смогут нанести ущерб Южной Кореи. В этой связи Сеул и заинтересовался комплексами THAAD, которые имеют потолок уже до 150 километров. Таким образом, ПРО Южной Кореи имела бы два эшелона обороны - более дальний, с ракетами THAAD, и ближний с РАС-3.

Однако тут же возникли спекуляции по поводу того, что это все может означать присоединение Сеула к ПРО США. В свою очередь Вашингтон уже неоднократно давал понять, что хотел бы, чтобы Юг последовал примеру Японии и присоединился к глобальной американской ПРО.

Пошли также слухи и о том, что Южная Корея собирается закупить для морского компонента ПРО ракеты SM-3. Если бы это подтвердилось, то получалось бы, что Юг и на суше и на море создает систему, которая совпадает с ПРО США.

Все эти подозрения и слухи поспешил категорически опровергнуть министр обороны Южной Кореи Ким Гван Чжин. В последние пару дней он несколько раз заявил, что Сеул "не намерен присоединяться к ПРО США". Он также добавил, что южнокорейская ПРО по своим задачам принципиально отличается от того, чего хотят американцы. Министр вспомнил и об "астрономической стоимости" такого участия в глобальной инициативе США. Он опроверг и слухи о закупках ракет SM-3.

Тем не менее, ряд экспертов и депутатов заподозрили, что правительство Южной Кореи все же пошло на сделку. Юг очень хочет отодвинуть сроки передачи командования над объединенными войсками на Корейском полуострове на более позднее время. По логике Сеула, он пока не готов принять на себя командование. США же заявляли о необходимости передачи к концу 2015 года, но совсем недавно почему-то решили уступить корейцам. В этой связи и возникли подозрения, что имела место сделка в стиле "командование в обмен на ПРО": Сеул получает отсрочку по передаче командования, а вместо этого присоединяется к американской противоракетной системе.

Впрочем, пока официальные лица дружно опровергают эти спекуляции. СМИ же и ряд экспертов констатируют: в последнее время одним за другим появляются доказательства того, что Юг, говоря "нет" ПРО США, на деле постепенно создает свою ПРО такой, которая легко может быть интегрирована в американскую. А вся эта риторика, которая категорически опровергает участи в затее Соединенных Штатов, нацелена лишь на то, чтобы не злить Китай, который при желании может доставить Южной Корее немало хлопот.
Первоисточник: http://www.rg.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 22
  1. bddrus 18 октября 2013 12:20
    теперь наши знают куда ставить следующую бригаду Искандеров, лучше две
    1. русс69 18 октября 2013 12:30
      Цитата: bddrus
      теперь наши знают куда ставить следующую бригаду Искандеров, лучше две

      Тут уже не только наши , но и Китай начнет противодействовать. Ему такой подарок , тоже не по душе, причем больше чем нам....
  2. Дальневосточник 18 октября 2013 12:34
    мне думается так: за чем чего то ждать, ставить искандеры по периметру всей границы РФ и по больше новейшей техники.пока существует америка и РОССИЯ гонка вооружений не закончится! надо быть во все оружие! soldier
  3. bomg.77 18 октября 2013 12:43
    Обкладывают гады.
  4. Silkway0026 18 октября 2013 12:47
    это п.индосы просто втюхивают наивным корейцам свои ракеты... понту на самом деле то - никакого !!!
  5. Alexkorzun 18 октября 2013 12:50
    дык а чё корейчикам делать... бредут в русле )))
  6. Эдуард72 18 октября 2013 12:55
    Хорошо бы на Кубе и хотя сейчас это прблематично в Венесуэле подарки полосатым поставить.
  7. Ruslan_F38 18 октября 2013 13:37
    Судя по всему война не за горами. Все это огромное количество вооружений рано или поздно должно выстрелить. А благоразумия у людей не прибавляется к сожалению.
    Ruslan_F38
  8. avg 18 октября 2013 13:38
    Вот не люблю Никиту Хрущева, но то, что он умел запускать "ежа в штаны" амерам, это у него не отнять.
    avg
    1. AVV 18 октября 2013 15:09
      Искандеры повышенной дальности уже на подходе !Ой как пригодятся и для Европы и для Кореи!!!
      AVV
    2. одинокий 18 октября 2013 20:05
      laughing хрущев тут не причем,это государственная система запускала ежа в штаны амерам.кто бы вместо хрущева не был бы,все равно сделал бы так же
  9. shaitan 18 октября 2013 13:54
    А не присоединить ли нам Северокорейский край и Сирийскую область?
  10. GalinaNP 18 октября 2013 18:03
    Был более высокого мнения об уровне адекватности южных корейцев. Сами же себе геморой наживают.
  11. КОН 18 октября 2013 18:29
    Надо Северную Корею в ОДКБ принимать...
    1. одинокий 18 октября 2013 20:06
      вам что других дармоедов мало чтоли,чтоб еще и Ына кормить?
      1. atalef 18 октября 2013 20:21
        Цитата: КОН
        Надо Северную Корею в ОДКБ принимать...

        Тогда точно войны не надо . уж .ти точно обожрут и не подавяться.
        Вообще судя по коментам ( предыдущим в том числе ) в ОДКБ хотят принять С.Корею, Кубу , Никарагуа , Сирию ,Венесуэлу , Египет ( не так давно проскочил коммент )-- вообще Боливар потянет столько голодяев ?
        Может для начала
        Около 50 тысяч сирийских христиан просят у России гражданства
        18 октября в 16:05
        В обращении сирийцев подчеркивается, что они просят о гражданстве не для того, чтобы получить от России денег, а просто хотят находиться под защитой РФ, если подвергнутся "угрозе физического уничтожения со стороны террористов".

        смотрите с 3.17
  12. Mr.Tyler 18 октября 2013 18:55
    Цитата: КОН
    Надо Северную Корею в ОДКБ принимать...

    ??? зачем нам режим где народ голодает? Это же ДИКТАТУРа, советский союз в эпоху сталина
    Mr.Tyler
  13. Migari 18 октября 2013 19:30
    Цитата: Эдуард72
    Хорошо бы на Кубе и хотя сейчас это прблематично в Венесуэле подарки полосатым поставить.

    Штаты очень любят создавать угрозы другим, но вот когда их самолёт разведчик обнаружил наши ракеты на Кубе, обделались они здорово, не знаю почему наше руководство, в ответ на угрозу ПРО, которой обложили нас со всех сторон не ответят этим же способом, дабы янки не прикрывались Европой, а знали что возмездие неизбежно, и что подлёт наших ракет резко уменьшился,помимо стратегической авиации и ВМФ. СССР пошел на завоз этих ракет на Кубу по довольно простой причине – США разместили к тому времени в Турции свои ракеты, которые могли достичь Москвы за 10 минут. Подлетное время советских ракет с Кубы до США было еще меньше. Поэтому идея разместить их там выглядела, на первый взгляд, как эффективный ответ американцам. Запускать ракеты, естественно, никто и не собирался. Рассматривали их, как оружие сдерживания и средство ответного удара. Как говорят, новое, это хорошо забытое старое.
    1. андрей юрьевич 19 октября 2013 04:35
      это будет для них настолько страшно,что появится соблазн для превентивного удара по острову а это -та же война.
  14. Рустам09 18 октября 2013 20:26
    Наладить постоянный маршрут торговых обычных контейнеровозов к берегам штатов с KLUB-S якобы с целью торговли с Венесуэлой и Кубой и все вопросы решены.
  15. APASUS 18 октября 2013 21:02
    Вот и Ю Корея купилась...........
  16. nod739 18 октября 2013 21:43
    корейцы - один народ же, а противостояния сколько???
    а если нас с украиной доведут до такого?- ракеты вдоль границы наставим - или фантастика скажете?
    да лет тридцать назад было фантастикой обретение советскими республиками самостиности- и не че- сейчас как норма, а уж за зарплату в зелени- и вовсе срок нехилый можно было словить,
    объединяться нужно...
    теплее будет под одним одеялом ))
  17. ученый 18 октября 2013 21:44
    США много "хорошего" сделала для Японии и Кореи. Сначала опробовали ядерные бомбы в Хиросиме и Нагасаки, потом авария АЭС Фокусима "гениальной" конструкции Дженерал Электрик, теперь Локхид Мартин с глобальной ПРО США и супер ракетами. Дорого обходиться опыты США с безопасностью на Дальнем востоке.
    И почему Россия ни кого не агитирует присоединиться к своей Глобальной ПРО? Может быть пора начинать. Думаю желающих будет масса.
  18. Сибиряк 19 октября 2013 11:21
    Когда американцы свое ПРО в европу втюхивали, ссылались на (если память не отшибло)угрозу со стороны Ирана. А теперь какая отмазка?
  19. Misantrop 19 октября 2013 11:37
    Цитата: Сибиряк
    А теперь какая отмазка?
    Что у иранских ракет дальнобойность увеличилась laughing
    Misantrop

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня