Military Review

Chief rocket pilot of the Russian Empire

4
Under this name the publishing houseWeapon and Technologies of Russia ”(general director - S. Osinin, chief editor - N. Spassky) published the book by Pavel Kachura about the outstanding Russian rocketman of the mid-XIX century Konstantinov.


The future devotee of rocket science was born in early April 1819 of the year in Warsaw. His father was the Grand Duke Tsarevich Konstantin Pavlovich Romanov, brother and viceroy of the Russian emperor Alexander I in the kingdom of Poland, and his mother was French actress Clara-Anna de Loran. At birth, according to Orthodox canons, the boy was named Konstantin Konstantinovich Konstantinovich.

In 1831, the famous Polish uprising began. The Grand Duke gathered in Russia, but on the way he fell ill with cholera and died in Vitebsk. 13-year-old Konstantin together with his mother and sister Constantia (her father was also the crown prince) settles in St. Petersburg. In January, 1834, fulfilling the will of the late Grand Duke, the trustee of the family, Prince I.A. Golitsyn identifies 15-year-old Konstantin as a cadet to the prestigious Mikhailovsky Artillery School (in the future Mikhailovsky Artillery Academy).

The first school commander was a combat artillery general, a rocket science researcher A.D. Zasyadko. Konstantin studied well, and therefore, having graduated from the 1836 year of the “fourth in the list” school, was left to further improve his knowledge in the higher classes of the artillery school. In 1837, "for distinction in the sciences," the graduate was made "into a senior officer class": they enlisted in the rank of ensign in a guards artillery battery. Then he was adopted by Prince Ivan Aleksandrovich Golitsyn and gained a new middle name - Ivanovich.

In 1840 – 1844, Konstantinov works abroad as part of a delegation sent “for collecting useful information, to related artillery”. During a business trip, an officer opens an account of his inventions - he creates an electroballistic device (chronograph) designed to measure the speed of an artillery shell at any point in the trajectory. He allowed to measure time intervals with unprecedented, almost fantastic accuracy to 0,00006 seconds.

Upon returning to Russia, a young scientist develops a diopter for hinged cannon firing, making a number of improvements to the firework technique. His interests in artillery are varied, differ in novelty. Soon for his actions Konstantin Ivanovich receives the Order of St. Vladimir 4 degree and monetary reward.

Since September, 1846, the officer again goes abroad. There he publishes the formula of a ballistic pendulum rocket for measuring the thrust of a rocket powder engine. With it, it was possible to determine the influence of the shape and design of the rocket on its ballistic properties. Thus laid the scientific basis for the calculation and design of missiles.

The pendulum was built on a missile test site on the Volkov field in Petersburg, and in October 1847 was tested in the presence of members of the Military Scientific Committee, who praised it for its measurement accuracy and ease of calculation. And this was at a time when the French engineer and mechanic Arthur-Jules Morin, who was well-known in the middle of the 19th century, determined the thrust force with a conventional dynamometer. And the creator of the combat missiles Austrian Major General Baron Vincenz von Augustin - with the help of ordinary lever weights with weights. Moreover, already in the twentieth century, the Soviet scientist Zander, unable to use the invention of Konstantinov, measured the thrust of his rocket engine using the same lever weights.

Today, scientists recognize that the methodology for studying the ballistic characteristics of rocket engines using the Konstantinov pendulum is a prototype of modern fire tests.

5 March 1850, by the highest decree, Colonel Konstantinov is appointed commander of the St. Petersburg Rocket Facility, Russia's first industrial enterprise for the production of combat missiles. Since then, its activities are almost entirely devoted to the development of rocket production. Konstantin Ivanovich turns the handicraft enterprise into a real defense plant. He conducts experiments with military missiles in order to increase the range of the flight and the accuracy of the fall.

In 1853, the Crimean War began. A missile facility under the leadership of Konstantinov is preparing, according to his technology, combat missiles for the needs of the army in the field. Many in the military department resisted their use, and it took Konstantin Ivanovich a lot of effort to get the missiles delivered to the fighting Sevastopol.

In 1856, Konstantin Ivanovich publishes the detailed work "Aeronautics", where for the first time in the world he is considering the idea of ​​using rocket engines for movement and control of a balloon. In 1857, the work of Konstantinov appeared in the “Sea Collection” with an analysis of proposals related to scuba diving, including those received from the well-known Russian engineer Adjutant General K.A. Schilder, who used military missiles on the world's first all-metal submarine.

In 1860, Konstantinov lectures on "Missiles" at the Mikhailovsky Artillery Academy. His lectures are published in Paris in French. At that time, it was the only fundamental monograph in the world on this topic. She is highly regarded in academic circles, including the Paris Academy of Sciences. For her, Konstantinov was awarded the prize of the Mikhailovsky Artillery Academy.

The missile officer applies his talent, skill, experience, and irrepressible energy so that scientific discoveries find practical implementation. From the beginning of the 1850-s to the 1859 of the year, being already the head of the St. Petersburg rocket institution, Konstantinov painstakingly develops the design of a new advanced rocket factory, creating highly mechanized and automated equipment for it, searching for new optimal designs of combat missiles and improving their manufacturing technology. With his active participation, the choice was made of the site for the construction of a new plant - the city of Nikolaev.

Created by Konstantinov missiles were widely used in the conduct of hostilities. There are known facts of the use of missiles during the campaign of Russian troops in Turkestan, during the Crimean War in the defense of Sevastopol, in battles with Turkey in the Caucasian theater of operations.

In 1860, Konstantinov offers the military department a 4-inch rocket with a range of up to 4 thousand meters. Its parameters and the lightness of the rocket machine (for cavalry Konstantinov designed the machine is not heavier than an infantry gun), maneuverability, ease of production completely compensated for the smaller, compared with the fire of the barrel artillery, the accuracy of the missiles. The asset Konstantinova - and two-chamber rescue missile, which was successfully used to rescue people in shipwrecks up to 1944 year.

In 1864, Konstantin Konstantinov was promoted to lieutenant general. Then he went to Nikolaev - to the city of his last missile creation. There, on the spot, the "chief rocket pilot of the Russian Empire" directly supervised the construction of the Nikolaev Rocket Plant. By the end of 1870, the buildings of the plant were almost completed, equipment was installed. But live to the opening of the rocket institution Konstantinov did not happen. On the night of January 12, 1871, Konstantin Ivanovich died suddenly at the age of 52. 14 January 1871, his ashes were buried in the village of Nivnoe, Mglinsky district, Chernihiv province, in the estate of the husband of the elder sister of Constance A.F. Lishin

The great Russian rocket engineer is the author of more than 100 scientific papers and 20 inventions on various issues of artillery, small arms, pyrotechnics, gunpowder, rocket production, scuba diving and aeronautics. During his lifetime, he enjoyed great prestige among military specialists and prominent scientists from various branches of Russia and Europe.

Now the name Crater on the far side of the Moon is named after Konstantinov. His name is one of the streets of Moscow. In Russia, there is a commission to perpetuate the memory of the glorious son of Russia and his glorious family. It is headed by Marshal of Artillery V.M. Mikhalkin. The commission is doing a great deal of work to popularize the tireless activities of the devotee of rocketry. And the fundamental work published under the title “Chief Rocket Launcher of the Russian Empire” can rightfully be considered a peculiar monument to Konstantinov. The book, saturated with illustrations, not only tells about a large Russian rocket ship, but also fully and fascinatingly represents the development of the entire rocket business and military construction in Russia in the 19th century.
Author:
Originator:
http://redstar.ru/
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. pahom54
    pahom54 22 October 2013 10: 39
    +4
    I heard something vaguely before, now I’ve read this material with pleasure. It became very good at heart - after all, it turns out, at what times our people were engaged in missile business, and quite successfully! By God, I am proud of the country and such people!
    Many thanks and respect to the author for the article.
  2. Gomunkul
    Gomunkul 22 October 2013 11: 34
    +3
    Thanks to the author for the article, but I would like to read this topic in more detail. In particular, the use of military missiles in the Crimean War. Pack plus.
  3. kaktus
    kaktus 22 October 2013 17: 07
    +2
    Brand new information about the Russian missile. Thanks to the author, article ++++++++ smile
  4. family tree
    family tree 22 October 2013 18: 58
    +2
    No. The main one, all the same, is this one.
    Zasyadko Alexander Dmitrievich
  5. maklaut007
    maklaut007 23 October 2013 01: 49
    +1
    I read about Zasyadko, but he also seemed to have machines and rockets of good quality. And then you understand, as if again a person is developing. And after him there’s silence. But how convenient a combat tool. And as if a brake on all countries.
  6. radio operator
    radio operator 25 October 2013 12: 33
    0
    The great Russian rocket engineer is the author of more than 100 scientific papers and 20 inventions on various issues of artillery, small arms, pyrotechnics, gunpowder, rocket production, scuba diving and aeronautics. During his lifetime, he enjoyed great prestige among military specialists and prominent scientists from various branches of Russia and Europe.

    A worthy son of the Fatherland.
    And they say that before the revolution, Russia was a backward agrarian country ...
  7. sergeitvoi
    sergeitvoi 18 October 2014 16: 43
    0
    A good article, however, a lot of unverified (evidence) facts from the biography of Konstantinov. Anatoly Dokuchaev, look, if possible, this material.

    http://novosti-n.org/analitic/read/602.html

Главный ракетчик Российской империи

Главный ракетчик Российской империиПод этим названием издательство «Оружие и технологии России» (генеральный директор – С. Осинин, главный редактор – Н. Спасский) выпустило в свет книгу Павла Качуры о выдающемся российском ракетчике середины XIX века Константине Константинове.

Будущий подвижник ракетного дела родился в начале апреля 1819 года в Варшаве. Его отцом был великий князь цесаревич Константин Павлович Романов, брат и наместник российского императора Александра I в царстве Польском, матерью – французская актриса Клара-Анна де Лоран. При рождении, согласно православным канонам, мальчик был наречён Константином Константиновичем Константиновым.

В 1831 году началось знаменитое польское восстание. Великий князь засобирался в Россию, но по пути заболел холерой и умер в Витебске. 13-летний Константин вместе с матерью и сестрой Констанцией (её отцом был также цесаревич) обосновывается в Санкт-Петербурге. В январе 1834-го, исполняя волю покойного великого князя, попечитель семьи князь И.А. Голицын определяет 15-летнего Константина юнкером в престижное Михайловское артиллерийское училище (в будущем Михайловская артиллерийская академия).


Первым командиром училища был боевой генерал-артиллерист, исследователь ракетного дела А.Д. Засядко. Учился Константин хорошо, а потому, окончив 1836 году училище «четвёртым по списку», был оставлен для дополнительного совершенствования своих знаний в высших классах артиллерийского училища. В 1837-м «за отличие в науках» выпускника произвели «в старший офицерский класс»: зачислили в звании прапорщика в гвардейскую артиллерийскую батарею. Тогда же он был усыновлён князем Иваном Александровичем Голицыным и обрёл новое отчество – Иванович.

В 1840–1844 годах Константинов работает за границей в составе делегации, посланной «для собрания полезных сведений, до артиллерии относящихся». Во время командировки офицер открывает счёт своим изобретениям – создаёт электробаллистический прибор (хронограф), предназначенный для измерения скорости артиллерийского снаряда в любой точке траектории. Он позволял измерять отрезки времени с невиданной, почти фантастической точностью до 0,00006 сек.

По возвращении в Россию молодой учёный разрабатывает диоптр для навесной стрельбы из орудия, вносит ряд усовершенствований в технику фейерверков. Его интересы в артиллерии разнообразны, отличаются новизной. Вскоре за свои деяния Константин Иванович получает орден Святого Владимира 4-й степени и денежную награду.

С сентября 1846 года офицер вновь выезжает за границу. Там он обнародует формулу ракетного баллистического маятника для измерения тяги ракетного порохового двигателя. С его помощью можно было определять влияние формы и конструкции ракеты на её баллистические свойства. Тем самым закладывались научные основы расчёта и проектирования ракет.

Маятник был построен на ракетном полигоне на Волковом поле в Петербурге и в октябре 1847 года испытан в присутствии членов Военного учёного комитета, которые высоко оценили его за точность измерений и простоту вычислений. И это в то время, когда известный в середине XIX века французский инженер и механик Артюр-Жюль Морен определял силу тяги обычным динамометром. А создатель боевых ракет австрийский генерал-майор барон Винценс фон Аугустин – с помощью обычных рычажных весов с гирями. Более того, уже в ХХ веке советский учёный Цандер, не имея возможности воспользоваться изобретением Константинова, измерял силу тяги своего ракетного двигателя с помощью тех же рычажных весов.

Сегодня учёные признают, что методика исследования внутрибаллистических характеристик ракетных двигателей с помощью маятника Константинова – это прообраз современных огневых испытаний.

5 марта 1850 года высочайшим указом полковник Константинов назначается командиром Санкт-Петербургского ракетного заведения – первого в России промышленного предприятия по производству боевых ракет. С тех пор его деятельность почти полностью посвящается развитию ракетостроения. Константин Иванович превращает кустарное предприятие в настоящий оборонный завод. Он проводит опыты с боевыми ракетами с целью увеличения дальности полёта и кучности падения.

В 1853 году началась Крымская война. Ракетное заведение под руководством Константинова готовит по его технологии боевые ракеты для нужд действующей армии. Многие в военном ведомстве противились их применению, и Константину Ивановичу потребовалось немало усилий, чтобы ракеты доставили в сражающийся Севастополь.

В 1856-м Константин Иванович публикует обстоятельную работу «Воздухоплавание», где впервые в мире рассматривает идею применения ракетных двигателей для движения и управления аэростатом. В 1857 году в «Морском сборнике» появляется работа Константинова с анализом предложений, связанных с подводным плаванием, в том числе и поступивших от известного русского инженера генерал-адъютанта К.A. Шильдера, применившим боевые ракеты на первой в мире цельнометаллической подводной лодке.

В 1860 году Константинов читает курс лекций «О боевых ракетах» в Михайловской артиллерийской академии. Его лекции публикуются в Париже на французском языке. На тот момент то была единственная в мире фундаментальная монография по данной теме. Она высоко оценивается в научных кругах, в том числе Парижской академией наук. За неё Константинов был удостоен премии Михайловской артиллерийской академии.

Офицер-ракетчик прилагает свой талант, умение, опыт, неуёмную энергию, чтобы научные открытия находили практическое воплощение. С начала 1850-х годов и до 1859 года, будучи уже руководителем Петербургского ракетного заведения, Константинов кропотливо занимается разработкой проекта нового совершенного ракетного завода, созданием для него высокомеханизированного и автоматизированного оборудования, поиском новых оптимальных конструкций боевых ракет и совершенствованием технологии их изготовления. При его активном участии был осуществлён выбор места для строительства нового завода – город Николаев.

Созданные Константиновым ракеты широко применялись при ведении боевых действий. Известны факты применения ракет при походе русских войск в Туркестан, во время Крымской войны при обороне Севастополя, в сражениях с Турцией на Кавказском ТВД.

В 1860 году Константинов предлагает военному ведомству 4-дюймовую ракету с дальностью действия до 4 тыс. метров. Её параметры и лёгкость ракетного станка (для кавалерии Константинов сконструировал станок не тяжелее пехотного ружья), маневренность, простота производства вполне компенсировали меньшую, по сравнению с огнём ствольной артиллерии, меткость ракет. В активе Константинова - и двухкамерная спасательная ракета, которая с успехом применялась для спасения людей при кораблекрушениях вплоть до 1944 года.

В 1864 году Константин Константинов был произведён в генерал-лейтенанты. Тогда же он выехал в Николаев – в город последнего своего ракетного творения. Там, на месте, «главный ракетчик Российской империи» непосредственно руководил строительством Николаевского ракетного завода. К концу 1870 года здания завода были почти достроены, вёлся монтаж оборудования. Но дожить до открытия ракетного заведения Константинову не довелось. В ночь на 12 января 1871 года Константин Иванович в возрасте 52-х лет скоропостижно скончался. 14 января 1871 года его прах был похоронен в селе Нивное Мглинского уезда Черниговской губернии, в имении мужа старшей сестры Констанции А.Ф. Лишина.

Великий российский ракетчик – автор более 100 научных работ и 20 изобретений по различным вопросам артиллерии, стрелкового оружия, пиротехники, порохового дела, ракетостроения, подводного плавания и воздухоплавания. При жизни он пользовался большим авторитетом среди специалистов военного дела и крупных учёных различных отраслей России и Европы.

Ныне именем Константинова назван кратер на обратной стороне Луны. Его имя носит одна из улиц Москвы. В России действует комиссия по увековечению памяти славного сына России и его славного рода. Её возглавляет маршал артиллерии В.М. Михалкин. Комиссия проводит большую работу по популяризации неутомимой деятельности подвижника ракетного дела. И вышедший фундаментальный труд с названием «Главный ракетчик Российской империи» можно с полным основанием считать своеобразным памятником Константинову. Насыщенная иллюстрациями книга не только повествует о крупном российском ракетчике, но и полно, увлекательно представляет развитие всего ракетного дела и военного строительства в России в XIX веке.
Автор: Анатолий Докучаев
Первоисточник: http://redstar.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. pahom54 22 октября 2013 10:39
    Раньше смутно что-то слышал, сейчас с удовольствием прочитал данный материал. Очень на душе хорошо стало - ведь оказывается, еще в какие времена наши люди ракетным делом занимались, и довольно успешно! Ей, богу, горжусь страной и такими людьми!
    Автору за статью - огромное спасибо и уважение.
    pahom54
  2. Gomunkul 22 октября 2013 11:34
    Автору спасибо за статью, но хотелось бы эту тему прочитать более развёрнуто. В частности применение боевых ракет в Крымскую войну. Стаье плюс.
  3. kaktus 22 октября 2013 17:07
    Совершенно новая информация о российском ракетчике. Спасибо автору, статье ++++++++ smile
    kaktus
  4. perepilka 22 октября 2013 18:58
    no Главный, всё таки, вот этот.
    Засядько Александр Дмитриевич
  5. maklaut007 23 октября 2013 01:49
    Читал о Засядько, у него же вроде бы и станки и ракеты хорошего качества уже были. А тут понимаешь, как будто снова человек разрабатывает. А после него вообще тишина. А ведь насколько удобное боевое средство. И как будто тормоз по всем странам.
    maklaut007
  6. радист 25 октября 2013 12:33
    Великий российский ракетчик – автор более 100 научных работ и 20 изобретений по различным вопросам артиллерии, стрелкового оружия, пиротехники, порохового дела, ракетостроения, подводного плавания и воздухоплавания. При жизни он пользовался большим авторитетом среди специалистов военного дела и крупных учёных различных отраслей России и Европы.

    Достойный сын Отечества.
    А ещё говорят, что до революции Россия была отсталой аграрной страной...
  7. sergeitvoi 18 октября 2014 16:43
    Хорошая статья, однако много непроверенных (доказательно) фактов из биографии Константинова. Анатолий Докучаев, посмотрите, если есть возможность, этот материал.

    http://novosti-n.org/analitic/read/602.html
    sergeitvoi

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня