Military Review

Henschel Hs-294 planning bomb (Germany)

10
Back in the late thirties, the German company Henschel began work on the so-called. gliding bombs. Within the framework of this program, it was supposed to solve two problems at once: to significantly increase the hitting accuracy aviation ammunition, as well as protect aircraft from anti-aircraft artillery fire. The first Henschel project in this area was the Hs-293 ​​guided gliding bomb. It was a small aircraft with remote control by radio channel (later a wired control system was created) and solid propellant boosters. A slightly modified SC-500 high-explosive fragmentation bomb was used as a missile warhead. From August 1943 to August 1944, Luftwaffe pilots conducted several dozen raids on Allied ships using Hs-293 ​​bombs. A large number of ships were sunk or damaged.


Hs-293


It should be noted that the use of the Hs-293 bomb against ships was, in a certain sense, an enforced measure. Back in 1941, Henschel began the development of a special modification Hs-293, designed to destroy enemy ships. It was assumed that the new planning bomb Hs-294 would hit ships in the most vulnerable part - in the hull below the waterline. It is easy to see that with this method of attack, the planning bomb could become one of the most effective Luftwaffe anti-ship weapons, since a large hole in the underwater part in most cases leads to the death of the ship.

When developing a new anti-ship bomb, the experience gained in the early stages of the Hs-293 project was widely used, which accordingly affected the appearance of the new ammunition. Bomb Hs-294 was built according to the normal aerodynamic configuration with a trapezoidal wing and vertical tail of a small area. As the fuselage planning bombs used warhead characteristic cone-shaped. The warhead with a total weight of 650 kg could pierce the sides of the ships and undermine the target from the inside. However, a fairly powerful warhead had a large size, which led to the need to design a new tail of the bomb. As a result, the length of the ammunition Hs-294 was 6,15 meter. For comparison, the bomb of the previous model had a length of 3,8 m.

In the middle part of the fuselage-warhead with a diameter of about 0,6 meters were attached console trapezoidal wing span 3,96 m. To control the roll wing was equipped with ailerons. In early versions of the project, under the fuselage, in the wing area, there were two tanks for fuel and an oxidizer for liquid rocket engines. The Walter HWK 109-507 engines themselves were located in the tail section of the bomb, under horizontal tail. The tail part of the fuselage bombs contained control equipment, including the radio command receiver. The control system activated the aileron and elevator steering gears. The rudder was absent due to the relatively small area of ​​the keel and ventral ridge. On the tail, they provided a pyrotechnic tracer designed to track the movements of the bomb and facilitate its targeting.

Henschel Hs-294 planning bomb (Germany)


The anti-ship bomb was quite heavy - with a warhead weighing 650 kg, the total launch weight of the ammunition was 2175 kg. Such a difference in weight was due to the relatively heavy construction of the planes and other aggregates, as well as the mass of fuel.

During the first tests that took place at the end of 1942, the new Hs-294 anti-ship bomb, when dropped from a height of about 5400-5500 meters, was able to hit a target at a distance of up to 13-14 kilometers. Method of use of ammunition as follows. The aircraft carrier Heinkel He-177 was to find the target and go on the combat course. At a sufficient distance from the target (more than 14-15 km), the navigator-scorer should aim a special viewfinder at the target and drop the bomb. After uncoupling, the ammunition had to turn on the rocket engines and accelerate to a speed of about 880-900 km / h. The fuel for the Walter HWK 109-507 engines was only enough for 10 seconds of work, during which they developed thrust for 590 kgf. Next, the navigator with the help of the control panel had to correctly direct the bomb at the target according to the three-point method. At the same time, such an attack was considered correct, in the course of which a bomb at a distance of several tens of meters from the ship entered the water at a slight angle to the surface. After the bomb hit the water, the planes, tanks and tail were separated from it, and the warhead continued to move by inertia. According to the calculations of German experts, at the time of hitting the underwater part of the ship, the combat unit, moving like a torpedo, should have a speed of about 250-300 km / h. With such a speed, the warhead could pierce the hull of almost any ship of the early forties. A powerful explosive charge completed the attack, destroying the ship from the inside.

For some reasons, in the early forties, the Hs-293 project received a higher priority, during which a planning bomb with a high-explosive warhead was created. Work on this ammunition allowed to correct some shortcomings in both projects. Thus, during testing of the Hs-293 bomb, it became clear that the technical personnel of the Luftwaffe units could not provide all the conditions necessary for the operation of complex and capricious liquid rocket engines. In this regard, first Hs-293, and then Hs-294 received new accelerators WASAG 109-512, using solid fuel. Characteristics of rocket engines remained at the same level, but their production and operation became simpler and cheaper.



Updating the Hs-294 bomb with the experience gained from testing other guided munitions has significantly improved its characteristics. The testing and refinement of the anti-ship bomb continued until the 1944 year. According to reports, the planning bomb Hs-294 was adopted by the Luftwaffe in the 1944 year, at the same time began its mass production. According to various sources, the German industry managed to manufacture 120-170 bombs of this type. Despite the relatively large series, the Hs-294 bomb was never used in a real combat situation. Manufactured ammunition was used only for testing and for training bomber crews.

The main carrier of the anti-ship planning bomb Hs-294 was to be a He-177 bomber. The dimensions and characteristics of this aircraft made it possible to transport the bomb on an external sling. The possibility of using a He-111 bomber was also considered. However, the most interesting carrier of the new bomb could be the Arado Ar-234. Because of its relatively small size, this aircraft had to tow a bomb using a special rigid system. This version of the use of the Hs-294 bomb remained on the drawings.

The Henschel He-294 controlled bomb was manufactured serially, but was never used in combat. After the end of World War II, the documentation of the German guided-bomb projects fell into the hands of the Allies. Part of the German developments in the future was used in projects created by the winning countries.



On the materials of the sites:
http://airwar.ru/
http://luftarchiv.de/
http://ausairpower.net/
Author:
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. avt
    avt 23 October 2013 09: 36
    +1
    Actually, according to the title, I thought it would be a wire-guided free-gliding bomb "Fritz", which the Germans well attached the Italian battleship to the British battleship, and which "Savannah" was flashed through the artillery cellar of the main caliber. ...
  2. Taoist
    Taoist 23 October 2013 11: 01
    +2
    The Germans, as always, were "too clever" - the idea of ​​an underwater warhead was theoretically beautiful, but it required guidance accuracy unattainable at that time. After the war, ours tried to reproduce this idea in the Shchuka CD - but out of several dozen test launches, it was not possible to achieve a stable underwater course of the warhead.
  3. Uncle
    Uncle 23 October 2013 16: 24
    +2
    I wonder how she induced? I read about TV guidance, but during World War II it was very cool.
    1. Taoist
      Taoist 23 October 2013 20: 47
      +2
      Well, the term "TV guidance" at that time did not refer to "television" - it just meant "remote control". Successful experiments with radio control, including "air torpedoes" (gliding bombs) were carried out in the USSR as well (remember the work of Bekauri). But the practitioner showed too low the effectiveness of such guidance. All these devices were guided by the so-called. called the "three points" method - i.e. the aiming operator combined the aiming line keeping the target in the sight's viewfinder with a tracer built into the tail of the bomb. Naturally, such guidance had a lot of problems. This is the need for the aircraft carrier to lie on the combat course until it hits the target (which could turn it into an easy target) and restrictions on weather conditions and time of use. A banal smoke screen could make it impossible to aim in principle. And the lag of the falling bomb from the flying plane (that is why, first of all, the Germans stuck an accelerator on their bomb ... In general, the "wunderwafli" did not work out as always.
    2. Andriuha077
      Andriuha077 23 October 2013 22: 02
      0
      The first successful tests were carried out in August 1944, using Seedorf 3 and Tonne 4a guidance equipment. German sources claim that 255 were built, and at least one source claims the Royal Navy's warship was shot down by the HS-293D.
      hs 293 d
  4. uzer 13
    uzer 13 23 October 2013 19: 39
    0
    [the Germans, as always, were "too smart"]
    I just wanted to write the same thing. You just had to drop this bomb from an airplane, just gain more altitude. Having flown 14 km, it will accelerate well without any engines, and the idea of ​​passing the last section of the trajectory under water is complete idiocy .
    1. Boa kaa
      Boa kaa 27 October 2013 12: 08
      +2
      Quote: uzer 13
      the idea of ​​passing under the water the last section of the trajectory is complete idiocy.

      This is the most effective way to send to the bottom of the NK, depriving it of buoyancy. By the way, perfectly implemented in our weapons.
  5. leonardo_1971
    leonardo_1971 23 October 2013 21: 42
    +1
    in time our grandfathers crushed Germany. The Germans were smart people, they had a lot of groundwork.
  6. Altona
    Altona 23 October 2013 21: 56
    +2
    Well, here’s another hello from World War II in the form of a prototype of a cruise missile, with the development of technology all these ideas got a powerful continuation ... Computers, silicon microcircuits, rockets and jet engines, drones, planes with a triangular wing as a prototype of the Shuttle ... Nuclear weapons of course also from there ...
    1. Taoist
      Taoist 24 October 2013 12: 21
      +1
      The war generally stimulates technological progress - and such a big war stimulated it especially strongly. Moreover, the fact that in peacetime will be regarded as a technical adventure in war can get a ticket to life. But do not think that the Germans were suddenly so unique. They just turned out to have such a situation - there was no reason to count on anything other than a child prodigy. And they did not actually invent anything new. They rather brought to production what was invented before them. Radar and asiki Britain. The same cruise missiles and telecontrol - the USSR. And so on on the list ...

Планирующая бомба Henschel Hs-294 (Германия)

Еще в конце тридцатых годов немецкая фирма Henschel начала работы по теме т.н. планирующих бомб. В рамках этой программы предполагалось решить сразу две проблемы: значительно повысить точность попадания авиационных боеприпасов, а также обезопасить самолеты от огня зенитной артиллерии. Первым проектом фирмы Henschel в этой области стала управляемая планирующая бомба Hs-293. Она представляла собой небольшой самолет с дистанционным управлением по радиоканалу (в дальнейшем была создана проводная система управления) и твердотопливными ускорителями. В качестве боевой части ракеты использовалась незначительно доработанная осколочно-фугасная бомба SC-500. С августа 1943 года по август 1944-го летчики Люфтваффе провели несколько десятков налетов на корабли союзников с использованием бомб Hs-293. Большое количество кораблей было потоплено или повреждено.

Планирующая бомба Henschel Hs-294 (Германия)
Hs-293


Необходимо отметить, что использование бомбы Hs-293 против кораблей представляло собой в определенном смысле вынужденную меру. Еще в 1941 году фирма Henschel начала разработку специальной модификации Hs-293, предназначенной для уничтожения кораблей противника. Предполагалось, что новая планирующая бомба Hs-294 будет поражать корабли в наиболее уязвимую часть – в корпус ниже ватерлинии. Нетрудно заметить, что при таком способе атаки планирующая бомба могла стать одним из самых эффективных противокорабельных средств Люфтваффе, поскольку крупная пробоина в подводной части в подавляющем большинстве случаев приводит к гибели корабля.


При разработке новой противокорабельной бомбы широко использовался опыт, полученный на ранних стадиях проекта Hs-293, что соответствующим образом сказалось на облике нового боеприпаса. Бомба Hs-294 была построена по нормальной аэродинамической схеме с трапециевидным крылом и вертикальным оперением малой площади. В качестве фюзеляжа планирующей бомбы использовалась боевая часть характерной конусообразной формы. Боевая часть общим весом 650 кг могла пробивать борта кораблей и подрывать цель изнутри. Однако достаточно мощная боевая часть имела крупные размеры, что привело к необходимости конструирования новой хвостовой части бомбы. В результате длина боеприпаса Hs-294 составила 6,15 метра. Для сравнения, бомба предыдущей модели имела длину 3,8 м.

В средней части к фюзеляжу-боевой части диаметром около 0,6 метра крепились консоли трапециевидного крыла размахом 3,96 м. Для управления по крену крыло оснащалось элеронами. В ранних версиях проекта под фюзеляжем, в районе крыла, располагались два бака для топлива и окислителя жидкостных ракетных двигателей. Сами двигатели Walter HWK 109-507 помещались в хвостовой части бомбы, под горизонтальным оперением. Хвостовая часть фюзеляжа бомбы вмещала в себя аппаратуру управления, в том числе приемник радиокоманд. Система управления приводила в действие рулевые машинки элеронов и руля высоты. Руль направления отсутствовал из-за сравнительно небольшой площади киля и подфюзеляжного гребня. На хвостовом оперении предусмотрели пиротехнический трассер, предназначенный для отслеживания перемещений бомбы и облегчения ее наведения на цель.

Планирующая бомба Henschel Hs-294 (Германия)


Противокорабельная бомба получилась достаточно тяжелой – при боевой части весом 650 кг общая стартовая масса боеприпаса составила 2175 кг. Такая разница в весе была обусловлена сравнительно тяжелой конструкцией плоскостей и других агрегатов, а также массой горючего.

В ходе первых испытаний, прошедших в конце 1942 года, было доказано, что новая управляемая противокорабельная бомба Hs-294 при сбросе с высоты около 5400-5500 метров способна поразить цель на дальности до 13-14 километров. Способ применения боеприпаса выглядел следующим образом. Самолет носитель Heinkel He-177 должен был находить цель и выходить на боевой курс. На достаточном расстоянии от цели (более 14-15 км) штурману-бомбардиру следовало навести на цель специальный визир и произвести сброс бомбы. После отцепки боеприпаса должен был включать ракетные двигатели и разгоняться до скорости около 880-900 км/ч. Топлива для двигателей «Вальтер» HWK 109-507 хватало лишь на 10 секунд работы, в течение которых они развивали тягу по 590 кгс. Далее штурман при помощи пульта управления должен был правильным образом навести бомбу на цель по методике трех точек. При этом правильной считалась такая атака, в ходе которой бомба на расстоянии в несколько десятков метров от корабля входила в воду под небольшим углом к поверхности. После попадания бомбы в воду от нее отделялись плоскости, баки и хвост, а боевая часть по инерции продолжала движение. По расчетам немецких специалистов, в момент попадания в подводную часть корабля боевая часть, движущаяся подобно торпеде, должна была иметь скорость около 250-300 км/ч. При такой скорости боевая часть могла пробить корпус почти любого корабля начала сороковых годов. Мощный заряд взрывчатого вещества завершал атаку, уничтожая корабль изнутри.

В силу некоторых причин в начале сороковых годов больший приоритет получил проект Hs-293, в ходе которого создавалась планирующая бомба с осколочно-фугасной боевой частью. Работы по этому боеприпасу позволили исправить некоторые недочеты в обоих проектах. Так, в ходе испытаний бомбы Hs-293 стало ясно, что технический персонал частей Люфтваффе не сможет обеспечить все условия, необходимые для эксплуатации сложных и капризных жидкостных ракетных двигателей. В связи с этим сперва Hs-293, а затем и Hs-294 получила новые ускорители WASAG 109-512, использовавшие твердое топливо. Характеристики тяги ракетных двигателей остались на прежнем уровне, но их производство и эксплуатация стали проще и дешевле.

Планирующая бомба Henschel Hs-294 (Германия)


Обновление бомбы Hs-294 с учетом опыта, полученного при испытаниях другого управляемого боеприпаса, позволило значительно повысить ее характеристики. Испытания и доводка противокорабельной бомбы продолжались до 1944 года. По имеющимся данным, планирующая бомба Hs-294 была принята на вооружение Люфтваффе в 1944 году, тогда же началось ее серийное производства. Согласно различным источникам, промышленность Германии успела изготовить 120-170 бомб этого типа. Несмотря на сравнительно крупную серию, бомба Hs-294 ни разу не применялась в реальной боевой обстановке. Произведенные боеприпасы использовались лишь на испытаниях и для обучения экипажей бомбардировщиков.

Основным носителем противокорабельной планирующей бомбы Hs-294 должен был стать бомбардировщик He-177. Габариты и характеристики этого самолета позволяли перевозить бомбу на внешней подвеске. Также рассматривалась возможность использования бомбардировщика He-111. Однако самым интересным носителем новой бомбы мог стать самолет Arado Ar-234. Из-за своих сравнительно небольших габаритов этот самолет должен был буксировать бомбу при помощи специальной жесткой системы. Этот вариант применения бомбы Hs-294 так и остался на чертежах.

Управляемая бомба Henschel He-294 изготовлялась серийно, но ни разу не применялась в бою. После окончания Второй мировой войны документация по немецким проектам управляемых бомб попала в руки союзников. Часть немецких наработок в дальнейшем использовалась в проектах, созданных странами-победителями.

Планирующая бомба Henschel Hs-294 (Германия)


По материалам сайтов:
http://airwar.ru/
http://luftarchiv.de/
http://ausairpower.net/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 10
  1. avt 23 октября 2013 09:36
    Вообще то по заголовку я думал речь пойдет об управляемой по проводам свободнопланирующей бомбе ,,Фриц" ,которой немцы хорошо итальянский линейный флот приложили и английский линкор ,ну и которой ,,Саванну " прошили через артпогреб главного калибра .А тут крылатая ракета хеншелевская ,радиоуправляемая.
    avt
  2. Даос 23 октября 2013 11:01
    немцы как всегда "перемудрили" - идея с подводным ходом боевой части была красива теоретически но требовала недостижимой в то время точности наведения. Наши после войны пытались воспроизвести эту идею в КР "Щука" - но из нескольких десятков испытательных пусков добиться устойчивого подводного хода БЧ так и не удалось.
  3. Дядька 23 октября 2013 16:24
    Интересно, как она наводилась? Я читал о теленаведении, но во время 2-й мировой это очень круто.
    1. Даос 23 октября 2013 20:47
      Ну термин "теленаведение" в то время не относился к "телевидению" - а всего лишь обозначал "дистанционное управление". Успешные опыты с радиоуправлением в том числе и "воздушных торпед"(планирующих бомб) проводились в том числе и в СССР (вспомнить работы Бекаури). Но практикак показала слишком низкую эффективность такого наведения. Все эти устройства наводились т.н. называемым методом "трёх точек" - т.е. оператор наведения совмещал линию прицеливания удерживая цель в видоискателе прицела с трассером встроенным в хвостовую часть бомбы. Естественно такое наведение имело очень много проблем. Это и необходимость самолёту носителю лежать на боевом курсе до момента попадания в цель (что его самого могло превратить в лёгкую мишень) и ограничения по погодным условиям и времени применения. Банальная дымовая завеса могла лишить возможности прицеливания в принципе. И отставание падающей бомбы от летящего самолёта (именно поэтому прежде всего немцы воткнули на свою бомбу ускоритель... В общем "вундервафли" как всегда не получилось.
    2. Andriuha077 23 октября 2013 22:02
      Первые успешные испытания были проведены в августе 1944 года, с использованием аппаратуры наведения Seedorf 3 и Tonne 4a. Немецкие источники утверждают, что 255 были построены, и по крайней мере один источник утверждает, военный корабль Королевского флота был сбит HS-293D.
      hs 293 d
  4. uzer 13 23 октября 2013 19:39
    [немцы как всегда "перемудрили"]
    как раз хотел написать то же самое.Надо бы было просто сбрасывать эту бомбу с самолета,высоты только набрать побольше.Пролетев 14 км со снижением ,она и так хорошо разгонится без всяких двигателей,а идея прохождения под водой последнего участка траектории-это полный идиотизм.
    1. Удав КАА 27 октября 2013 12:08
      Цитата: uzer 13
      идея прохождения под водой последнего участка траектории-это полный идиотизм.

      Это самый эффективный способ отправить на дно НК, лишив его плавучести. Кстати, великолепно реализован в наших образцах оружия.
  5. leonardo_1971 23 октября 2013 21:42
    вовремя наши деды задавили Германию.немцы умный народ много у них было наработок.
  6. Altona 23 октября 2013 21:56
    Ну вот еще один привет из Второй Мировой в виде прообраза крылатой ракеты, с развитием технологий все эти идеи получили мощное продолжение... Компьютеры, микросхемы из кремния, ракеты и реактивные двигатели, беспилотники, самолеты с треугольным крылом как прообраз Шаттла...Ядерное оружие конечно тоже оттуда...
    1. Даос 24 октября 2013 12:21
      Война вообще стимулирует технический прогресс - а уж такая большая война стимулировала его особенно сильно. Более того, то что в условиях мирного времени будет расценено как техническая авантюра в условиях войны может получить путёвку в жизнь. Но не стоит думать что это немцы оказались вдруг такие уникальные. У них просто ситуация такая оказалась - ни на что кроме вундервафли рассчитывать не приходилось. Да и не изобрели они собственно ничего нового. Они скорее довели до производства то что было изобретено до них. Радары и асдики британия. Те же крылатые ракеты и телеуправление - СССР. И так далее по списку...

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня