Military Review

War and Cornflakes

17
War and CornflakesFrom the editors. September 18 on our website published an article by Alexander Pavlov “Breakfast”, which described one significant element of America’s modern national identity - the inclination of Americans to poetize the morning food intake.


Morning breakfast is not homemade, but produced in a special cafe where you can serve pancakes with maple syrup, famous for Rain Man, or hot coffee with donuts, sung at Twin Pee, or, at worst, milk with cornflakes All this has not simply grown into our perception of America, but it has become in the pretty way that, through Hollywood, America has made global.

Great connoisseur of American stories the era of two world wars, Mikhail Shevlyakov in his new text reveals that much of what became part of America’s daily life was born during the war, largely due to the need to adapt to its difficult realities. And the same milk with the same cornflakes just from this series ...

* * *

Nowadays, Jingle Bellz and Santa's red pants are firmly associated with Coca-Cola advertising, but in the first half of the 20th century ringing of bells and bright red were an attribute of the Moxie trademark, for which in our time there was no place on the Olympus carbonated.

The battles for the consumer were then not only on the air of radio stations, on billboards along the roads and on bright posters in pharmacies and eateries. This battle went on in military depots: during the years of the Second World Coca-Cola became an army supplier, undermining its competitor positions and winning millions of consumers.

One of the graphic symbols of military history became advertising posters on which American soldiers, pilots and sailors hold bottles of Coca-Cola; The artists of the company painted the exact same bottles in the hands of Soviet and Chinese pilots.

Of course, Moxie also produced patriotic posters, but the advantage was on the side of her competitor, who gained access to the state-owned sugar reserves — and took full advantage of this.

To ensure the fighting of the American army in North Africa, three million bottles of ready-to-drink were sent, and in addition, a concentrate and a factory to organize the spill on the spot. Having started in 1939 with five plants outside the US, Coca-Cola expanded this base to sixty-four plants to 1945, and the world began talking about coca-colonization.

Similarly, earlier, during the First World War, they acted in the struggle for consumers and tobacco companies - supplying cigarettes for the army at a reduced price, they secured a post-war multi-million army of smokers.

* * *

We rarely think about how exactly our everyday life was formed at the level of everyday trifles, habits, traditions, people get used to this “background of life”, it seems to them that this background has always been. However, it turns out that a significant part of what is called the “American way of life”, even those elements that have reached symbolic status, are all part of fairly recent traditions, and many of them are directly related to the wars that the USA waged in the XX century.

To win on the battlefields, it was first necessary to ensure victory on the "home front." The First World War sent Europeans from factories and fields to trenches, and the United States had a great challenge — and a great chance — to become a global supplier.

But it was not enough to provide his army and half of Europe weapons, it was also necessary to feed millions of people, so one of the slogans of that time was “Food Will Win the War”. Led by talented organizer Herbert Hoover United States Food Administration successfully coped with its task. However, in order to provide soldiers with meat and flour, it was first necessary to reduce the consumption of these products by the civilian population within the United States. “Days without meat” and “days without bread” were introduced - and they were replaced by milk and cornflakes for breakfast.

What became for many the symbol of the American morning was really widely spread only as a forced measure of the wartime - but nothing is more permanent than temporary.

* * *

The First World brought America not only milk and cereal, but also suffrage for women.

The success of suffragists was in no small measure predetermined by the increasing role of female workers in America, which became the “global arsenal”. The same need to work for the victory of America and the Entente over the Central Powers pulled women out of corsets and shortened their skirts. “Gibson Girls”, which have been decorating pages of magazines for two decades, are a thing of the past, now the American’s ideal was even more decisive and independent, now they were not only the companions of brave motorists, not only decidedly drove themselves behind the wheel - American during WWI even tried on take on the uniform of street traffic controllers, giving commands to male drivers.

It was the First World War that became the time when ordinary Americans discovered Europe and returned from there completely different from what they were before. It was from the mud of the trenches and short rest in Paris, which became the near rear, that came the life principle that the legendary “roaring twenties” created: live for today, because tomorrow may not be.

Yesterday's provincials were caught up in a whirlwind and thrown into the world of war, where the day could accommodate more than previous years. Joe Young and Sam Lewis grabbed the very essence of change on 1918 by writing an instantly popular song “How 'Ya Gonna Keep' Em Down on the Farm? (After They've Seen Paree), and the nurses who were kissing today with one convalescent lieutenant, and tomorrow with another, remained only half a step before turning into flappers, a carefree symbol of the twenties - and an integral part of a whole layer of American culture.

In order to write the best-selling book “Farewell to Arms”, Hemingway first had to become an ambulance driver himself and be under fire. To get to Europe as a soldier, and only then return to it as a writer - that was his way.

The colossal dispersal taken by the American industry for military purposes turned out to be even redundant - and much of what was done for the needs of the war, but remained unclaimed, passed into the category of civilian goods. In the front-line trenches, the former solid onion watches on the chain gave way to wrist watches, and soon after November 1918, those of them that the officers did not manage to get, sold on the cheap sales and were literally piled in the shop windows once and for all be a status symbol.

A similar situation arose after World War II - then during sales from army warehouses even portable radios were offered, positioned as a more convenient and cheap means of communication for farmers than a telephone, and light training airplanes became an ordinary means of transport.

The war brought with it another level of women's rights and freedoms, and the grown daughters of suffragists, whose hands the 1940s needed for America in even greater numbers, wrote to their husbands in the army and the fleet: “Dear, now I fill in the checks of our family ... "

* * *

What was brought in by the days of war quickly grew into the picture of the American world, becoming part of the peaceful days. Leather jackets - previously used by pilots - have become part of the legendary image of bikers. Returning from the Korean War, they took their places in the cabins of hot rods - and this laid the foundations for a new car tuning industry and created the atmosphere in which 1960-70's muscle cars, a legend of the American era, were born and style.

Rail passenger transportation in the United States, having reached its peak of greatness in the 1950s, has now lost its former scope and lost ground to airplanes - but the very existence of a civil aviation in its current form, it would be impossible without the experience of organization and management that transport aviation gained in the war. And this is not only about the Second World War, hot, when American planes massively and regularly flew even through the "camel hump", overcoming the heights of the Himalayan ridge on the way to China, but also about the cold war - on the air bridge to Berlin during the 1948 crisis .

The era of television development would not have been so turbulent if it had not been for the active development of electronics during the war in the Pacific Ocean, when it depended on whether the radio bombs from anti-aircraft missiles would work, if the sailors could repel the attacks of Japanese aircraft on American ships or go to the bottom .

“I have a dream,” said Martin Luther King and his words became the banner of the civil rights struggle, but civil liberties were gained not only by 1960’s dream. Two decades before, Franklin Delano Roosevelt signed the presidential decree 8802, which confirmed the abolition of racial discrimination in employment in the military industry - not for the sake of civil rights as such, but for the sake of ensuring the work of the industry and reducing social tensions. war

The sixties were a time of not only dreams, but also a time of active action - but the roots of this action went back to the racial insurgency in Harlem 1943 of the year, to which, despite its magnitude and considerable damage, the authorities closed their eyes - for the sake of maintaining the country's unity in of war.

* * *

The current high level of state intervention in the life of Americans, which is often perceived even as an encroachment on freedoms, is also rooted in wartime. Beginning with the events of the First World War (when, ironically, the opponent intervened was Hoover’s intervention), and then during World War II and the subsequent American wars, the state kept a closer look at the citizen, until finally this attention reached its current forms .

The state is interested in not only the bare feet of passengers at airports and Internet accounts - in terms of health insurance reform, which bothers some Americans, it also contains elements of privacy: a pebble that has gone down in extreme conditions of war has created an avalanche largely become commonplace American life.

From ideas and images to objects of purely material - the spread of military seeds is very wide and sometimes gives the most unexpected shoots. Random phenomena, temporary solutions, decisive changes - they all add up to a mosaic of everyday background, eventually taking a noble-old look. But one has only to look closely - and a thread that leads us to the history of the American wars, not only from the Halls of Montezuma to the Shores of Tripoli, but also those that were not so long ago, will pull over quite completely ordinary things, but also those that were not so long ago ...
Author:
Originator:
http://terra-america.ru/
17 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Rus86
    Rus86 31 October 2013 08: 30
    +4
    something the idea and meaning of the article did not reach me ...
    1. avt
      avt 31 October 2013 09: 53
      +7
      Quote: Rus86
      something the idea and meaning of the article did not reach me ...

      The author was so carried away by the beauty of the syllable that he forgot to emphasize the main idea of ​​the article, inviting readers to think up and conclude what is good and what is bad.
    2. matross
      matross 31 October 2013 20: 14
      +4
      Quote: Rus86
      did not reach me ...

      It’s sad. The article is excellent. Since the meaning did not reach immediately, it makes no sense to explain.
      To the author: I absolutely agree with you. Most, if not all, of the trends in modern mass culture come from the US military need. Even the victory of cigarettes over cigarettes ...
      1. POCC
        POCC 2 November 2013 01: 04
        0
        I agree makes you think
  2. igordok
    igordok 31 October 2013 08: 36
    10
    Canned SPAM - a household name. Sale of surplus after WWII.
  3. Selevc
    Selevc 31 October 2013 09: 24
    18
    As the saying goes "To whom the war is and to whom the mother is dear" !!! The war for America was never a national tragedy, but rather a dangerous adventure in the spirit of Hollywood films ... So while Russia was bleeding, they were playing war !!!
    1. Mikhail3
      Mikhail3 31 October 2013 15: 36
      +1
      They stuffed moshna. This is not a game, it’s a serious matter.
  4. Landwarrior
    Landwarrior 31 October 2013 09: 36
    0
    The article is interesting.
    Only one but- From the hills of montezuma hi
    USMC anthem after all wink
  5. makarov
    makarov 31 October 2013 09: 40
    +1
    Quote: Rus86
    something the idea and meaning of the article did not reach me ...


    interesting review material on the history and consequences, on a specific fact.
    1. Rus86
      Rus86 31 October 2013 14: 00
      0
      hmm, if only so)
  6. Tyumen
    Tyumen 31 October 2013 10: 53
    +7
    When the supply of ingredients for the production of Coca-Cola stopped in Germany,
    the Germans invented the "orange" drink "Fanta" from apple cake and whey.
  7. The Indian Joe
    The Indian Joe 31 October 2013 11: 51
    +3
    What is the article about?
  8. kaktus
    kaktus 31 October 2013 16: 12
    +2
    "No meat days and no bread days were introduced and replaced by milk and cornflakes for breakfast."

    Sixteen thousand mothers
    rations will be received at dawn -
    one hundred twenty five blockade grams
    with fire and blood in half.
    O. Bergholz

    To war, to whom mother is dear ...
    1. asadov
      asadov 31 October 2013 19: 28
      +2
      I agree completely. And I’ll add - a well-fed hungry one will not understand.
  9. Shaman 21101973
    Shaman 21101973 31 October 2013 19: 06
    +2
    Quote: Selevc
    As the saying goes "To whom the war is and to whom the mother is dear" !!! The war for America was never a national tragedy, but rather a dangerous adventure in the spirit of Hollywood films ... So while Russia was bleeding, they were playing war !!!

    And while not bad grandmas earned ....
  10. Polovec
    Polovec 31 October 2013 21: 54
    +2
    It is sad when, instead of studying our history, we are QUALITATIVELY given the history of the enemy. Yes, they know how to earn money on everything. Can not argue. But breakfasts in Russian families are still dearer to me.
  11. fisherman
    fisherman 31 October 2013 22: 05
    0
    An interesting interpretation of causal relationships.
  12. amicus
    amicus 1 November 2013 08: 49
    +1
    The article, as the name of the film: "The story of Asya Klyachina, who loved, but never married."
    Yes, there is a causal relationship, but what's next?
    What is this to us ...?
    The grandiloquent syllable serves the history of America:

    "..To win the battlefields .."
    "..The United States has a great task .."
    ".. Railroad passenger transportation in the United States, peaking in the 1950s ..,
    "..but civil liberties were obtained ..."

    Great role, Great task ... constant struggle ... one continuous greatness.
    It turns out that the author wanted to talk about the connection between small things and war, and he promoted American brands, both commercial and political ..
    The sources of our everyday life are much more interesting .. and our habits! Well, or at worst an overview of the big picture! wink
  13. svp67
    svp67 4 November 2013 10: 48
    0
    The author simply collected a large number of interesting facts, deciding to look at the history of the United States through the prism of "war - and new traditions in food culture", but where are the CONCLUSIONS? Or what is this article written for?

Война и кукурузные хлопья

Война и кукурузные хлопьяОт редакции. 18 сентября на нашем сайте была опубликована статья Александра Павлова «Завтрак», в которой рассказывалось об одном значимом элементе современной национальной идентичности Америки – склонности американцев поэтизировать утреннее потребление пищи.

Утренний завтрак – причем не домашний, а произведенный в специальном кафе, где тебе могут подать прославленные «Человеком дождя» блинчики с кленовым сиропом, или же воспетый в «Твин пикс» горячий кофе с донатсами, или на худой конец просто молоко с кукурузными хлопьями – все это не просто вросло в наше восприятие Америки, но стало тем симпатичным образом, который посредством Голливуда Америка сделала глобальным.

Отличный знаток американской истории эпохи двух мировых войн Михаил Шевляков в своем новом тексте обнаруживает, что многое из того, что стало частью повседневной жизни Америки, родилось во время войны во многом в силу необходимости адаптироваться к ее тяжелым реалиям. И то самое молоко с теми самыми кукурузными хлопьями как раз из этой серии…


* * *

В наши дни Jingle Bellz и красные штаны Санта Клауса прочно связаны с рекламой Кока-колы, но в первой половине XX века звон колокольчиков и ярко-красный цвет были атрибутом торговой марки Moxie, для которой в наше время уже не нашлось места на газированном Олимпе.

Битвы за потребителя шли тогда не только в эфире радиостанций, на рекламных щитах вдоль дорог и на ярких плакатах в аптеках и закусочных. Эта битва шла и на военных складах: в годы Второй Мировой Кока-кола стала армейским поставщиком, – подорвав позиции конкурента и завоевав миллионы потребителей.

Одним из графических символов военной истории стали рекламные плакаты, на которых бутылки кока-колы держат американские солдаты, летчики и моряки; точно такие же бутылки художники компании рисовали в руках у советских и китайских пилотов.

Разумеется, Мокси тоже выпускала рекламные плакаты в патриотическом стиле, но перевес был на стороне ее конкурента, получившего доступ к распределявшимся государством запасам сахара – и воспользовавшегося этим в полной мере.

Для обеспечения боевых действий американской армии в Северной Африке были отправлены три миллиона бутылок готового напитка, а кроме того – концентрат и завод для организации разлива на месте. Начав в 1939-м с пятью заводами за пределами США, Кока-кола к 1945-му расширила эту базу до шестидесяти четырех заводов, а мир заговорил о кока-колонизации.

Точно так же ранее, в годы Первой Мировой войны, действовали в борьбе за потребителя и табачные компании – поставляя сигареты для армии по сниженной цене, они обеспечили себе послевоенную многомиллионную армию курильщиков.

* * *

Мы нечасто задумываемся над тем, как именно сформировалась наша повседневность на уровне бытовых мелочей, привычек, традиций, люди привыкают к этому «фону жизни», им кажется, что этот фон был всегда. Однако на поверку выходит, что значительная часть того, что называется «американским образом жизни», даже те его элементы, которые достигли символического статуса – это все часть довольно недавних традиций, и многие из них непосредственно связаны с теми войнами, которые США вели в XX веке.

Чтобы одержать победу на полях сражений, требовалось вначале обеспечить победу на «домашнем фронте». Первая Мировая война отправила европейцев с фабрик и полей в окопы, и Соединенным Штатам выпала великая задача – и великий шанс – стать всемирным поставщиком.

Но мало было обеспечить свою армию и половину Европы оружием, надо было еще и накормить миллионы людей, поэтому одним из лозунгов того времени стал «Food Will Win the War». Возглавленная талантливым организатором Гербертом Гувером United States Food Administration успешно справилась с поставленной перед ней задачей. Однако для того, чтобы обеспечить солдат мясом и мукой, потребовалось вначале сократить потребление этих продуктов гражданским населением внутри США. Были введены «дни без мяса» и «дни без хлеба» – а на смену им пришли молоко и кукурузные хлопья на завтрак.

То, что стало для многих символом американского утра, получило действительно массовое распространение лишь как вынужденная мера военной поры – но нет ничего более постоянного, чем временное.

* * *

Первая Мировая принесла Америке не только молоко и хлопья, но также избирательное право для женщин.

Успех суфражисток был в немалой степени предопределен возрастанием роли женских рабочих рук в ставшей «всемирным арсеналом» Америке. Та же необходимость работать на победу Америки и Антанты над Центральными державами вытащила женщин из корсетов и укоротила их юбки. «Девушки Гибсона», два десятка лет украшавшие страницы журналов, отошли в прошлое, теперь идеал американки был еще более решительным и независимым, теперь они не только были спутницами отважных автомобилистов, не только решительно сами садились за руль – американки во время Первой Мировой даже примерили на себя униформу уличных регулировщиков, отдавая команды водителям-мужчинам.

Именно Первая Мировая стала тем временем, когда простые американцы открыли для себя Европу и вернулись оттуда совсем не теми, какими были раньше. Именно из грязи окопов и коротких отдыхов в Париже, – ставшем ближним тылом, – пришел тот жизненный принцип, который создал легендарные «ревущие двадцатые»: живи сегодняшним днем, ведь завтра может не быть.

Вчерашние провинциалы были подхвачены вихрем и брошены в мир войны, где день мог вместить в себя больше, чем прежние годы. Джо Янг и Сэм Льюис ухватили в 1918-м самую суть перемен, написав мгновенно ставшую популярной песенку «How ‘Ya Gonna Keep ‘Em Down on the Farm? (After They’ve Seen Paree)», а медсестрам, целовавшимся сегодня с одним выздоравливающим лейтенантом, а завтра с другим, оставалось лишь полшага до превращения в флапперс, беззаботный символ двадцатых – и неотъемлемую часть целого пласта американской культуры.

Чтобы написать ставшую бестселлером книгу «Прощай, оружие», Хэмингуэй вначале сам должен был стать водителем санитарного автомобиля и оказаться под огнем. Попасть в Европу как солдат, и лишь затем вернуться в нее как писатель – таким был его путь.

Колоссальный разгон, взятый американской промышленностью ради военных целей, оказался даже избыточным – и многое из того, что делалось для нужд войны, но осталось невостребованным, перешло в категорию гражданских товаров. Во фронтовых траншеях прежние солидные часы-луковицы на цепочке уступили место наручным часам, а вскоре после ноября 1918 года те из них, что не успели достаться офицерам, угодили на дешевые распродажи и были свалены в витринах буквально кучами – так обладание часами раз и навсегда перестало быть статусным символом.

Подобная ситуация сложилась и после Второй Мировой – тогда при распродажах с армейских складов предлагались даже портативные рации, позиционировавшиеся как более удобное и дешевое средство связи для фермеров, чем телефон, а легкие тренировочные самолеты становились обыденным транспортным средством.

Война принесла с собой и еще один уровень женских прав и свобод, и ставшие взрослыми дочери суфражисток, чьи руки потребовались Америке 1940-х в еще больших количествах, писали мужьям в армию и на флот: «Дорогой, теперь я сама заполняю чеки нашей семьи…»

* * *

То, что было привнесено днями войны, быстро врастало в картину американского мира, становясь частью мирных дней. Кожаные куртки – ранее использовавшиеся летчиками – превратились в часть легендарного образа байкеров. Вернувшиеся с Корейской войны заняли места в кабинах хот-родов – и этим заложили основы новой отрасли, связанной с тюнингом автомобилей, а также создали ту атмосферу, в которой родились muscle cars 1960-70-х, явившиеся легендой американской автомобильной промышленности и красочным символом эпохи и стиля.

Железнодорожные пассажирские перевозки в США, достигнув пика своего величия в 1950-х, в наше время утратили былой размах и уступили свои позиции самолетам – но само существование гражданской авиации в ее нынешнем виде было бы невозможно без того опыта организации и управления, который транспортная авиация получила на войне. И речь не только о войне Второй Мировой, горячей, когда американские самолеты массово и регулярно летали даже через «горб верблюда», преодолевая высоты Гималайского хребта по пути в Китай, но и о войне холодной – на воздушном мосту в Берлин во время кризиса 1948 года.

Эпоха развития телевидения не была бы такой бурной, если бы не активное развитие электроники во время войны на Тихом океане, когда от того, сработают ли радиовзрыватели у зенитных снарядов, зависело – смогут ли моряки отразить атаки японских самолетов на американские корабли, или отправятся на дно.

«I have a dream» – произнес Мартин Лютер Кинг и его слова стали знаменем борьбы за гражданские права, но гражданские свободы добывались не одной только мечтой 1960-х. За два десятилетия до того Франклин Делано Рузвельт подписал президентский указ 8802, которым подтвердил отмену расовой дискриминации при приеме на работу в военной промышленности – не ради гражданских прав как таковых, а ради обеспечения работы промышленности и снижения общественного напряжения в преддверии предстоящего вступления США во Вторую Мировую войну.

Шестидесятые были временем не только мечтаний, но и временем активного действия – но корни этого действия восходили к расовому мятежу в Гарлеме 1943 года, на который, несмотря на всю его масштабность и причиненный им значительный ущерб, власти закрыли глаза – ради сохранения единства страны в условиях войны.

* * *

Современный высокий уровень вмешательства государства в жизнь американцев, который нередко воспринимается даже как посягательство на свободы – тоже уходит корнями в военные времена. Начиная с мероприятий Первой Мировой (когда, по иронии судьбы, одним из главных вмешивавшихся стал противник вмешательства Гувер), и затем во время Второй Мировой и последующих американских войн, государство все более внимательно присматривалось к гражданину, пока наконец это внимание не достигло своих нынешних форм.

Государству интересны не только босые ноги пассажиров в аэропортах и интернет-аккаунты – в том плане реформы медицинского страхования, которая не дает покоя некоторым американцам, также содержатся элементы вмешательства в частную жизнь: камушек, покатившийся вниз в чрезвычайных условиях войны, породил лавину, уже во многом ставшую обыденностью американской жизни.

От идей и образов до предметов сугубо материальных – разброс военных семян весьма широк и дает порой самые неожиданные всходы. Случайные явления, временные решения, решительные изменения – все они складываются в мозаику будничного фона, со временем принимая благородно-старинный вид. Но стоит лишь присмотреться – и за многими совершенно обыденными вещами потянется ниточка, уводящая нас к истории американских войн, не только from the Halls of Montezuma to the Shores of Tripoli, но и тех, что были не так-то и давно…
Автор: Михаил Шевляков
Первоисточник: http://terra-america.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 17
  1. Rus86 31 октября 2013 08:30
    что то идея и смысл статьи до меня не дошел...
    1. avt 31 октября 2013 09:53
      Цитата: Rus86
      что то идея и смысл статьи до меня не дошел...

      Автор так увлекся красотой слога ,что забыл акцентировать главную собственную мысль статьи ,предлагая читателям самим додумать и сделать вывод - что такое хорошо ,а что такое плохо .
      avt
    2. матРосс 31 октября 2013 20:14
      Цитата: Rus86
      до меня не дошел...

      Печально. Статья отличная. Раз смысл не дошёл сразу - объяснять бессмысленно.
      Автору: абсолютно с Вами согласен. Большинство, если не все, тенденции современной масскультуры, родом из военной необходимости США. Даже победа сигарет над папиросами...
      1. pocc 2 ноября 2013 01:04
        Согласен заставляет думать
        pocc
  2. igordok 31 октября 2013 08:36
    Консервы SPAM - название ставшее нарицательным. Распродажа излишков после ВМВ.
  3. Selevc 31 октября 2013 09:24
    Как говорится "Кому война а кому и мать родна" !!! Война для Америки никогда не была национальной трагедией а скорее опасным приключением в духе фильмов Голливуда... Так что пока Россия истекала кровью они игрались в войнушку !!!
    1. михаил3 31 октября 2013 15:36
      Они набивали мошну. Это не игра, дело серьезное.
  4. Landwarrior 31 октября 2013 09:36
    Статья интересная.
    Только одно но- From the hills of montezuma hi
    Гимн USMC, как никак wink
  5. makarov 31 октября 2013 09:40
    Цитата: Rus86
    что то идея и смысл статьи до меня не дошел...


    интересный обзорный материал об истории и последствиях, на конкретном фактаже.
    makarov
    1. Rus86 31 октября 2013 14:00
      хм, если только так)
  6. тюменец 31 октября 2013 10:53
    Когда в Германию прекратились поставки ингредиентов для производства "Coca-Cola",
    немцы изобрели из яблочного жмыха и сыворотки "апельсиновый" напиток "Fanta".
    тюменец
  7. Индеец Джо 31 октября 2013 11:51
    А о чём статья?
    Индеец Джо
  8. kaktus 31 октября 2013 16:12
    "Были введены «дни без мяса» и «дни без хлеба» – а на смену им пришли молоко и кукурузные хлопья на завтрак."

    Шестнадцать тысяч матерей
    пайки получат на заре —
    сто двадцать пять блокадных грамм
    с огнем и кровью пополам.
    О. Берггольц

    Кому война, кому мать родна...
    kaktus
    1. asadov 31 октября 2013 19:28
      согласен полностью. И еще добавлю - сытый голодного не поймет.
  9. Shaman 21101973 31 октября 2013 19:06
    Цитата: Selevc
    Как говорится "Кому война а кому и мать родна" !!! Война для Америки никогда не была национальной трагедией а скорее опасным приключением в духе фильмов Голливуда... Так что пока Россия истекала кровью они игрались в войнушку !!!

    И при этом не плохие бабки зарабатывали....
    Shaman 21101973
  10. Polovec 31 октября 2013 21:54
    Печально, когда вместо изучения своей истории нам КАЧЕСТВЕННО подается история врага. Да, деньги они умеют зарабатывать на всем. Не поспоришь. Но завтраки в русских семьях мне все таки роднее.
  11. рыбакол 31 октября 2013 22:05
    Интересная интерпретация причинно-следственных связей.
  12. amicus 1 ноября 2013 08:49
    Статья , как название фильма: «История Аси Клячиной, которая любила, да не вышла замуж».
    Да причинно-следственная связь имеется , но что дальше то?
    Нам то что от этого ...?
    Высокопарным слогом подается история Америки :

    "..Чтобы одержать победу на полях сражений.."
    "..Соединенным Штатам выпала великая задача.."
    "..Железнодорожные пассажирские перевозки в США, достигнув пика своего величия в 1950-х..,
    "..но гражданские свободы добывались ..."

    Великая роль,Великая задача...постоянная борьба...одно сплошное величие.
    Получается ,что автор хотел рассказать о связи бытовых мелочей и войны , а пиарил американские бренды, как торговые так и политические..
    Гораздо интересней истоки нашего быта..и наших привычек! Ну или на худой конец обзор общей картины! wink
  13. svp67 4 ноября 2013 10:48
    Автор просто собрал большое количество интересных фактов, решив взглянуть на историю США через призму "войны - и новых традиций в культуре еды",но где же ВЫВОДЫ? Или ради чего написана эта статья?

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня