Military Review

Life Guards Finnish Regiment: the brave "Finns" in the service of the Russian Empire

8
Life Guards Finnish Regiment: the brave "Finns" in the service of the Russian Empire

The Life Guards Finnish Regiment was formed under the auspices of Grand Duke Konstantin Pavlovich as a battalion of the imperial police. In 1811, he was transformed into the Imperial Life Guards Finnish Regiment. What role did he play in the victories of the Russian army during the First World War?


The regiment got its name thanks to the first recruitment, which consisted of Finnish peasants.

The commanders of the Russian army highly appreciated the skills and courage of the soldiers of the Finnish regiment on the battlefield. By the number of St. George's crosses, the Finnish soldiers had no equal. The regiment was served by prominent figures of national culture, among whom were the conductor of the regimental orchestra Nikolay Titov, artist Pavel Fedotov and others.

The Day of St. Spyridon, revered by the Russian Orthodox Church 12 December, is considered the regimental feast of the Finns. The chapel of St. Spyridon is located in St. Petersburg. In the same place (near the building of the Officers' Assembly of the Finnish Regiment) there was a regimental library and a monument to the Grenadier Leonty Korennoy.

They composed songs about him, and Napoleon himself cited him as an example to his soldiers. The monument to the hero was created at the expense of officers of the Life Guards of the Finnish regiment, it depicted Leonty Roysenna in the battle of Leipzig.

An expert of the working group of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation on issues of militaryhistorical reconstruction and assistance to the study and preservation of Russian military history Dmitry Klochkov:

“Leontiy Korennoy, as is known, was a soldier of the Finnish Regiment's Life Guards, who in the Battle of the Nations under Leipzig proved courage and set an example of a feat for the rest of the lower ranks. He was a man who was awarded the Cross of St. George, more precisely, a sign of a military order, for Borodino.

During the Battle of the Nations near Leipzig, he was able, with his entourage, to help the retreating soldiers and officers of his regiment. In particular, the staff officer and several officers were able to get over the stone wall, and he could cover them with a bayonet, a gun, received many wounds, was captured by the French.

He had more than 18 injuries, but the French, seeing his courage, valor, cured him and even then released him. When he came to the regiment again, he was already appointed not as an ordinary second-ensign, but as a standard-bearer. He was honored. "

Unfortunately, only a dilapidated pedestal with the inscription "To the Native Regiment" remained from the monument to Rootne. But the people's memory of the hero of the Life Guards Finnish Regiment is alive. The Finnish people praised the heroism and patriotism of their comrades in the regimental song:

"Finnish people, you have gained fame
Wherever you went into battle,
In the battles saw fun
Every one of you was a hero.
Steel breasts pave
The path to honor - glory led you,
Remember where the enemy we beat -
Here are your former affairs ... "


On the eve of the First World War, the Finnish regiment celebrated the solemn arrival of the French squadron with the President of the Republic of Poincaré. Nobody even thought that soon there would be practically nothing left of the Russian part, that almost all the valiant youth would die on the battlefield, defending Russia and its ally France.

26 July 1914, a part-time prayer service was served in the regiment and a ceremonial march took place. The lifeguard of the Finnish regiment set off towards Warsaw. The main task assigned to the guardsmen was to strike German troops in the direction of Warsaw-Poznan-Berlin, said Stanislav Malyshev, the chairman of the military history club "Soldiers of the Fatherland":

“At various times the regiments were loaded into Petersburg trains and in its suburbs. But the 7 of August, the entire second division, which included the regiment, came to the western province. Here the Finns had to make the first shots at the enemy — near the settlements of Grodzisk and Lovich. August 21 The Guards Corps was redeployed to the south-western front, to the Lublin area. On August 24, the Finnish regiment began the first major battle near the village of Gelchev. "
The personnel of the regiment was strong in both number and skill. In the unit there were a lot of non-commissioned officers who were put into service as ordinary ordinary fighters due to overflow. They died first.

The three-day battle near the village of Gelchev became the baptism of the Finnish regiment in the Great War. On August 25, the regiment commander set combat missions for the battalions. By the time the village was already shelled with artillery. On the night of 27 August 1914, the battalions moved forward, and at dawn the regiment with other parts of the division took part in the attack on the enemy. The Austrians were forced to withdraw.

The Life Guards Finnish Regiment played a significant role in the end of the Battle of Galicia - the first battle in the world with a huge number of troops. The regiment joined the Austro-Hungary and reached the Vistula River, where the so-called Ivangorod battles took place.

After this campaign, the commander of the regiment, Major General Teplov was awarded the Order of St. George IV degree. In winter, the regiment fought in the battles on the Krakow direction. The 1915 summer of the year was particularly bloody - the regiment fought and held out in battles on the Vepr River.

Despite the lack of projectiles and ammunition over a series of battles, as well as the lack of weapons and equipment, the regiment beat off the attacks of the enemy. In the Battle of Kovel, Captain Slashchev became famous for his feat. At the appointed hour for an attack, standing upright, crossing himself, with a naked saber in his hand, he led the fighters forward.

In the same battle, Slashchev went to the main trenches of the enemy, and when he stood between Major General Baron Klodt von Jurgensburg and the Germans, several soldiers ran out to cover Staff Captain Slashchev and prevent him from dying from the enemy’s hand.

In the winter of 1916-1917, the Finnish regiment was gathering strength for the upcoming spring offensive. 15 March 1917 (new style) was the abdication of the emperor Nicholas II. Outbreaks of rebellion were met in the regiment with a heavy feeling.

During the summer of 1917, the Finnish regiment participated in the so-called June offensive, breaking through the German positions, and fought under Chorostets. In these battles, the regiment lost its captain Petrovsky, lieutenants Melnitsky and Teglev, ensign Bakhmutov.

The last battle of the Life Guards Finnish Regiment took place in October 1917. After this, the Life Guards Finnish floor was disbanded by the decision of the new Russian authorities, Stanislav Malyshev said:

"All the regiments of the former Imperial army were officially abolished, but the most conscious and devoted officers and lower ranks in the fight against the Bolsheviks made their way to the Don. Alexander Moller, at that time already colonel, proceeded with the new formation of the regiment near Novocherkassk, to recreate it as part of the Don White Army.

The core of the regiment consisted of 27 personnel and wartime officers, which were joined by non-commissioned officers and privates, those who were able to arrive at the Don. Mobilization was carried out, and new people came to them. 13 June 1918, the regiment was revived. He took part in many campaigns of the Don Army, and after retreating in March, 1920 joined the Volunteer Army and joined the consolidated guards regiment. "
Author:
Originator:
http://rus.ruvr.ru/
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Apollo
    Apollo 29 October 2013 09: 48
    +2
    quote-Life-Guards The Finnish regiment played a significant role in ending the Battle of Galicia - the world's first battle with a huge number of troops. The regiment entered Austria-Hungary and reached the Vistula River, where the so-called Ivangorod battles took place.

    That’s the regiment’s march.
    1. Nagaibak
      Nagaibak 29 October 2013 10: 03
      0
      Apollon "This is the regiment's march itself."
      Apollon thanks for the march! Thanks to the author for the article. I would like to add that there were also Finland rifle regiments. I'm interested in info on the 7th Finland Rifle Regiment during the First World War. I would be grateful for the help.
    2. Aydar
      Aydar 29 October 2013 18: 14
      0
      Recalls the march of Gloria Leib-Standard LSSAH.
    3. The comment was deleted.
  2. Kostya pedestrian
    Kostya pedestrian 29 October 2013 11: 05
    +1
    Finns are great. Their liqueurs were once some of the best in the USSR. And how beautifully they made the winners in the Tsushima battle on beer. Here is an example of a yar-lyka from a Finnish beer, just beat carefully, so that later the bast is not knitted, and the degrees are thermonuclear! As Viktor Nochnoy sings: "More Gas, less holes!"
  3. dropout
    dropout 29 October 2013 12: 46
    +1
    Yes, there was a time when it was a great honor for every resident of the EMPIRE (regardless of nationality) to SERVE the White Tsar.
  4. Leisure
    Leisure 29 October 2013 14: 18
    +2
    Were there Finns in the regiment? Something the characters have not very Finnish surnames.
  5. 4952915
    4952915 29 October 2013 14: 58
    +1
    I will join the Lazer question, really, but the ethnic Finns were in the regiment ?!
  6. Kazakh
    Kazakh 29 October 2013 15: 35
    0
    Outstanding figures of national culture served in the regiment, among them were Nikolai Titov, conductor of the regiment’s orchestra, artist Pavel Fedotov and others. Regiment commander Major General Teplov Leonty Korenoy, as you know, was a soldier of the Life Guards of the Finland Regiment
    I wonder if the Finns were there? Or is it Finnish pseudonyms laughing
  7. 4952915
    4952915 29 October 2013 16: 15
    +2
    A little off topic. I recalled a joke about the Polish Army since the Great Patriotic War. As you know, in order to give the proud Poles at least minimal military stability, many Russians, Ukrainians, Belarusians with surnames similar to Polish served in their units. So, a joke.
    Before the battle in the regiment of the Polish Army prayer service. The priests stick a crucifix to the soldier’s face, - Kiss!
    - I can’t, comrade clergyman, I’m a Komsomol member!
    - It is necessary, fighter, it is necessary! I myself am a communist.
    It seems that in the Finnish regiment there were few proud Suomilaines)))
  8. 4952915
    4952915 29 October 2013 16: 19
    +2
    Gentlemen moderators! Please, come up with another, more robust flood protection, it’s not very interesting to recruit a long post for the second time.
    "The Polish army was not purely Polish. Soviet soldiers and officers were sent there in large numbers. Only officers and generals of the Soviet Army were sent 20 thousand people. Officially, it was apparently believed that they had front-line experience, unlike Polish officers. , but, one must think, the Soviet government did not want to repeat such experiments as with Anders' army, which betrayed the common cause at the most difficult moment.

    My father said that at that time from their unit they sent to the Polish Army everyone whose surname was similar to the Polish one - ending in "... sky". I recalled a front-line anecdote. Before the battle, a prayer service is held in the Polish regiment. The priest walks along the line of soldiers giving them a kiss on the crucifix. One soldier refuses - "I can't, I'm a Komsomol member." - "Kiss - the priest hisses, - I myself am a communist." "YI Mukhin. Probably the same story with the Finnish regiment?
  9. Walking
    Walking 1 November 2013 17: 02
    0
    The Finns did not serve in the Imperial army by law.

Лейб-гвардии Финляндский полк: храбрые "финны" на службе Российской империи

Лейб-гвардии Финляндский полк: храбрые "финны" на службе Российской империи

Лейб-гвардии Финляндский полк был сформирован под покровительством великого князя Константина Павловича как батальон императорской милиции. В 1811 году он был преобразован в Императорский лейб-гвардии Финляндский полк. Какую роль сыграл он в победах русской армии во время Первой мировой войны?

Свое название полк получил благодаря первому набору, который состоял из крестьян-финнов.

Командующие русской армии высоко ценили выучку и храбрость солдат Финляндского полка на поле боя. По количеству георгиевских крестов солдатам-финляндцам не было равных. В полку служили выдающиеся деятели отечественной культуры, среди которых были дирижер полкового оркестра Николай Титов, художник Павел Федотов и другие.


День святого Спиридона, почитаемого Русской православной церковью 12 декабря, считается полковым праздником финляндцев. Часовня святого Спиридона находится в Санкт-Петербурге. Там же (около здания Офицерского собрания Финляндского полка) находилась полковая библиотека и памятник гренадеру Леонтию Коренному.

О нем слагали песни, и сам Наполеон приводил его в пример своим солдатам. Монумент герою был создан на средства офицеров Лейб-гвардии Финляндского полка, на нем был изображен Леонтий Коренной в битве под Лейпцигом.

О Леонтии Коренном рассказал эксперт рабочей группы Министерства культуры РФ по вопросам военно-исторических реконструкций и содействия изучению и сохранению отечественной военной истории Дмитрий Клочков:

"Леонтий Коренной, как известно, был солдат Лейб-гвардии Финляндского полка, который в Битве народов под Лейпцигом доказал храбрость и показал пример подвига для остальных нижних чинов. Это был человек, награжденный Георгиевским крестом, точнее, знаком военного ордена, за Бородино.

Во время Битвы народов под Лейпцигом он смог при окружении помочь отступающим солдатам и офицерам своего полка. В частности, штаб-офицер и несколько офицеров смогли перебраться через каменную ограду, а он штыком, ружьем смог их прикрыть, получил множество ранений, был захвачен в плен французами.

У него было более 18 ранений, но французы, увидев его храбрость, доблесть, вылечили его и даже потом отпустили. Когда он попал в полк вновь, то был уже назначен не рядовым подпрапорщиком, а знаменосцем. Ему была оказана большая честь".

К сожалению, от памятника Коренному остался лишь полуразрушенный пьедестал с надписью "Родному полку". Но жива народная память о герое Лейб-гвардии Финляндского полка. Финляндцы восхваляли героизм и патриотизм своих товарищей в полковой песне:

"Финляндцы, вы стяжали славу
Повсюду где ходили в бой,
В сраженьях видели забаву,
Там каждый был из вас герой.
Стальною грудью проложили
Путь к чести - слава вас вела,
Вспомянем, где врага мы били -
Вот ваши прежние дела…"


Накануне Первой мировой войны Финляндский полк праздновал торжественное прибытие Французской эскадры с президентом республики Пуанкаре. Ни у кого даже мысли не было, что в скором времени от русской части практически ничего не останется, что почти вся доблестная молодежь погибнет на поле боя, защищая Россию и ее союзницу Францию.

26 июля 1914 года в полку был отслужен напутственный молебен и прошел церемониальный марш. Лейб-гвардии Финляндский полк отправился в сторону Варшавы. Главной задачей, поставленной перед гвардейцам, было нанесение удара по немецким войска в направлении Варшава-Познань-Берлин, рассказал председатель военно-исторического клуба "Солдаты Отечества" Станислав Малышев:

"Полки в разное время грузились в Петербурге и в его окрестностях в эшелоны. Но 7 августа вся вторая дивизия, куда входил полк, пришла к западной губернии. Здесь финляндцам пришлось сделать первые выстрелы по врагу - у населенных пунктов Гродзиск и Лович. 21 августа весь гвардейский корпус был переброшен на юго-западный фронт, в район Люблина. 24 августа финляндский полк принялся первое крупное сражение у деревни Гелчев".
Личный состав полка был силен и числом и умением. В части было множество унтер-офицеров, которых из-за переполнения рот поставили в строй как простых рядовых бойцов. Они погибали первыми.

Трехдневный бой у деревни Гелчев стал боевым крещением Финляндского полка в Великую войну. 25 августа командир полка поставил батальонам боевые задачи. К тому моменту деревня уже обстреливалась артиллерией. В ночь на 27 августа 1914 года батальоны двинулись вперед, и на рассвете полк с другими частями дивизии принял участие в атаке на противника. Австрийцы были вынуждены отойти.

Лейб-Гвардии Финляндский полк сыграл значительную роль в завершении Галицийской битвы - первого в мире сражения с огромным количеством войск. Полк вступил в Австро-Венгрию и дошел до реки Вислы, где шли так называемые ивангородские бои.

После этого похода командир полка генерал-майор Теплов был награжден Орденом святого Георгия IV степени. Зимой полк сражался в боях на Краковском направлении. Лето 1915 года было особенно кровопролитным - полк сражался и выстоял в боях на реке Вепрь.

Несмотря на недостаток снарядов и патронов на протяжении ряда сражений, а также отсутствие вооружения и снаряжения, полк отбивал атаки врага. В битве при Ковеле прославился своим подвигом штабс-капитан Слащев. В назначенный для атаки час, стоя во весь рост, перекрестившись, с обнаженной шашкой в руке он повел бойцов вперед.

В этом же бою Слащев пошел в основные окопы врага, и когда он встал между генерал-майором бароном Клодтом фон Юргенсбургом и немцами, выбежали несколько солдат, чтобы прикрыть штабс-капитана Слащева, не дать ему погибнуть от вражеской руки.

Зимой 1916-1917 годов Финляндский полк накапливал силы для предстоящего весеннего наступления. 15 марта 1917 года (по новому стилю) состоялось отречение государя императора Николая II. Вспыхнувшие восстания были встречены в полку с тяжелым чувством.

В течение лета 1917 года Финляндский полк участвовал в так называемом Июньском наступлении, прорыве германских позиций, сражался под Хоростецом. В этих сражениях полк потерял штабс-капитана Петровского, поручиков Мельницкого и Теглева, прапорщика Бахмутова.

Последний бой Лейб-гвардии Финляндского полка состоялся в октябре 1917 года. После этого Лейб-гвардии Финляндский пол был расформирован решением новых властей России, рассказал Станислав Малышев:

"Все полки бывшей Императорской армии были официально упразднены, но самые сознательные и преданные делу борьбы с большевиками офицеры и нижние чины в основном пробирались на Дон. Александр Моллер, в то время уже полковник, с разрешения генерала Краснова под Новочеркасском приступил к новому формированию полка, к воссозданию его в составе Донской белой армии.

Ядро полка составили 27 офицеров кадровых и военного времени, к которым примкнули унтер-офицеры и рядовые, те, кто смогли прибыть на Дон. Была проведена мобилизация, и к ним пришли новые люди. 13 июня 1918 года полк был возрожден. Он принимал участие во многих походах Донской армии, а после отступления в марте 1920 года соединился с Добровольческой армией и влился в состав сводного гвардейского полка".
Автор: Сергей Вострецов
Первоисточник: http://rus.ruvr.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 8
  1. Apollon 29 октября 2013 09:48
    цитата-Лейб-Гвардии Финляндский полк сыграл значительную роль в завершении Галицийской битвы - первого в мире сражения с огромным количеством войск. Полк вступил в Австро-Венгрию и дошел до реки Вислы, где шли так называемые ивангородские бои.

    Вот и сам марш полка.
    1. Нагайбак 29 октября 2013 10:03
      Apollon"Вот и сам марш полка."
      Apollon спасибо за марш! Автору за статью тоже спасибо. Хотелось бы добавить, что были еще Финляндские стрелковые полки. Меня интересует инфа по 7-му Финляндскому стрелковому полку времен первой мировой войны. Буду признателен за помощь.
    2. Aydar 29 октября 2013 18:14
      Напоминает марш Gloria Лейб-Штандарта LSSAH.
      Aydar
    3. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Костя-пешеход 29 октября 2013 11:05
    Финны вообще молодцы. Ликёры их когда-то были одни из лучших в СССР. А как красиво они победителей в цусимском сражении на пиве сделали. Вот пример яр-лыка от финнского пива, только бейте осторожно, чтоб потом лыка не вязали, а т о градусы термоядерные! Как поёт Виктор Ночной: "Больше Газа меньше ям!"
    Костя-пешеход
  3. недоучка 29 октября 2013 12:46
    Да было время,когда для каждого жителя ИМПЕРИИ (не зависимо от национальности) было большой честью СЛУЖИТЬ Белому царю.
  4. Lazer 29 октября 2013 14:18
    В полку Финны вообще были? Что то у героев не очень финские фамилии.
  5. 4952915 29 октября 2013 14:58
    Присоединюсь к вопросу Lazer, действительно, а этнические финны-то были в полку?!
    4952915
  6. казах 29 октября 2013 15:35
    В полку служили выдающиеся деятели отечественной культуры, среди которых были дирижер полкового оркестра Николай Титов, художник Павел Федотов и другие.командир полка генерал-майор ТепловЛеонтий Коренной, как известно, был солдат Лейб-гвардии Финляндского полка
    интересно а финны там были?или это финские псевдонимы laughing
  7. 4952915 29 октября 2013 16:15
    Немножко не в тему. Вспомнился анекдот про Войско Польское времен Великой Отечественной. Как известно, с целью придания гордым ляхам хотя бы минимальной боевой устойчивости, в их частях служило много русских, украинцев, белорусов с фамилиями, похожими на польские. Итак, анекдот.
    Перед боем в полку Войска Польского молебен. Ксендз сует распятие к лицу солдата, - Целуй!
    - Не могу, товарищ священнослужитель, я комсомолец!
    - Надо, боец, надо! Я и сам коммунист.
    Похоже, и в финляндском полку гордых суомилайненов было немного)))
    4952915
  8. 4952915 29 октября 2013 16:19
    Господа модераторы! Пожалуйста, придумайте другую, более здравую защиту от флуда, второй раз набирать длинный пост не очень интересно.
    "Войско Польское не было чисто польским. Туда в большом количестве посылались для службы советские солдаты и офицеры. Только офицеров и генералов Советской Армии было направлено 20 тысяч человек. Официально, по-видимому, считалось, что они имеют фронтовой опыт в отличие от польских офицеров, но, надо думать, советское правительство не желало повторять таких экспериментов, как с армией Андерса, предавшей общее дело в самый тяжелый момент.

    Мой отец рассказывал, что в то время из их части отправили в Войско Польское всех, у кого фамилия была похожа на польскую — оканчивалась на «…ский». Вспоминал фронтовой анекдот. Перед боем в польском полку идет молебен. Ксендз проходит вдоль строя солдат давая поцеловать им распятие. Один солдат отказывается — «Не могу, я комсомолец». — «Целуй — шипит ксендз, — я сам коммунист»." Ю.И.Мухин. Наверное, и с Финляндским полком такая же история?
    4952915
  9. Пеший 1 ноября 2013 17:02
    Финны не служили в Царской армии по закону.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня