Military Review

FEL combat laser showed unexpected power

6
Scientists Carlos Hernandez and Quentin Salter, who are involved in the design and creation of a prototype shipborne laser gun, showed journalists what the naval injector of a free naval free electron (FEL) US Navy can do. The injector, which is essentially the heart of the FEL (it is designed to pump a laser beam), showed record power, having worked on a voltage of 500 kilovolts of 6 hours. According to one of the scientists, Quentin Salter, they themselves were surprised by an unexpected success. He also stressed that these successful tests will significantly speed up the creation of a prototype shipborne laser gun. The US military and scientists have been working on this prototype for 6 for years, and now they are very close to success.

Although earlier than 2020, free electron lasers will not appear on ships. To date, the prototype produces a beam power 14 kW. For combat use need at least power 100 kW. The voltage reached in 18 kV reached on February 500 means that the development time will be reduced, and the laser mortality rate will increase significantly.

Carlos Hernandez gave a short lecture to journalists, explaining visually on the injector model the principle of operation of a free electron laser.

FEL combat laser showed unexpected power
Carlos Hernandez explains the principle of operation of a free electron laser next to the injector model

By exciting certain types of atoms, photon radiation can be obtained. If you reflect it on excited atoms, even more photons will appear. The second batch of photons, unlike, for example, from a light bulb, the light from which goes in all directions, can be directed in one direction and have a certain wavelength. However, a free electron laser has a unique feature: it does not use an amplifying medium, only a stream of electrons that pass through a number of ordinary or superconducting magnets. This accelerator generates a beam operating at several wavelengths. In practice, this will allow the FEL beam, passing through the smoke-filled battlefield or the sea-air saturated with water vapor, not to lose its energy. Also, to increase the power of the laser gun beam, it will be sufficient to simply increase the number of electrons emanating from the injector.

For a long time, the Jefferson Laboratory staff worked on a 73 unit with a 300-kV injector and a power input of 200 kW. But now, thanks to the success achieved by Salter and Hernandez, the US Navy is likely to get a more powerful than expected prototype gun. This will allow more testing of the laser, including exploring the possibilities of using the new weapons in the fight against ships and missile defense.

Experienced American combat laser FEL produces today the most powerful beam in the world, it can cut up to 6 meters of steel per second. If the US military manages to achieve the intended goal of the project (beam power in 1 MW), the gun can cut more than 600 m steel per second. In theory, this requires just more electrons, the successful testing of scientists Hernandez and Salter showed that this is quite real. The problem of dimensions is also successfully solved. The prototype of the gun is being developed by Boeing, it should be ready for the 2012 year, and the 2015 × 15 × 6 can be built for 3. These dimensions can be used even for small frigate ships.

The only open question is the supply of megawatt weapons, since ships with a non-nuclear power plant will not be able to provide the necessary power. But this problem is already being solved. A combat megawatt FEL, if successfully created, will allow you to effectively deal with hypersonic anti-ship missiles, airplanes and small ships, to hit ground targets. And all this at an unattainable distance for modern artillery 300 kilometers.
Originator:
http://topwar.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://topwar.ru
6 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Michael
    Michael 2 March 2011 09: 57
    0
    And all this at an unattainable distance for modern artillery at a distance of 300 kilometers.
    Hm! Ali the Americans live in a flat world, and the Lord God is held by the beard, and for them he canceled the horizon.
  2. Kudeyar
    Kudeyar 2 March 2011 14: 52
    0
    This means that you can shoot down objects in the stratosphere, probably.
  3. VVP1312
    VVP1312 2 March 2011 15: 26
    +1
    Do you guys ask any questions? All questions should be asked Carlos Hernandez and Quentin Salter, they will most likely explain about the horizon with the stratosphere, and they will tell about the beard 8)
  4. Anton
    Anton 2 March 2011 20: 47
    0
    Antiresno, but how can this wonderful gun be fired at 300 km? On what kind of trajectory is the laser beam about to fly so far away? It is necessary to approach at about an altitude of 15 kilometers, so that the target reaches a straight beam. Look for fools elsewhere ....
  5. boogashenki
    boogashenki 12 March 2011 09: 03
    0
    Yes, about the horizon is correct of course. But in general, everyone who has a brain understands what will happen next, and then there will be a decrease in the size and power consumption of these devices, as well as an increase in the beam power. Of course we have nuclear weapons, which so far are holding back the enemies, but this is just a delay.
  6. Honory
    Honory 22 September 2012 11: 34
    0
    This is a dangerous warning. Cunning Americans want other nuclear scientists to crush conventional high-tech weapons.

Боевой лазер FEL показал неожиданную мощность

6
Ученые Карлос Эрнандес и Квентин Солтер, принимающие участие в разработке и создании прототипа корабельной лазерной пушки, продемонстрировали журналистам, на что способен инжектор нового боевого лазера на свободных электронах (FEL) ВМС США. Инжектор, являющийся по сути сердцем FEL (он предназначен для накачки лазерного луча), показал рекордную мощность, проработав на напряжении 500 киловольт 6 часов. По словам одного из ученых, Квентина Солтера, они сами были удивлены неожиданным успехом. Он также подчеркнул, что эти успешные испытания позволят существенно ускорить создание прототипа корабельной лазерной пушки. Американские военные и ученые работают над этим прототипом уже 6 лет, и сейчас они очень близки к успеху.

Хотя раньше 2020 года лазеры на свободных электронах появятся на кораблях вряд ли. На сегодняшний день опытный образец выдает луч мощностью 14 кВт. Для боевого применения нужна мощность как минимум 100 кВт. Достигнутое 18 февраля напряжение в 500 кВ означает, что время на разработку сократится, а боевая летальность лазера существенно повысится.

Карлос Эрнандес прочитал журналистам небольшую лекцию, объяснив наглядно на модели инжектора принцип работы лазера на свободных электронах.

Боевой лазер FEL показал неожиданную мощность
Карлос Эрнандес объясняет принцип работы лазера на свободных электронах рядом с моделью инжектора

Путем возбуждения определенных видов атомов можно получить фотонное излучение. Если отразить его на возбужденные атомы, появится еще больше фотонов. Вторая партия фотонов в отличии, например, от лампочки, свет от которой идет во всех направлениях, может быть направлена в одну сторону и иметь определенную длину волны. Однако лазер на свободных электронах имеет уникальную особенность: он не использует усиливающую среду, только поток электронов, которые проходят через ряд обычных или сверхпроводящих магнитов. Этот ускоритель генерирует луч, работающий на нескольких длинах волн. На практике это позволит лучу FEL, проходя через задымленное поле боя или насыщенный водяным паром морской воздух, не терять своей энергии. Также для повышения мощности луча лазерной пушки будет достаточно просто увеличить количество электронов, исходящих из инжектора.

Довольно долго сотрудники лаборатории Джефферсона работали на 73-м установке с 300-кВ инжектором и подводимой мощностью в 200 кВт. Но сейчас благодаря достигнутому успеху Солтера и Эрнандеса ВМС США, по всей видимости, получат более мощный, чем ожидалось, прототип пушки. Это позволит провести большее количество испытаний лазера, включая изучение возможностей использования нового оружия в борьбе с морскими судами и в противоракетной обороне.

Опытный американский боевой лазер FEL производит на сегодняшний день самый мощный луч в мире, он способен резать до 6 м стали в секунду. Если американским военным удастся достичь намеченной цели проекта (мощности луча в 1 МВт), пушка сможет резать более 600 м стали в секунду. По идее для этого нужно просто больше электронов, удачные испытания ученых Эрнандеса и Солтера показали, что это вполне реально. Проблема габаритов тоже успешно решается. Созданием прототипа пушки занимается компания Boeing, он должен быть готов к 2012 году, а к 2015 г. планируется построить пушку компактных размеров 15×6×3 м. Такие размеры орудия подойдут даже для небольших кораблей класса фрегат.

Единственным открытым вопросом остается вопрос питания мегаваттного оружия, так как корабли с неядерной силовой установкой не смогут давать необходимую мощность. Но и эта проблема уже решается. Боевой мегаваттный FEL при успешном его создании позволит эффективно бороться с гиперзвуковыми противокорабельными ракетами, самолетами и малыми судами, поражать наземные цели. И все это на недостижимом для современной артиллерии расстоянии в 300 километров.
Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Михаил
    0
    2 марта 2011
    И все это на недостижимом для современной артиллерии расстоянии в 300 километров.
    Мда! Али гамериканцы живут в плоском мире, и Господа Бога держат за бороду и он для них отменил горизонт.
  2. Кудеяр
    0
    2 марта 2011
    Имеется в виду, что можно сбивать объекты в стратосфере, наверно.
  3. VVP1312
    +1
    2 марта 2011
    Ребята вы кому вопросы задаете? Все вопросы надо задавать Карлосу Эрнандесу и Квентину Солтеру, они скорее всего пояснят и про горизонт с стратосферой, и про бороду расскажут 8)
  4. антон
    0
    2 марта 2011
    Антиресно, а как-же эта чудная пушка будет пулять на 300 км? По какой-такой траектории луч лазера собирается улететь на такое расстояние? Это надо примерно на высоте километров 15 приближаться, чтобы по прямой луч цель достал. Ищите дураков в другом месте....
  5. бугогашеньки
    0
    12 марта 2011
    Да, про горизонт правильно конечно. Но в общем и целом каждый кто имеет мозг понимает что будет дальше, а дальше будет уменьшение габаритов и энергопотребления данных устройств, а также рост мощности луча. Конечно у нас есть ЯО, которое пока что сдерживает врагов,но это всего лишь отсрочка.
  6. 0
    22 сентября 2012
    Это опасное предостережение.Хитрые американцы хотят других ядерщиков обычным высокотехнологичным оружием давить.

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»