Military Review

Nepalese Gurkha volunteers in the service of the English Crown

14



In South Asia, the state of Nepal is located in the Himalayas. To the north of it is Tibet (autonomy belonging to China), and in the south and west of it is India. Most of the territory of Nepal is occupied by the Himalayan mountain system. Among the 28 million inhabitants of the country are about a hundred nationalities and castes.

One of the peoples inhabiting Nepal is the Gurkha. The name of the Gurkha people was the name of the Hindu warrior - Gur Gorakhnath. The Gurkha ancestors were immigrants from North India - Rajputs and Brahmins. By the way, the Brahmin caste is fearless warriors and priests. During the British colonial wars, the British attributed the Gurkas to the "warlike races." It was already noted that Gurkha warriors are distinguished by their aggressiveness in battles, tremendous courage, loyalty, physical strength, self-sufficiency and incredible endurance.

In 1769, the Gurkha dynasty came to power in Nepal. During the British-Gurkh war (1814-1816), the Gurkha put up fierce resistance to the invaders. As a result of the military confrontation, Nepal had to make a number of territorial concessions in favor of the British East India Company, which, in response, pledged to pay the country 200 thousand rupees annually. It was Gurkham Nepal that owes the fact that the country did not become a protectorate of Britain. The abilities of the warlike people shook the British, and from 1815 onwards, a voluntary recruitment of Gurkhas to the ranks of the British colonial army began.

Even after the withdrawal of British troops from India, the Gurkha remained to serve in the armies of both India and Great Britain. According to the laws of both countries, Gurkha are not mercenaries - they are fully integrated into the military systems of these countries. The battle cry of the Gurkhas are the words "Jai Mahakali, Ayo Gorkhali" and translate as "Glory to the Great Kali, go Gurkha!"


Monument Gurkha in London near the building of the Ministry of Defense of Great Britain


The Gurkha took part in eradicating the anti-colonial uprisings in India, raised by Sikhs and Besai, as well as suppressing unrest in Afghanistan in the 1848 year. Since 1857, Gurkha warriors have served in Burma, the former British, and then the Japanese colony, as well as on the borders of India and Afghanistan. During the Russian-Turkish war (1877-1878) they were on the side of the Turkish troops. Gurkha also served in Malta, in China.

Few people know that the Gurkha took part in the battles of the First World War on the side of Great Britain, defending the interests of their overlord in France and the Middle East. Between the two great wars, they took part in the Anglo-Afghan military conflict in 1919 and in a number of other military companies.



In difficult times for Great Britain, during the Second World War, the Gurkha fought in Italy, Africa and Southeast Asia. For this, the monarch of Nepal allowed the British to form battalions of the Gurkha 55, in which about 250 thousands of Nepalese soldiers served. There was a case when the Gurkhas showed great courage in confrontation with the Luftwaffe paratroopers in the battle of Monte Cassino (Italy).

During the Falkland Conflict (1982), the Gurkha showed themselves as brave warriors and reaffirmed their reputation as invincible soldiers. It was a battalion of Gurkha-shooters, landed in the bay of San Carlos, contributed to the breakthrough of the Argentine defense of Port Stanley.

Nepalese Gurkha volunteers in the service of the English Crown


Gurkha also participated in military conflicts in the Persian Gulf, in Afghanistan, in Iraq, in NATO operations in Kosovo, and also were part of the peacekeeping forces in East Timor and Bosnia.

The great confidence of the English crown to the gurkhas was also expressed in the fact that it was the Nepalese who carried out the guard of Prince Harry during his service in Afghanistan.

The British successfully use the fact that Gurkha warriors are distinguished by their courage, the strictest discipline and loyalty to the oath. Therefore, today, around 3,5, thousands of Gurkha soldiers and officers in the same brigade are serving the English crown.

Most Gurkha units are quartered in Hampshire County in the town of Church Crookham. The minimum service life for which the contract is concluded is 5 years. New recruits are recruited in the highlands of Nepal. The competition is huge: there are about 200 thousands of young Gurkhas claiming 28 seats. The selection procedure is striking in its cruelty: applicants for enrollment in the British army need to run uphill for forty minutes with a load of 20 kg. But, even having passed the preliminary selection, recruits pass nine months of training at one of the Hong Kong bases before being sent to the active part. Gurkha units have very few British military personnel in their ranks. According to the established tradition, applicants for officer and sergeant posts are promoted from the Gurkha ranks.



As a rule, infantry light infantry battalions that do not have armored vehicles form Gurkha groups. Also, the 2 squadron of military engineers, three communications squadrons, a transport regiment and even a military band are part of the units of the Gurkha fighters. All soldiers and officers of combat units have good parachute training. Gurkha must have traditional equipment weapon Nepalese warriors - fighting knives kukri. They use their favorite weapon in hand-to-hand combat with the enemy.


Gurkha Kukri Knife


Legislatively, Gurkha has a lifespan of from 15 to 30 years - only in this case, the Gurkha warrior is entitled to receive a pension from the British government. As a rule, after completing their service in the army, the Gurkha return to their homeland - in Nepal. Since 2006, the English authorities have granted British citizenship to Gurkha. Such "lucky" today there are about 140 thousands of people. Recently, former Gurkha military personnel have been fighting for the appointment of the same level of pensions as British retirees - citizens of the country. Today it is only one third of the pension of English retirees.

It would be a mistake in this situation to accuse Gurkha of self-interest and label them mercenaries fighting for interests alien to them. It would be more correct to consider them warriors who faithfully fulfill their duty to the British crown. It is fair to say that Nepal, by giving its citizens the opportunity to serve in the army of another state, derives quite a few benefits from this - a mountainous state receives thousands of highly paid (by Nepali standards) "working" jobs. Britain also gets hardy, brave warriors, loyal to the British authorities and always ready for battle.



Perhaps the struggle of retired Gurkhas for the right to receive a decent pension is associated with a far from rosy outlook for the future of the existence of elite combat Gurkhan units in the British army.

First, in connection with the return of Hong Kong to China, great difficulties have arisen with the training base. Secondly, the Gurkha fighters still have language difficulty. Thirdly, in connection with the development of military technology, Gurkha combat techniques may become unclaimed. It is possible that these wonderful parts will soon be disbanded.

For twenty years, the Gurkha veterans have been fighting for a decent retirement of Nepalese fighters who have retired: from hunger strikes to appeals to the British authorities. One Gurkha veteran says: “We don’t know what else can be done to attract attention. Thousands died without waiting for justice. Nobody cares about us in the Ministry of Defense. So I’ll either enforce my rights or die. ”

Many British citizens believe that the state is indebted to Gurkha, because “... they fought shoulder to shoulder with the British troops for almost 200 years, we have moral obligations, honor debt. Gurkha gave their lives so that we can live. "

In the meantime, the British military department plans to reduce the units of the Nepalese soldiers by one and a half times, citing the lack of funds in the treasury.

Time will tell how much the desire to save is equivalent to the loss of an elite combat unit by the British army.

Materials used:
http://www.vesti.ru/doc.html?id=1151458
http://www.kailash.ru/c003/500.html
http://www.genon.ru/GetAnswer.aspx?qid=5a4b616c-1e75-4b75-bad7-7d8d387e442c
http://omop.su/article/49/3666.html
Author:
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. aszzz888
    aszzz888 18 November 2013 08: 48
    +1
    Some of the most loyal Britons warriors. And the famous cooks were afraid of all knives who had to fight hand-to-hand with Nepalese. The head was rolled off with one blow.
    1. xetai9977
      xetai9977 18 November 2013 09: 53
      +3
      Gurkhas are wonderful warriors. And very hardy, as their body is adapted for oxygen starvation in the conditions of the Himalayan highlands.
    2. cdrt
      cdrt 22 November 2013 19: 11
      0
      Quote: aszzz888
      Some of the most loyal Britons warriors. And the famous cooks were afraid of all knives who had to fight hand-to-hand with Nepalese. The head was rolled off with one blow.


      I bought a kukri to a friend as a birthday present (he collects edged weapons).
      A real cleaver, tearing down your head in skilled hands is not at all a question.
  2. kagorta
    kagorta 18 November 2013 10: 17
    +1
    I read that my favorite pastime was to cut the laces of Japanese watchmakers with boots on. Is it interesting?
  3. makarov
    makarov 18 November 2013 10: 43
    +3
    I pay tribute. I read a lot about them. Brave, courageous and devoted warriors !!!
  4. Kerch
    Kerch 18 November 2013 12: 13
    0
    Of course they are brave warriors, but I was confused by the fact: "The Gurkhas took part in the elimination of anti-colonial uprisings in India, raised by Sikhs and sepoys, as well as in the suppression of unrest in Afghanistan in 1848. Since 1857, Gurkha warriors have served in Burma, a former British and then Japanese colony, as well as on the borders of India and Afghanistan. During the Russian-Turkish war (1877-1878) they sided with the Turkish troops. Also Gurkhas served in Malta, in China. "

    That is, they betrayed their people?
    1. cdrt
      cdrt 22 November 2013 19: 19
      +1
      Quote: Kerch
      Of course they are brave warriors, but I was confused by the fact: "The Gurkhas took part in the elimination of anti-colonial uprisings in India, raised by Sikhs and sepoys, as well as in the suppression of unrest in Afghanistan in 1848. Since 1857, Gurkha warriors have served in Burma, a former British and then Japanese colony, as well as on the borders of India and Afghanistan. During the Russian-Turkish war (1877-1878) they sided with the Turkish troops. Also Gurkhas served in Malta, in China. "

      That is, they betrayed their people?


      Why your people?
      Gurks are Nepalese, sepoys are Indians, Hindus and Muslims are half-serving British (Indian soldiers), Sikhs are another Indian military class, something like Indian Cossacks. Nepalese are another people, another language, traditionally hostile to Hindus, Muslims, and Sikhs.
      In fact - an analogue of our Chechens for example
  5. datur
    datur 18 November 2013 12: 59
    +5
    There was a case when the gurkhas showed great courage in the confrontation with the Luftwaffe paratroopers in the battle of Monte Cassino (Italy) belay .--- funny to read !!! a handful of German paratroopers stopped an entire English group! wink even the bombing did not help !!! and who had the courage there, huh? even the Germans and enemies were to us, but they just showed courage !!! I didn’t hear about the Gurkhas, but (though I don’t like psheks) they just excelled in that!
  6. dnh70
    dnh70 18 November 2013 14: 11
    +3
    we have our own mountaineers, abruptly ....
  7. Asan Ata
    Asan Ata 18 November 2013 16: 42
    +3
    Smiled about his highlanders! drinks
  8. MAG
    MAG 18 November 2013 17: 38
    0
    "they take nine months of training at one of the Hong Kong bases" and that Hong Kong is no longer Chinese again?
  9. uzer 13
    uzer 13 18 November 2013 23: 08
    0
    The Gurkhas have so long survived in the English army for a very simple reason - the British themselves never intended to go under the bullets when it was possible to put up cheap mercenaries. Now the picture of the battlefield has changed - there is less need for cannon fodder, and more and more modern technologies. Yes and the generation of capitalism - a large number of illiterate shaven-headed fools also need to be done somewhere. That’s why gurkhas become unnecessary. Well, how much Britain knows how to be thankful and what is hidden behind beautiful military ceremonies, this is just written this article.
  10. max702
    max702 18 November 2013 23: 41
    +1
    I read alas I do not remember where that during the Crimean war there was such an episode .. The British are confident that these brave "warriors" will bring them victory in the assault on the fortification that they could not take, and our soldiers decided what it was .. Turks and the Turks are ours they always beat them, so they beat these vaunted "warriors" without understanding .. the English were shocked.
  11. Military79
    Military79 19 November 2013 04: 06
    0
    I saw these guys in the Green Zone. When I asked the British officer he told about them about the same as in the article. And another joke about the Gurkhas. I remembered him:
    “One British general was recruiting a company to land in the rear and came to the Gurkha.
    -I heard you are considered the most daring and fearless warriors. Who is ready to penetrate with me behind enemy lines? At night, from a height of 1000 meters, the enemy landed on an enemy’s head and destroyed it. Well, soldiers, a step forward, who is not afraid.
    It turned out about half the system. The General said disappointedly:
    -And these are bold gurkhas? Apparently you have been praised if you are afraid to jump even with a parachute.
    "But will we jump with a parachute? Why were you silent before."
    And the rest also stepped forward. "
    In every joke ... you know yourself. But when the Briton spoke about gurki, I heard in my voice genuine notes of respect.
  12. SlavaP
    SlavaP 24 November 2013 01: 35
    0
    No matter what they say, they are serious guys. Many then serve in private security, crossed paths with them and apart from great respect I can not add anything

Непальские добровольцы-гуркхи на службе у английской короны

Непальские добровольцы-гуркхи на службе у английской короны


В Южной Азии в Гималаях расположено государство Непал. К северу от него находится Тибет (автономия, принадлежащая Китаю), а с юга и запада его соседом является Индия. Большая часть территории Непала занимает Гималайская горная система. Среди 28 млн. жителей страны около сотни народностей и каст.

Одним из народов, населяющим Непал, являются гуркхи. Названием народа гуркхов стало имя индуистского воина — Гура Горакнатха. Предками гуркхов были переселенцы из Северной Индии — раджпуты и брамины. Кстати, каста браминов — это бесстрашные воины и жрецы. Во время британских колониальных войн англичане отнесли гуркхов к «воинственным расам». Уже тогда отмечалось, что воины-гуркхи отличаются агрессивностью в схватках, огромной храбростью, преданностью, физической силой, самодостаточностью и невероятной выносливостью.


В 1769 году к власти в Непале пришла династия гуркхов. Во время британо-гуркхской войны (1814-1816) гуркхи оказали захватчикам ожесточенное сопротивление. В результате военного противостояния Непалу пришлось пойти на ряд территориальных уступок в пользу Британской Ост-Индской Компании, которая в ответ обязалась ежегодно выплачивать в казну страну 200 тыс. рупий. Именно гуркхам Непал обязан тем, что страна не стала протекторатом Британии. Способности воинственного народа потрясли британцев и уже с 1815 года начался добровольный набор гуркхов в ряды колониальной армии Британии.

Даже после вывода английских войск с территории Индии гуркхи остались служить в армиях как Индии, так и Великобритании. Согласно законам обеих стран, гуркхи не являются наемниками — они полностью интегрированы в военные системы этих стран. Боевым кличем гуркхов являются слова «Jai Mahakali, Ayo Gorkhali» и переводятся как «Слава Великой Кали, идут Гуркхи!»

Непальские добровольцы-гуркхи на службе у английской короны

Памятник гуркхам в Лондоне возле здания Министерства обороны Великобритании


Гуркхи принимали участие в ликвидации антиколониальных восстаний в Индии, поднятыми сикхами и сипаями, а также в подавлении волнений в Афганистане в 1848 году. С 1857 года воины-гуркхи несут службу в Бирме, бывшей британской, а затем японской колонии, а также на границах Индии и в Афганистане. Во время русско-турецкой войны (1877-1878) они выступали на стороне турецких войск. Также гуркхи служили на Мальте, в Китае.

Мало кому известно, что гуркхи принимали участие в сражениях Первой мировой войны на стороне Великобритании, защищая интересы своего сюзерена во Франции и на Ближнем Востоке. Между двумя великими войнами они приняли участие в англо-афганском военном конфликте в 1919 году и в ряде других военных компаниях.

Непальские добровольцы-гуркхи на службе у английской короны


В тяжелые времена для Великобритании, в годы Второй мировой войны, гуркхи воевали в Италии, Африке и Юго-Восточной Азии. Для этого монарх Непала разрешил британцам сформировать из гуркхов 55 батальонов, в которых служили около 250 тысяч воинов-непальцев. Был случай, когда гуркхи проявили огромную храбрость в противостоянии с десантниками Люфтваффе в сражении под Монте-Кассино (Италия).

Во время Фолклендского конфликта (1982) гуркхи показали себя как храбрые воины и еще раз подтвердили свою репутацию непобедимых солдат. Именно батальон гуркхов-стрелков, высадившись в бухте Сан-Карлос, способствовал прорыву аргентинской обороны Порт-Стенли.

Непальские добровольцы-гуркхи на службе у английской короны


Гуркхи также участвовали в военных конфликтах в Персидском заливе, в Афганистане, в Ираке, в натовских операциях в Косово, а также входили в состав миротворческих сил в восточном Тиморе и Боснии.

Большое доверие английской короны к гуркхам выразилось и в том, что именно непальцы осуществляли охрану принца Гарри во время его службы в Афганистане.

Британцы успешно используют то, что воины-гуркхи отличаются смелостью, строжайшей дисциплиной и верностью присяге. Поэтому сегодня на службе английской короны находятся около 3,5 тыс. солдат и офицеров гуркхов в составе одной бригады.

В основном подразделения гуркхов расквартированы в графстве Хэмпшир в городке Черч Крукхэм. Минимальный срок службы, на который заключается контракт, — 5 лет. Набор новых рекрутов осуществляется в горных районах Непала. Конкурс огромен: на 200 мест претендуют около 28 тысяч молодых гуркхов. Процедура отбора поражает своей жестокостью: претендентам на зачисление в британскую армию необходимо в течение сорока минут с грузом 20 кг бежать в гору. Но, даже пройдя предварительный отбор, рекруты перед направлением в действующую часть проходят девять месяцев обучения на одной из гонконгских баз. Подразделения гуркхов имеют в своих рядах очень мало британских кадровых военных. По сложившейся традиции, претенденты на офицерские и сержантские посты выдвигаются из рядов гуркхов.

Непальские добровольцы-гуркхи на службе у английской короны


Как правило, из гуркхов формируют стрелковые батальоны легкой пехоты, которые не имеют бронетехники. Также в состав подразделений бойцов-гуркхов входят 2 эскадрона военных инженеров, три эскадрона связи, транспортный полк и даже военный оркестр. Все солдаты и офицеры боевых частей обладают хорошей парашютной подготовкой. Гуркхи обязательно имеют в своем снаряжении традиционное оружие непальских воинов — боевые ножи кукри. Свое излюбленное оружие они применяют в рукопашной схватке с врагом.

Непальские добровольцы-гуркхи на службе у английской короны

Нож гуркхов кукри


Законодательно для гуркхов установлен срок службы от 15 до 30 лет — только в этом случае воин-гуркх имеет право на получение пенсии от британского правительства. Как правило, после завершения своей службы в армии, гуркхи возвращаются на родину — в Непал. С 2006 года английские власти предоставляют гуркхам британское гражданство. Таких «счастливчиков» сегодня насчитывается около 140 тысяч человек. В последнее время бывшие военнослужащие из числа гуркхов ведут борьбу за назначение им такого же уровня пенсий, какую получают британские отставники — граждане страны. Сегодня она составляет лишь треть от пенсии английских отставников.

Ошибочно было бы при этой ситуации обвинять гуркхов в корыстолюбии и навешивать им ярлык наемников, сражающихся за чуждые им интересы. Правильнее считать их воинами, добросовестно выполняющих свой долг перед британской короной. Справедливо сказать, что и Непал, давая возможность своим гражданам служить в армии другого государства, извлекает из этого немало выгод — горное государство получает тысячи высокооплачиваемых (по непальским меркам) «рабочих» мест. Британия также получает выносливых, храбрых воинов, лояльных английской власти и всегда готовых к бою.

Непальские добровольцы-гуркхи на службе у английской короны


Возможно, борьба отставников-гуркхов за право получать достойную пенсию связана с далеко не радужным прогнозом на будущее по существованию элитных боевых гуркхских подразделений в британской армии.

Во-первых, в связи возвращением Гонконга Китаю большие трудности возникли с базой подготовки. Во-вторых, до сих пор у бойцов-гуркхов существует языковая трудность. В-третьих, в связи с развитием военных технологий методы боя гуркхов могут стать невостребованными. Не исключено, что эти замечательные части будут вскоре расформированы.

Ветераны-гуркхи вот уже двадцать лет ведут борьбу за достойную пенсию непальских бойцов, ушедших в отставку: начиная от голодовки до обращения к властям Великобритании. Один из ветеранов-гуркхов говорит: «Мы не знаем, что еще можно сделать, чтобы привлечь к себе внимание. Тысячи умерли, так и не дождавшись справедливости. В министерстве обороны никому до нас нет дела. Так что я либо добьюсь соблюдения моих прав, либо умру».

Многие граждане Великобритании считают, что государство в неоплатном долгу перед гуркхами, ведь «…они сражались плечом к плечу с британскими войсками почти 200 лет, у нас перед ними есть моральные обязательства, долг чести. Гуркхи отдали свои жизни, чтобы мы могли жить».

А пока британское военное ведомство планирует уменьшить подразделения непальских воинов в полтора раза, ссылаясь на нехватку средств в казне.

Время покажет, насколько желание экономии равноценно потере элитного боевого подразделения британской армией.

Использованы материалы:
http://www.vesti.ru/doc.html?id=1151458
http://www.kailash.ru/c003/500.html
http://www.genon.ru/GetAnswer.aspx?qid=5a4b616c-1e75-4b75-bad7-7d8d387e442c
http://omop.su/article/49/3666.html
Автор: Валерий Бовал


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 14
  1. a.s.zzz888 18 ноября 2013 08:48
    Одни из самых преданных бритам воины. А знаменитых ножей кухри боялись все, кому пришлось драться в рукопашной с непальцами. Голову отваливали одним ударом.
    1. xetai9977 18 ноября 2013 09:53
      Гуркхи прекрасные воины. И очень выносливые,так как их организм приспособлен к кислородному голоданию в условиях гималайского высокогорья.
    2. cdrt 22 ноября 2013 19:11
      Цитата: a.s.zzz888
      Одни из самых преданных бритам воины. А знаменитых ножей кухри боялись все, кому пришлось драться в рукопашной с непальцами. Голову отваливали одним ударом.


      Купил кукри другу в подарок на день рождения (он коллекционирует холодное оружие).
      Реальный тесак, голову снести в умелых руках вообще не вопрос.
  2. kagorta 18 ноября 2013 10:17
    Читал, что любимым развлечением было резать шнурки у японских часовых на ботинках. Интересно правда ли?
  3. makarov 18 ноября 2013 10:43
    Отдаю дань уважения. Читал про них не мало. Храбрые, мужественные и преданные долгу воины!!!
    makarov
  4. Керч 18 ноября 2013 12:13
    Безусловно они храбрые воины, но меня смутил факт : "Гуркхи принимали участие в ликвидации антиколониальных восстаний в Индии, поднятыми сикхами и сипаями, а также в подавлении волнений в Афганистане в 1848 году. С 1857 года воины-гуркхи несут службу в Бирме, бывшей британской, а затем японской колонии, а также на границах Индии и в Афганистане. Во время русско-турецкой войны (1877-1878) они выступали на стороне турецких войск. Также гуркхи служили на Мальте, в Китае."

    То есть предали свой народ?
    1. cdrt 22 ноября 2013 19:19
      Цитата: Керч
      Безусловно они храбрые воины, но меня смутил факт : "Гуркхи принимали участие в ликвидации антиколониальных восстаний в Индии, поднятыми сикхами и сипаями, а также в подавлении волнений в Афганистане в 1848 году. С 1857 года воины-гуркхи несут службу в Бирме, бывшей британской, а затем японской колонии, а также на границах Индии и в Афганистане. Во время русско-турецкой войны (1877-1878) они выступали на стороне турецких войск. Также гуркхи служили на Мальте, в Китае."

      То есть предали свой народ?


      А почему СВОЙ народ?
      Гурки непальцы, сипаи - индийцы, пополам индуисты и мусульмане, служившие британцам (индийские солдаты), сикхи - еще одно военное сословие Индии, что-то типа индийских казаков. Непальцы - другой народ, другой язык, традиционно враждебны и индусам, и мусульманам, и сикхам.
      Фактически - аналог наших чеченцев например
  5. datur 18 ноября 2013 12:59
    Был случай, когда гуркхи проявили огромную храбрость в противостоянии с десантниками Люфтваффе в сражении под Монте-Кассино (Италия) belay .---смешно читать!!! горстка немецких парашютистов остановила целую английскую группировку! wink даже бомбежка не помогла!!! и у кого там было мужество,а? хоть немцы и враги нам были, но мужество как раз проявили они!!! про гуркхов там не слышал, а вот(хоть и не люблю пшеков) как раз они то и отличились в том деле!
  6. днх70 18 ноября 2013 14:11
    у нас есть свои горцы,покруче....
    днх70
  7. Асан Ата 18 ноября 2013 16:42
    Улыбнуло про своих горцев! drinks
    Асан Ата
  8. МАГ 18 ноября 2013 17:38
    "проходят девять месяцев обучения на одной из гонконгских баз" а что Гонконг уже снова не китайский?
  9. uzer 13 18 ноября 2013 23:08
    Гуркхи так долго сохранились в английйской армии по очень простой причине-англичане сами никогда и не собирались лезть под пули,когда можно выставить недорогих наемников.Ныне картина поля боя изменилась-пушечного мяса требуется меньше,а современных технологий все больше.Да и порождение капитализма-большое количество малограмотных бритоголовых дураков тоже надо куда-то девать.Потому гуркхи становятся ненужными.Ну а насколько Британия умеет быть благодарной и что скрывается за красивыми военными церемониями-об этом как раз и написано в этой статье.
  10. макс702 18 ноября 2013 23:41
    Читал увы не помню где что во время крымкой войны был такой эпизод.. Англичане уверенные что эти отважные "воины" принесут им победу при штурме укрепления которое им никак не удавалось взять , а наши солдаты решили что это ..Турки а уж турок то наши всегда бивали, вот и отвесили люлей этим хваленым "воинам " не разобравшись..англичане были в шоке.
  11. Military79 19 ноября 2013 04:06
    Видел этих ребят в Грин Зоне.Когда спросил у британского офицера он рассказал о них примерно тоже ,что и в статье.И еще анекдот про гуркхов.Я его запомнил:
    "Один британский генерал набирал роту для десантирования в тыл и приехал к гуркхом.
    -Я слышал вы считаетесь самыми смелыми и бестрашными воинами.Кто готов со мной проникнуть в тыл противника? Ночью,с высоты 1000 метров, высадиться с самолета врагу на голову и уничтожить его.Ну ,солдаты,шаг вперед-кто не боится.
    Вышло около половины строя.Генерал разочаровано молвил:
    -И это смелые гуркхи? Видимо вас перехвалили,если вы боитесь даже с парашютом прыгать.
    -А разве прыгать с парашютом будем?Чего же вы раньше молчали.
    И оставшиеся тоже шагнули вперед."
    В каждой шутке...сами знаете .Но когда британец говорил о гурках я услышал в голосе непотдельные нотки уважения.
    Military79
  12. SlavaP 24 ноября 2013 01:35
    Что бы ни говорили, а ребята они серьезные. Многие потом служат в частных секьюрии, пересекался с ними и кроме огромного уважения ничего не могу добавить

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня