Military Review

Air defense of the British expeditionary forces during the Anglo-Argentine conflict

13
Air defense of the British expeditionary forces during the Anglo-Argentine conflict

British aircraft carrier R05 "Invincible" out of Portsmouth




The “Sea Harrier” VTOL aircraft, from the 801-th AE, lands on the Invinsible aircraft carrier after completing a mission in the Falkland Islands


During March – June 1982, the world community closely followed the developments in the South Atlantic in the region of the Falkland Islands (Malvinas). The political crisis led to open armed clashes between Britain and Argentina.

The decisive role in the restoration of British ruling circles of colonial status over the Falkland Islands was played by the Royal Navy. According to the foreign press, the following tasks were assigned to them: the transfer of forces to the South Atlantic fleet, aviation Navy, Marine Corps and Ground Forces; the conquest of dominance at sea and air superiority and the establishment of a blockade of the islands; the implementation of the landing operation; providing support to troops during the landing and combat operations on the shore.

Noting the successes achieved by the Navy in addressing these issues, foreign military experts at the same time point to heavy losses (primarily in the ship), suffered by the UK in the battles for the Falklands, and cite the main reason for this lack of reliability of air defense of the expedition forces sent here . In their opinion, the following main factors had a negative impact on its effectiveness: the remoteness of the combat area from the UK on 8000 miles (almost 15000 km), which hampered the group’s logistical support and excluded the use of basic patrol aircraft and early warning radar as a means early detection of airborne targets and the absence of such funds on aircraft carriers; the presence of a relatively small number of carrier-based aircraft capable of solving the tasks of air defense; weak equipment of the ships anti-aircraft missile systems (ZRK) "Sea Wolf" with a high degree of response.


AH-Sea Harrier with air-to-air missiles takes off from the deck of the Invincible aircraft carrier



Fire on the British landing ship "Sir Galadhead" after an attack by Argentine 24 aircraft in May 1982.



The "Sea Harrier" VTOL "land on the deck of the British aircraft carrier" Hermes "



British Expeditionary Force ships bombed by Argentinean planes in the bay of San Carlos



A unique photo taken from the board of the British frigate "Broadsworth" 25 in May 1982. Argentine A-4B Skyhawk aircraft approach the frigate to drop bombs on it. Bursts on the water - the fall of the shells of anti-aircraft guns defensive ship



The explosion on the British frigate "Coventry", attacked by Argentine planes in a pair with FR "Broadsworth" 25 in May. After the bombs hit the ship stayed afloat 1 hour, after which it sank


Judging by the materials of the foreign press, to ensure the air defense of the expeditionary forces (ships and landing forces) in the region of the Falkland Islands, three air defense areas were created (see figure).


The organization of the air defense of the British expeditionary forces


The 1 region covered the area around the Falkland Islands, which is within the reach of the Argentine Air Force. The task of early detection of an air enemy here was solved mainly by squadrons of URO destroyers and frigates of UROs of the radar patrol. These ships were located in 120 miles (222 km) from the main forces of the ship group in threatened directions and monitored the air situation at medium altitudes within 120 miles (222 km), and at low altitudes - to 27 miles (50 km).

Air cover of the area was provided by airplanes with vertical or shortened take-off and landing of the "Sea Harrier", based on the aircraft carriers Invinsible and Hermes. Some of these machines were in the air, and the rest - on the decks in a three-minute readiness for takeoff. The planes patrolled at a distance of 140 miles (260 km) and more from the main forces within the range of the radar of patrol ships in constant readiness for an attack according to their target designations. In the case of successful overcoming by the Argentine pilots of this line, new vehicles were raised from aircraft carriers. The Sea Dart air defense system (70 km firing range) of escort ships also entered into action.


Argentine aircraft "Super Etandar" launches the AMR-39 "Exocset"



British EM URO "Sheffield" after the attack of Argentine aircraft 4 May 1982 g. After a strong fire, the ship sank



Ship's GWS-25 SAMC "Sea Wolf"


Key Features:
Firing range - 5,5 km
Max. speed - more than 2M
Mass of missiles - 82 kg
Sizes of missiles:
- length - 1900 mm
- diameter - 180 mm
- wingspan 560 mm


The 2 area included the space above the Falkland Islands. His defense was provided by ships patrolling around the islands or providing support to the landing forces. The main means of destroying the aircraft were the Sea Dart, Sea Cat and Sea Wolf systems (the firing range of the latter to 5 km). To counter the massive raids used shipboard anti-aircraft artillery systems. In addition, helicopters were used as directors of passive jamming or infrared traps, opposing the homing head of aviation air-to-surface missiles.

The 3 area covered the area above the northern part of the Falkland Channel and the bay of the port of San Carlos. His forces and equipment (Rapira air defense missile system with a range of up to 7 km and Bloupep, portable with a maximum interception range of 3 km) covered desanted troops from air attacks during their landing and conducting combat operations for expanding the bridgehead.

Although, according to foreign military experts, this air defense system of the expeditionary forces did not fully justify itself, they note its two main positive aspects. First, the increase in radar detection zone forced Argentine pilots to break through to targets and overcome a significant part of the route at low altitudes, which, due to high fuel consumption, limited the radius of flight of aircraft and sharply reduced their ability to explore and destroy British naval ships. Secondly, the air battles, as a rule, were of a time-limited nature, and often the Argentine pilots left for their airfields, only partially fulfilling the tasks of striking the ships and forces of the enemy assault force.

In warfare, the Sea Harrier and Harrier aircraft have proven themselves well. They had higher maneuverability than the Argentine Skyhawks, and had advantages in speed and armament. According to the latest foreign press reports, during the conflict, the 28 aircraft of the Argentine Air Force were shot down in air battles, eight with Sea Dart anti-aircraft missile systems, six with Sea Wolf and 14 with Rapier. On the effectiveness of the use of the air defense system "Rapier" in the foreign press provides such data. During the first six days of fighting in the bridgehead, the British spent 45 missiles and shot down nine aircraft, and the next two fired 23 missiles and destroyed two aircraft. On average, six missiles were spent on one downed plane.

The weak point in the organization of air defense, as noted in the foreign press, was that the ships that were in the radar patrol were themselves vulnerable to air strikes. This is confirmed by the fact that two of the four sunken destroyers and frigates were lost while they were patrolling.

A certain weakness of the air defense system was also revealed when the Argentine Air Force raided the assault forces during their landing in the area of ​​the port of San Carlos, which was covered by a group of frigates armed with Sea Dart and Sea Wolves. The crowding of British ships in the narrow Falkland Strait allowed the Argentines to make a series of successful attacks. As a result, two URO frigates were sunk (the Ardent and Antelope) and several other ships were seriously damaged. Argentine aviation lost six aircraft.

The air defense of the British ships, which carried out artillery shelling of the Port Stanley airfield, was not effective enough. The planes of the Argentine Air Force, using data from coastal radars located on the islands, attacked ships from the coast at extremely low altitudes (up to 15 m). The attack was reflected by the C-WOLF air defense system and the ship's anti-aircraft artillery. In the course of it, some ships were seriously damaged, and the destroyer URO received a through hole in the hull from an unexploded bomb. When repelling a raid, two Skyhawk aircraft were shot down and one crashed into the sea, carrying out an anti-missile maneuver.

In addition, it is emphasized that the most prepared Argentine pilots successfully overcame opposition from the air defense of ships and fighters, making flights with thoughtful maneuvering at low and extremely low altitudes. When attacking, they often used sunsets from the shore or the sun, thereby making it difficult for operators and gunners to work. As a result of such attacks, the destroyers of the Sheffield and Coventry URO patrols and the Antelope URA frigate were sunk, and several ships were damaged.

During the fighting, the Falkland Islands also revealed other serious shortcomings in the organization of the air defense of the British expeditionary forces, which are still being studied by foreign military experts. However, immediately after the end of the conflict, they pointed out a number of specific measures that, in their opinion, could contribute to a more successful solution of the air defense tasks. So, in order to cover the strike forces on aircraft carriers or escort ships, they should have had early warning systems in place - helicopters, airships, aerostats and other aircraft. The need to improve shipborne systems for detecting and destroying low-flying targets was noted. Deck airplanes performing air defense tasks should have a greater range of operations compared to the Sea Harrier, and ships, especially those separated from the main forces (for example, radar patrol ships), should have the Sea Wolf or modern artillery systems in service. systems capable of destroying anti-ship missiles.

These, briefly, are some of the features of the air defense of the British expeditionary forces during the Anglo-Argentine armed conflict in the region of the Falkland Islands (Malvinas).


Rapier ground attack system ("Rapier")


Key Features:
Firing range - 7,5 km
Max. speed - more than 2M
Mass of missiles - 43 kg
Weight of warhead - 9 kg
Sizes of missiles:
- length - 2240 mm
- diameter - 130 mm
- wingspan 380 mm



Ship's GWS-30 "Sea Dart" ZRK


Key Features:
Firing range - 46 km
Max. speed - 3,5M
Mass of missiles - 550 kg
Sizes of missiles:
- length - 4360 mm
- diameter - 310 mm
- wingspan 910 mm



Shipboard GWS-22 C Sea Cat


Key Features:
Firing range - 5,5 km
Max. speed - 0,9M
Mass of missiles - 68 kg
Sizes of missiles:
- length - 1480 mm
- diameter - 190 mm
- wingspan 650 mm
Author:
Originator:
http://otvaga2004.ru/
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. vthrehbq
    vthrehbq 20 November 2013 09: 47
    +4
    Everything was even sadder, the British saved only that almost all of the dropped bombs did not explode (they were made in the USA :)))) if they worked as it should, the Argentines would sink all the English ships ..
    1. Delta
      Delta 20 November 2013 11: 46
      +1
      Quote: vthrehbq
      if they worked as it should, the Argentines would sink all the English ships ..


      again "if only if only". If the British had not turned off the radar at the most inopportune moment, for the sake of negotiations with London, Sheffield would not have been drowned. And not only him. So let's not deal with alternative history. Silly business. We have what is
  2. Strashila
    Strashila 20 November 2013 11: 42
    +2
    Moreover, remove the support of the Americans for the supply of intelligence space and electronic intelligence ... what to do Argentina fought not with Britain, but with NATO.
  3. kafa
    kafa 20 November 2013 12: 40
    +1
    Argentines themselves are not angels, but experience must be assimilated and not allowed to happen. I don’t know for sure, but information flashed that the BIOS exoset counted for its own and see above winked
  4. Andreitas
    Andreitas 20 November 2013 13: 13
    +4
    Yes, correctly about the unexploded air bombs of the Argentines, it was said above. Which they poked a lot in English ships. If they were majority in the majority, it is not known how it all ended.
    1. Archibald
      Archibald 21 November 2013 16: 36
      0
      Serviceability has nothing to do with it, because of the low altitude the fuses did not have time to cock.
  5. Poruchik 90
    Poruchik 90 20 November 2013 13: 18
    +5
    Unfortunately, Argentina managed to get at the time of the conflict only a small batch of Exosets, I don’t remember exactly, but something about 7-8 pieces (I could be wrong, but I read the information in the VZO in 83). And the pilots of the Argentines were well prepared, one managed to get away from 7 missiles in one departure (I can imagine how he spun). And yet, the main minus is the removal of the war zone from the mainland, Skyhawks flew at the maximum radius.
  6. lordinicus
    lordinicus 20 November 2013 13: 22
    +4
    I read the memoirs of the English admiral who commanded the naval part of the operation near the Falklands. I got the impression that it was a war of mass failure. The air defense missile defense systems Sea Kat, Sea Wolf, Sea Dart were denied en masse, Rapiers, for example, couldn’t catch up with the plane, but couldn’t intercept in Kursk Kursk for some reason. The South Atlantic is not very hospitable, plus there were no bases nearby, ships on duty were not serviced. Missiles did not launch due to failures. Argentinean bombs would not have hit ships if all the missiles had flown from the launchers. If the radars didn’t fail when you speak via satellite. There, if so, it would be complete. This is a war of contradictions, the main conclusion that Western countries have made since that war is RELIABILITY, the British jumped at super duper efficiency, they became the main RELIABILITY. All of their ships were built after that war with one reservation RELIABILITY.

    And I also discovered such a thing for myself, the ship practically cannot notice in time a rocket coming towards it, its effective dispersion area is very small, basically this rocket was seen by a neighboring ship when in fact the rocket was sideways to it. The most effective means of detecting missiles was an electronic reconnaissance station for missiles operating seeker, they called it "Jailbreak", the station was triggered, missiles with dipoles flew once.
  7. makarov
    makarov 20 November 2013 18: 26
    +4
    And almost all comets missed one thing: Argentina, which was rather weak in military equipment, was not afraid to openly oppose England without any support and allies.
    1. Mooh
      Mooh 20 November 2013 19: 38
      -1
      And what's the point? To speak, she spoke, but to win, she did not win.
  8. samoletil18
    samoletil18 20 November 2013 22: 25
    +5
    I was 12 years old then. And we rejoiced when the loss of the British was reported. And when it was said about the sinking of the Argentine cruiser by a British submarine, we were seized by horror. Many have already read quite a few books on naval subjects. And the Argentines were sorry, and the ship was big. And the climate of the South Atlantic represented. But the dad officers who had those guys sitting in the courtyard on the curb with the outbreak of hostilities predicted the defeat of Argentina, experts. Although the children of civil illusions did not harbor either.
    In 2003, teenagers did not even know where Iraq is located. In 2010 - where is Libya. Now - where is Syria.
    To the author +. Thank you for the recalled memories.
    The sinking of the General Belgrano was yet another dishonorable act. It was outside the 200-mile zone declared by the British.
    PS I apologize for being somewhat off topic. Something flooded over.
    1. Eugeniy_369
      Eugeniy_369 21 November 2013 10: 58
      0
      Quote: samoletil18
      The sinking of the General Belgrano was yet another dishonorable act. It was outside the 200-mile zone declared by the British.

      A la gar comme a la gar ... The British, I think, wanted to get even for their ships.
      1. Archibald
        Archibald 21 November 2013 16: 39
        0
        The cruiser was sunk before.
  9. uzer 13
    uzer 13 20 November 2013 23: 00
    +2
    England somehow did not show any superiority in this war. The organization of military operations leaves much to be desired. The entire air defense system is frankly a weak link. If the enemy were more serious, this group of ships would not return to England.
    1. samoletil18
      samoletil18 20 November 2013 23: 09
      0
      Grouping for a specific enemy was preparing.
  10. Poruchik 90
    Poruchik 90 21 November 2013 18: 00
    0
    Quote: Archibald
    The cruiser was sunk before.


    Yes, the cruiser sank the British nuclear submarine before the start of hostilities and the approach of the main forces. An act of intimidation, so the fleet of Argentina and sat in the database all the events.
  11. Sterlya
    Sterlya 25 November 2013 23: 24
    0
    I hope the Argentines will better prepare for the next war

Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

Британский авианосец R05 «Инвинсибл» выходит из Портсмута


Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

СВВП «Си Харриер» из состава 801-й аэ садится на авианосец «Инвинсибл» после выполнения боевого задания в районе Фолклендских островов



В течение марта–июня 1982 года мировая общественность пристально следила за развитием событий в Южной Атлантике в районе Фолклендских (Мальвинских) островов. Политический кризис привёл к открытому вооруженному столкновению между Великобританией и Аргентиной.

Решающую роль в восстановлении британскими правящими кругами колониального статуса над Фолклендскими островами сыграли Военно-морские силы (Royal Navy). По свидетельству иностранной печати, на них возлагались следующие задачи: переброска в Южную Атлантику сил флота, авиации ВМС, морской пехоты и подразделений сухопутных войск; завоевание господства на море и превосходства в воздухе и установление блокады островов; осуществление десантной операции; оказание поддержки войскам при десантировании и ведении боевых действий на берегу.

Отмечая успехи, достигнутые ВМС при решении данных вопросов, зарубежные военные специалисты вместе с тем указывают на тяжелые потери (прежде всего в корабельном составе), понесенные Великобританией в боях за Фолклендские острова, и называют в качестве главной причины этого недостаточную надежность ПВО направленных сюда экспедиционных сил. По их мнению, на ее эффективности отрицательно сказались следующие основные факторы: удаленность района боевых действий от Великобритании на 8000 миль (почти 15000 км), что затрудняло материально-техническое обеспечение группировки и исключало возможность использования самолетов базовой патрульной авиации и дальнего радиолокационного обнаружения в качестве средств раннего обнаружения воздушных целей и отсутствие таких средств на авианосцах; наличие сравнительно небольшого количества палубных самолетов, способных решать задачи противовоздушной обороны; слабая оснащенность кораблей зенитными ракетными комплексами (ЗРК) «Си Вулф», обладающими высокой степенью реагирования.

Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

СВВП «Си Харриер» с ракетами «воздух-воздух» взлетает с палубы авианосца «Инвинсибл»


Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

Пожар на британском десантном корабле «Сэр Гэлэхэд» после атаки аргентинских самолётов 24 мая 1982 г.


Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

СВВП «Си Харриер» приземляются на палубу британского авианосца «Гермес»


Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

Британские корабли экспедиционных сил под бомбами аргентинских самолётов в бухте Сан-Карлоса


Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

Уникальное фото, сделанное с борта британского фрегата «Бродсуорд» 25 мая 1982 г. Аргентинские самолёты A-4B «Скайхок» приближаются к фрегату чтобы сбросить на него бомбы. Всплески на воде - падение снарядов зенитных орудий обороняющегося корабля


Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

Взрыв на британском фрегате «Ковентри», атакованном аргентинскими самолётами в паре с ФР «Бродсуорд» 25 мая. После попадания бомб корабль продержался на плаву 1 час, после чего затонул


Судя по материалам иностранной прессы, для обеспечения противовоздушной обороны экспедиционных сил (кораблей и сил десанта) в районе Фолклендских островов были созданы три района ПВО (см. рисунок).

Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

Организация противовоздушной обороны английских экспедиционных сил


1-й район охватывал пространство вокруг Фолклендских островов, находящееся в зоне досягаемости аргентинских ВВС. Задача раннего обнаружения воздушного противника здесь решалась в основном эскадренными миноносцами УРО и фрегатами УРО радиолокационного дозора. Эти корабли располагались в 120 милях (222 км) от главных сил корабельной группировки на угрожаемых направлениях и осуществляли наблюдение за воздушной обстановкой на средних высотах в радиусе 120 миль (222 км), а на малых – до 27 миль (50 км).

Воздушное прикрытие района обеспечивали самолеты с вертикальным или укороченным взлетом и посадкой «Си Харриер», базирующиеся на авианосцах «Инвинсибл» и «Гермес». Часть этих машин находилась в воздухе, а остальные – на палубах в трехминутной готовности к взлету. Самолеты патрулировали на удалении 140 миль (260 км) и более от главных сил в пределах дальности действия РЛС дозорных кораблей в постоянной готовности к атаке по их целеуказаниям. В случае успешного преодоления аргентинскими летчиками данного рубежа с авианосцев поднимались новые машины. В действие вступали также ЗРК «Си Дарт» (дальность стрельбы 70 км) кораблей охранения.

Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

Аргентинский самолёт «Супер Этандар» осуществляет запуск ПКР AM-39 «Экзосет»


Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

Британский ЭМ УРО «Шеффилд» после атаки аргентинских самолётов 4 мая 1982 г. После сильного пожара корабль затонул


Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

Корабельный ЗРК GWS-25 «Си Вулф» («Sea Wolf»)


Основные характеристики:
Дальность стрельбы — 5,5 км
Макс. скорость — более 2М
Масса ЗУР — 82 кг
Размеры ЗУР:
- длина — 1900 мм
- диаметр — 180 мм
- размах крыла 560 мм


2-й район включал пространство над Фолклендскими островами. Его оборона обеспечивалась кораблями, патрулирующими вокруг островов или оказывающими поддержку силам десанта. Основным средством уничтожения самолетов были ЗРК «Си Дарт», «Си Кэт» и «Си Вулф» (дальность стрельбы последних до 5 км). Для отражения массированных налетов использовались корабельные зенитные артиллерийские системы. Кроме того, применялись вертолеты в качестве постановщиков пассивных помех или ИК ловушек, противодействующих головкам самонаведения авиационных УР класса «воздух – поверхность».

3-й район охватывал пространство над северной частью Фолклендского пролива и бухтой порта Сан-Карлос. Его силы и средства (ЗРК «Рапира» с дальностью стрельбы до 7 км и «Блоупайп», переносной с максимальной дальностью перехвата 3 км) прикрывали десантируемые войска от атак с воздуха при их высадке и ведении боевых действий за расширение плацдарма.

Хотя, по мнению иностранных военных специалистов, данная система ПВО экспедиционных сил не в полной мере оправдала себя, они отмечают две ее главные положительные стороны. Во-первых, увеличение зоны радиолокационного обнаружения вынудило аргентинских летчиков осуществлять прорыв к целям и преодолевать значительную часть маршрута на малых высотах, что вследствие большого расхода топлива ограничивало радиус полета самолетов и резко снижало их возможность по разведке и уничтожению кораблей ВМС Великобритании. Во-вторых, воздушные бои, как правило, носили ограниченный по времени характер, и нередко аргентинские летчики уходили на свои аэродромы, лишь частично выполнив задачи нанесения ударов по кораблям и силам десанта противника.

В боевых действиях хорошо зарекомендовали себя самолеты «Си Харриер» и «Харриер». Они обладали более высокой маневренностью, чем аргентинские «Скайхок», и имели преимущества в скорости и вооружении. По последним сообщениям зарубежной прессы, в ходе конфликта 28 самолетов ВВС Аргентины были сбиты в воздушных боях, восемь – зенитными ракетными комплексами «Си Дарт», шесть – «Си Вулф» и 14 – «Рапира». Об эффективности применения ЗРК «Рапира» в иностранной печати приводятся такие данные. В ходе первых шести дней боев на плацдарме англичане израсходовали 45 ЗУР и сбили девять самолетов, а за два следующих выпустили 23 ракеты и уничтожили два самолета. В среднем на один сбитый самолет расходовалось шесть ЗУР.

Слабым местом в организации ПВО, как отмечается в иностранной печати, являлось то, что корабли, находящиеся в радиолокационном дозоре, сами оказались уязвимыми от ударов с воздуха. Подтверждением этому служит тот факт, что два из четырех потопленных эскадренных миноносцев и фрегатов были потеряны во время несения ими дозора.

Определенная слабость ПВО обнаружилась также при отражении налетов аргентинских ВВС на силы десанта во время их высадки в районе порта Сан-Карлос, которую прикрывала группа фрегатов, вооруженных ЗРК «Си Дарт» и «Си Вулф». Скученность английских кораблей в узком Фолклендском проливе позволила аргентинцам совершить ряд успешных атак. В результате два фрегата УРО были потоплены («Ардент» и «Антилопа») и несколько других кораблей получили серьезные повреждения. Аргентинская авиация потеряла шесть самолетов.

Недостаточно эффективной оказалась ПВО английских кораблей, осуществлявших артиллерийский обстрел аэродрома Порт-Стэнли. Самолеты ВВС Аргентины, используя данные береговых РЛС, расположенных на островах, атаковали корабли со стороны берега на предельно малых высотах (до 15 м). Налет отражался ЗРК «Си Вулф» и корабельной зенитной артиллерией. В ходе его были серьезно повреждены некоторые корабли, причем эскадренный миноносец УРО получил сквозную пробоину в корпусе от неразорвавшейся бомбы. При отражении налета были сбиты два самолета «Скайхок» и один врезался в море, выполняя противоракетный маневр.

Кроме того, подчеркивается, что наиболее подготовленные аргентинские летчики успешно преодолевали противодействие средств ПВО кораблей и истребителей, совершая полеты с продуманным маневрированием на малых и предельно малых высотах. При атаках они часто применяли заходы со стороны берега или солнца, затрудняя тем самым работу операторов и наводчиков. В результате таких атак были потоплены эскадренные миноносцы УРО «Шеффилд» и «Ковентри», фрегат УРО «Антилопа», а несколько кораблей получили повреждения.

В ходе боевых действий у Фолклендских островов выявились и другие серьезные недостатки в организации противовоздушной обороны английских экспедиционных сил, еще изучаемые зарубежными военными специалистами. Однако сразу же после завершения конфликта они указали на ряд конкретных мероприятий, которые, по их мнению, могли бы способствовать более успешному решению задач ПВО. Так, для прикрытия ударных сил на авианосцах или кораблях охранения должны были, по их мнению, находиться средства дальнего обнаружения – вертолеты, дирижабли, аэростаты и другие летательные аппараты. Отмечалась необходимость усовершенствования корабельных систем обнаружения и уничтожения низколетящих целей. Палубным самолетам, выполняющим задачи ПВО, следует иметь большую дальность действия по сравнению с «Си Харриер», а на вооружении кораблей, особенно находящихся в отрыве от главных сил (например, корабли радиолокационного дозора), должны находиться ЗРК «Си Вулф» или современные артиллерийские системы, способные уничтожать противокорабельные ракеты.

Таковы, коротко, некоторые особенности противовоздушной обороны английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского вооруженного конфликта в районе Фолклендских (Мальвинских) островов.

Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

Наземный ЗРК «Рапира» («Rapier»)


Основные характеристики:
Дальность стрельбы — 7,5 км
Макс. скорость — более 2М
Масса ЗУР — 43 кг
Масса БЧ — 9 кг
Размеры ЗУР:
- длина — 2240 мм
- диаметр — 130 мм
- размах крыла 380 мм


Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

Корабельный ЗРК GWS-30 «Си Дарт» («Sea Dart»)


Основные характеристики:
Дальность стрельбы — 46 км
Макс. скорость — 3,5М
Масса ЗУР — 550 кг
Размеры ЗУР:
- длина — 4360 мм
- диаметр — 310 мм
- размах крыла 910 мм


Противовоздушная оборона английских экспедиционных сил в ходе англо-аргентинского конфликта

Корабельный ЗРК GWS-22 «Си Кэт» («Sea Cat»)


Основные характеристики:
Дальность стрельбы — 5,5 км
Макс. скорость — 0,9М
Масса ЗУР — 68 кг
Размеры ЗУР:
- длина — 1480 мм
- диаметр — 190 мм
- размах крыла 650 мм
Автор: Капитан 2 ранга Ю. Галкин
Первоисточник: http://otvaga2004.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 13
  1. vthrehbq 20 ноября 2013 09:47
    Все было еще печальнее , англичан спасло только то что почти все сброшенные бомбы не взорвались ( они были сделаны в США:))) ) если бы они сработали как надо то аргентинцы потопили бы все английские корабли..
    vthrehbq
    1. Delta 20 ноября 2013 11:46
      Цитата: vthrehbq
      если бы они сработали как надо то аргентинцы потопили бы все английские корабли..


      опять "ежели бы да кабы". Если бы англичане не выключили РЛС в самый неподходящий момент, ради переговоров с Лондоном, "Шеффилд" не был бы утоплен. И не только он. Так что не будем заниматься альтернативной историей. Глупое занятие. Имеем то, что есть
  2. Strashila 20 ноября 2013 11:42
    Да еще убрать поддержку америкосов по поставке разведданных космической и радиоэлектронной разведки... что поделать Аргентина воевала не с Британией ,а с НАТО.
  3. kafa 20 ноября 2013 12:40
    аргентинцы сами не ангелы а вот опыт нужно усваивать и не допускать подобного. не знаю точно но мелькала информация что БИУОС экзосет за за свой посчитала и смотрите выше winked
  4. Andreitas 20 ноября 2013 13:13
    Да правильно про не разорвавшиеся авиабомбы аргентинцев выше было сказано. Которых они немало насовали в английские корабли . Были бы они исравные в большинстве, неизвестно как все еще закончилось.
    1. Арчибальд 21 ноября 2013 16:36
      Исправность не причем, из-за малой высоты не успевали взводиться взрыватели.
      Арчибальд
  5. Poruchik 90 20 ноября 2013 13:18
    К сожалению Аргентина успела получить на момент конфликта только маленькую партию Экзосетов, точно не помню, но что то около 7-8 шт (могу ошибаться, но читал информацию в ВЗО в 83 году). А пилоты Аргентинцев были неплохо подготовлены, один умудрился уйти в одном вылете от 7 ракет (представляю как он крутился). И еще, основной минус это удаление района боевых действий от материка, Скайхоки летали на предельном радиусе.
    Poruchik 90
  6. lordinicus 20 ноября 2013 13:22
    Читал воспоминания английского адмирала который командывал морской частью операции возле фолклендов.У меня сложилось впечатление, что это была война массовых отказов. ЗРК Си кэт, Си вулф, Си дарт массово отказывали,Рапиры например не могли догнать самолет, а на всречных курсках не могли перехватывать по какой то причине. Южная атлантика не сильно гостепреимная, плюс отсутствовали базы рядом, корабли по долгу не обслужевались. Ракеты не запускались из за отказов. Бомбы аргентинцев не попали бы в корабли если бы все ракеты вылетели с пусковых установок. Если бы радары не отказывали когда говоришь по спутниковой связи. Там таких если бы да как бы полно. Это война противоречий, главный вывод который сделали страны запада с той войны это НАДЕЖНОСТЬ, англичане начхали на супер пупер эффектиность им стало главное НАДЕЖНОСТЬ. Все ихние корабли строились после той войны с одной оговоркой НАДЕЖНОСТЬ.

    И еще я для себя открыл такую штуку, корабль практически не может вовремя заметить идущую на него ракету ее эффективная площадь рассеивания очень мала, в основном эту ракету видел соседний корабль когда по сути ракета к нему была боком. Самым эффективным средством обнаружения ракет была станции радиотехнической разведки работающих ГСН ракет,они ее называли "Джейлбрэйк", сработала станция разу полетели ракеты с диполями.
  7. makarov 20 ноября 2013 18:26
    И почти все кометы пропустили одно: довольно слабая в военной технике Аргентина не побоялась открыто выступить против Англии не имея какой либо поддержки и союзников.
    makarov
    1. MooH 20 ноября 2013 19:38
      А что толку то? Выступить то выступила, а победить то не победила.
  8. samoletil18 20 ноября 2013 22:25
    Мне тогда было 12 лет. И мы радовались, когда сообщалось о потерях британцев. А когда говорилось о потоплении аргентинского крейсера британской подлодкой, нас охватил ужас. Многие уже немало книг на военно-морскую тематику прочли. И аргентинцев было жалко, и корабль большой. Да и климат Южной Атлантики представляли. А папы-офицеры у кого были, те пацаны, сидя во дворе на бордюре с началом боевых действий предрекли поражение Аргентины, эксперты. Хотя дети гражданских иллюзий не питали тоже.
    В 2003 подростки не знали даже где Ирак находится. В 2010 - где Ливия. Сейчас - где Сирия.
    Автору+. Спасибо, за вызванные статьей воспоминания.
    Потопление "Хенераль Бельграно" было очередным бесчестным актом. Он находился за пределами 200-мильной зоны объявленной англичанами.
    P.S. Прошу прощения, что несколько не по теме. Нахлынуло что-то.
    1. Eugeniy_369 21 ноября 2013 10:58
      Цитата: samoletil18
      Потопление "Хенераль Бельграно" было очередным бесчестным актом. Он находился за пределами 200-мильной зоны объявленной англичанами.

      A la gar comme a la gar ... Англичане я думаю хотели поквитаться за свои корабли.
      Eugeniy_369
      1. Арчибальд 21 ноября 2013 16:39
        Крейсер потопили до этого.
        Арчибальд
  9. uzer 13 20 ноября 2013 23:00
    Англия как-то не показала какого-то превосходства в этой войне.Организация боевых действий оставляет желать лучшего.Вся система ПВО-откровенно слабое звено.Будь противник посерьезнее-эта группировка кораблей не вернулась бы в Англию.
    1. samoletil18 20 ноября 2013 23:09
      Группировка под конкретного противника готовилась.
  10. Poruchik 90 21 ноября 2013 18:00
    Цитата: Арчибальд
    Крейсер потопили до этого.


    Да, крейсер потопила Английская АПЛ до начала боевых действий и подхода основных сил. Акт устрашения, поэтому флот Аргентины и просидел в базе все события.
    Poruchik 90
  11. Sterlya 25 ноября 2013 23:24
    надеюсь к следующей войне аргентинцы лучше подготовятся

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня