Military Review

Kerch-Eltigen landing operation

9
Kerch-Eltigen landing operation

Division of paratroopers before sailing to the shores of the Kerch Strait. November 1943



Operation of troops of the North Caucasus Front (commander Colonel General I.E. Petrov), Black Sea forces fleet (Commander Vice Admiral L.A. Vladimirsky) and the Azov Military Flotilla (Commander Rear Admiral S.G. Gorshkov), held October 31 - December 11, 1943

The purpose of the operation was to create an initial bridgehead on the Kerch Peninsula for the subsequent deployment of military operations to liberate the Crimea together with the troops of the 4th Ukrainian Front. On the Kerch Peninsula, units of the 98th German Infantry, 6th Romanian Cavalry and 3rd Romanian Mountain Rifle Divisions defended, up to 10 separate units and commands of the 17th enemy army. 56 artillery and mortar and 23 anti-aircraft batteries were deployed on the coast. Troops supported aviation 4th air fleet and naval forces.

The plan of the operation was to disembark three rifle divisions of the 56 Army in the northeast and east of Kerch (main line) and one rifle division of the 18 Army (auxiliary line). After the bridgeheads were captured, the troops were to strike in converging directions to seize the eastern part of the Kerch Peninsula with the ports of Kerch and Kamysh-Burun. In accordance with the plan, groups were created for actions on the main and auxiliary lines, which included, in addition to the landing troops, the landing forces — 16 of the detachments of boats and auxiliary vessels, the 2 detachment of artillery support, and the 2 of the cover of various types and 119 auxiliary ships and other vehicles; Artillery and air support forces - 159 guns (caliber 667 mm and more) and 76 rocket launchers, 90 aircraft, 1001 from 612 Air Force (Commander Lieutenant General KA Vershinin) and 4 - fleet aviation ( Commander, Lieutenant-General V.V. Ermachenkov).

Artillery preparation during the landing of the 18 Army (Commander Lieutenant General KN Leselidze) in the Eltigen area continued 15 mines, during which 247 shells spent 8334 shells. The artillery training of the 56 Army (Commander, Lieutenant-General KS Melnik), which continued 23 mines, involved 420 guns and 2 rocket artillery regiment. It also involved the artillery of the 18 Army, attached to strengthen the 56 Army. The aviation of the 4 Air Force suppressed enemy defense targets in the landing area (Dangerous - Fisheries). The enemy’s fire system was only partially suppressed.

On the evening of October 31, landing of landing troops on ships and vessels began. Due to a severe storm, the 56th Army landing could not land on time. The landing force of the 18th army, despite the difficult hydrometeorological conditions, at dawn on November 1, secretly landed in the area of ​​Eltigen. Landing and unloading equipment did not stop even with hurricane fire of the enemy. So, for example, landing craft No. 10 (foreman 2 articles A.A. Elizarov), continuously fired by machine gun and mortar fire and bombarded with grenades, went ashore and landed a unit of the 386th Separate Marine Corps Battalion (BMP) (commander Major N. A. Belyakov). Sailors of the bot team caught enemy grenades flying at him with their hands, throwing them back at the enemy. Marines went on the attack right from the side of the bot, breaking wire fences in the water and on the shore. The paratroopers, successfully repulsing the enemy’s counterattacks, captured a bridgehead up to 5 km along the front and up to 2 km in depth. Due to the simultaneous landing of all three landing groups due to severe storm conditions, the enemy transferred all available reserves of his troops and launched a series of fierce attacks by infantry and tanks. The landing force steadily held the captured bridgehead.

In the landing operation, the landed units of the 318 th rifle division (SD) (commander Col. VF Gladkov) and two battalions of marines supported by a powerful artillery and aviation attack, in 5 hours 1 on November 1943, overcame the strong fire resistance of the enemy and minefields and tied up intense battles for the expansion of the bridgehead seized between the Tobechikskoe and Churubashskoye lakes (in the Eltigen area, south of Kerch). The landing forces, supported by artillery and aviation, successfully repelled numerous enemy counterattacks during the day. Thus, one of the groups of 386 sailors, Major Belyakov’s rider, who seized an anti-tank ditch, repulsed 19 tank attacks for four hours of continuous combat. On the night of 1 on November 2, 3270 people, 4 guns, 9 mortars, 22,7 tons of ammunition and 2 tons of foodstuffs were additionally transported to the Eltigen area. As a result, the landing of the 318 sd (1-th echelon of the troops of the 18-th army) was completed by the morning of November 2. On the bridgehead were about 6 thousand paratroopers.


Kerch-Eltigen landing operation (October 31 - December 11 1943)


Artillery support of the eltigen landing group, which occupied a limited, through fire of all types weapons bridgehead, was assigned only to the 55 coastal artillery guns of the fleet. This weakening of the artillery support of the Eltigen group significantly reduced the resistance of the landing force of the 18 Army, which conducted continuous heavy battles for 40 days with superior enemy forces. Taking advantage of the fact that the enemy concentrated the main forces to fight the landing of the 18 Army, on the night of November 3, the Azov flotilla successfully landed the troops of the 56 Army northeast of Kerch.


Paratroopers in the bay of Kerch. November 1943



Storm of heights on the approaches to the city of Kerch. November 1943


The landing of the advanced detachment of the 2 airborne group was supported around 200 guns and the rocket artillery regiment of the 56 army. By November 12, the army of this army cleared the enemy’s north-eastern ledge of the Kerch Peninsula and reached Bulganak and the north-eastern outskirts of Kerch, where they went over to the defensive, holding the bridgehead until the beginning of the Crimean operation 1944.

At this time, fierce fighting continued for the bridgehead at Eltigen. Against the paratroopers, the enemy command abandoned infantry units, whose attacks were supported by aircraft and tanks. After long battles in the conditions of an enemy blockade from the sea and air, part of the landing force operating in the Eltigen area received orders from the command to break into the Kerch area to connect with the troops defending north-east of the city. After 40 days, 1700 of weakened 6 paratroopers of December broke through the enemy defenses, secretly forcing the swamp, which the enemy considered impassable, made the 20-kilometer march, reached the southern edge of Kerch and captured the Mithridates mountain.


Fighting paratroopers on the outskirts of the city of Kerch. November 1943


The appearance of Soviet troops in Kerch was completely unexpected for the enemy. A panic arose among his troops. The struggle for Kerch could get a more successful development, but the main forces of the landing force did not have time to take advantage of the favorable environment. Given the inability to deliver reinforcements, the Soviet command 10 – 11 December evacuated paratroopers from the southern outskirts of Kerch. As a result of the Kerch-Eltigen landing operation, Soviet troops captured an important operational bridgehead, which later played a major role in the liberation of the Crimea.


Material prepared by the Research Institute
(military storiesA) Military Academy
General Staff of the Armed Forces of the Russian Federation
Originator:
http://encyclopedia.mil.ru/
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. makarov
    makarov 23 November 2013 09: 17
    13
    My grandfather, Fedorchenko Mikhail Petrovich, was in those battles. The award - Medal For Courage received in the early 60's, she was looking for him for more than 15 years. Kingdom to him be heaven. !!
  2. malikszh
    malikszh 23 November 2013 10: 54
    +8
    my fellow countryman veteran kayyrgali ismagulov got a hero
  3. nnz226
    nnz226 23 November 2013 13: 23
    +6
    landed troops in Eltigen, as stated in an article dedicated to this at the landing, on the same site, then German ships dominated the coast of the bridgehead (???), preventing the arrival of reinforcements and replenishment of the landing with ammunition + storm. Questions: 1) have the Soviet commanders and naval commanders never heard about winter storms in the Black Sea? 2) Where did it hang out (the future Red Banner Black Sea Fleet) when the Germans blocked the Eltigent landing from the sea? Having a battleship, several cruisers, more than a dozen destroyers, allow the boats and a maximum of BDBs (large landing barges for the Germans are the most powerful ships in the Black Sea) of the Nazis to blockade the bridgehead! "Tirpitz", "Sheer" and other "Hippers" were not observed on the Black Sea. Air cover for ships was also possible, the range of the Soviet Air Force to Eltigen was enough, again, thanks to the efforts of Pokryshkin and his comrades in the "battle over the Kuban" in the summer of 1943, Soviet aviation seized air supremacy. So why did the paratroopers not have support, the bridgehead was not replenished with people and equipment with ammunition, and the fighters were forced to break through to Kerch, from where they had to be evacuated again ??? "Eneraly" und "Atmirals" by 1943 have not yet learned how to fight?
    1. m262
      m262 23 November 2013 15: 54
      0
      It's a shame, but a fact.
      1. Walking
        Walking 23 November 2013 16: 54
        +3
        After the death of October 6, 1943 from air strikes of the leader of Kharkov and 2 destroyers, the Merciless, Capable was a ban on access to the sea of ​​large ships of the Black Sea Fleet
  4. okroshka79
    okroshka79 23 November 2013 18: 15
    +4
    I advise you to read the book by DF Gladkov "Landing on Edtigen" on this topic, from which the reason for the impossibility of developing the success of the landing will be clarified in many ways. Now it is so indiscriminate to accuse, like the command failed. did not want to, etc. at least not correctly and not tactfully. I will give just one quote from the book: ... "The operation was well prepared and successfully carried out, although the eastern coast of the peninsula was heavily fortified by the Germans. The plan of the artillery offensive was developed and directly implemented by the commander of the front artillery, Lieutenant General Sivkov. He was one of the largest artillerymen of the Soviet Army In this operation, General Sivkov was killed by a shell burst at his NP.

    The landings landed, but the plan of operation was not fully implemented. Why didn’t the 56th Army capture Kerch and connect with our landing in early November? One of the reasons is the lack of watercraft for crossing artillery and tanks. The landing units carried only 45-mm guns and 82-mm mortars. Stormy weather prevented the timely transport of artillery. [233]

    Of the 30 days, only 5 to 6 were calm. The storm did not allow the full use of the Azov flotilla.
    1. Lee
      Lee 23 November 2013 23: 48
      0
      I advise you to read A. Kuznetsov Large landing. Kerch-Eltigen operation.
      For example, here:
      http://flibusta.net/b/234911
  5. Gad
    Gad 23 November 2013 20: 59
    +5
    The paratroopers of Eltigen received 126 heroes of the USSR. For me, a resident of Kerch, "Tierra del Fuego" has always been and will be a place of pride, valor and courage!
  6. mithridate
    mithridate 24 November 2013 13: 47
    +1
    people performed feats every day, thereby bringing victory closer
  7. Robert Nevsky
    Robert Nevsky 24 November 2013 21: 22
    0
    GLORY TO THE HEROES!
  8. elenagromova
    elenagromova 25 November 2013 07: 00
    0
    The heroic operation, as described in the verses by Yulia Drunina:

    About Mount Mithridates
    Made up legends and odes -
    Tombs, temples, palaces,
    Dances of the Lords ...
    I absently listen
    A lively guide,
    And in my ears
    Growing furious cry.

    This is a formidable "polundra"
    Sailors on the storming of Mithridates
    Young politruk
    Raises again and again.
    This is with a raucous "hurray!"
    They run to the aid of the soldiers.
    Only the catacombs are silent - the dead cannot stand up.

    They did not wait ...
    Only darkness and heavy arches,
    Only in every corner
    Sullen lurking war ...
    I absently listen to the brisk guide,
    And in my ears
    Those holy catacombs silence.

Керченско-Эльтигенская десантная операция

Керченско-Эльтигенская десантная операция

Подразделение десантников перед отплытием к берегам Керченского пролива. Ноябрь 1943 г.


Операция войск Северо-Кавказского фронта (командующий генерал-полковник И.Е. Петров), сил Черноморского флота (командующий вице-адмирал Л.А. Владимирский) и Азовской военной флотилии (командующий контр-адмирал С.Г. Горшков), проведённая 31 октября – 11 декабря 1943 г.

Целью операции являлось создание исходного плацдарма на Керченском полуострове для последующего развертывания боевых действий по освобождению Крыма совместно с войсками 4-го Украинского фронта. На Керченском полуострове оборонялись части 98-й немецкой пехотной, 6-й румынской кавалерийской и 3-й румынской горнострелковой дивизий, до 10 отдельных частей и команд 17-й армии противника. На побережье были развернуты 56 артиллерийских и минометных и 23 зенитные батареи. Войска поддерживались авиацией 4-го воздушного флота и морскими силами.


Замысел операции заключался в высадке трёх стрелковых дивизий 56-й армии в районе северо-восточнее и восточнее Керчи (главное направление) и одной стрелковой дивизии 18-й армии (вспомогательное направление). После захвата плацдармов войска должны были ударами по сходящимся направлениям овладеть восточной частью Керченского полуострова с портами Керчь и Камыш-Бурун. В соответствии с замыслом были созданы группировки для действий на главном и вспомогательном направлениях, в состав которых помимо десантных войск вошли: силы высадки – 16 отрядов катеров и вспомогательных судов, 2 отряда артиллерийской поддержки и 2 отряда прикрытия – всего 119 катеров различных типов и 159 вспомогательных судов и других транспортных средств; силы артиллерийской и авиационной поддержки – 667 орудий (калибром 76 мм и более) и 90 реактивных установок артиллерии, 1001 самолёт, из них 612 от 4-й воздушной армии (командующий генерал-лейтенант К.А. Вершинин) и 389 – авиации флота (командующий генерал-лейтенант В.В. Ермаченков).

Артиллерийская подготовка при высадке десанта 18-й армии (командующий генерал-лейтенант К.Н. Леселидзе) в районе Эльтигена продолжалась 15 мин, за которые 247 орудий израсходовали 8334 снаряда. В артиллерийской подготовке 56-й армии (командующий генерал-лейтенант К.С. Мельник), продолжавшейся 23 мин, участвовало 420 орудий и 2 полка реактивной артиллерии. В ней также участвовала артиллерия 18-й армии, приданная для усиления 56-й армии. Авиация 4-й воздушной армии подавляла объекты обороны противника в районе высадки (Опасная – Рыбный промысел). Система огня противника была подавлена только частично.

Вечером 31 октября началась посадка десантных войск на корабли и суда. Из-за сильного шторма десант 56-й армии не смог вовремя высадиться. Десант 18-й армии, несмотря на тяжёлые гидрометеорологические условия, на рассвете 1 ноября скрытно высадился в районе Эльтигена. Высадка десанта и выгрузка техники не прекращалась даже при ураганном огне противника. Так, например, десантный бот № 10 (старшина 2 статьи А.А. Елизаров), непрерывно обстреливаемый пулеметным и минометным огнем и забрасываемый гранатами, подошел к берегу и высадил подразделение 386-го отдельного батальона морской пехоты (обмп) (командир майор Н.А. Беляков). Матросы команды бота ловили летевшие на него неприятельские гранаты руками, бросая их назад в противника. Морские пехотинцы шли в атаку прямо с борта бота, преодолевая проволочные заграждения в воде и на берегу. Десантники, успешно отразив контратаки противника, захватили плацдарм до 5 км по фронту и до 2 км в глубину. Из-за несостоявшейся вследствие тяжелых штормовых условий одновременной высадки десантных войск всех трёх десантных групп противник перебросил все наличные резервы своих войск и предпринял ряд ожесточенных атак пехотой и танками. Десант стойко удерживал захваченный плацдарм.

В десантной операции высаженные части 318-й стрелковой дивизии (сд) (командир полковник В.Ф. Гладков) и два батальона морской пехоты, поддержанные мощным огневым налетом артиллерии и авиации, в 5 часов 1 ноября 1943 г. преодолели сильное огневое сопротивление противника и минные поля и завязали напряженные бои за расширение плацдарма, захваченного между озерами Тобечикское и Чурубашское (в районе Эльтигена, южнее Керчи). Десантные войска при поддержке артиллерии и авиации успешно отразили в течение дня многочисленные контратаки противника. Так, одна из групп моряков 386 обмп майора Белякова, захватившая противотанковый ров, в течение четырех часов непрерывного боя отразила 19 танковых атак. В ночь с 1 на 2 ноября в район Эльтигена было дополнительно перевезено 3270 человек, 4 орудия, 9 минометов, 22,7 т боеприпасов и 2 т продовольствия. В результате высадка 318 сд (1-го эшелона войск 18-й армии) к утру 2 ноября была завершена. На плацдарме находилось около 6 тыс. десантников.

Керченско-Эльтигенская десантная операция

Керченско-Эльтигенская десантная операция (31 октября – 11 декабря 1943 г.)


Артиллерийское обеспечение эльтигенской десантной группы, занимавшей ограниченный, простреливаемый всеми видами оружия плацдарм, было возложено только на 55 орудий береговой артиллерии флота. Это ослабление артиллерийского обеспечения эльтигенской группы значительно снизило сопротивляемость десанта 18-й армии, который вел непрерывные тяжёлые бои в течение 40 суток с превосходящими силами противника. Воспользовавшись тем, что противник сосредоточил основные силы для борьбы с десантом 18-й армии, в ночь на 3 ноября Азовская флотилия успешно высадила северо-восточнее Керчи десант 56-й армии.

Керченско-Эльтигенская десантная операция

Штурмовики-десантники в бухте г. Керчи. Ноябрь 1943 г.


Керченско-Эльтигенская десантная операция

Штурм высот на подступах к г. Керчи. Ноябрь 1943 г.


Высадку передового отряда 2-й десантной группы поддерживали около 200 орудий и полк реактивной артиллерии 56-й армии. К 12 ноября войска этой армии очистили от противника северо-восточный выступ Керченского полуострова и вышли к Булганаку и северо-восточным окраинам Керчи, где перешли к обороне, удерживая плацдарм вплоть до начала Крымской операции 1944 г.

В это время продолжались ожесточённые бои за плацдарм у Эльтигена. Против десантников командование противника бросило части пехоты, атаки которой поддерживались авиацией и танками. После длительных боёв в условиях вражеской блокады с моря и воздуха части десанта, действовавшие в районе Эльтигена, получили приказ командования прорваться в район Керчи для соединения с войсками, занимавшими оборону северо-восточнее города. Через 40 дней 1700 обессиленных десантников 6 декабря прорвали оборону противника, скрытно форсировав болото, считавшееся противником непроходимым, совершили 20-километровый марш, вышли на южную окраину Керчи и захватили гору Митридат.

Керченско-Эльтигенская десантная операция

Бои десантников на окраине г. Керчи. Ноябрь 1943 г.


Появление советских войск в Керчи было для противника совершенно неожиданным. Среди его войск возникла паника. Борьба за Керчь могла бы получить более успешное развитие, но главные силы десанта не успели воспользоваться благоприятной обстановкой. Учитывая невозможность доставлять подкрепления, советское командование 10–11 декабря эвакуировало десантников с южной окраины Керчи. В результате Керченско-Эльтигенской десантной операции советские войска овладели важным оперативным плацдармом, сыгравшим в последующем большую роль при освобождении Крыма.


Материал подготовлен Научно-исследовательским институтом
(военной истории) Военной академии
Генерального штаба Вооруженных Сил Российской Федерации
Первоисточник: http://encyclopedia.mil.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 9
  1. makarov 23 ноября 2013 09:17
    Был в тех боях и мой дед- Федорченко Михаил Петрович. Награду- Медаль За Отвагу получил в начале 60-х, она его искала более 15 лет. Царствие ему небесное.!!
    makarov
  2. malikszh 23 ноября 2013 10:54
    мой земляк ветеран кайыргали исмагулов получил героя
    malikszh
  3. nnz226 23 ноября 2013 13:23
    высадили десант в Эльтигене, как говорится в статье посвящённой этом у десанту, на этом же сайте, потом у берега плацдарма господствовали немецкие корабли (???), препятствующие прибытию подкреплений и пополнению десанта боеприпасами + шторм. Вопросы: 1) советские полководцы и флотоводцы про зимние шторма в Чёрном море никогда не слышали? 2) Где болтался (будущий краснознамённый Черноморский флот), когда немцы блокировали с моря Эльтигентский десант? Имея линкор, несколько крейсеров, больше десятка эсминцев, позволить катерам и максимум БДБшкам (большие десантные баржи у немцев - самые могучие корабли на Чёрном море) фашистов заниматься блокадой плацдарма! "Тирпица", "Шеера" и прочих "Хипперов" на Чёрном море не наблюдалось. Авиаприкрытие кораблей также было возможно, радиуса действия советских ВВС до Эльтигена хватало, опять же усилиями Покрышкина и его товарищей в "битве над Кубанью" летом 1943 г. советская авиация захватила господство в воздухе. Так почему десантники не поимели поддержку, плацдарм не пополнялся людьми и техникой с боеприпасами, и бойцы вынуждены были прорываться в Керчь, откуда их опять же эвакуировать пришлось??? "Енералы" унд "атмиралы" к 1943 году воевать ещё не научились?
    1. m262 23 ноября 2013 15:54
      Обидно, но факт.
      1. Пеший 23 ноября 2013 16:54
        После гибели 6 октября 1943 от ударов авиации лидера Харьков и 2 эсминцев Беспощадный, Способный был запрет на выход в море крупных кораблей ЧФ
  4. okroshka79 23 ноября 2013 18:15
    Советую на эту тему почитать книгу Д.Ф.Гладкова "Десант на Эдьтиген", из которой во многом причина невозможности развития успеха десанта прояснится. Сейчас так огульно обвинять, типа командование не сумело. не захотело и т.п. по крайней мере не корректно и не тактично. Приведу только одну цитату из книги:..."Операция была хорошо подготовлена и успешно проведена, хотя восточный берег полуострова немцы сильно укрепили. План артиллерийского наступления был разработан и непосредственно проведен в жизнь командующим артиллерией фронта генерал-лейтенантом Сивковым. Он был одним из крупнейших артиллеристов Советской Армии. В этой операции генерал Сивков погиб от разрыва снаряда на своем НП.

    Десанты высадились, но план операции полностью не осуществился. Почему 56-я армия не захватила Керчь и не соединилась в начале ноября с нашим десантом? Одна из причин — недостаток плавсредств для переправы артиллерии и танков. Десантные части имели при себе только 45-мм пушки и 82-мм минометы. Своевременной перевозке артиллерии мешала штормовая погода. [233]

    Из 30 дней только 5 — 6 были спокойными. Шторм не позволял полностью использовать Азовскую флотилию.
    1. L.E.E. 23 ноября 2013 23:48
      Советую также прочитать А.Кузнецов Большой десант. Керченско-Эльтигенская операция.
      Например, здесь:
      http://flibusta.net/b/234911
      L.E.E.
  5. GaD 23 ноября 2013 20:59
    126 героев СССР получили десантники Эльтигена. Для меня, жителя Керчи, "Огненная земля" всегда была и будет местом гордости, доблести и мужества!
    GaD
  6. митридат 24 ноября 2013 13:47
    люди совершали подвиги каждый день, тем самым приближая победу
  7. Робертъ Невский 24 ноября 2013 21:22
    СЛАВА ГЕРОЯМ!
  8. elenagromova 25 ноября 2013 07:00
    Героическая операция, замечательно описанная в стихах Юлии Друниной:

    О горе Митридата
    Слагали легенды и оды -
    Усыпальницы, храмы, дворцы,
    Хороводы владык...
    Я рассеянно слушаю
    Бойкого экскурсовода,
    А в ушах у меня
    Нарастающий яростный крик.

    Это грозной "полундрой"
    Матросов на штурм Митридата
    Молодой политрук
    Поднимает опять и опять.
    Это с хриплым "ура!"
    К ним бегут на подмогу солдаты.
    Лишь молчат катакомбы - не могут погибшие встать.

    Не дождались они...
    Только мрак да тяжелые своды,
    Только в каждом углу
    Притаилась угрюмо война ...
    Я рассеянно слушаю бойкого экскурсовода,
    А в ушах у меня
    Тех святых катакомб тишина.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня