Military Review

General Atomics has presented the ground version of the Blytzer railgun

18

The company General Atomics introduced the ground version of the electromagnetic railgun artillery system Blitzer EMRG (Electromagnetic Railgun), according to janes.com on November 21. A company spokesman said that with sufficient funding, this concept can be demonstrated in two to three years.


Development of the Blitzer system was launched in 2007 year under the auspices of the Office of Naval Research of the US Navy (Office of Naval Research - ONR). The program was named Innovative Naval Prototype. The company led the development at its own expense.

In 2010, shells were tested at a speed of 5M, but the US Navy wanted to develop a more powerful system. The company is currently developing a system in ground-based versions, equipping surface ships and submarines.
Originator:
http://www.militaryparitet.com/
18 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Archikah
    Archikah 25 November 2013 10: 48
    +2
    Damn. And ours, something is not heard. With this electromagnetic gun you can knock anyone you want. But where will they take so much energy for a shot? This is the weakest part in all such projects. crying
    1. Evgeny_Lev
      Evgeny_Lev 25 November 2013 11: 26
      0
      Likewise, Iron Man also has a "weak spot" energy, why don't you be bothered about not hearing about our "Iron Man" project?
      Indeed, in fact, both this and that are equally unattainable for now.
      1. self-propelled
        self-propelled 25 November 2013 12: 10
        +2
        I remembered something about energy ...
    2. Evgenij.
      Evgenij. 25 November 2013 11: 35
      0
      Ours will use the energy of the explosion, and maybe this is already a completed stage
    3. Army1
      Army1 26 November 2013 17: 08
      0
      And how many kilometers to the horizon, at such a speed on the projectile, gravity will certainly act, but if the ship is beyond the horizon.
  2. Stiletto
    Stiletto 25 November 2013 10: 51
    0
    I remember, and before school I played something like that bully
  3. Sergius
    Sergius 25 November 2013 11: 01
    +3
    On the channel Science 2.0 I remember showing. Since Soviet times, ours has been engaged in this area, experiments are regularly conducted, and there is a finished product. The work is on!
  4. Migari
    Migari 25 November 2013 11: 53
    +2
    Recently, in the laboratory of the Shatursky branch of the United Institute of High Temperatures of the Russian Academy of Sciences, tests were carried out on a unique device - the railgun Artsimovich, which is an electromagnetic gun, shooting so far with very small projectiles - weighing up to three grams. However, the destructive abilities of such a “pea” are striking. Suffice it to say that the steel plate placed in its path simply evaporated, turning into a plasma. It's all about the giant speed given to the projectile by an electromagnetic accelerator used instead of the traditional gunpowder.
  5. 1c-inform-city
    1c-inform-city 25 November 2013 12: 36
    +4
    Let's think about how it can be applied. Let us leave the indigestible dimensions and energy consumption for now. All modern art systems use a hinged projectile flight when shooting at long ranges. And it would be okay only in the weaknesses of existing systems, but the earth is round and the surface curvature precludes direct fire firing at a great distance, but this railgun cannot do. The reason is the huge velocity of the projectile and the inability to make it controllable (because of this speed and low mass). In case of loss of speed, this projectile loses all its power and becomes useless. Therefore, in real life the railgun is only suitable for shooting down large and slow aircraft due to its size and guidance system. I can conclude that all American projects today is a masterful cut money. Such weapons will ever come in handy in space or in aviation, if we can squeeze the railgun into a plane or spaceship. And so it's just a child prodigy. hi
    1. shuhartred
      shuhartred 25 November 2013 23: 25
      0
      Yes, this is not a child prodigy. This is just another attempt to make a plane with a steam engine. But you need to work in this direction, only without fanaticism. Sooner or later, the quantity will turn into quality.
    2. IGS
      IGS 26 November 2013 02: 52
      0
      I didn’t minus, but if you shoot horizontally at a speed of 7,9 km / s, the first space velocity (when calculating it, by the way, takes the radius of the earth, i.e. zero height above the ground), then the shell will become an artificial satellite of the earth, and will fly above the surface without rising and falling, the main thing is to bounce on time, otherwise it will fall into the back smile . It will go down if the speed drops lower, rises (and then returns, it just flies not in a circle, along the surface, but in an ellipse) when the second space velocity is reached, a little more than 11 km / s. But this is in the absence of the atmosphere, or rather its resistance, as in space. This is of course a half-joke, but when playing at high speeds, you can significantly increase the range, while maintaining kinetic energy. And the study of this issue will lead to the creation of new technologies, including in the field of superconductors and materials science, as well as this direction is very promising in the field of missile defense.
  6. wasjasibirjac
    wasjasibirjac 25 November 2013 13: 22
    +2
    funny - "In 2010, they tested shells with a speed of 5M, but the US Navy wanted to develop a more powerful system." 5M - i.e. 5 speeds of sound is a little 1500 m / s, but an ordinary tank gun gives out 1200 m / s, so why bother building a garden because of a 300 m / s increase, 3 cars for one barrel - so in the photo from the article.
  7. shinobi
    shinobi 25 November 2013 15: 19
    0
    Not played enough yet, and it will pass. No for such systems of compact energy sources. Our military therefore froze a number of projects for another 70.
  8. HollyGremlin
    HollyGremlin 25 November 2013 15: 20
    +1
    For a shot, such a gun uses electricity, but how we get it: by burning something with a thread or using a reactor. In the first case, it is easier to launch a rocket and not convert energy back and forth, losing it along the way. In the second, you will have to place such a gun next to a nuclear (hydro) power plant. Its only plus at the moment is the simplicity of the shell. In fact, you can shoot with a crowbar.
  9. Lesnik
    Lesnik 25 November 2013 16: 12
    -1
    Damn they will be able to bring down satellites what and the appropriate guidance equipment then warheads sad ..... Chef mustache chef !!!!
  10. 1c-inform-city
    1c-inform-city 25 November 2013 16: 45
    0
    I wonder who minus, at least some argument brought. Maybe I'm wrong about something?
  11. APASUS
    APASUS 25 November 2013 21: 14
    +1
    The news is alarming. It’s time for us to leave the laboratories for full-scale models. True, our General Staff would still buy cavalry - could they incorporate weapons of this type into the tactics of battle?
  12. alpenstock
    alpenstock 27 November 2013 00: 43
    0
    what to do with such an installation? a very "simple" system, and most importantly "not expensive" what

«Дженерал атомикс» представила наземный вариант рельсотрона «Блитцер»

«Дженерал атомикс» представила наземный вариант рельсотрона «Блитцер»

Компания General Atomics представила наземный вариант электромагнитной рельсотронной артиллерийской системы Blitzer EMRG (Electromagnetic Railgun), сообщает janes.com 21 ноября. Официальный представитель компании сообщил, что при достаточном финансировании эта концепция может быть продемонстрирована через два-три года.

Разработка системы Blitzer была начата в 2007 году под эгидой Управления военно-морских исследований ВМС США (Office of Naval Research — ONR). Программа получила название «Инновационный военно-морской прототип» (Innovative Naval Prototype). Компания вела разработку на собственные средства.

В 2010 году были проведены испытания снарядов со скоростью 5М, но ВМС США пожелали разработку более мощной системы. В настоящее время компания разрабатывает систему в вариантах наземного базирования, оснащения надводных кораблей и подводных лодок.
Первоисточник: http://www.militaryparitet.com/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 18
  1. Арчиках 25 ноября 2013 10:48
    Во блин. А наши, что то и не слышно. Этой электромагнитной пушкой можно кого хочешь сшибать. Только где они столько энергии для выстрела брать то будут. Это самая слабая часть во всех таких проектах. crying
    1. Evgeny_Lev 25 ноября 2013 11:26
      Так и у Железного Человека, тоже энергия "слабое место", что же вы не кручинитесь о том, что не слышно о нашем проекте "Железный Человек"?
      Ведь по сути и то и то, одинаково недостижимо пока.
      1. самоход 25 ноября 2013 12:10
        по поводу энергии что-то вспомнилось...
    2. Evgenij. 25 ноября 2013 11:35
      Наши будут энергией взрыва пользоваться, а может это пройденный этап уже
      Evgenij.
    3. Army1 26 ноября 2013 17:08
      А сколько км до горизонта, при такой скорости на снаряд сила тяжести конечно действовать будет, но а если корабль за горизонтом.
  2. Stiletto 25 ноября 2013 10:51
    Помнится, и я еще до школы во что-то подобное играл bully
  3. Sergius 25 ноября 2013 11:01
    На канале Наука 2.0 помнится показывали. Наши еще с советских времен этим направлением занимаются, регулярно проводятся опыты, есть готовое изделие. Работа идет!
  4. Migari 25 ноября 2013 11:53
    Недавно в лаборатории Шатурского филиала Объединенного института высоких температур Российской академии наук были проведены испытания уникального устройства – рельсотрона Арцимовича, который представляет собой электромагнитную пушку, стреляющую пока очень маленькими снарядами – массой до трех граммов. Однако разрушительные способности такой «горошины» поразительны. Достаточно сказать, что поставленная на её пути стальная пластина просто-напросто испарилась, превратившись в плазму. Все дело в гигантской скорости, придаваемой снаряду электромагнитным ускорителем, используемым вместо традиционного пороха.
  5. 1c-inform-city 25 ноября 2013 12:36
    Давайте немного подумаем как это можно применять.Оставим пока неудобоваримые габариты и энергопотребление.Все современные арт-системы при стрельбе на большие дальности используют навесную траекторию полёта снаряда . И ладно бы дело обстояло только в слабости существующих систем , но ведь земля круглая и кривизна поверхности исключает стрельбу прямой наводкой на на большое расстояние , а вот это рельсотрон не может делать.Причина в огромной скорости снаряда и невозможности сделать его управляемым (из за этой скорости и малой массы).При потере скорости этот снаряд теряет всё своё могущество и становится бесполезен.По этому в реале рельсотрон годится только для сбивания больших и неповоротливых самолётов из за своих габаритов и системы наведения.Поэтому я могу сделать вывод , что все американские проекты на сегодня это мастерский распил денег. Такое оружие когда нибудь пригодится в космосе или в авиации , если мы сумеем рельсотрон втиснуть в самолёт или космический корабль. А так это просто вундервафля. hi
    1. shuhartred 25 ноября 2013 23:25
      Да никакая это не вундерфаля. Это просто очередная попытка сделать самолет с паровым двигателем. Но работать в этом направлении надо ,только без фанатизма. Рано или поздно количество перейдет в качество.
    2. IGS 26 ноября 2013 02:52
      Я не минусовал, но если выстрелить горизонтально со скорость 7,9 км/с, первая космическая скорость (при её расчете , кстати, берется радиус земли, т.е. нулевая высота над землей), то снаряд станет искусственным спутником земли, так и полетит над поверхностью, не поднимаясь и не опускаясь, главное отскочить вовремя, а то в спину попадет smile . Опустится если скорость упадет ниже, поднимется (и то потом вернется, просто полетит не по кругу, вдоль поверхности, а по эллипсу) при достижении второй космической скорости, чуть более 11 км/c . Но это при отсутствии атмосферы, точнее её сопротивления, как в космосе. Это конечно полушутка, но играясь высокими скоростями можно существенно увеличить дальность, сохраняя кинетическую энергию. Да и изучение данной проблематики приведет к созданию новых технологий, в т.ч. в области сверхпроводников и материаловедения, а так же данное направление очень перспективно в области ПРО.
      IGS
  6. wasjasibirjac 25 ноября 2013 13:22
    забавно - "В 2010 году были проведены испытания снарядов со скоростью 5М, но ВМС США пожелали разработку более мощной системы." 5М - т.е. 5 скоростей звука это чуть 1500 м/с, но обычная танковая пушка выдает 1200м/с, так нафига огород городить из-за 300 м/с прибавки, 3 машины для одного ствола - так на фото из статьи.
  7. синоби 25 ноября 2013 15:19
    Не наигрались ещё,и это пройдёт.Нет для таких систем компактных источников энергии.Наши венные потому и заморозили ряд проектов ещё 70.
  8. HollyGremlin 25 ноября 2013 15:20
    Для выстрела такая пушка использует электричество, а как у нас оно получается: с помощью сжигания чего-нить или с помощью реактора. В первом случае легче ракету пустить и не преобразовывать энергию туда сюда теряя ее попутно. Во втором придется размещать такую пушку рядом с атомной(гидро) электростанцией. Единственный ее плюс на данный момент - простота снаряда. Фактически можно ломом стрелять.
  9. Lесник 25 ноября 2013 16:12
    Блин они так и спутники сбивать смогут what а соответствующей аппаратурой наведения то и боеголовки sad .....Шеф усе пропало шеф!!!!
    Lесник
  10. 1c-inform-city 25 ноября 2013 16:45
    Интересно кто минуснул , хоть бы какой аргумент привёл. Может я в чём то не прав?
  11. APASUS 25 ноября 2013 21:14
    Новость то тревожная.Пора нам тоже выходить из лабораторий на натурные образцы.Правда наш Генштаб еще бы конницу закупал бы - сможет ли вписать в тактику боя оружие подобного типа?
  12. alpenstock 27 ноября 2013 00:43
    что с такой установкой делать? очень уж "простая" система, а главное "не дорогая" what
    alpenstock

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня