Military Review

"Chrome dome" almost covered the whole of Europe

3
"Chrome dome" almost covered the whole of Europe


"Chrome Dome" ("Chrome Dome"), this name was given to the operation carried out by the strategic aviation US Air Force Command during the Cold War. As part of this operation, several strategic nuclear bombers were constantly in the air, ready at any moment to change course and strike at targets on the territory of the USSR. The constant presence of several aircraft in the air made it possible, in the event of a threat of war, to significantly reduce the time to strike and prepare bombers for departure.

At the beginning of 1966, a B-52G bomber "Straphantress", commanded by US Air Force captain Charles Wendorf, flew from the Seymour-Johnson airbase on a regular patrol. On board the plane was carrying four B28RI thermonuclear bombs, each of them was 1,45 mt. According to the plan, the plane was supposed to make two refueling in the air over the territory of Spain.



The first refueling was successful, but during the second bomber collided with a KC-135A tanker “Stratotanker” commanded by Major Emile Chapl, the clash occurred in the sky over the fishing village Palomares.



In a plane crash, the entire crew of the tanker and three members of the bomber crew died; the remaining four managed to eject.

The fire that broke out on board the bomber, forced the crew to apply an emergency discharge of hydrogen bombs. After four pilots managed to leave the plane, and then an explosion occurred. Dropped bombs were to descend to the ground by parachute, but only one of the bombs opened the parachute.

The bomb, in which the parachute opened, landed in the bed of the Almansor River, near the coast. One of the bombs, in which the parachutes did not open, fell into the Mediterranean Sea, it was found three months after the fall. The greatest danger was represented by bombs falling at a speed of three hundred kilometers per hour to the ground.

A day after the crash of the planes, three bombs were found, one of them fell right into the courtyard of the house of one of the residents of the village Palomares. By a happy coincidence, the two found bombs, the initiating charge of which worked from hitting the ground, the opposite volumes of TNT exploded asynchronously and instead of compressing the detonation radioactive mass scattered around it. The search for the fourth bomb, as mentioned above, was delayed, they took place on the territory of 70 sq. Km. After a month and a half of the search, tons of debris were extracted from under the water, but no bomb was found among them.




The bomb was found thanks to the fishermen who witnessed the disaster, which showed the place of the fall of the bomb. She was discovered at a depth of 777 meters above the steep bottom crevice of the manned underwater vehicle Alvin.

At the cost of incredible, inhuman efforts, after several unsuccessful attempts, the bomb was removed to the surface and defused. She lay on the bottom of 79 days. The operation to raise this bomb from under the water became the most expensive rescue operation at sea in the 20th century, 84 000 000 dollars were spent on its implementation.




Also, the United States had to clean up the area and satisfy 536 claims for damages, spending 711 thousands more dollars.

After the plane crash, the United States stopped flying nuclear bombers weapons on board over the territory of Spain.

In the village of Palomares itself, only a street called 17 January 1966 reminds of the crash that occurred.
Originator:
http://topwar.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://topwar.ru
3 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sirius
    Sirius 11 March 2011 19: 27
    +1
    Very interesting. I did not know about this case.
  2. kopar
    kopar 19 December 2012 11: 06
    0
    Heard heard. But did not know the details ...... Thanks to the author.
    1. Victor N
      Victor N 13 January 2017 20: 35
      0
      Eusebio ....
  3. tanker75
    tanker75 10 June 2013 09: 54
    +1
    And if you were sinking ?! How much the world would change after that.

«Хромовый купол» чуть не накрыл всю Европу

«Хромовый купол» чуть не накрыл всю Европу


«Chrome Dome» («Хромовый купол»), такое название получила операция, которую проводило стратегическое авиационное командование американских ВВС во времена холодной войны. В рамках данной операции в воздухе постоянно находилось несколько стратегических ядерных бомбардировщиков, готовых в любой момент изменить курс и нанести удар по целям на территории СССР. Постоянное нахождение в воздухе нескольких самолетов позволяло в случае угрозы начала войны существенно сократить время на нанесение ударов и подготовки бомбардировщиков к вылету.

В начале 1966 года с американской авиабазы Сеймур-Джонсон на очередное патрулирование вылетел бомбардировщик B-52G «Стратофортресс» под командованием капитана ВВС США Чарльза Вендорфа. На своем борту самолет нес четыре термоядерные бомбы B28RI, мощность каждой составляла 1,45 мт. По плану самолет должен был совершить две дозаправки в воздухе над территорией Испании.


«Хромовый купол» чуть не накрыл всю Европу


Первая дозаправка прошла удачно, а вот во время второй бомбардировщик столкнулся с самолетом-заправщиком KC-135A «Стратотанкер» под командованием майора Эмиля Чапла, столкновение произошло в небе над рыбацким поселком Паломарес.

«Хромовый купол» чуть не накрыл всю Европу


В авиакатастрофе погиб весь экипаж танкера и три члена экипажа бомбардировщика, остальным четырем удалось катапультироваться.

Пожар, вспыхнувший на борту бомбардировщика, заставил экипаж применить аварийный сброс водородных бомб. После четверо летчиков успели покинуть самолет, а потом произошел взрыв. Сброшенные бомбы должны были спуститься на землю на парашютах, но парашют открылся только у одной из бомб.

Бомба, у которой раскрылся парашют, приземлилась в русле реки Альмансора, недалеко от побережья. Одна из бомб, у которых парашюты не раскрылись, упала в средиземное море, ее удалось найти через три месяца после падения. Наибольшую опасность представляли бомбы, рухнувшие на скорости в триста километров в час на землю.

Спустя день после крушения самолетов три бомбы удалось найти, одна из них упала прямо во двор дома одного из жителей деревушки Паломарес. По счастливому стечению обстоятельств у двух найденных бомб, инициирующий заряд которых сработал от удара о грунт, противоположные объемы тротила взорвались несинхронно и вместо сжатия детонационной радиоактивной массы разбросали ее вокруг. Поиски четвертой бомбы, как уже говорилось выше, затянулись, они проходили на территории 70 кв.км. Через полтора месяца поисков из-под воды были извлечены тонны обломков, но бомбы среди них обнаружено не было.

«Хромовый купол» чуть не накрыл всю Европу

«Хромовый купол» чуть не накрыл всю Европу


Бомбу нашли благодаря рыбакам, ставшим свидетелями катастрофы, которые показали место падения бомбы. Она была обнаружена на глубине 777 метров над крутой донной расщелиной пилотируемым подводным аппаратом Алвин.

Ценой неимоверных, нечеловеческих усилий после нескольких неудачных попыток бомбу удалось извлечь на поверхность и обезвредить. Она пролежала на дне 79 суток. Операция по поднятию этой бомбы из-под воды стала самой дорогой спасательной операцией на море в XX веке, на ее проведение было затрачено 84 000 000 долларов.

«Хромовый купол» чуть не накрыл всю Европу

«Хромовый купол» чуть не накрыл всю Европу


Также США пришлось провести очистку территории и удовлетворить 536 заявок о компенсации ущерба, затратив еще 711 тысяч долларов.

После авиакатастрофы США прекратили полеты бомбардировщиков с ядерным оружием на борту над территорией Испании.

В самой деревушке Паломарес о произошедшей авиакатастрофе напоминает только улица с названием 17 января 1966 года.
Первоисточник: http://topwar.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://topwar.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
  1. Сириус 11 марта 2011 19:27
    Очень интересно. Не знал об этом случае.
    Сириус
  2. копарь 19 декабря 2012 11:06
    Слышать слышал.Но подробностей не знал......Спасибо автору.
  3. tanker75 10 июня 2013 09:54
    А если бы жахнуло?! На сколько бы изменился мир после этого.
    tanker75

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня