Military Review

How the Nazis tried to "dump" the British pound

10
The largest counterfeiter of all times and peoples is Hitler's Germany, which printed such a huge number of fake British pounds during the Second World War, and of such excellent quality that if they all got into the financial system of Great Britain, it would not stand.


How the Nazis tried to "dump" the British pound


Guided by the principle “all means are good in war”, states have used such means as counterfeiting the bank cards of the other party more than once during the war. England issued fake dollars at war for the independence of the American colonies, by order of Napoleon printed fake pounds sterling, Vienna Bank treasury notes and Russian banknotes. But all the Germans surpassed, who established during the Second World War, the mass production of fake British currency. For a long time after the end of the war, the fake banknotes made by them were a headache.
UK Treasury Department.

Who first started?

For the sake of justice, it should be noted that the British themselves threw the idea to the Nazis. In the fall of 1939, they began to spread fake cards on food and industrial products from airplanes over Germany. Citizens of the Third Reich brought them to the police in bags. The quality of these “London gifts” was so low that there was simply no one who wanted to risk to buy these papers. The Germans picked up the idea and developed it: they decided to drop not the cards from the aircraft, but the money, and they were made so well that even experts could not distinguish a real bill from a fake. The idea was approved by the Führer himself.

The Germans approached the case with their usual thoroughness. First of all, they went to the Interpol archives. The headquarters of the organization established in 1923 was located in Austria, which was the result of the Anschluss as part of Germany. The Nazis scooped out all the documentation they needed from the archives and, relying on such a solid theoretical base, set to work.

An interesting digression. Subsequently, the headquarters of the organization was moved to Berlin and Interpol presidents from 1940 to 1945 were: RSHA head Reinhard Heydrich (1940-1942), head of Department V of the RSHA (criminal police) Arthur Nebe (1942-1943); 3 Head of the RSHA Ernst Kaltenbrunner (1943-1945). I wonder who they caught?

The hard work of the German "specialists"

Initially, the operation was called “Andreas”, led by SS Sturmbannführer Alfred Naujoks. In the town of Spechthausen near Berlin, collected from all over Germany, “narrow specialists” began to implement an ambitious plan.

They stumbled on the very first step - making paper. "Product", similar to English, did not work in any way. Helped intelligence, reported that printed British pounds on paper made from Turkish linen. Naujoks breathed a sigh of relief: he would agree with Turkey. Soon, several tons of Turkish linen were delivered to Spechthausen, which was cut into strips and sent to enterprises where they were used as rags. Specially authorized persons watched each rag. Used material collected and washed. The paper made from it was one-on-one with English samples.

Then engravers and artists began to work. The slightest mistake, inaccuracy - and the work started anew.
At the same time, a group of mathematicians calculated the algorithm for generating the serial numbers of British banknotes: each fake bill had to have its real prototype.
By the end of 1940, Naujoks presented Heydrich with the first samples.



Three stages of verification

In 1941, the first batch of counterfeit bills were printed. Experts of all German banks recognized them as genuine, but this was not enough for Naujox. Having supplied one of his agents with a large amount of fakes, he sent him (as a reward for good work) on vacation to Switzerland. At the same time, the caring boss anonymously informed the border service that the person crossing the border was a swindler, a fraudster, a smuggler, etc. etc. The agent at the border was subjected to a thorough search, each bill was carefully checked and ... they did not find anything. The indignant vacationer apologized and was released. Having had a good rest in Switzerland and having spent all the money, the agent returned to Germany.

But Naujoks did not satisfy the result. He sent a second agent to one of the major Swiss banks, where he presented a wad of banknotes and a letter from the Reichsbank asking him to check the authenticity of the banknotes. Three days later, the official response came: real money. But the agent also asked for confirmations from London. Bank clerks sent a letter to their English colleagues, asking them to check whether the bills of such series and numbers were issued (the list is attached). The answer was affirmative - German mathematicians did not let us down.
Only after that Naujoks reported to Heydrich about success.

The printing press earned at full capacity. It was made fakes worth half a million pounds. But at the end of 1941, Naujoks began collecting dirt on his boss, and he got burned. Shturmbanführer was demoted as a private and sent to the Eastern Front to "atone for sins." Operation Andreas was curtailed.

Operation Bernhard

In the 1942 year, after the break, the production of counterfeit pounds was resumed. The leadership of the operation was assigned to Bernard Kruger. It goes without saying that this was the most suitable candidate: Kruger had once fought counterfeiters and was considered almost an expert in this field. The operation in honor of its leader was referred to as "Bernhard".



In the concentration camp Sachsenhausen from all over the occupied Europe began to bring typographical workers, the best engravers and artists, former bank employees. A professional counterfeiter among them was only one person - Solomon Smolyanov, a native of Russia (or, more precisely, from Odessa, well, where else!), Who in the 30-s successfully stamped British pounds and sold them in Persia.

"Dead On Vacation"

In the camp in a separate area built two barracks. One was intended for “working personnel”, the second was “production”. The zone was on a special regime, under the direct supervision of the RSHA, and even the camp commander did not know what was going on behind its fence. The prisoners from the "special command" team were well fed, clothed, not beaten, the working day did not exceed 8 hours. They did not shout at them, talked to them. But none of the privileged prisoners about his fate deceived him. With grim humor, involuntary counterfeiters called themselves "dead people on vacation."

In the special zone, foreign passports, postage stamps, Tito's partisan dinars were used, which were used in the territory liberated by NOAJ, NKVD certificates, and even American dollars. But the main products were Bank of England banknotes in denominations of 5, 10, 20 and 100 £, the mass issue of which was adjusted by the end of 1943 of the year. 500 and 1000 bills were manufactured in small quantities.

Czech Oscar Scala secretly recorded the series and numbers of issued banknotes. According to his records, the Sachsenhausen Mint issued 8.965.080 bills totaling 134.610.810 £ (5 billions at the current exchange rate), of which 10,3 million were fakes of the highest grade.

What they spent

By the year 1943 in Germany, they did not seriously consider the option of scattering money over British territory from airplanes. The airspace over the English Channel and north of the strait was fully controlled by the British Air Force. Goering did not even have enough planes to carry out this large-scale operation. All forces of the Luftwaffe were involved in the bombing of the industrial capacities of Great Britain.

But the products did not disappear in vain. Gold and jewels, strategic raw materials, the currency of other states were bought for fake pounds, and she paid for agent services. It was Kruger's pounds that German intelligence paid off with its agent Cicero. They were organized by the release of Mussolini.

But the Germans did not achieve the main goal - the undermining of the monetary system of Great Britain. They simply did not have channels for “injecting” such a large amount of money into the British economy. Most of the counterfeit bills remained in Germany. But even the forged fakes brought the British a lot of anxiety. Around the world went millions of "German pounds." Therefore, starting from 1945, the Bank of England gradually withdrawn from circulation all bills larger than 5 £ and replaced them with new ones.

The Last Days of Operation Bernhard

In April 1945, the Germans began to bustle. Production was moved to Mauthausen, but Uncle Kruger’s “printing house” did not work there for long. In early May, the equipment was dismantled and, together with printed pounds, was taken away in an unknown direction, and the “special team” was sent on foot to the concentration camp in Ebensee. The prisoners were confident that Ebensee would become the end point not only of the route, but of their lives. But when they reached the concentration camp, a white flag was already flying over its gate.

Bustle around the mountain lake

Back in the summer of 1945, Lake Toplitzsee in the Austrian Alps caught the attention of American intelligence. Locals claimed that they saw in the first days of May the SS men drowned some boxes in its waters. The American and English divers dived for a long time, but found nothing and left without a dingy jolt. After their departure to the lake area, frequent tourists, mostly from Germany. Some of them were found dead.

In the summer of 1959, a new search party arrived at the lake. The expedition was financed by Stern magazine. One by one, from the bottom of the lake, iron boxes were raised to the surface, in which bundles of counterfeit banknotes were found, the account books of Operation Berngard, matrices, personal names of prisoners involved in the operation, and (sensation!) Part of the PCHA archives. In 1963, the last found box was lifted from the bottom, and the case was officially closed.



However, locals say that in the vicinity of the lake there are still people who are interested in local beauty the least. Apparently, the lake has not yet given all its secrets.

Sources:
http://lib.rus.ec/b/349049/read#t1
http://ru.wikipedia.org
http://fraudsa.ru/glavnaya/53-operaciya-berngard.html
http://km-nf.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?p=36565
http://www.svoboda.org/content/transcript/24745660.html
Author:
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Denis
    Denis 27 November 2013 07: 57
    0
    Napoleon spanked fake Russian bills
    maybe someone tried it earlier
  2. makarov
    makarov 27 November 2013 08: 29
    +1
    The author of the material probably forgot about Napoleon's "tricks". He even carried 2 printing presses for printing banknotes of the Republic of Ingushetia in a wagon train, he presented one of the presses to the Old Believers in Moscow .. So he was an example to follow from Hitler.
    V. Pikul painted everything very well in his work "Money Shoots Too"
    1. Klim podkova
      28 November 2013 11: 24
      0
      No, I haven't forgotten. This is mentioned in the 2nd paragraph. In addition to Napoleon, Prussia, Hungary (in the 20s of the XX century) and not only them "dabbled" in counterfeiting money. It's just that the article is not about them. And the British themselves, in addition to cards, threw off bills of 2 Reichsmarks "made in England".
  3. P-15
    P-15 27 November 2013 13: 18
    +1
    In my opinion, there is even a film about these counterfeiters.
    1. Mister X
      Mister X 27 November 2013 18: 07
      +1
      Quote: P-15
      In my opinion, there is even a film about these counterfeiters.

      Even 2 movie:
      The feature film "The Counterfeiters" directed by Stefan Rutzowicki in 2006.
      and the documentary "Hitler's Counterfeiters" was filmed by Cinecraft Films in 2008.
  4. Vadim2013
    Vadim2013 27 November 2013 14: 09
    0
    The article is interesting. Thanks for posting it.
  5. kush62
    kush62 27 November 2013 14: 10
    0
    In ancient times I read the book "Money". How did they appear, why, etc. If you find it, I recommend it, it is very interesting. There is also about counterfeiters.
  6. nastran123
    nastran123 27 November 2013 17: 34
    0
    Interesting information!
  7. Sirop
    Sirop 27 November 2013 18: 50
    0
    Once I heard about the false pounds of the Fritz, but I have not read such detailed information yet. Thank!!!
  8. revnagan
    revnagan 27 November 2013 20: 08
    0
    Quote: Sirop
    Once I heard about the false pounds of the Fritz, but I have not read such detailed information yet. Thank!!!

    I recommend reading the wonderful book by Pavel Zagrebelny "Europe 45". There this topic is very well disclosed and almost everything that is in the article is there too. The book, however, is an art book, but you can check it yourself with the info in this article. And I advise you to read the book the most. early edition, better written.
    1. Mister X
      Mister X 27 November 2013 21: 07
      0
      Books about this scam are:
      Walter Hagen "Counterfeiters of the Third Reich. Operation Bernhard"

      Adolph Burger "Devil's Workshop"
      The book was written by a direct participant, one of the prisoners.

Как гитлеровцы пытались "свалить" британский фунт

Самым крупным фальшивомонетчиком всех времен и народов является гитлеровская Германия, отпечатавшая в ходе Второй Мировой войны такое огромное количество поддельных английских фунтов стерлингов, и столь отменного качества, что попади они все в финансовую систему Великобритании, она бы не устояла.

Как гитлеровцы пытались "свалить" британский фунт


Руководствуясь принципом «в войне все средства хороши», государства не единожды использовали в ходе войны такое средство, как подделка банковских билетов противной стороны. Англия выпускала фальшивые доллары воюющих за независимость американских колоний, по приказу Наполеона печатали фальшивые фунты стерлингов, казначейские билеты Венского Банка и российские ассигнации. Но всех переплюнули немцы, наладившие во время Второй Мировой войны массовое изготовление поддельной британской валюты. Еще долгое время после окончания войны изготовленные ими фальшивые банкноты были головной болью
Министерства финансов Великобритании.


Кто первый начал?

Ради справедливости необходимо отметить, что идею нацистам подкинули сами англичане. Осенью 1939 года они начали разбрасывать с самолетов над территорией Германии фальшивые карточки на продукты питания и промышленные товары. Граждане III рейха мешками приносили их в полицию. Качество этих «лондонских подарков» было столь низким, что желающих рискнуть отоварить эти бумажки просто не находилось. Немцы идею подхватили и развили: они решили сбрасывать с самолетов не карточки, а деньги, причем сделанные настолько добротно, чтобы даже специалисты не могли отличить настоящую купюру от фальшивой. Идею одобрил сам фюрер.

К делу немцы подошли со свойственной им педантичностью. Перво-наперво они отправились в архив Интерпола. Штаб-квартира созданной в 1923 году организации находилась в Австрии, оказавшейся в результате аншлюса в составе Германии. Нацисты выгребли из архивов всю необходимую им документацию и, опираясь на такую солидную теоретическую базу, приступили к работе.

Интересное отступление. Впоследствии штаб-квартира организации была перенесена в Берлин и президентами Интерпола с 1940 по 1945 год были: начальник РСХА Рейнхард Гейдрих (1940-1942), начальник V отдела РСХА (уголовная полиция) Артур Небе (1942-1943); 3-й начальник РСХА Эрнст Кальтенбруннер (1943-1945). Интересно, кого они ловили?

Кропотливая работа немецких «специалистов»

Первоначально операция именовалась «Андреас», руководил ею штурмбанфюрер СС Альфред Науйокс. В городке Шпехтхаузене под Берлином собранные со всей Германии «специалисты узкого профиля» приступили к реализации грандиозного плана.

Они споткнулись на первом же шаге – изготовлении бумаги. «Продукт», аналогичный английскому, не получался никак. Помогла разведка, сообщившая, что печатаются английские фунты на бумаге, изготовленной из турецкого льна. Науйокс вздохнул с облегчением: с Турцией он договорится. Вскоре в Шпехтхаузен доставили несколько тонн турецкого полотна, которое разрезали на полосы и разослали по предприятиям, где их использовали в качестве ветоши. Особо уполномоченные лица следили за каждой тряпочкой. Использованный материал собрали и отстирали. Сваренная из нее бумага была один в один с английскими образцами.

Затем приступили к работе граверы и художники. Малейшая ошибка, неточность – и работу начинали заново.
Одновременно группа математиков вычисляла алгоритм генерации серийных номеров британских банкнот: каждая фальшивая купюра должна была иметь свой реальный прототип.
К концу 1940 года Науйокс представил Гейдриху первые образцы.

Как гитлеровцы пытались "свалить" британский фунт


Три этапа проверки

В 1941 году была отпечатана первая партия фальшивых купюр. Эксперты всех немецких банков признавали их подлинными, но Науйоксу этого было мало. Снабдив одного из своих агентов крупной суммой фальшивок, он отправил его (в качестве поощрения за хорошую работу) в отпуск в Швейцарию. Одновременно заботливый начальник анонимно сообщил пограничной службе, что пересекающее границу лицо - аферист, мошенник, контрабандист и т.д. и т.п. Агента на границе подвергли тщательному досмотру, были тщательно проверены каждая купюра и… ничего не нашли. Негодующему отпускнику принесли свои извинения и отпустили. Хорошо отдохнув в Швейцарии и потратив все деньги, агент вернулся в Германию.

Но Науйокса полученный результат не удовлетворил. Он отправил второго агента в один из крупных швейцарских банков, где тот предъявил пачку банкнот и письмо рейхсбанка с просьбой проверить купюры на подлинность. Через три дня пришел официальный ответ: деньги настоящие. Но агент попросил еще и подтверждения из Лондона.Банковские клерки отправили своим английским коллегам письмо, прося проверить, выпускались ли купюры таких серий и номеров (список прилагается). Ответ был утвердительный - немецкие математики не подкачали.
Только после этого Науйокс доложил Гейдриху об успехе.

Печатный станок заработал в полную мощь. Было изготовлено фальшивок на сумму полмиллиона фунтов стерлингов. Но в конце 1941 года Науйокс начал собирать компромат на своего шефа, на чем и погорел. Штурмбанфюрер был разжалован в рядовые и отправлен на Восточный фронт «искупать грехи». Операция «Андреас» была свернута.

Операция «Бернгард»

В 1942 году после перерыва изготовление поддельных фунтов было возобновлено. Руководство операцией было возложено на Бернарда Крюгера. Само собой подразумевалось, что это - самая подходящая кандидатура: некогда Крюгер боролся с фальшивомонетчиками и считался чуть ли не экспертом в этой области. Операция в честь своего руководителя стала именоваться «Бернгард».

Как гитлеровцы пытались "свалить" британский фунт


В концлагерь Заксенхаузен со всех концов оккупированной Европы начали свозить типографских рабочих, лучших граверов и художников, бывших банковских служащих. Профессиональным фальшивомонетчиком среди них был только один человек – Соломон Смолянов, выходец из России (а еще точнее, из Одессы, ну откуда же еще!), который еще в 30-х годах очень удачно штамповал английские фунты и сбывал их в Персии.

«Мертвецы в отпуске»

В лагере в отдельной зоне построили два барака. Один предназначался для «рабочего персонала», во втором располагалось «производство». Зона находилась на особом режиме, в непосредственном ведении РСХА, и даже начальник лагеря не знал, что происходит за ее оградой. Заключенных из состава «спецкоманды» хорошо кормили, одевали, не били, рабочий день не превышал 8 часов. На них не кричали, с ними разговаривали. Но никто из привилегированных узников насчет своей судьбы не обольщался. С мрачным юмором невольные фальшивомонетчики называли себя «мертвецами в отпуске».

В спецзоне изготовлялись иностранные паспорта, почтовые марки, динары партизан Тито, ходившие на территории, освобожденной отрядами НОАЮ, удостоверения НКВД и даже американские доллары. Но главной продукцией были банкноты Банка Англии достоинством 5, 10, 20 и 100£, массовый выпуск которых был налажен к концу 1943 года. В небольших количествах изготовлялись 500-е и 1000-е купюры.

Чех Оскар Скала тайно записывал серии и номера выпущенных банкнот. Согласно его записям «монетный двор Заксенхаузен» выпустил 8.965.080 купюр на общую сумму 134.610.810£ (5 миллиардов по нынешнему курсу), из которых 10,3 миллиона были фальшивками высшего сорта.

На что их тратили

К 1943 году в Германии уже всерьез не рассматривали вариант с разбрасыванием денег над территорией Великобритании с самолетов. Воздушное пространство над Ла-Маншем и севернее пролива полностью контролировалось английскими ВВС. У Геринга даже не было достаточного количества самолетов для осуществления этой масштабной операции. Все силы Люфтваффе были задействованы в бомбардировке индустриальных мощностей Великобритании.

Но продукция не пропадала зря. На фальшивые фунты покупалось золото и драгоценности, стратегическое сырье, валюта других государств, ею оплачивались услуги агентуры. Именно крюгеровскими фунтами расплачивалась германская разведка со своим агентом «Цицероном». На них было организовано освобождение Муссолини.

Но немцы так и не достигли главной цели – подрыва денежной системы Великобритании. У них просто не было каналов для «впрыскивания» столь значительной денежной массы в британскую экономику. Большая часть фальшивых купюр так и осталась в Германии. Но даже введенные в оборот фальшивки доставили англичанам много беспокойства. По всему миру ходили миллионы «немецких фунтов». Поэтому, начиная с 1945 года, Банк Англии постепенно изымал из оборота все купюры крупнее 5£ и заменяли их новыми.

Последние дни операции «Бернгард»

В апреле 1945 года немцы засуетились. Производство было перенесено в Маутхаузен, но работала там «типография дядюшки Крюгера» недолго. В первых числах мая оборудование было демонтировано и вместе с напечатанными фунтами увезено в неизвестном направлении, а «спецкоманду» отправили пешим порядком в концлагерь в Эбензее. Узники были уверены, что Эбензее станет конечной точкой не только маршрута, но их жизней. Но когда они подошли к концлагерю, над его воротами уже развевался белый флаг.

Суета вокруг горного озера

Еще летом 1945 года озеро Топлицзее в Австрийских Альпах привлекло внимание американской разведки. Местные жители утверждали, что видели, как в первых числах мая эсесовцы топили в его водах какие-то ящики. Американские и английские водолазы долго ныряли, но ничего не нашли и уехали не солоно хлебавши. После их отъезда в район озера зачастили туристы, преимущественно из Германии. Некоторых из них находили мертвыми.

Летом 1959 года на озеро прибыла новая поисковая партия. Экспедицию финансировал журнал «Штерн». Один за другим со дна озера на поверхность поднимали железные ящики, в которых были найдены пачки фальшивых банкнот, бухгалтерские книги операции «Бернгард», матрицы, именные списки задействованных в операции заключенных и (сенсация!) часть архивов РСХА. В 1963 году со дна подняли последний найденный ящик, и дело официально закрыли.

Как гитлеровцы пытались "свалить" британский фунт


Однако местные жители говорят, что в окрестностях озера до сих пор появляются люди, которых местные красоты интересуют менее всего. Видимо, озеро отдало еще не все свои тайны.

Источники:
http://lib.rus.ec/b/349049/read#t1
http://ru.wikipedia.org
http://fraudsa.ru/glavnaya/53-operaciya-berngard.html
http://km-nf.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?p=36565
http://www.svoboda.org/content/transcript/24745660.html
Автор: Klim Podkova


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 10
  1. Денис 27 ноября 2013 07:57
    Наполеон фальшивые российские ассигнации шлёпал
    а может кто ещё раньше пробовал
  2. makarov 27 ноября 2013 08:29
    Автор материала вероятно забыл о "проделках" Наполеона. Тот даже в обозе возил 2 печатных станка для печатания купюр РИ, один из станков подарил старообрядцам в Москве.. Вот он и был примером для подражания у Гитлера.
    В.Пикуль очень хорошо все расписал в своем произведении "Деньги тоже стреляют"
    makarov
    1. Klim Podkova 28 ноября 2013 11:24
      Нет, не забыл. Об этом упомянуто во 2-м абзаце. Кроме Наполеона подделками денег "баловались" Пруссия, Венгрия (в 20-х годах XX столетия) и не только они. Просто статья не о них. Да и сами англичане кроме карточек сбрасывали купюры достоинством 2 рейхсмарки "made in England".
  3. П-15 27 ноября 2013 13:18
    По моему фильм даже есть об этих фальшивомонетчиках.
    П-15
    1. Mister X 27 ноября 2013 18:07
      Цитата: П-15
      По моему фильм даже есть об этих фальшивомонетчиках.

      Даже 2 фильма:
      Художественный фильм "Фальшивомонетчики" режиссера Штефана Руцовицки в 2006-м.
      и документальный "Фальшивомонетчики Гитлера" сняла кампания Cinecraft Films в 2008-м.
  4. Вадим2013 27 ноября 2013 14:09
    Статья интересная. Спасибо за её публикацию.
  5. kush62 27 ноября 2013 14:10
    В давние времена читал книгу " Деньги " . Как появились , для чего и т.п. Если найдёте, рекомендую, очень интересная. Там и про фальшивомонетчиков есть.
  6. nastran123 27 ноября 2013 17:34
    Любопытная информация!
    nastran123
  7. Sirop 27 ноября 2013 18:50
    Как-то слышал про фальшивые фунты у фрицев, но такой развернутой информации еще не читал. Спасибо!!!
  8. revnagan 27 ноября 2013 20:08
    Цитата: Sirop
    Как-то слышал про фальшивые фунты у фрицев, но такой развернутой информации еще не читал. Спасибо!!!

    Рекомендую прочитать замечательную книгу Павла Загребельного "Европа 45".Там эта тема очень хорошо раскрыта и практически всё ,что есть в статье там тоже есть.Книга,правда,художественная,но сами можете сверить с инфой в данной статье.И советую читать книгу наиболее раннего года издания,лучше написана.
    1. Mister X 27 ноября 2013 21:07
      Книги именно об этой афере:
      Вальтер Хаген "Фальшивомонетчики Третьего рейха. Операция «Бернхард»

      Адольф Бургер "Мастерская дьявола"
      Книгу написал непосредственный участник, один из заключенных.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня