Military Review

Autonomous underwater vehicle Reliant set a distance record

3
Unmanned vehicles, controlled by the operator using the remote control, have long been used in various fields. Now the main task in this area is the creation of technology capable of working without human intervention. Due to the fact that most of the autonomous vehicles have so far reached only the testing stage, each new project of this kind has the opportunity to set a record for some parameters. For example, at the end of October, the American drone underwater vehicle Reliant, created by Bluefin Robotics, set a record for the duration and range of the voyage in a fully autonomous mode.


Autonomous underwater vehicle Reliant set a distance record


30 in October, the American company Bluefin Robotics announced the completion of regular tests autonomous machine Reliant. In 109 hours, the unit overcame 315 nautical miles (507 kilometers) and traveled from Boston Bay to New York. In recent years, the company has been developing various remote-controlled and autonomous underwater vehicles designed to perform various tasks. As for the Reliant project, recently works on it are going in the direction of increasing the range.

According to official figures, during its recent campaign, Reliant was walking at a depth of about 10 meters at a speed of about the 2,5 node. Every 20 kilometers of the route, an autonomous underwater vehicle surfaced to clarify its location using the GPS system, as well as transmit the necessary information to the testers. Judging by the published information, the underwater vehicle could have covered a few dozen more miles. At the time of completion of swimming, its batteries retained about 10% charge. The modular architecture of the Reliant unit allowed it to be equipped with 40 kWh batteries. The average power consumption per 100 km of track was at the level of 7 kWh.

The October campaign of the autonomous device Reliant showed the possibilities of a new type of technology. Although route planning took into account maximum energy savings, we can recognize that Reliant has set a new distance record. In the future, it is possible to increase the capacity of the batteries and, as a result, increase the range of the stroke.



The Reliant project is a further development of the autonomous underwater vehicle Bluefin 21. The new device is noticeably larger than its predecessor, however, it has slightly better characteristics. Externally, Reliant is similar to a torpedo and has corresponding dimensions: length about 6 meters, case diameter - 0,53 m. There are several sliding devices on the case. The submersible is equipped with several batteries, the total number of which may vary depending on current tasks. Inside the case there is a place for special equipment. In the future, the main task of Reliant vehicles will be to survey specified areas and search for mines. In addition, the possibility of using devices for anti-submarine purposes is not excluded.

The running characteristics of the Reliant were not specified, but there is reason to believe that they are on par with the characteristics of the Bluefin 21. If this assumption is true, then the new autonomous unit will be able to dive to a depth of 4,5 kilometers and move at speeds up to 4-5 nodes.

The Bluefin Robotics company conducts projects of autonomous underwater vehicles by request of the US Navy. It is assumed that one of the new devices will be included in the special equipment of the ships of the LCS project. This, in particular, determines the size of the Bluefin 21 and Reliant. The diameter and length will allow the launch of vehicles using standard torpedo tubes or similar launchers. It is expected that the use of autonomous underwater vehicles, carrying a complex of sonar equipment, will significantly increase the size of the zone controlled by the ship.

The creation of an underwater vehicle capable of performing tasks in a fully automatic mode is associated with a number of technical problems. To improve the performance of automation, Reliant uses a combined navigation system. Determination of the current location of the device in a submerged position is carried out using an inertial navigation system. If necessary, the device can float to the surface and clarify its coordinates using GPS satellite system. The joint use of two navigation systems allows us to improve the accuracy of determining the coordinates of both the apparatus and the objects it has found. The effectiveness of this approach is clearly shown by the recent 315-mile campaign.



A combination system is also used to communicate with the control panel. The control panel and the autonomous device can exchange information via a radio channel or via a communication satellite. As long as the autonomous device is on the carrier ship, it is possible to wire it through the appropriate connector. Despite the possibility of remote control, the main mode of operation is considered automatic. For drawing up the program of actions the software, simple in mastering, is used.

Work on the Reliant project continues. Bluefin Robotics specialists are engaged in improving onboard systems and fine-tuning the design. In the foreseeable future, several more tests must be passed, the result of which can be both a continuation of the project, and a profound modernization and creation of a new one. A new multifunctional ship complex with autonomous underwater vehicles is planned to be put into service by the end of the decade. The first to receive it are the LCS ships, and later it will be possible to equip other types of ships with such systems.

It should be noted that the well-known appearance of the new American autonomous underwater vehicles allows them to be based not only on ships. In the future, systems like Bluefin 21 or Reliant may be used, aviation or coastal units. So far, the main objective of such equipment is considered to be the survey of specified water areas and the search for any objects: mines, enemy submarines, etc., but in the future it is possible to expand the range of tasks performed. How effective are the promising complexes - time will tell.


On the materials of the sites:
http://bluefinrobotics.com/
http://navaldrones.com/
http://naval-technology.com/
http://compulenta.computerra.ru/
Author:
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Volkhov
    Volkhov 10 December 2013 09: 35
    +1
    There is more in caliber and with the reactor you can do ... hello to the fleets.
    1. Professor
      Professor 10 December 2013 11: 12
      0
      Quote: Volkhov
      There is more in caliber and with the reactor you can do ... hello to the fleets.

      He and with batteries has sufficient autonomy.
  2. saag
    saag 10 December 2013 11: 41
    +2
    A good thing, an autonomous homing torpedo, in my opinion, is worth doing this project
  3. AVV
    AVV 10 December 2013 15: 20
    +2
    It’s easy to do it like a torpedo, then the system will turn out to be disposable, but it’s not very good, but to use it as a reconnaissance system or target designation system, or a carrier, torpedo, missile weapons, it’s much more logical !!! The designers now have to do it !!! If this device can to carry a pair of caliber type missiles, then he will not have a price !!!
  4. saag
    saag 10 December 2013 16: 15
    0
    Quote: AVV
    Just do it like a torpedo, then the system will turn out to be disposable, but this is not very good

    Well, why, for the hunt for a submarine, the torpedo carrier will turn out to be more difficult
  5. Kir
    Kir 10 December 2013 19: 26
    +1
    Thanks to Kirill for the article.
    The torpedo launcher looks like a sort of a garaging platform, but it just seems like it’s not against simple submarines, but against boats like a losharik, or against underwater inhabited vehicles, otherwise it’s why the maximum depth is 4.5 km, by the way, you can understand for what patrol areas it is being prepared.
    In general, there is a hope that our people are preparing something the same, and preferably very asymmetric.
    1. abdrah
      abdrah 11 December 2013 06: 29
      0
      There is an asymmetric and affordable action- 01-0,5Mt charge for blinding PLO, air defense, etc., 2 charges per kilometer of the front (TNW, the Soviet standard).

Автономный подводный аппарат Reliant установил рекорд дальности

Беспилотные аппараты, управляемые оператором при помощи вынесенного пульта, давно нашли применение в различных сферах. Теперь главной задачей в этой области является создание техники, способной работать без участия человека. Ввиду того, что большая часть автономных аппаратов пока дошла лишь до стадии испытаний, каждый новый подобный проект получает возможность установить рекорд по тем или иным параметрам. К примеру, в конце октября американский беспилотный подводный аппарат Reliant, созданный компанией Bluefin Robotics, поставил рекорд продолжительности и дальности плавания в полностью автономном режиме.

Автономный подводный аппарат Reliant установил рекорд дальности


30 октября американская компания Bluefin Robotics сообщила о завершении очередных испытаний автономного аппарата Reliant. За 109 часов аппарат преодолел 315 морских миль (507 километров) и добрался из Бостонской бухты в Нью-Йорк. На протяжении последних лет компания-разработчик занимается созданием различных дистанционно управляемых и автономных подводных аппаратов, предназначенных для выполнения различных задач. Что касается проекта Reliant, то в последнее время работы по нему идут в направлении увеличения дальности.


По официальным данным, во время своего недавнего похода аппарат Reliant шел на глубине около 10 метров со скоростью порядка 2,5 узла. Через каждые 20 километров маршрута автономный подводный аппарат всплывал на поверхность, чтобы уточнить свое местоположение при помощи системы GPS, а также передать испытателям необходимую информацию. Судя по опубликованным сведениям, подводный аппарат мог бы преодолеть еще несколько десятков миль. На момент завершения плавания его аккумуляторы сохранили около 10% заряда. Модульная архитектура аппарата Reliant позволила оснастить его батареями на 40 кВт∙ч. Средний расход энергии на 100 км пути был на уровне 7 кВт∙ч.

Октябрьский поход автономного аппарата Reliant показал возможности нового типа техники. Хотя при планировании маршрута учитывалась максимальная экономия электроэнергии, можно признать, что Reliant установил новый рекорд дальности. В дальнейшем возможно повышение емкости батарей и, как следствие, увеличение дальности хода.

Автономный подводный аппарат Reliant установил рекорд дальности


Проект Reliant представляет собой дальнейшее развитие автономного подводного аппарата Bluefin 21. Новый аппарат заметно крупнее предшественника, однако немного легче имеет более высокие характеристики. Внешне аппарат Reliant похож на торпеду и имеет соответствующие габариты: длина около 6 метров, диаметр корпуса – 0,53 м. На корпусе имеется несколько выдвижных устройств. Подводный аппарат оснащается несколькими аккумуляторами, общее количество которых может изменяться в зависимости от текущих задач. Внутри корпуса предусмотрено место для специального оборудования. Основной задачей аппаратов Reliant в будущем станет обследование заданных районов и поиск мин. Кроме того, не исключается возможность использования аппаратов в противолодочных целях.

Ходовые характеристики аппарата Reliant не уточнялись, но есть основания полагать, что они находятся на одном уровне с характеристиками Bluefin 21. Если это предположение верно, то новый автономный аппарат будет способен погружаться на глубину до 4,5 километра и передвигаться со скоростью до 4-5 узлов.

Компания Bluefin Robotics ведет проекты автономных подводных аппаратов по заказу военно-морских сил США. Предполагается, что один из новых аппаратов войдет в состав специального оборудования кораблей проекта LCS. Именно этим, в частности, обусловлены размеры аппаратов Bluefin 21 и Reliant. Диаметр и длина позволят запускать аппараты при помощи стандартных торпедных аппаратов или подобных им пусковых установок. Ожидается, что применение автономных подводных аппаратов, несущих комплекс гидроакустического оборудования, позволит значительно увеличить размеры зоны, контролируемой кораблем.

Создание подводного аппарата, способного выполнять задачи в полностью автоматическом режиме, связано с рядом технических проблем. Для повышения эффективности работы автоматики аппарат Reliant использует комбинированную систему навигации. Определение текущего местоположения аппарата в подводном положении осуществляется при помощи инерциальной навигационной системы. При необходимости аппарат может всплыть на поверхность и уточнить свои координаты с помощью спутниковой системы GPS. Совместное использование двух навигационных систем позволяет улучшить точность определения координат как самого аппарата, так и обнаруженных им объектов. Эффективность такого подхода наглядно показал недавний 315-мильный поход.

Автономный подводный аппарат Reliant установил рекорд дальности


Для связи с пультом управления тоже используется комбинированная система. Пульт управления и автономный аппарат могут обмениваться информацией по радиоканалу или через спутник связи. Пока автономный аппарат находится на корабле-носителе, возможно проводное подключение через соответствующий разъем. Несмотря на возможность дистанционного управления, основным режимом работы считается автоматический. Для составления программы действий используется простое в освоении программное обеспечение.

Работы по проекту Reliant продолжаются. Специалисты компании Bluefin Robotics заняты совершенствованием бортовых систем и доводкой конструкции. В обозримом будущем должны пройти еще несколько испытаний, результатом которых может стать как продолжение проекта, так и глубокая модернизация и создание нового. Новый многофункциональный корабельный комплекс с автономными подводными аппаратами планируется принять на вооружение к концу десятилетия. Первыми его должны получить корабли LCS, а в дальнейшем возможно оснащение подобными системами кораблей иных типов.

Необходимо отметить, что известный облик новых американских автономных подводных аппаратов позволяет им базироваться не только на кораблях. В будущем возможно использование систем, подобных Bluefin 21 или Reliant, авиацией или береговыми подразделениями. Пока основной задачей такого оборудования считается обследование заданных акваторий и поиск каких-либо объектов: мин, подлодок противника и т.д., но в дальнейшем возможно расширение круга выполняемых задач. Насколько эффективными будут перспективные комплексы – покажет время.


По материалам сайтов:
http://bluefinrobotics.com/
http://navaldrones.com/
http://naval-technology.com/
http://compulenta.computerra.ru/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. Волхов 10 декабря 2013 09:35
    В калибре побольше и с реактором можно сделать... привет флотам.
    Волхов
    1. профессор 10 декабря 2013 11:12
      Цитата: Волхов
      В калибре побольше и с реактором можно сделать... привет флотам.

      Он и с батарейками обладает достаточной автономностью.
  2. saag 10 декабря 2013 11:41
    Хорошая вещь, автономная самонаводящаяся торпеда, по моему стоит заняться этим проектом
  3. AVV 10 декабря 2013 15:20
    Просто делать как торпеду,то система получится одноразовой,а это не очень хорошо,а использовать как разведчика или систему целеуказания,или носителя,торпедного,ракетного вооружения ,куда более логично!!!Дело теперь за конструкторами!!!Если этот аппарат,сможет нести пару ракет типа калибр,то ему цены не будет!!!
    AVV
  4. saag 10 декабря 2013 16:15
    Цитата: AVV
    Просто делать как торпеду,то система получится одноразовой,а это не очень хорошо

    Ну почему, для охоты на подлодку самое то, носитель торпед получится сложнее
  5. Kir 10 декабря 2013 19:26
    Кириллу Спасибо за статью.
    Походит на этакую баражирующую платформу носитель торпед, но вот только складывается ощущение что не против простых АПЛ, а против лодок типа лошарика, либо против подводных обитаемых аппаратов, в противной зачем предельная глубина в 4.5км, кстати можно по картам глубин понять для каких районов патрулирования его готовят.
    А вообще есть надежда что наши то же что-то готовят, и желательно сильно асимметричное.
    Kir
    1. abdrah 11 декабря 2013 06:29
      Есть ассиметричное и приемлемое по стоимости действие- 01-0,5Мт заряд для ослепления ПЛО,ПВО и т.д, 2 заряда на километр фронта(ТЯО,советский норматив).

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня