Military Review

Preparing a report on the cost of an air strike on Libya

0
The Center for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments (Center for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments) of the United States prepared a report where it calculated the approximate cost of creating a no-fly zone, which requires the complete or partial destruction of the Gadhafi regime's air defense system.

In the option of complete destruction of air defense, such an operation would cost NATO 300 million a week, six months to ensure a no-fly zone would require 8,8 billion dollars. A one-time massive strike on Libyan air defense batteries would require from 500 to 1 billion dollars.

Such large expenditures are due to the fact that the aircraft of the United States and its allies will be forced to fly over hostile territory, where in the territory of 680 thousands of square miles are located up to 500 air defense objects. The destruction of one object on average will cost 2 million dollars, since many of them will have to spend several cruise missiles and bombs. It is noted that the Iraqi no-fly zone had an area of ​​just 104,6 thousand square miles.

There is the option of creating a restricted area consisting of the airspace of large cities, where it is estimated that up to 400 air defense facilities are located on an area of ​​230 thousand square miles. Creating a no-fly zone in this option will require costs from 30 to 100 million dollars per week.

The third option involves the destruction of the main "assets" Colonel Gaddafi, located in coastal areas. Their “degradation” will require from 400 to 800 million dollars. In this case, NATO can use three American cruisers with the AEGIS system, fighters equipped with AIM-120 SD and DRLO aircraft to intercept Libyan aircraft. In this embodiment, the complete destruction of the Libyan air defense is not required.

The center said that the United States and NATO should determine the area of ​​the exclusion zone, how much it (in all variants) meets the interests of the West and will help displace Gaddafi. The Western alliance must decide which military campaign is most appropriate, determine the rules for the use of military force, as well as the possibility of direct assistance to the Libyan rebels. The cost of the operation will play an important role in determining the volume of a military strike, the report says.
Originator:
http://www.worldtribune.com/worldtribune/W...y0273_03_14.asp"rel =" nofollow ">http://www.worldtribune.com/worldtribune/W...y0273_03_14.asp
Add a comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Готовится доклад о стоимости воздушного удара по Ливии

Готовится доклад о стоимости воздушного удара по Ливии
Центр стратегических и бюджетных оценок (Center for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments) США подготовил доклад, где подсчитал примерную стоимость создания зоны, запретной для полетов над Ливией, что требует полного или частичного уничтожения системы ПВО режима Каддафи.

В варианте полного уничтожения ПВО такая операция обойдется НАТО в 300 млн долл США в неделю, шесть месяцев обеспечения бесполетной зоны потребует 8,8 млрд долл. Одноразовый массированный удар по батареям ливийской ПВО потребует от 500 до 1 млрд долл.

Такие большие траты объясняются тем, что самолеты США и их союзников будут вынуждены летать над враждебной территорией, где на территории 680 тысяч квадратных миль расположено до 500 объектов ПВО. Уничтожение одного объекта в среднем обойдется в 2 млн долларов, так как на многие их них придется потратить по нескольку крылатых ракет и бомб. Отмечается, что иракская зона, запретная для полетов, имела площадь всего 104,6 тысяч квадратных миль.


Есть вариант создания ограниченной зоны, состоящей из воздушного пространства крупных городов, где, по оценкам, расположено до 400 объектов ПВО на площади 230 тысяч квадратных миль. Создание бесполетной зоны в этом варианте потребует расходов от 30 до 100 млн долларов в неделю.

Третий вариант предусматривает уничтожение основных «активов» полвковника Каддафи, размещенных в прибрежных районах. Их «деградация» потребует от 400 до 800 млн долл. В этом случае для перехвата ливийских самолетов НАТО может использовать три американских крейсера с системой AEGIS, истребители, оснащенных УР AIM-120 и самолеты ДРЛО. В этом варианте полное уничтожение ливийской ПВО не потребуется.

Центр заявил, что США и НАТО должны определить площадь запретной зоны, насколько она (во всех вариантах) отвечает интересам Запада и поможет вытеснить Каддафи. Западный альянс должен решить, какая военная кампания наиболее целесообразна, определить правила применения военной силы, а также возможность прямой помощи ливийским повстанцам. В определении объема военного удара важную роль будет играть стоимость операции, сообщается в докладе.

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 0

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня