Military Review

Gigantic WWII - self-propelled guns "Karl"

2


“Karl” (German factory index “Gerät 040” - “040 installation”) is a heavy German self-propelled mortar that took part in the Second World War. This mortar was intended for the assault of fortresses or strongly fortified defense of the enemy. A bright representative of the most powerful self-propelled artillery of its period.

History Karla was launched in the 35 of the last century. At that time, the company Rheinmetall-Borzig was developing a rifled mortar under the caliber 600 mm. This mortar was capable of firing projectiles with a mass up to 4 t. At a distance of over a kilometer. She received her name from the general from artillery Karl Becker, who led the design and construction of the ACS.
Through the 2 of the year since the start of the design of the mortar, namely in the 1937, a prototype of the gun was manufactured. Mortar had a rather impressive appearance, weighed over 55 tons, threw shells weighing about 2 tons at a distance of 3 kilometers.



But at the same time, there was one important shortcoming of such an impressive tool. It was his bulkiness. In this regard, in the same year 1937, work began on creating a self-propelled gun carriage for the mortar. After installing the mortar on the carriage, the total artillery mass was 97 tons. But it was not the final modernization of "Karl". Constructors on the instructions of the Wehrmacht carriage was covered with armor, in addition, the gun was modernized and its length was 5108 mm. In this form, the mass of the self-propelled mortar was 126 tons. A prototype mortar on an eight-tracked crawler in May 1940, was successfully tested. And in November 1940, the production of a small lot of mortars began. Production was completed in August 1941.



The firm Rheinmetall-Borzig made only six self-propelled mortars. Since these guns were single copies, each of the mortars was named by its own name. The six guns produced were called:
1 - “Adam” (“Adam”), later renamed “Baldr” (“Baldur”),
2 - “Eva” (“Eva”), later renamed to “Wotan” (“Wotan”),
3 - “One” (“Odin”),
4 - "Thor" ("Thor"),
5 - Loki (“Loki”),
6 - Ziu (Ziu)

The first art installation "Adam" was transferred to the military in November 40-th year. In April, the 41 of the German army received another 3 mortar "One", "Thor" and "Eve". The remaining 2 mortars - “Ziu” and “Loki” - were transferred to the army at the end of August 41.

Some evidence points to the existence of the seventh installation, which was called “Fenrir” (“Fenrir”). As far as is known, this mortar did not take part in hostilities and was used as a testing ground. It is possible that the prototype built in May of 1940 was named by this name.
Originator:
http://topwar.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://topwar.ru
2 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. turnip
    turnip 19 March 2011 12: 54
    0
    Serdyuchka's dream in the sense of what a big "rollback" at the trunk
  2. Michael
    Michael 19 March 2011 19: 55
    0
    Something in the Fritz gigantomania was ahead of reality.

Исполин Второй мировой - САУ "Карл"

Исполин Второй мировой - САУ "Карл"


«Карл» (немецкий заводской индекс «Gerät 040» - «установка 040») - тяжелая немецкая самоходная мортира, которая принимала участие во Второй мировой войне. Эта мортира предназначалась для штурма крепостей или же сильно укрепленной обороны врага. Яркий представитель самых мощных самоходных артустановок своего периода.

История «Карла» была начата в 35-м году прошлого столетия. В то время фирма Рейнметалл-Борзиг проводила разработку нарезного миномета под калибр 600 мм. Данный миномет должен был способен выстреливать снаряды массой до 4 т. на расстояние свыше километра. Свое имя она получила от генерала от артиллерии Карла Беккера, который руководил проектированием и строительством САУ.
Через 2 года с момента начала проектирования миномета, а именно в 1937 году, был изготовлен опытный образец орудия. Мортира имела довольно внушительный внешний вид, весила свыше 55 тонн, выбрасывала снаряды массой около 2 тонн на расстояние до 3 километров.


Исполин Второй мировой - САУ "Карл"


Но вместе с тем, существовал один немаловажный недостаток у такого впечатляющего орудия. Это была его громоздкость. В связи с этим, в этом же 1937 году были начаты работы по созданию для мортиры самоходного лафета. После установки мортиры на лафет полная масса артсистемы составила 97 тонн. Но это была не окончательная модернизация «Карла». Конструкторами по заданию Вермахта лафет был покрыт броней, кроме того было модернизировано орудие и его длина составила 5108 мм. В таком виде масса самоходной мортиры составляла 126 тонн. Опытный образец мортиры на восьмикатковом гусеничном ходу в мае 1940 года успешно прошел испытания. А уже в ноябре 1940 года началось производство небольшой партии мортир. Производство было завершено в августе 1941 года.

Исполин Второй мировой - САУ "Карл"


Фирма Рейнметалл-Борзиг изготовила всего шесть самоходных мортир. Поскольку эти артустановки были единичными экземплярами, то каждая из мортир была названа своим собственным именем. Шесть произведенных орудий назывались:
1 — «Адам» («Adam»), позже переименована в «Бальдр» («Baldur»),
2 — «Ева» («Eva»), позже переименована в «Вотан» («Wotan»),
3 — «Один» («Odin»),
4 — «Тор» («Thor»),
5 — «Локи» («Loki»),
6 — «Циу» («Ziu»)

Первая артустановка «Адам» была передана военным уже в ноябре 40-го года. В апреле 41-го немецкая армия получила еще 3 мортиры «Один», «Тор» и «Ева». Оставшиеся 2 мортиры - «Циу» и «Локи» - переданы армии в конце августа 41-го года.

Некоторые данные указывают на существование и седьмой установки, которая называлась «Фенрир» («Fenrir»). Насколько известно, данная мортира в боевых действиях не принимала участие и использовалась как испытательный полигон. Вполне возможно, что этим именем был назван построенный в мае 1940 года прототип.
Первоисточник: http://topwar.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://topwar.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 2
  1. репа 19 марта 2011 12:54
    мечта сердючки в смысле какой большой "откат" у ствола
    репа
  2. Михаил 19 марта 2011 19:55
    Что то у фрицев гигантомания шла впереди реальности.
    Михаил

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня