Military Review

Silence - gold

4
By launching military operations against Libya, the United States was able to get not only the support of the majority of the members of the NATO bloc, but also to get the neutrality of China and Russia they needed. At the same time, the press got information that Russia could even support the resolution, which the UN Security Council eventually adopted, but ultimately decided to abstain. A day before the adoption of the resolution, which opened the way for a military operation, Vladimir Chamov, Russia's ambassador to Libya, was dismissed. It is reported that until recently he was holding the side of Muammar Gaddafi. This approach to the problem allows to kill two birds with one stone - to strengthen its relations with the West and NATO and, if possible, to preserve its assets of Libya after the overthrow of Gaddafi.

International coalition

In developing a military operation against Gaddafi, Washington took into account the negative experience that had been gained during the overthrow of another dictator - Saddam Hussein. Notably, that operation began exactly 8 years ago, 19 March, 2003. Then the United States launched the operation, without enlisting the support of the UN Security Council and having only three countries as allies: the UK, Australia and Poland. The conduct of that operation caused outrage around the world, and even despite the fairly quick defeat of the Iraqi army, it seriously harmed the success of the entire campaign.

This time the United States decided not to step on the same rake and from the very beginning made it clear that if a military operation began, Washington would not be a soloist in it. The Steering Committee of the State National Security Council represented by CIA Director Leon Panett, Pentagon chief Robert Gates and head of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Michael Mullen at the 9 March meeting gave Barack Obama recommendations to refrain from conducting a military operation until NATO and the UN will come to a common denominator.

Then many thought that the forceful version of the overthrow of Muammar Gaddafi put an end to - to imagine that Russia and the People's Republic of China, which have veto power in the UN Security Council, would not block a resolution that would open the way to a military operation, was very difficult. However, in the end, this is exactly what happened, and Moscow and Beijing abstained from voting on resolution 1973, thereby in fact expressing their consent to conduct a military operation.

Silence - gold


As a result, in contrast to the situation 8-year-old, the United States was immediately able to attract many allies to the operation and secure with the UN mandate. Moreover, after the NATO Council in Brussels expressed support for the military operation, the campaign to overthrow Muammar Gaddafi increasingly resembled an operation to overthrow the Yugoslav leader Slobodan Milosevic. For the United States in this case, the situation turns out to be even more favorable than it was in 1999, when there was a clear camp in the world who were dissatisfied with what was happening in Yugoslavia, which was headed by Moscow, but this time Russia did not prevent the beginning of the military operation.

Passive resistance

This position was not so easy for Moscow. While the West was developing military intervention in the affairs of Libya, Russia was considering several options for its actions. Russian President Dmitry Medvedev at one point was even ready to accept a UN resolution with the number 1973, while the Russian Foreign Ministry seriously argued about the possibility of imposing a veto and blocking this resolution. As a result, the parties came to a compromise, and Russia abstained from voting.

In the Kremlin, however, these discrepancies were quickly refuted. Presidential spokeswoman Natalya Timakova made a statement that Russia's position on this issue has always been one and remains that way now. Russia has condemned and continues to condemn what Muammar Gaddafi is doing in relation to the country's civilian population; we have no differences about this with the West. The policy of the colonel is contrary to all conceivable international norms, which is why Russia previously supported sanctions against Libya and Gaddafi and his family personally.

This position became decisive in the decision of the Russian authorities not to impose a veto on the 1973 resolution. At the same time, Moscow did not support the document, since it was against the military scenario, which is now unfolding in Libya. Russia did not change its position on the evaluation of the actions of the Libyan regime, but does not welcome the use of force to solve this problem. The position of Germany, which also abstained from the adoption of this resolution, is similar to the Russian one. Both countries have quite definite questions - what will the military operation lead to, and what will happen next? What kind of opposition forces in Benghazi, for which the Western community decided to stand up? Answers to these questions have not yet followed.

Interestingly, before the UN’s voting itself, our ambassador was sent to Tripoli, Vladimir Chamov. Most likely, the decision about his resignation was made not at the Foreign Ministry, but at the Kremlin, where the behavior of the diplomat was considered inadequate to the current situation. Instead of protecting the interests of his own country, the ambassador broadcast the interests of a foreign state to Moscow, a version of the ambassador’s resignation led by Kommersant.

The ambassador could suffer because he forgot about the foreign policy attitude that was given by the president of the country to our diplomats at a meeting with representatives of the diplomatic corps in July 2010. Speaking about the importance of democratic processes in Russia, Dmitry Medvedev stressed that Moscow should contribute to the humanization of social systems not only at home but also in the world. The interests of Russian democracy contribute to the largest possible number of states that have chosen the same path of development, Dmitry Medvedev said at the time. Having made a reservation that such standards can not be imposed on any state unilaterally. In this case, the behavior of Russia, which on the one hand condemned the leadership of Libya, and on the other did not support a military solution to the problem, fits into this difficult to implement scheme.

Silence is gold

Immediately after the first reports of civilian casualties appeared, a statement appeared on the website of the Russian Foreign Ministry, in which he called on the participants of the military operation “to refrain from the indiscriminate use of military force”. Thus, Moscow automatically distanced itself from the possible negative consequences of a military operation in Libya, including possible casualties among civilians. (The Foreign Ministry of China made a statement in the same vein). Such a tactic, which was chosen by Russia in the conflict, is likely to allow it to extract quite definite dividends from it.

Some positive trends have already emerged. First of all, this crisis has allowed our country not only not to spoil, but also improve relations with the West. And this means that the operation to overthrow the dictator will in no way affect the outlined "reset" of relations with Washington and will not disrupt cooperation with the EU and NATO, which has begun to improve under Dmitry Medvedev.

In addition, without becoming an obstacle to the overthrow of Muammar Gaddafi, Russia has the right to hope for gratitude from the future government of the country, which will come to power in Libya after the overthrow of the dictator. Russia does not want to lose multi-million dollar contracts with this state, which were signed by Rosoboronexport, Russian Railways, and Gazprom. And Moscow can count on a favorable outcome under these contracts, because even in post-war Iraq, Russian companies could still get a number of deposits for use.
Originator:
http://topwar.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://topwar.ru
4 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Eugene
    Eugene 23 March 2011 09: 29
    0
    The author has an overly blissful impression of Russia's toothless position. Why do we need such a relationship with the West. All my life to walk "in primaks".
  2. Alexander
    Alexander 23 March 2011 11: 16
    0
    It was not then that the West made this porridge so that Russia could eat it. It will not get anything, it has already received billions of dollars in losses due to unfulfilled contracts. continue to ruin the defenses it can wait for the same.
  3. Michael
    Michael 23 March 2011 11: 23
    0
    Cunning is the lot of the weak. Walking in a dark shed with scattered rakes is also not a big deal, standing in a corner, and in the corners it always stinks of urine. To fly - for this you need to have a mind and soul (and here is who and what sold for greens).
  4. His
    His 25 March 2011 22: 28
    0
    The war would have begun despite any veto. Russia has a veto only on paper

Молчание - золото

Начав военные действия против Ливии, США смогли получить не только поддержку большинства членов блока НАТО, но и заполучить необходимый им нейтралитет Китая и России. При этом в прессу попала информация о том, что Россия могла даже поддержать резолюцию, которую в итоге принял Совет Безопасности ООН, но в конечном итоге решила воздержаться. За сутки до принятия резолюции, которая открыла дорогу для военной операции, в отставку был отправлен Владимир Чамов – посол России в Ливии. Сообщается, что он до последнего держал сторону Муаммара Каддафи. Данный подход к проблеме позволяет убить сразу двух зайцев – укрепить свои отношения с Западом и НАТО и по возможности сохранить свои активы Ливии после свержения Каддафи.

Международная коалиция

Разрабатывая военную операцию против Каддафи, Вашингтон учел негативный опыт, который был накоплен во время свержения другого диктатора – Саддама Хусейна. Примечательно, что та операция началась ровно 8 лет назад, 19 марта 2003 года. Тогда США начали операцию, не заручившись поддержкой Совета Безопасности ООН и имея в союзниках лишь три страны: Великобританию, Австралию и Польшу. Проведение той операции вызвало негодование по всему миру, и даже не смотря на достаточно быстрый разгром иракской армии, серьезно навредило успеху всей проводимой кампании.


В этот раз США решили не наступать на те же грабли и с самого начала четко дали понять, что в случае начала военной операции Вашингтон не будет в ней солировать. Руководящий комитет совета национальной безопасности штатов в лице директора ЦРУ Леона Панетта, главы Пентагона Роберта Гейтса и главы объединенного комитета начальников штабов Майкла Маллена на заседании, состоявшемся 9 марта, дали Бараку Обаме рекомендации воздержаться от проведения военной операции до того момента, пока НАТО и ООН не придут к общему знаменателю.

Тогда многим показалось, что на силовом варианте свержения Муаммара Каддафи поставлен крест – представить, что Россия и КНР, которые имеют в Совете Безопасности ООН право вето, не будут блокировать резолюцию, которая откроет дорогу к военной операции, было очень трудно. Однако в конечном итоге именно так и вышло, и Москва и Пекин воздержались во время голосования по резолюции 1973, тем самым фактически выразив согласие на проведение военной операции.

Молчание - золото


В результате, в отличие от ситуации 8-летней давности, США сразу смогли привлечь к осуществлению операции множество союзников и заручиться при этом мандатом ООН. Более того, после того как совет НАТО в Брюсселе выразил поддержку военной операции, кампания по свержению Муаммара Каддафи все больше стала напоминать операцию по свержению югославского лидера Слободана Милошевича. Для США в этом случае ситуация оказывается еще более благоприятной, чем это было в 1999 году, когда в мире существовал явный лагерь недовольных происходящим в Югославии, который возглавляла Москва, на этот же раз Россия началу военной операции препятствовать не стала.

Пассивное сопротивление

Данная позиция далась Москве не так легко. В то время, как Запад разрабатывал военное вмешательство в дела Ливии, в России рассматривали несколько вариантов своих действий. Президент России Дмитрий Медведев в какой-то момент даже был готов принять резолюцию ОНН за номером 1973, в то время как МИД России всерьез рассуждал над возможностью наложить вето и заблокировать данную резолюцию. В итоге стороны пришли к компромиссу, и Россия воздержалась при голосовании.

В Кремле, однако, данные разночтения быстро опровергли. Пресс-секретарь президента Наталья Тимакова выступила с заявлением о том, что позиция России в данном вопросе всегда была единой и остается такой и сейчас. Россия осуждала и продолжает осуждать то, что творит Муаммар Каддафи в отношении мирного населения страны, по этому поводу разночтений с Западом у нас нет. Политика полковника противоречит всем мыслимым международным нормам, именно поэтому Россия ранее поддержала санкции в отношении Ливии и лично Каддафи и его семьи.

Данная позиция и стала определяющей при решении российских властей не накладывать вето на резолюцию 1973. При этом и поддерживать документ Москва не стала, поскольку была против военного сценария, который сейчас разворачивается в Ливии. Россия не изменяла своей позиции по оценке действий ливийского режима, однако не приветствует и силовой вариант решения данной проблемы. Схожа с российской и позиция Германии, которая также воздержалась при принятии данной резолюции. У обеих стран есть вполне определенные вопросы – к чему приведет военная операция, и что будет происходить дальше? Что это за оппозиционные силы в Бенгази, за которые решило вступиться западное сообщество? Ответов на эти вопросы пока не последовало.

Интересно, что перед самим голосованием в ООН в отставку был отправлен наш посол в Триполи Владимир Чамов. Скорее всего, решение об его отставке было принято не в МИДе, а в Кремле, где поведение дипломата сочли неадекватным складывающейся ситуации. Вместо защиты интересов собственной страны посол транслировал в Москву интересы чужого государства, такую версию отставки посла привел «Коммерсант».
Молчание - золото

Посол мог пострадать из-за того, что забыл о внешнеполитической установке, которая была дана президентом страны нашим дипломатам на совещании с представителями дипкорпуса в июле 2010 года. Рассказывая о важности демократических процессов в России, Дмитрий Медведев подчеркнул, что Москва должна способствовать гуманизации социальных систем не только у себя дома, но и в мире. Интересам российской демократии способствует как можно большее число государств, выбравших такой же путь развития, заявил тогда Дмитрия Медведев. Сделав оговорку, что такие стандарты не могут быть навязаны ни одному государству в одностороннем порядке. В таком случае поведение России, которая с одной стороны осудила руководство Ливии, а с другой не поддержала военного решения проблемы, укладывается в данную непростую для реализации схему.

Молчание – золото

Сразу же после того, как появились первые сообщения о жертвах среди мирного населения, на сайте российского МИДа появилось заявление, в котором он призвал участников военной операции «воздержаться от неизбирательного применения военной силы». Таким образом, Москва автоматически дистанцировалась от возможных негативных последствий военной операции в Ливии, включая возможные жертвы среди мирных граждан. (Заявление в таком же ключе сделал и МИД Китая). Подобная тактика, которая была избрана Россией в конфликте, скорее всего, позволит ей извлечь из него вполне определенные дивиденды.

Часть позитивных тенденций уже проявилась. Прежде всего данный кризис позволил нашей стране не только не испортить, но и улучшить отношения с Западом. А это означает, что операция по свержению диктатора никак не затронет наметившуюся «перезагрузку» отношений с Вашингтоном и не нарушит сотрудничество с ЕС и НАТО, которое стало налаживаться при Дмитрии Медведеве.

Помимо этого, не став препятствовать свержению Муаммара Каддафи, Россия вправе надеяться на благодарность со стороны будущего правительства страны, которое придет к власти в Ливии после свержения диктатора. Россия не хочет потерять многомиллиарные контракты с данным государством, которые были заключены «Рособоронэкспортом», «РЖД», «Газпромом». И на благоприятный исход по этим контрактам Москва может рассчитывать, потому что даже в послевоенном Ираке российские компании все же смогли получить в пользование ряд месторождений.
Первоисточник: http://topwar.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://topwar.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. Eugene 23 марта 2011 09:29
    Излишне благостное впечатление у автора от беззубой позиции России. А зачем нам такие отношения с Западом. Всю жизнь ходить "в примаках".
    Eugene
  2. александр 23 марта 2011 11:16
    Не затем Запад заварил эту кашу,чтобы её кушала Россия.Ничего она не получит,уже получили миллиардные потери из-за нереализованных контрактов.Одна польза то,что конфискация счетов Кадаффи показала нашей"элите", что на Западе её никто не ждёт и если продолжать разваливать обороноспособность её может ждать то же самое.
    александр
  3. Михаил 23 марта 2011 11:23
    Хитрожопость - это удел слабых. Ходить по тёмному сараю с разбросанными граблями тоже не большого ума дело, стоять в углу, а в углах то всегда воняет мочой. Летать - для этого надо иметь разум и душу ( а вот тут то и кто и что продал за зелень ).
    Михаил
  4. Свой 25 марта 2011 22:28
    Война бы началась не смотря ни на какие вето. Россия имеет вето только на бумаге

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня