Military Review

Map of cities of military glory: Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky

1
In addition to the cities of heroes in Russia, for some time now, cities of military glory began to appear. In fact, these are the same hero-cities, but only not received such a title in the Soviet period. On map of Russia at the moment you can count 40 cities with the status of a city of military glory. The very first this honorary title received three Russian cities in 2007 year - Kursk, Belgorod and Orel. The latest in the list (at the beginning of 2014 of the year) are such cities as Maloyaroslavets, Mozhaisk and Khabarovsk.

The most eastern city of military glory in the territory of the Russian Federation is Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky. Today this city is the administrative center of the Kamchatka Territory. Its population, according to the latest data, is about 181 thousands of people. AT stories Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky has many glorious and heroic pages. And today the city plays an important role in the defense capability of the Russian Federation. It is here that the base of the Pacific fleet.
One of the heroic pages of the city in Kamchatka is connected, oddly enough, with the Crimean War of 1853-1856. In Kamchatka, during the stubborn battles, the Russian fleet under the command of Vasily Zavoyko won a historic victory against the combined forces of the British and French. One of the commanders of the British fleet in that battle was Rear Admiral David Price, who in Petropavlovka (that was the name of the city at that time) and found his doom. A few months before the start of the war, Price held talks with French Rear Admiral Fabrier de Pointe, during which it was decided to completely bleed Russia by consistently seizing its most important ports. The first goal of the British and French (allies at the time) was chosen precisely the important Kamchatka port of Petropavlovsk. The first Russian port was for Price and the last.
Price never took action to seize the port, since he was reportedly shot with his own pistol. Someone talked about suicide, someone about murder, and not at all accidental. Talks about suicide seem untenable, since the battle did not actually begin, and therefore there was no reason for the British Rear Admiral to fall into any despair.
Zavoyko defeated the British-French fleet in Kamchatka, giving hope for a common victory in the war. Petropavlovsk could be the starting point of this victory, but the outcome of the war is known - the signing of the Paris Peace Treaty, under which Russia lost certain territories, but acquired, for example, Sevastopol.
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Duke
    Duke 26 February 2014 01: 53
    0
    Peter and Paul Defense
    Monument to the "Deadly" battery of A. P. Maksutovan St. Nicholas Hill.

Карта городов воинской славы: Петропавловск-Камчатский

Помимо городов героев в России с некоторых пор стали появляться города воинской славы. По сути, это те же города-герои, но только не получившие такого звание в советский период. На карте России на данный момент можно насчитать 40 городов со статусом города воинской славы. Самыми первыми это почётное звание получили три российских города в 2007 году – Курск, Белгород и Орёл. Последними в списке (на начало 2014 года) значатся такие города как Малоярославец, Можайск и Хабаровск.
Карта городов воинской славы: Петропавловск-Камчатский

Самым восточным городом воинской славы на территории Российской Федерации является Петропавловск-Камчатский. Сегодня этот город является административным центром Камчатского края. Его население, по последним данным, составляет около 181 тысячи человек. В истории Петропавловска-Камчатского много славных и героических страниц. И сегодня город играет важную роль в обороноспособности Российской Федерации. Именно здесь располагает база Тихоокеанского флота.
Одна из героических страниц города на Камчатке связана, как ни странно, с Крымской войной 1853-1856 гг. На Камчатке в ходе упорных боёв русский флот под командованием Василия Завойко одержали историческую победу на объединёнными силами англичан и французов. Одним из командующих британским флотом в том сражении был контр-адмирал Дэвид Прайс, который в Петропавловке (именно так назывался город в то время) и нашёл свою погибель. За несколько месяцев до начала войны Прайс провёл переговоры с французским контр-адмиралом Фабрие де Пуантом, в ходе которых было решено полностью обескровить Россию последовательным захватом её важнейших портов. Первой целью англичане и французы (союзники на тот момент) выбрали именно важный камчатский порт Петропавловск. Первый русский порт оказался для Прайса и последним.
Прайс так и не приступил к активным действиям по взятию порта, так как, по сообщениям, был убит выстрелом из своего собственного пистолета. Кто-то говорил о самоубийстве, кто-то об убийстве, причём вовсе не случайном. Разговоры о самоубийстве выглядят несостоятельными, так как сражение фактически не начиналось, а потому впадать в какое-либо отчаяние у британского контр-адмирала не было никаких причин.
Завойко разбил британо-французский флот га Камчатке, вселив надежду на общую победу в войне. Петропавловск мог бы стать отправной точкой этой победы, но итог войны известен – подписание Парижского мирного договора, по которому Россия потеряла определённые территории, зато приобрела, к примеру, Севастополь.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
  1. Дюк 26 февраля 2014 01:53
    Петропавловская оборона
    Памятник «Смертельной» батарее А. П. Максутована Никольской сопке.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня