Military Review

Flint Salvo Gun Duck Foot

14
Flint Salvo Gun Duck Foot



Gun Duck Foot got its name due to the fan arrangement of the trunks, which resemble a duck's webbed foot. The pistol has a single ignition system for all barrels, i.e. This is essentially salvo weapon. The flintlock device is completely analogous to that of flint pistols of boxlock design. Four barrels are located at a small angle to each other, thereby significantly increasing the area of ​​destruction of weapons. The owner of such a gun could kill several opponents at once.

Historians argue that the need for this weapon arose at the end of 18, the beginning of 19 century, when a wave of revolutions and riots swept not only Europe, but also America. However, these guns were used by the guards in the prisons and the captains of the ships, repelling the attacks of the pirates.



This four-barreled salvo pistol with a flintlock boxlock was made in 1780. The trunks have eight right-inclined rifling. Caliber of tables of the gun 0,52. The barrels are two inches long and screwed into the threaded parts of the gun frame. Steel tables, the frame is made of brass.



Breech total for all trunks. At the top of the breech there is a powder shelf with three seed holes to ensure a uniform and reliable ignition of the powder charge and give the same speed to the bullets in all trunks.



The pistol grip is made of walnut and painted in a dark brown color. A diamond-shaped notch is applied to the surface of the handle. The handle is embedded in the front part of the brass frame and is mounted in it through the screw.





The pistol barrels are located at a slight angle, providing a fan-shaped expansion of the bullets when fired. The trigger gun folding. The steel trigger in the stowed position is placed in a special groove in the brass frame.



When cocking the trigger, the trigger becomes in a combat position.

The brass frame on the side surfaces has an engraved pattern in the form of flags and military equipment.



On the left side of the frame is the head of the screw, which acts as an axis for the trigger. At the bottom of the frame on the left there is a pin fixing the left detachable frame cover.





The barrels and breeches of the frame are numbered from 1 to 4, so as not to accidentally mix up when loading weapons. On some Duck Foot pistols, the numbering starts from the “0” number, i.e. trunks and breech numbered 0-3.



At the top of the gun there is a safety catch locking trigger on the safety platoon. The fuse with its protrusion also closes the lid of the powder shelf, protecting the weapon from an accidental shot.

The pistol described in this article was put up for sale at one of the auctions. Its price is approximately $ 7000 - $ 10000.

A gun of a similar design, with five barrels in the 18 century, was also made in Russia, called the “hand of death”, its drawing is given in the book by A. B. Beetle

Below are photos of other Duck Foot pistols released at the end of 18 - the beginning of the 19 century.
Originator:
http://historypistols.ru
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Lyapis
    Lyapis 1 February 2014 08: 25
    +4
    Good stuff! We still have to attach a bayonet-knife to each barrel, and even now in battle! laughing
    1. Sid.74
      Sid.74 1 February 2014 15: 43
      +2
      Quote: Lyapis
      Good stuff!

      Well, how to say? It was believed that it was better to have three pistols than one such goose paw, the fact is that the author politely kept silent about the fact that the return of this thing was healthy! Not uncommon was dislocation of the brush, as you understand, it was also problematic , another problem was the not always uniform burning of gunpowder and in connection with this walking the trunk from side to side! That was such an interesting thing! But the author is definitely a plus article!
      1. GastaClaus69
        GastaClaus69 1 February 2014 17: 08
        +4
        As for me, the musketon is better suited for claims made to this miracle such as the defeat of several attackers, etc.
        The paw is more of a series of weapon perversions.
  2. avt
    avt 1 February 2014 09: 55
    +4
    good The photo is cool and the text is quite meaningful and short, in the case. Great review. Plus!
  3. Panikovsky
    Panikovsky 1 February 2014 10: 40
    +4
    I remembered a school joke-banged three shots of a blind man and seven of them fell.
  4. vkrav
    vkrav 1 February 2014 11: 59
    +2
    Such systems were romantically called the "hand of death" laughing
  5. Kolyan 2
    Kolyan 2 1 February 2014 13: 08
    +1
    significantly increases the area of ​​destruction of weapons. The owner of such a gun could kill several opponents at once.

    I don’t see the point in the bullet except that the crowd is rushing at you, then you are still a corpse.
  6. vkrav
    vkrav 1 February 2014 15: 39
    +1
    Quote: Kolyan 2
    I do not see the point in meaning

    A psychological impact laughing ?
  7. sub307
    sub307 1 February 2014 16: 30
    +2
    Quality rarity.
  8. Mikhail3
    Mikhail3 1 February 2014 19: 32
    +3
    When boarding from a fusee, bullet is unproductive. The enemy is covered by the side, the formation is not worth it. But at the time of the attack it gathers in a dense crowd, and before hand-to-hand combat, this crowd needs to overcome only a few steps. The area of ​​the battlefield is extremely limited, the density of construction is very high. For such a fight, a duck leg is an ideal weapon.
    When robbing, the tactics of the gangster’s gang is the same - crowding with trunks around the crew or rider. Not so stupid by the way, the psychological effect is very important. Here duck paw can also give a chance. Another thing is that this notion cannot be the main weapon. Well, guns weren’t them until clips appeared. What was a gun at all? Weak chance to knock out one of the many opponents. Neglecting stupid, firmly counting even stupider.
    So for those technologies - a very smart machine.
  9. Ilya Mikhalych
    Ilya Mikhalych 1 February 2014 21: 52
    +1
    Cool little thing. On New Year's Eve salute to launch spectacularly laughing . Well, from a technical point of view, not the most successful solution - 4 trunks is too much.
  10. region46
    region46 2 February 2014 19: 06
    +1
    pocket multiple launch rocket system
  11. ia-ai00
    ia-ai00 2 February 2014 19: 19
    0
    For the first time in my life I see such an outlandish weapon, I could not even imagine that a pistol can have 4 barrels. Individual copies, directly - a work of art!
  12. vkrav
    vkrav 3 February 2014 02: 18
    +1
    Quote: ia-ai00
    that the gun can have 4 barrels.
    laughing
  13. Doznanied
    Doznanied 3 February 2014 07: 42
    0
    Not enough at least the trunk in the center. If necessary, you aim your weapons towards the greatest threat, and in this case, from a distance of about 1.5 meters or more, bullets from the 2nd and 3rd barrels will simply fly around the target!

Кремневый залповый пистолет Duck Foot

Кремневый залповый пистолет Duck Foot


Пистолет Duck Foot получил свое название благодаря веерному расположению стволов, которые напоминают перепончатую лапку утки. Пистолет имеет единую систему воспламенения для всех стволов, т.е. это по сути залповое оружие. Устройство кремневого замка полностью аналогично как у кремневых пистолетов конструкции boxlock. Четыре ствола расположены под небольшим углом друг к другу, благодаря чему существенно увеличивается зона поражения оружия. Владелец такого пистолета мог убить сразу несколько противников.

Историки утверждают, что необходимость в данном оружии возникла в конце 18, начале 19 века, когда волна революций и бунтов охватила не только Европу, но и Америку. Однако данные пистолеты использовали и охранники в тюрьмах, и капитаны кораблей, отражая нападения пиратов.


Кремневый залповый пистолет Duck Foot


Данный четырехствольный залповый пистолет с кремневым замком boxlock изготовлен в 1780 году. Стволы имеют восемь правонаклонных нарезов. Калибр столов пистолета 0,52. Стволы имеют длину два дюйма и вкручиваются в резьбовые части рамки пистолета. Столы стальные, рамка изготовлена из латуни.

Кремневый залповый пистолет Duck Foot


Казенная часть общая для всех стволов. В верху казенной части имеется пороховая полка с тремя затравочными отверстиями, чтобы обеспечить равномерное и надежное воспламенение порохового заряда и придать одинаковую скорость пулям во всех стволах.

Кремневый залповый пистолет Duck Foot


Рукоятка пистолета изготовлена из ореха и окрашена в темно коричневый цвет. На поверхность рукоятки нанесена ромбовидная насечка. Рукоятка передней частью врезана в латунную рамку и крепится в ней сквозным винтом.

Кремневый залповый пистолет Duck Foot


Кремневый залповый пистолет Duck Foot


Стволы пистолета располагаются под небольшим углом, обеспечивая веерообразный разлет пуль при выстреле. Спусковой крючок пистолета складной. Стальной спусковой крючок в походном положении укладывается в специальном пазе латунной рамки.

Кремневый залповый пистолет Duck Foot


При взводе курка спусковой крючок становится в боевое положение.

Латунная рамка на боковых поверхностях имеет выгравированный рисунок в виде флагов и воинского снаряжения.

Кремневый залповый пистолет Duck Foot


С левой стороны рамки расположена головка винта, который выполняет роль оси для курка. Внизу рамки слева расположен штифт фиксирующий левую отъемную крышку рамки.

Кремневый залповый пистолет Duck Foot


Кремневый залповый пистолет Duck Foot


Стволы и казенные части рамки пронумерованы от 1 до 4, чтобы случайно не перепутать при заряжании оружия. На некоторых пистолетах Duck Foot нумерация начинается от цифры «0», т.е. стволы и казенники пронумерованы 0-3.

Кремневый залповый пистолет Duck Foot


В верхней части пистолета имеется предохранитель фиксирующий курок на предохранительном взводе. Предохранитель своим выступом так же замыкает крышку пороховой полки, предохраняя оружие от случайного выстрела.

Пистолет, описываемый в данной статье, был выставлен на продажу на одном из аукционов. Его цена составляет примерно $ 7000 — $ 10000.

Пистолет подобной конструкции, с пятью стволами в 18 веке был изготовлен и в России, получив название «рука смерти», его рисунок приведен в книге А.Б. Жука.

Ниже приведены фотографии других пистолетов Duck Foot, выпущенных в конце 18 — начале 19 века.
Первоисточник: http://historypistols.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 14
  1. Lyapis 1 февраля 2014 08:25
    Хорошая штука! Надо ещё к каждому стволу по штык-ножу приделать, и хоть сейчас в бой! laughing
    1. Sid.74 1 февраля 2014 15:43
      Цитата: Lyapis
      Хорошая штука!

      Ну как сказать?Считалось что лучше было иметь три пистолета чем одну такую гусиную лапу,дело в том что автор вежливо умолчал о том что отдача у сей штуки была будь здоров!Не редкостью было и вывих кисти,с прицелом как вы понимаете тоже было проблематично,ещё одна проблема заключалась в не всегда равномерном сгорании пороха и в связи с этим гуляние ствола из стороны в сторону!Вот такая интересная штука была!Но автору однозначно за статью плюс!
      1. GastaClaus69 1 февраля 2014 17:08
        Как по мне мушкетон лучше подходит для заявленных сему чуду требований типа поражения нескольких нападающих и т.п.
        Лапа больше из серии оружейных извращенств.
        GastaClaus69
  2. avt 1 февраля 2014 09:55
    good Фото клевые и текст вполне осмысленный и короткий ,по делу. Отличный обзор .Плюс !
    avt
  3. паниковский 1 февраля 2014 10:40
    вспомнилась школьная прибаутка-грохнуло три выстрела слепого и упало семеро своих.
  4. vkrav 1 февраля 2014 11:59
    Такие системы романтично назывались "рука смерти" laughing
    vkrav
  5. Колян 2 1 февраля 2014 13:08
    существенно увеличивается зона поражения оружия. Владелец такого пистолета мог убить сразу несколько противников.

    Не вижу в пукалке смысла за исключением, что на тебя прёт толпа, тогда ты всё равно труп.
  6. vkrav 1 февраля 2014 15:39
    Цитата: Колян 2
    Не вижу в пукалке смысла

    А психологическое воздействие laughing ?
    vkrav
  7. sub307 1 февраля 2014 16:30
    Качественый раритет.
  8. михаил3 1 февраля 2014 19:32
    При абордаже из фузеи пулять непродуктивно. Противник укрыт бортом, строем не стоит. А вот в момент атаки собирается плотной толпой, причем до рукопашного боя этой толпе нужно преодолеть лишь несколько шагов. Площадь поля боя крайне ограничена, плотность построения очень высока. Для такого боя утиная лапа - идеальное оружие.
    При ограблении тактика бандитской шайки такая же - столпиться со стволами вокруг экипажа или всадника. Не так уж и глупо кстати, психологический эффект очень важен. Тут утиная лапа тоже может дать шанс. Другое дело, что эта придумка не может быть основным оружием. Ну так пистолеты и не были ими до появления обойм. Что такое вообще был пистолет? Слабый шанс выбить одного из многочисленных противников. Пренебрегать глупо, твердо рассчитывать еще глупее.
    Так что для тех технологий - очень даже умная машинка.
  9. Илья Михалыч 1 февраля 2014 21:52
    Прикольная вещица . На Новый Год залпом салют запускать эффектно будет laughing . Ну а с технической точки зрения не самое удачное решение - 4 ствола это перебор .
  10. region46 2 февраля 2014 19:06
    карманная система залпового огня
  11. ia-ai00 2 февраля 2014 19:19
    Первый раз в жизни вижу такое диковинное оружие, даже не могла представить, что у пистолета может быть 4 ствола. Отдельные экземпляры, прямо - произведение искусств!
  12. vkrav 3 февраля 2014 02:18
    Цитата: ia-ai00
    что у пистолета может быть 4 ствола.
    laughing
    vkrav
  13. Doznanied 3 февраля 2014 07:42
    Не хватает как минимум ствола по центру. При необходимости наводишь оружие в сторону наибольшей угрозы, а в данном случае с расстояния около 1.5 метров и более пули из 2-го и 3-го стволов цель просто облетят!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня