Military Review

Singapore acquires tanker aircraft A330 MRTT

2
On January 24, 2014, the French magazine Air & Cosmos reported, citing sources in government and industry in France, that Singapore had signed an unreported contract in 2013 for the purchase of six Airbus A330 MRTT (Multi Role Tanker Transport) tankers. Airbus Defense & Space declined to comment on this information. Singapore itself is traditionally very secretive about its defense purchases, so many of the contracts it concludes become known only after a considerable time after signing or only at the start of actual deliveries.


In the Singapore Air Force, these aircraft must replace the four received in the 1999 year from the presence of the Boeing KC-135R Stratotanker tanker aircraft from the United States. The choice of the Airbus А330 MRTT aircraft was made according to the results of the tender launched in February 2012, in which the American corporation Boeing and the Israeli state association Israel Aerospace Industries (IAI) also took part. Boeing tried to promote Singapore upgraded KC-135R aircraft from the presence of the US Air Force, and alternatively offered to sell promising refueling aircraft KS-46А (based on the Boeing 767 liner), although actual deliveries of the latter to the US Air Force should start only in 2017-2018 years . IAI offered its own version of the conversion of Boeing 767 commercial aircraft to MMTT (Multi-Mode Tanker / Transporter) tanker, a solution previously chosen by Colombia and Brazil.

Previously, Airbus A330 MRTT tankers were ordered by Australia (five), the United Kingdom (14), the United Arab Emirates (three) and Saudi Arabia (six). Deliveries began in the 2011 year (Australian Air Force became the first recipient). France also made the decision to purchase 12 aircraft (a contract for the first two aircraft is expected by August 2014), moreover, А330 MRTT won the tender for the purchase of six refueling aircraft for the Indian Air Force in 2012 year, although the contract has not been concluded yet.


Boeing KC-135R Stratotanker (752 tail number) from the 112 Squadron of the Singapore Air Force. This aircraft (serial number 17942) was supplied by the US Air Force as a KS-135 (number 59-1454) as early as January 1960 of the year (c) www.aircraftinformation.info
Originator:
http://bmpd.livejournal.com/
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. And Us Rat
    And Us Rat 27 January 2014 10: 23
    +3
    A couple of related videos hi


  2. Nayhas
    Nayhas 27 January 2014 10: 35
    +4
    Airbus A330 MRTT makes Boeing KS-46A on all fronts ... Australia, India, UAE, Saudi Arabia, most likely Brazil and now Singapore ... Bravo!
  3. Volodya Sibiryak
    Volodya Sibiryak 27 January 2014 13: 00
    +1
    Singapore is smaller in territory than St. Petersburg, and the Air Force has some of the best in the world, the same Great Britain remains about such dreams, the total number of aircraft is more than 4 hundred! And this is to protect the state with an area of ​​715 square kilometers.
    1. mountain
      mountain 27 January 2014 14: 00
      0
      And what else should they do in such a territory, they fly. They, too, at least have a look at the world.
  4. Arhj
    Arhj 27 January 2014 16: 09
    +1
    I honestly tried to imagine how a state can use it, the continuous land length of which, in the widest accuracy, slightly exceeds the length of the runway, 6 (!) Refueling aircraft. Fantasy was not enough. If only NATO bombers on a commercial basis refuel.
    1. alone
      alone 27 January 2014 22: 46
      +2
      )) The Singapore Air Force is located at an American military base. It’s like an operational reserve
      US Air Force))

Сингапур приобретает самолеты-заправщики A330 MRTT

Французский журнал "Air & Cosmos" 24 января 2014 года сообщил со ссылкой на источники в государственных и промышленных структурах Франции, что Сингапур в 2013 году заключил неоглашавшийся контракт на закупку шести самолетов-заправщиков Airbus A330 MRTT (Multi Role Tanker Transport). Компания Airbus Defence & Space отказалась комментировать эту информацию. Сам Сингапур традиционно весьма скрытен в отношении своих оборонных закупок, поэтому многие заключаемые им контракты становятся известными только спустя значительное время после подписания либо только при начале фактических поставок.

В ВВС Сингапура эти самолеты должны заменить четыре полученных в 1999 году из наличия из США самолета-заправщика Boeing KC-135R Stratotanker. Выбор самолета Airbus А330 MRTT был сделан по результатам начатого в феврале 2012 года тендера, в котором принимали участие также американская корпорация Boeing и израильское государственное объединение Israel Aerospace Industries (IAI). Boeing пытался продвигать Сингапуру модернизированные самолеты KC-135R из наличия ВВС США, а в качестве альтернативы предлагал продажу перспективных самолетов-заправщиков КС-46А (на основе лайнера Boeing 767), хотя фактические поставки последних в ВВС США должны начаться только в 2017-2018 годах. IAI предлагало свой вариант переоборудования коммерческих самолетов Boeing 767 в заправщик MMTT (Multi-Mode Tanker/Transporter) - решение, ранее выбранное Колумбией и Бразилией.

Ранее самолеты-заправщики Airbus А330 MRTT были заказаны Австралией (пять), Великобританией (14), ОАЭ (три) и Саудовской Аравией (шесть). Поставки были начаты в 2011 году (первым получателем стали ВВС Австралии). Решение о приобретении 12 самолетов сделала также Франция (заключение контракта на первые два самолета ожидается к августу 2014 года), кроме того, А330 MRTT в 2012 году победил в тендере на закупку шести самолетов-заправщиков для ВВС Индии, хотя контракт пока что не заключен.


Сингапур приобретает самолеты-заправщики A330 MRTT

Cамолет-заправщик Boeing KC-135R Stratotanker (бортовой номер 752) из состава 112-й эскадрильи ВВС Сингапура. Данный самолет (серийный номер 17942) был поставлен ВВС США как КС-135А (номер 59-1454) еще в январе 1960 года (с) www.aircraftinformation.info
Первоисточник: http://bmpd.livejournal.com/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
  1. А Нас Рать 27 января 2014 10:23
    Пару видео по теме hi


  2. Nayhas 27 января 2014 10:35
    Airbus А330 MRTT делает Boeing КС-46А по всем фронтам... Австралия, Индия, ОАЭ, Саудовская Аравия, скорее всего Бразилия и вот уже Сингапур... Браво!
  3. Володя Сибиряк 27 января 2014 13:00
    Сингапур по территории меньше Санкт-Петербурга, а ВВС имеет одни из лучших в мире, той же Великобритании остается о таких мечтах, общее кол-во летательных аппаратов более 4 сотен! И это для защиты государства площадью 715 квадратных километров.
    Володя Сибиряк
    1. гора 27 января 2014 14:00
      А, чем им ещё заняться на такой территории, вот и летают. Им тоже хоться, мир поглядеть.
  4. Arhj 27 января 2014 16:09
    Честно пытался представить как может использовать государство, непрерывная протяженность суши которого в самой широкой точне немногим превышает длину взлетно-посадочной полосы, 6 (!) самолетов-заправщиков. Фантазии не хватило. Если только бомбардировщики НАТО на коммерческой основе заправлять.
    1. одинокий 27 января 2014 22:46
      ))ВВС Сингапура расположены на американской военной базе.Это как бы оперативный резерв
      ВВС США))

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня