Military Review

Russian military reformer, General of Infantry A.F. Redigger

2
Russian military reformer, General of Infantry A.F. Redigger



Alexander Fedorovich Rediger was born on December 31 1853 (January 12 1854 in a new style) in Novgorod in a family of military hereditary. His grandfather moved to Russia from Germany under Catherine II and enlisted in the Life Guards Horse Regiment. Alexander's father, Lieutenant-General F.F. Rediger, at the time of the birth of his son served as director of the Novgorod Count Arakcheev Cadet Corps. Mother, Elizaveta Gustavovna, nee Shulman, led the household. Alexander's heir, Tsarevich Alexander Nikolaevich, became the godfather of Alexander.

The Redigger family often changed their place of residence until they settled in Vyborg. The childhood of the future general was spent in a friendly atmosphere, in a friendly and loving family.

Alexander went to school, then in the Finnish Cadet Corps, and from 1870 in the Passenger His Imperial Majesty Corps. Camera page A.F. Rediger showed great promise in the sciences, and after graduating from this elite educational institution, his name appeared on the marble honorary board of the case. In 1872, he was promoted to lieutenant and sent to the Life Guards Semenovsky Regiment, where he was enlisted in the 9 company. However, the service in the Guards regiment did not attract the young officer due to excessive drill in the drill classes. According to the memoirs A.F. Rediguera, he "found these classes completely idiotic and felt completely unsuitable in this matter." Schools of literacy have just been entered on the shelves, and the Rediger has been instructed to conduct such a company school. And here he realized that he was no good “for a teacher of literacy”. As a result, going to the company classes became for him perfect agony, and he felt how "far from the ideal of a front-line officer." In 1874, Mr. Alexander Rediger submitted a petition and entered the geodesic department of the Nikolaev Academy of the General Staff. In 1876, he graduated from the Academy course with a medal and was promoted to lieutenant. With the beginning of the Russian-Turkish war 1877 – 1878. Rediger returned to the Life Guards Semenov regiment, in which he participated in hostilities in the Balkans.

The young officer repeatedly distinguished himself in battle battles: during the capture of the bridge across the Isker River near the village of Hostile, the capture of the Negoshevsky Pass in the Balkans, in the battles near the town of Filippol (Plovdiv). For bravery and courage he was awarded the Order of St. Anne 4-th degree and St. Stanislaus 3-th degree with swords and bow.

After the war, A.F. Redieger returned to the academy, passed the exams and was counted among the General Staff as a senior adjutant of the headquarters of the Guard Corps. In June 1878, he was promoted to captains.
In 1879, Alexander Fedorovich defended his thesis, for which he received praise from the official opponent, the famous military historian and official military historiographer M.I. Bogdanovich, who noted that "the work was written in a clear, excellent language."

In 1880, Rediger was appointed adjunct professor at the military administration department at the Nikolaev Academy of the General Staff. Since that time, he participated in the preparation of articles "Encyclopedia of Military and Marine Sciences", was the editor of the military-administrative department, wrote articles in the newspaper "Russian Invalid". In October, 1880 was appointed a headquarters officer for assignments at the headquarters of the Guard Corps while retaining the "title of adjunct professor", and the following year they were honored with the rank of lieutenant colonel.

In 1882, the town of Rediger is appointed to the post of Comrade of the Bulgarian Minister of War with the assignment of the rank of colonel of the Bulgarian army. A year later, he came into conflict with the new ruler of independent Bulgaria, Prince Alexander of Battenberg, and was dismissed from the Bulgarian service, but remained in the country as an officer in the Russian army. In 1884, Alexander Fedorovich returned to Russia and was appointed clerk to the Office of the Military Ministry, while remaining an adjunct professor at the Nikolaev Academy of the General Staff. In the same year, Rediger was awarded the rank of colonel. He took an active part in the work of the Special Commission of the Ministry of War to draw up a new Regulation on the field management of the troops, which was carried out until 1890. He was charged not only with the development of several sections of the Regulations, their coordination with interested departments, but also the general wording of the entire document. It benefited from the rich experience of Rediger, who had long and seriously dealt with issues of mobilization readiness and organization of command in European armies during the war. This problem was devoted to the scientific work of Aleksandr Fedorovich “The device of field control in the main European armies”, published in 1888. In addition, Rediger wrote a fundamental work in two parts called “Manning and Arming of Armed Forces”, as well as “Notes on military Administration "," Mobilization of troops "and" Field control in our army. "

The new edition of the Regulations on the field control of troops in 1890 was distinguished by accuracy and clarity. In it, for the first time, a clear-cut procedure for the “field command of the troops” was formulated during the mobilization of the army. Work on this important document made Rediger one of the most talented and promising employees of the military department of that time. This was also noted by the Minister of War, General of the Infantry P.S. Vannovsky, who after that repeatedly gave Rediger special instructions, which undoubtedly influenced his further service. In 1891, he, in particular, instructed Alexander Fedorovich to prepare historical essay on the activities of the Ministry of War for 1881-1890.

In 1893, to gain the experience of the military service of A.F. Rediger was seconded for a year to the Life Guards Semenovsky Regiment and took command of the 3 Battalion of the Regiment. It was a prerequisite for further service in senior positions. According to the results of the battalion command, and during the camp gathering - the regiment, Alexander Fedorovich was given a certification, which noted his "full knowledge of the case" and "excellent command of the battalion and regiment". In August, Redinger 1893 was granted the rank of major general.

In 1897, he will be appointed Assistant Chief of the Office of the Military Ministry (served as a clerk for almost 14 years). In 1898, Alexander Fedorovich became the acting head of the Chancellery with the approval of her through 2,5 of the year and with production to lieutenant general. At that time, the Head of the Chancellery held a position equal to the posts of Comrade War Minister or Commander of the District.

In June, 1905, "by imperial order" A.F. Rediger was appointed to head the War Department, and in July, he was appointed Minister of War. In 1907, he became a general of infantry, and in March 1909 "passed the post of minister of war" to his successor, General V.A. Sukhomlinov, but remained a member of the State Council.



When he was Minister of War, Alexander Fedorovich Rediger, on his initiative, a number of transformations were carried out that affected almost all aspects of the life of the army. They were aimed mainly at optimizing military management. A.F. Rediger tried to solve the eternal question of the distribution of functions within the military department. He participated in the establishment of the General Directorate of the General Staff, created in July 1905, which was in charge of issues related to the preparation of the army for war. The Minister of War was in charge of administrative and economic issues, problems of supply and manning. The State Defense Council, the Higher Attestation Commission and the posts of inspector generals of infantry, cavalry, engineer troops, and military educational institutions independent of the Minister of War were established. In addition, the terms of military service were reduced: in the infantry - up to 3 years, in the cavalry - up to 4 years, in the naval navy - up to 5 years, which allowed to create a strategic reserve of the army. Summing up his work as Minister of War, A.F. Rediger wrote: “For almost four years, I worked hard, and my conscience was clear in the sense that I did what I could. The sudden dismissal from office caused me a feeling of resentment, which lasted a long time and only much later gave way to gratitude for the fate that I was destined not to bear any responsibility for the policy that led to the 1914 war, and for entering the war with an insufficiently prepared the army. "

With the name of General A.F. Redigera is connected with the return of some previously lost traditions and rituals of the Russian army. So, in 1907, on his initiative, the historically established names of cavalry regiments were restored, and in 1908, the new army dress uniform was introduced in the Russian army, reminiscent of the glorious era of victories of the Patriotic War period 1812.

Remaining a member of the State Council, Rediger 1909 was elected a member of the Finance Commission in October and was a member of its VI department, which considered military and naval estimates, until 1917.

In the autumn of 1917, a few days before the October Revolution, A.F. Rediger left Petrograd with his family and settled in the Poltava province in the family estate of his wife, Olga Ivanovna, nee Kholshchevnikova. At the end of 1918, the Redigers moved to Sevastopol, where on January 26, 1920, Alexander Fedorovich died suddenly.

For merits in the military activities of A.F. Rediger was awarded many Russian and foreign orders. He was the author of a large number of works on the military administration, staffing and organization of the army, as well as numerous articles for the Encyclopedia of Military and Marine Sciences and the Military Encyclopedia. His articles were published in the Military Collection magazine, the Russian Invalid newspaper.

With the magazine "Scout" A.F. Rediger has collaborated since its inception and, knowing several foreign languages, wrote reviews and reviews of materials of foreign military journals and newspapers published in European countries.

The memoirs written by А.F. Redigger in the last years of his life and published only in 1999 g. They gave a balanced assessment of both the circumstances of his own life, and the most important historical events from the middle of the nineteenth century. and before 1918, including the characteristics of the personalities playing the leading roles in these events. Many of the views of General Alexander Fedorovich Rediger, his reflections on the fate of the Fatherland retain their relevance for modern Russia.
Originator:
http://encyclopedia.mil.ru
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. parus2nik
    parus2nik 22 February 2014 11: 38
    +2
    Worked on the conscience ...
  2. omsbon
    omsbon 22 February 2014 11: 41
    0
    A man worthy of the respect of posterity!
    Peace be upon him!
  3. Drummer
    Drummer 22 February 2014 12: 31
    +3
    So, a purely cabinet general turned out to be the best Minister of War of Nicholas II.
    His memoirs are on the miller http://militera.lib.ru/memo/russian/rediger/index.html
    A lot of personal, a lot about intrigue in the ministerial and academic environment, but there are a lot of interesting details, including the characteristics of representatives of the military elite of the Russian army of the beginning of the century (Kuropatkin, Sakharov, Sukhomlinov, Polivanov and others).
  4. valokordin
    valokordin 23 February 2014 07: 47
    0
    He looked at the photo of the general, a very beautiful noble face. Already painfully similar to him is Patriarch Alexy (the kingdom to him be heaven) and not whether he is a descendant of this general. The surname Alexia is also Rediger.

Российский военный реформатор генерал от инфантерии А.Ф. Редигер

Российский военный реформатор генерал от инфантерии А.Ф. Редигер


Александр Федорович Редигер родился 31 декабря 1853 г. (12 января 1854 г. по новому стилю) в Новгороде в семье потомственных военных. Его дед переселился в Россию из Германии при Екатерине II и поступил на службу в лейб-гвардии Конный полк. Отец Александра, генерал-лейтенант Ф.Ф. Редигер, к моменту рождения сына занимал должность директора Новгородского графа Аракчеева кадетского корпуса. Мать, Елизавета Густавовна, урожденная Шульман, вела домашнее хозяйство. Крестным отцом Александра стал наследник цесаревич Александр Николаевич.

Семья Редигера часто меняла место жительства до тех пор, пока не обосновалась в Выборге. Детство будущего генерала прошло в доброжелательной обстановке, в дружной и любящей семье.


Александр учился в школе, затем в Финляндском кадетском корпусе, а с 1870 г. – в Пажеском Его Императорского Величества корпусе. Камер-паж А.Ф. Редигер подавал большие надежды в науках, и после окончания этого элитного учебного заведения его имя появилось на мраморной почетной доске корпуса. В 1872 г. он был произведен в прапорщики и направлен в лейб-гвардии Семеновский полк, где был зачислен в 9-ю роту. Однако служба в гвардейском полку молодого офицера не привлекала из-за чрезмерной муштры на строевых занятиях. По воспоминаниям А.Ф. Редигера, он «находил эти занятия совершенно идиотскими и чувствовал себя совсем непригодным в этом деле». В полках были только что введены школы грамотности, и Редигеру поручили вести такую ротную школу. И здесь он понял, что не годится «в учителя грамотности». В итоге хождение на ротные занятия стали для него совершенной мукой, и он почувствовал, как «далёк от тогдашнего идеала строевого офицера». В 1874 г. Александр Редигер подал прошение и поступил на геодезическое отделение Николаевской академии Генерального штаба. В 1876 г. он окончил с медалью курс академии и был произведен в поручики. С началом Русско-турецкой войны 1877–1878 гг. Редигер возвратился в лейб-гвардии Семеновский полк, в составе которого участвовал в боевых действиях на Балканах.

Молодой офицер неоднократно отличался в боевых схватках: при взятии моста через реку Искер у деревни Враждебны, захвате Негошевского перевала на Балканах, в боях под г. Филипполь (Пловдив). За храбрость и мужество был награждён орденами Св. Анны 4-й степени и Св. Станислава 3-й степени с мечами и бантом.

После окончания войны А.Ф. Редигер возвратился в академию, сдал экзамены и был причислен к Генеральному штабу в должности старшего адъютанта штаба Гвардейского корпуса. В июне 1878 г. он был произведен в штабс-капитаны.
В 1879 г. Александр Федорович защитил диссертацию, за что получил похвалу от официального оппонента, известного военного историка и официального военного историографа М.И. Богдановича, который отметил, что «работа написана ясно, отличным языком».

В 1880 г. Редигер был назначен адъюнкт-профессором на кафедру военной администрации в Николаевскую академию Генерального штаба. С этого времени он участвовал в подготовке статей «Энциклопедии военных и морских наук», являлся редактором военно-административного отдела, писал статьи в газету «Русский инвалид». В октябре 1880 г. его назначают штаб-офицером для поручений при штабе Гвардейского корпуса с сохранением «звания адъюнкт-профессора», а в следующем году жалуют чином подполковника.

В 1882 г. Редигера определяют на должность товарища военного министра Болгарии с присвоением чина полковника болгарской армии. Через год он вступил в конфликт с новым правителем независимой Болгарии князем Александром Баттенбергским и был уволен с болгарской службы, но остался в стране как офицер русской армии. В 1884 г. Александр Федорович возвратился в Россию и был назначен делопроизводителем в Канцелярию Военного министерства, одновременно оставаясь адъюнкт-профессором Николаевской академии Генерального штаба. В том же году Редигеру присваивается чин полковника. Он принял активное участие в работе особой комиссии Военного министерства по составлению нового Положения о полевом управлении войск, которая велась вплоть до 1890 г. На него возлагались не только разработка нескольких разделов Положения, согласование их с заинтересованными ведомствами, но и общая редакция всего документа. Здесь пригодился богатый опыт Редигера, давно и серьезно занимавшегося вопросами мобилизационной готовности и организации управления в европейских армиях во время войны. Этой проблеме был посвящен научный труд Александра Федоровича «Устройство полевого управления в главных европейских армиях», опубликованный в 1888 г. Кроме того, перу Редигера принадлежал фундаментальный труд из двух частей под названием «Комплектование и устройство вооруженной силы», а также «Заметки по военной администрации», «Мобилизация войск» и «Полевое управление в нашей армии».

Новая редакция Положения о полевом управлении войск 1890 г. отличалась точностью и ясностью. В ней впервые был сформулирован четкий порядок действий «полевого управления войск» при проведении мобилизации армии. Работа над этим важным документом выдвинула Редигера в число самых талантливых и перспективных сотрудников военного ведомства той поры. Это отметил и военный министр генерал от инфантерии П.С. Ванновский, который после того неоднократно давал Редигеру особые поручения, что, несомненно, оказало влияние на дальнейшую его службу. В 1891 г. он, в частности, поручил Александру Федоровичу подготовить исторический очерк о деятельности Военного министерства за 1881–1890 гг.

В 1893 г. для получения опыта строевой службы А.Ф. Редигер был прикомандирован на год к лейб-гвардии Семеновскому полку и вступил в командование 3-м батальоном полка. Это было обязательным условием для дальнейшего прохождения службы в старших чинах. По итогам командования батальоном, а во время лагерного сбора – полком, Александру Федоровичу была дана аттестация, в которой отмечались его «полное знание дела» и «прекрасное командование батальоном и полком». В августе 1893 г. Редигер был пожалован чином генерал-майора.

В 1897 г. его назначат помощником начальника Канцелярии Военного министерства (прослужил в должности делопроизводителя почти 14 лет). В 1898 г. Александр Федорович стал исполняющим должность начальника Канцелярии с утверждением в ней через 2,5 года и с производством в генерал-лейтенанты. В тот период начальник Канцелярии занимал положение, равное должностям товарища военного министра или командующего войсками округа.

В июне 1905 г. «по Высочайшему повелению» А.Ф. Редигер был назначен управляющим Военным министерством, а в июле – военным министром. В 1907 г. он стал генералом от инфантерии, а в марте 1909 г. «сдал должность военного министра» своему преемнику генералу В.А. Сухомлинову, но оставался членом Государственного Совета.

Российский военный реформатор генерал от инфантерии А.Ф. Редигер


В бытность военным министром Александра Федоровича Редигера, по его инициативе был проведен ряд преобразований, затронувших почти все стороны жизни армии. Они были направлены в основном на оптимизацию военного управления. А.Ф. Редигер попытался решить извечный вопрос о распределении функций внутри военного ведомства. Он участвовал в становлении созданного в июле 1905 г. Главного управления Генерального штаба, который ведал вопросами, связанными с подготовкой армии к войне. В ведении же военного министра остались административные и хозяйственные вопросы, проблемы снабжения и комплектования войск. Были учреждены Совет государственной обороны, Высшая аттестационная комиссия и независимые от военного министра должности генерал-инспекторов пехоты, кавалерии, инженерных войск, военно-учебных заведений. Кроме того, были сокращены сроки военной службы: в пехоте – до 3 лет, в кавалерии – до 4 лет, в военно-морском флоте – до 5 лет, что позволило создать стратегический резерв армии. Подводя итоги своей работы на посту военного министра, А.Ф. Редигер писал: «В течение почти четырех лет я усиленно работал, и моя совесть была чиста в том отношении, что я сделал, что мог. Внезапное увольнение от должности вызвало во мне чувство обиды, которое держалось долго и лишь много позже сменилось благодарностью судьбе за то, что мне суждено не нести какой-либо ответственности за политику, приведшую к войне 1914 г., и за вступление в войну с недостаточно подготовленной армией».

С именем генерала А.Ф. Редигера связано и возвращение некоторых утерянных ранее традиций и ритуалов русской армии. Так, в 1907 г. по его инициативе были восстановлены исторически сложившиеся названия кавалерийских полков, а в 1908 г. в русской армии введена новая парадная форма одежды, напоминавшая о славной эпохе побед периода Отечественной войны 1812 г.

Оставаясь членом Государственного Совета, Редигер в октябре 1909 г. был избран членом Финансовой комиссии и в составе ее VI отдела, рассматривавшего военную и морскую сметы, состоял до 1917 г.

Осенью 1917 г. за несколько дней до Октябрьской революции А.Ф. Редигер с семьей покинул Петроград и поселился в Полтавской губернии в родовом имении жены, Ольги Ивановны, урожденной Холщевниковой. В конце 1918 г. Редигеры переехали в Севастополь, где 26 января 1920 г. Александр Федорович скоропостижно скончался.

За заслуги в военной деятельности А.Ф. Редигер был награжден многими русскими и иностранными орденами. Он был автором большого числа работ по военной администрации, комплектованию и устройству армии, а также многочисленных статей для «Энциклопедии военных и морских наук» и «Военной энциклопедии». Его статьи печатались в журнале «Военный сборник», газете «Русский инвалид».

С журналом «Разведчик» А.Ф. Редигер сотрудничал со дня его основания и, владея несколькими иностранными языками, писал обзоры и рецензии на материалы зарубежных военных журналов и газет, издававшихся в европейских странах.

Большое историческое значение имеют воспоминания, написанные А.Ф. Редигером в последние годы его жизни и опубликованные только в 1999 г. В них дана взвешенная оценка как обстоятельств собственной жизни, так и важнейших исторических событий с середины ХIХ в. и до 1918 г., включая характеристики личностей, игравших в этих событиях ведущие роли. Многие взгляды генерала Александра Федоровича Редигера, его размышления над судьбами Отечества сохраняют свою актуальность и для современной России.
Первоисточник: http://encyclopedia.mil.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
  1. parus2nik 22 февраля 2014 11:38
    Работал на совесть...
    parus2nik
  2. omsbon 22 февраля 2014 11:41
    Человек достойный уважения потомков!
    Мир его праху!
  3. Ударник 22 февраля 2014 12:31
    Вот так, чисто кабинетный генерал оказался лучшим военным министром Николая Второго.
    Его мемуары лежат на милитере http://militera.lib.ru/memo/russian/rediger/index.html
    Много личного, много про интриги в министерской и академической среде, но есть масса интересных деталей, в том числе характеристики представителей военной элиты русской армии начала века (Куропаткина, Сахарова, Сухомлинова, Поливанова и других).
  4. valokordin 23 февраля 2014 07:47
    Посмотрел на фотографию генерала, очень красивое благородное лицо. Уж больно похож на него патриарх Алексий(царство ему небесное) а не потомок ли он этого генерала. Фамилия Алексия ведь тоже Редигер.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня