Military Review

Egyptian defense minister seeks arms deal with Russia before presidential election

11
Egyptian defense minister seeks arms deal with Russia before presidential electionEgyptian Defense Minister Abdel Fattah Al-Sisi, who intends to run for the upcoming presidential elections, wants to have time to conclude an agreement on the acquisition weapons Russia before the election campaign officially begins. This was stated in an interview with the radio station “Voice of Russia” by an Egyptian military expert, retired general Husam Swaylam. To participate in the presidential race, which starts in March, Al-Sisi will have to officially leave the post of Minister of Defense.


Therefore, the Egyptian expert believes, Al-Sisi paid a visit to Moscow and held talks in February, while still holding the post of minister.

“Abdel Fattah Al-Sisi should have had time to pay this visit as the head of the military department. There is not enough time to prepare for the presidential election - in a month he will have to take off his military uniform. And he will have time to conclude arms deals while he is still“ - explained General Swaylam.

The expert confirmed reports that Egypt’s purchases of Russian weapons will be financed by Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

“Last week, just before our two ministers (defense and foreign affairs) arrived in Moscow, the chief of staff of the Egyptian army traveled to Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates. There he discussed the financial aspects of this deal, which will be paid in installments. 2014 d. The amount of the transaction will be 2 billion US dollars, it will be paid by Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates. This will be a gift of these two countries to the Egyptian people, "said a retired general.

According to him, Egypt did not go on a military deal with Russia. Over the past decades, Cairo has bought weapons from the Americans. But the United States condemned the overthrow of Islamist President Mohammed Mursi last July, and suspended military aid to Egypt.

"The visit of the Egyptian ministers to Moscow is to some extent a response of the United States, which continues to support the Muslim Brotherhood, which the Egyptians overthrew, and also a response to the freezing by the Americans of military cooperation with Egypt. Thus, we have not received 120 tanks Abrams, 21 F-16 fighter jets, 12 Apache helicopters. Now we are trying to withstand American pressure and support Egyptian sovereignty, "General Swaylam emphasized.

At the same time, he noted that the deal with Russia does not mean a break in military cooperation with the United States. “We don’t want to stop relations with America at all. Cairo simply creates a new balance in relations with two world superpowers - the United States and Russia. With China, by the way, we also intend to cooperate,” the Egyptian expert explained.

He said that, according to his information, within the framework of the agreements reached, Russia will supply Egypt, in particular, the 24 fighter MiG-29, second-generation Cornet anti-tank missiles, the Tor-M1 air defense missile system, and 8. "We asked C-17, but I do not think that Russia will give it to us now," the former military man believes.

The agreement in Russia is aimed at upgrading the equipment of the Egyptian army, the expert said. "At the moment we have about 40 percent of military equipment - these are old modifications of Russian systems and vehicles, such as the MiG-21, for example. We are striving in the future to get the right to manufacture and assemble weapons in Egypt, and also to start producing spare parts for the American weapons. Thus, we will move on to a real diversification of arms sources, "the Egyptian general told Itar-Tass.
Originator:
http://www.arms-tass.su/
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. alex-s
    alex-s 19 February 2014 08: 46
    +4
    He said that, according to his information, within the framework of the agreements reached, Russia will supply Egypt, in particular, the 24 fighter MiG-29, second-generation Cornet anti-tank missiles, the Tor-M1 air defense missile system, and 8. "We asked C-17, but I do not think that Russia will give it to us now," the former military man believes.

    And why don't we sell the MiGs that they did for Syria?
  2. Hitrovan07
    Hitrovan07 19 February 2014 08: 48
    +3
    An interesting scenario - the Saudis pay for the Russian production of weapons !!!
  3. svp67
    svp67 19 February 2014 08: 48
    +5
    And DO NOT GIVE, but SELL and the only way, and only - lightweight export options ....
    1. Apollo
      Apollo 19 February 2014 09: 17
      +6
      quote-Egyptian Defense Minister Abdel Fattah Al-Sisi, who intends to run for the upcoming presidential elections, wants to have time to conclude an agreement on the acquisition of weapons from Russia before the election campaign officially begins.


      My opinion is unequivocal-will be really elected president, for that simple reason, there is no real rival.
  4. DNX1970
    DNX1970 19 February 2014 09: 17
    +6
    No weapon will help such "warriors". It has been proved by Israel more than once. But our gunsmiths will find their money very useful. FORWARD! MONEY, of course.
    1. Vadim12
      Vadim12 19 February 2014 09: 25
      +1
      that's for sure, they fought badly, read books about the Arab-Israeli wars. The preparation is probably weak.
      1. arane
        arane 19 February 2014 21: 22
        +1
        The preparation is weak, and most importantly, there is no core
  5. Vadim12
    Vadim12 19 February 2014 09: 23
    0
    If smart, then he must be president. The Americans, apparently, will write boiling water if the deal takes place wink
  6. Betahon
    Betahon 19 February 2014 09: 26
    +1
    The right decision, Comrade Abdel Fattah Al-Sisi! ...
    1. Very old
      Very old 19 February 2014 09: 53
      +1
      "Tambov wolf"

      Emirs and Sauds gave payment guarantees?
      Yes, and Egypt itself more than once: yours and ours
      With such "partners", caution comes first
  7. Zubr
    Zubr 19 February 2014 09: 34
    +1
    Well, the news is not bad. But what embarrassed me, Saudi Arabia and the UAE will finance the procurement, it is very interesting. Further cooperation with the USA is also not clear, I wonder on what issues?
    Egypt planted the Muslim brothers on the needle, well, business is business in other matters, the extra 80 of billions of rubles will not hurt us. Let's see what the elections show, maybe we will build something there again?
    For now, one can only guess.
  8. ramin_serg
    ramin_serg 19 February 2014 09: 39
    +2
    Good morning
    I think that Russia should do (and will do) everything possible to return the Egyptian arms market.
  9. rubin6286
    rubin6286 19 February 2014 10: 24
    +2
    I believe that if there is no direct threat of a military conflict with the participation of Egypt, arms should not be sold to this country, especially since other countries pay for this, which, moreover, are not our reliable allies and friends. Earlier, the corrupt Egyptian leadership flooded Pakistan and the Afghan mujahideen with Kalashnikov assault rifles, where is the guarantee that the Tor will not be in Georgia, and the Cornet in Chechnya, the new MiG-29s in Israel, Romania, Poland, the Baltic states? Why hurry? We need to look for friends where there are, first of all, common economic interests. Saudi Arabia and the Emirates openly support Chechen and Dagestani militants, the massacre in Syria. The treacherous oligarchic regime will receive money, which it shamelessly appropriates and transfers to American banks, but what will the people of Russia get from such transactions? The Egyptian military openly blamed our MiGs and SUs, tanks and armored personnel carriers, communications equipment, although in reality, unlike, for example, the Indian military, they were not able not only to shoot well, but also simply to operate this equipment. I think what they say is true, "they don't look for good from good." Better to let the United States sell the Aegis missile system, F-22 and F-35 aircraft to Egypt, and Russia buy them for review.
    1. And Us Rat
      And Us Rat 20 February 2014 00: 01
      +1
      Quote: rubin6286
      ... the new MiG-29 in Israel ...

      Are you against it? belay Well, what did you not immediately warn? sad

  10. kelevra
    kelevra 19 February 2014 10: 55
    0
    Ours still needs to think about whether it is worth completing. In Egypt, it’s not calm right now, however much this weapon would go against us in the future.
  11. Nayhas
    Nayhas 19 February 2014 10: 56
    0
    Abdel Fattah Al-Sisi imagines himself to be a new pharaoh, uncontested elections under the supervision of the army ... More than once, how did he end such regimes himself, what was he hoping for?
  12. Leshka
    Leshka 19 February 2014 15: 32
    +1
    it's good that we are getting closer to Egypt
  13. Nitarius
    Nitarius 19 February 2014 21: 05
    0
    What a big GAME, and it’s not clear why .. so to speak, a CLEAR PICTURE IS NOT BEING OUT. WHAT AND FOR WHAT ... THE SAUDITES DIRECTED THREATENED TO US .... AND THE CHECHEN'S SCARAW.
    I WILL NOT UNDERSTAND BY THE "FAMILY" of ours what they WANT TO ACHIEVE ... IN FACT THE WEAPON WILL GO TO THE US FOR ANALYSIS
    1. arane
      arane 19 February 2014 21: 25
      +3
      No parsing. Americans, if they want, can stupidly buy from us. Export weapons are very different from what suits us
      MIG-29 glider has long been no secret
      1. And Us Rat
        And Us Rat 20 February 2014 00: 08
        +1
        Quote: arane
        No parsing. Americans, if they want, can stupidly buy from us. Export weapons are very different from what suits us
        MIG-29 glider has long been no secret

        This is true, for example, half of the filling of the export Su-30, for example, is imported, of choice at the request of the customer.

Министр обороны Египта стремится заключить оружейную сделку с Россией до президентских выборов

Министр обороны Египта стремится заключить оружейную сделку с Россией до президентских выборовМинистр обороны Египта Абдель Фаттах Ас-Сиси, который намерен баллотироваться на предстоящих выборах президента страны, хочет успеть заключить договор о приобретении оружия у России до того, как официально начнется предвыборная кампания. Об этом заявил в интервью радиостанции "Голос России" египетский военный эксперт, генерал в отставке Хусам Суэйлам. Для участия в президентской гонке, которая стартует в марте, Ас-Сиси должен будет официально покинуть пост министра обороны.

Поэтому, считает египетский эксперт, Ас-Сиси нанес визит в Москву и провел переговоры именно в феврале, пока еще занимая должность министра.

"Абдель Фаттах Ас-Сиси должен был успеть нанести этот визит именно в качестве главы военного ведомства. Остается мало времени для подготовки к президентским выборам - уже через месяц он должен будет снять военную форму. А оружейные сделки он должен успеть заключить ещё будучи министром обороны", - разъяснил генерал Суэйлам.


Эксперт подтвердил сообщения о том, что закупки Египтом российских вооружений будут финансироваться Саудовской Аравией и Объединенными Арабскими Эмиратами.

"На прошлой неделе, перед самым приездом в Москву двух наших министров (обороны и иностранных дел), начальник штаба армии Египта ездил в Саудовскую Аравию и ОАЭ. Там он обговаривал финансовые аспекты этой сделки, которая будет оплачиваться в рассрочку. Поставки оружия начнутся в середине 2014 г. Сумма сделки составит 2 млрд. дол США, она будет оплачиваться Саудовской Аравией и Объединенными Арабскими Эмиратами. Это будет даром этих двух стран египетскому народу", - сообщил отставной генерал.

По его словам, Египет пошел на военную сделку с Россией не случайно. На протяжении последних десятилетий Каир закупал оружие у американцев. Но США осудили свержение президента-исламиста Мохаммеда Мурси в июле прошлого года, и приостановили военную помощь Египту.

"Визит египетских министров в Москву в какой-то мере является ответом США, которые продолжают поддерживать свергнутых египетским народом “Братьев-мусульман”, а также ответом на замораживание американцами военного сотрудничества с Египтом. Так, мы недополучили 120 танков “Абрамс”, 21 истребитель F-16, 12 вертолетов “Апач” (Apache). Сейчас мы стараемся противостоять американскому давлению и поддержать египетский суверенитет", - подчеркнул генерал Суэйлам.

При этом он отметил, что сделка с Россией не означает разрыва военного сотрудничества с США. "Мы не хотим вовсе прекратить отношения с Америкой. Просто Каир создаёт новый баланс в отношениях с двумя мировыми сверхдержавами - США и Россией. С Китаем, кстати, мы тоже намерены сотрудничать", - объяснил египетский эксперт.

Он рассказал, что, по его сведениям, в рамках достигнутых договоренностей Россия поставит в Египет, в частности, 24 истребителя МиГ-29, противотанковые ракеты “Корнет” второго поколения, ЗРК "Тор-М1", боевые вертолеты Ми-8 и Ми-17. "Мы попросили С-300, но я не думаю, что Россия даст нам это сейчас", - полагает бывший военный.

Соглашение в Россией нацелено на качественное обновление оснащения египетской армии, отметил эксперт. "В настоящий момент у нас около 40 проц военной техники - это старые модификации российских систем и машин, таких как МиГ-21, например. Мы стремимся в будущем получить право производить и собирать оружие у себя в Египте, а также начать производить запчасти для американского оружия. Таким образом, мы перейдем к реальной диверсификации источников вооружения", - цитирует египетского генерала ИТАР-ТАСС.
Первоисточник: http://www.arms-tass.su/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 11
  1. alex-s 19 февраля 2014 08:46
    Он рассказал, что, по его сведениям, в рамках достигнутых договоренностей Россия поставит в Египет, в частности, 24 истребителя МиГ-29, противотанковые ракеты “Корнет” второго поколения, ЗРК "Тор-М1", боевые вертолеты Ми-8 и Ми-17. "Мы попросили С-300, но я не думаю, что Россия даст нам это сейчас", - полагает бывший военный.

    А почему бы нам не продать МиГи, которые делали для Сирии?
  2. Hitrovan07 19 февраля 2014 08:48
    Интересный расклад - Саудиты оплачивают российское производство оружия !!!
  3. svp67 19 февраля 2014 08:48
    А не ДАВАТЬ, а ПРОДАВАТЬ и только так, и только - облегченные экспортные варианты....
    1. Apollon 19 февраля 2014 09:17
      цитата-Министр обороны Египта Абдель Фаттах Ас-Сиси, который намерен баллотироваться на предстоящих выборах президента страны, хочет успеть заключить договор о приобретении оружия у России до того, как официально начнется предвыборная кампания.


      Мое мнение однозначное-будет реально избран президентом,по той простой причине-реального соперника у не нет.
  4. DNX1970 19 февраля 2014 09:17
    Таким "воякам" никакое оружие не поможет.Доказано Израилем не раз.Но нашим оружейникам их деньги будут очень кстати .ВПЕРЕД !ДЕНЬГИ конечно.
    DNX1970
    1. Vadim12 19 февраля 2014 09:25
      это точно, воевали они плохо, читал книги про арабо-израильские войны. Подготовка наверно, слабая.
      1. arane 19 февраля 2014 21:22
        Подготовка слабая, и самое главное - стержня нет
  5. Vadim12 19 февраля 2014 09:23
    Раз умный, значит, должен быть президентом. Америкосы, видимо, кипятком писать будут, если сделка состоится wink
  6. Betahon 19 февраля 2014 09:26
    Правильное решение, товарищ Абдель Фаттах Ас-Сиси!...
    1. Старый очень 19 февраля 2014 09:53
      "Тамбовский волк"

      Эмиры и сауды дали гарантии оплаты ?
      Да и сам Епипет не раз : вашим и нашим
      С такими "партнерами" осторожность на первом месте
  7. Zubr 19 февраля 2014 09:34
    Ну что же, новость не плохая. Но меня что смутило, финансировать закупки будет Саудовская Аравия и ОАЭ, очень интересно. Так же не понятно дальнейшее сотрудничество с USA, интересно по каким вопросам ?
    Подсадили Египет на иглу братьев мусульман, ну в прочем бизнес есть бизнес, нам лишние 80 миллиардов рубликов не помешает. Посмотрим, что покажут выборы, может опять там строить что нибудь будем ?
    Пока остаётся только догадываться.
  8. ramin_serg 19 февраля 2014 09:39
    Доброе утро
    Я думаю что Россия должна сделать (и сделает) все возможное чтобы вернуть Египетский рынок оружия.
  9. rubin6286 19 февраля 2014 10:24
    Я считаю,что если нет прямой угрозы возникновения военного конфликта с участием Египта, продавать оружие в эту страну не следует,тем более,что за это платят другие страны,к тому же не являющиеся нашими надежными союзниками и друзьями. Раньше продажное египетское руководство наводнило автоматами Калашникова Пакистан и афганских моджахедов, где гарантия,что "Тор" не окажется в Грузии, а "Корнет" в Чечне, новые МиГ-29 в Израиле,Румынии,Польше,Прибалтике? К чему торопиться? Нужно искать друзей там, где есть, в первую очередь, общие экономические интересы.Саудовская Аравия и Эмираты открыто поддерживают чеченских и дагестанских боевиков, бойню в Сирии. Предательско-олигархический режим получит деньги,которые бесстыдно присвоит и переведет в американские банки, а народу России от таких сделок что? Египетские военные открыто хаяли наши МиГи и СУ,танки и БТР,средства связи,хотя в действительности, в отличие, например от индийских военных, не умели не только хорошо стрелять,но и просто управлять этой техникой. Я думаю,что верно говорят," от добра добра не ищут". Пусть лучше США продадут Египту ракетный комплекс "Иджис", самолеты F-22 и F-35, а Россия купит их для ознакомления.
    1. А Нас Рать 20 февраля 2014 00:01
      Цитата: rubin6286
      ...новые МиГ-29 в Израиле...

      А вы против? belay Ну что же вы сразу то не предупредили? sad

  10. kelevra 19 февраля 2014 10:55
    Нашим надо ещё подумать,стоит ли её завершать.В Египте сейчас не спокойно,как бы это оружие против нас же и не пошло в дальнейшем.
    kelevra
  11. Nayhas 19 февраля 2014 10:56
    Абдель Фаттах Ас-Сиси возомнил себя новым фараоном, безальтернативные выборы под присмотром армии...Уже было не раз, чем такие режимы заканчивали он сам видел, на что надеется?
  12. лёшка 19 февраля 2014 15:32
    хорошо что мы с Египтом сближаемся
    лёшка
  13. Nitarius 19 февраля 2014 21:05
    Какая то большая ИГРА и не понятно зачем ..так сказать не ВЫРИСОВЫВАЕТСЯ ЧЕТКАЯ КАРТИНА. ЧТО И ДЛЯ ЧЕГО...САУДИТЫ ПРЯМО НАМ УГРОЖАЛИ .... и ЧЕЧНЕЙ ПУГАЛИ.
    НЕ ПОЙМУ я "СЕМЬЮ" нашу чего они ХОТЯТ ДОБИТЬСЯ ...ВЕДЬ ОРУЖИЕ ЯВНО ПОЙДЕТ В США на РАЗБОР
    1. arane 19 февраля 2014 21:25
      На разбор нет. Америкосы, если захотят, могут тупо купить у нас. Экспортное оружие сильно отличается от того, что идет нам
      Планер МИГ-29 давно уже не секрет
      1. А Нас Рать 20 февраля 2014 00:08
        Цитата: arane
        На разбор нет. Америкосы, если захотят, могут тупо купить у нас. Экспортное оружие сильно отличается от того, что идет нам
        Планер МИГ-29 давно уже не секрет

        Это верно, половина начинки экспортного Су-30 к примеру - импортная, на выбор по пожеланию заказчика.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня