Military Review

Reasons for close military ties between Saudi Arabia and Pakistan

3

Crown Prince Salman bin Abdulaziz (Salman bin Abdulaziz, left), who is also Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Defense of Saudi Arabia, has just completed his visit to Pakistan, according to voanews.com February 19.


Some experts believe that the strengthening of military cooperation between Saudi Arabia and Pakistan is entering a new dimension - to counter Iran, which could create a nuclear weapon. Riyadh fears that easing economic sanctions against Iran may allow Tehran to move faster in its nuclear ambitions.

"Iran is striving to become a nuclear power, and Saudi Arabia, which is a regional power, cannot ignore this threat," said former Arab Ambassador to Pakistan, Ali Sherazi (Ali Sherazi). Pakistan, as the owner of one of the largest armies in the world and the only Muslim country with nuclear weapons, has a "unique opportunity" to help Saudi Arabia in the military field. The head of the Center for the Study of this region at the University of Peshawar, Shafraz Khan (Sarfraz Khan), said that Iran and Saudi Arabia have conflicting interests in the Persian Gulf, and Pakistan can strengthen the position of the Saudis. “To counter Iran’s influence, Saudi Arabia is increasingly looking towards Pakistan,” he said.

Last year, the Air Force Agency (BBC) reported that Saudi Arabia had invested in Pakistan’s nuclear weapons development program, but both countries denied this information. But there is no doubt that military cooperation between Islamabad and Riyadh is becoming increasingly active. This cooperation is manifested in many forms, including the training of Saudi pilots in parts of the Pakistan Air Force and the deployment of Pakistani troops in Saudi Arabia to ensure its safety. Military analyst, former commander of the Pakistan Air Force Nauman Wazir (Nauman Wazir) said that now Pakistan can supply Saudi Arabia with JF-17 Thunder combat aircraft and training aircraft. “For Saudi Arabia, there is no better aircraft for training and combat than JF-17. It has the capacity to support ground forces, ”said the analyst. However, the joint statement of the two countries does not mention the interest of the SA to purchase these planes.

But Iran is not the only reason for the rapprochement of Pakistan and the CA. Pakistan is believed to be able to help the oil-rich kingdom fight al-Qaeda and effectively repel the armed raids by terrorists from neighboring Yemen. Pakistan also has border disputes with Iran, which mainly take place along the border of Pakistan’s Baluchistan province. Recently, five Iranian border guards were captured by militants and sent across the border of Baluchistan into the interior of Pakistan, prompting Tehran to issue a warning that it could send troops to release them. Pakistan expressed “grave concern” about this threat. This incident has brought Islamabad and Riyadh closer together.

In addition, Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif (Nawaz Sharif, in the photo on the right) enjoys extremely close ties with high-ranking members of the royal family of Saudi Arabia. When in 1999, as a result of a bloodless military coup, he was ousted from his post, Sharif and his family fled to Saudi Arabia. “During the reign of Zardari (Asif Ali Zardari, President of Pakistan from 9 Sept. 2008 to 8 Sept. 2013 - note“ VP ”) relations with Saudi Arabia were not warm, but, as we know, Prime Sharif has good relations with the ruling Saudi royal family, which further strengthens bilateral ties, ”said the former brigadier general, a senior Pakistani intelligence official Mahmoud Shah.
Originator:
http://www.militaryparitet.com/
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. polkovnik manuch
    polkovnik manuch 20 February 2014 12: 13
    +3
    The Saudis have long wanted a club of nuclear powers, if only, the leader country in the Islamic world, if this is not prevented now, then the prospects for peace will not be bright, that's for sure. Therefore, all attempts, like Iranian ones, need to be stopped urgently. not laziness, they want to have a nuclear club. This is the field where the leading countries, where Russia, the USA, China, and others must work together.
    1. avt
      avt 20 February 2014 15: 12
      0
      Quote: polkovnik manuch
      The Saudis have long wanted a club of nuclear powers, if only,

      request And whose money did the packs bomb !? Yes, one hundred pounds of Saudi Arabia, like Israel, have nuclear weapons. It remains only to officially voice.
    2. Geisenberg
      Geisenberg 20 February 2014 18: 05
      0
      Quote: polkovnik manuch
      The Saudis have long wanted a club of nuclear powers, if only, the leader country in the Islamic world, if this is not prevented now, then the prospects for peace will not be bright, that's for sure. Therefore, all attempts, like Iranian ones, need to be stopped urgently. not laziness, they want to have a nuclear club. This is the field where the leading countries, where Russia, the USA, China, and others must work together.


      Every terrier wants to go to this club. I suspect that if the CA starts to stir up something like this, our people simply will not let them into the nuclear club. And in the worst case scenario, they will give Iran a couple of warheads ...

Причины тесных военных связей между Саудовской Аравией и Пакистаном

Причины тесных военных связей между Саудовской Аравией и Пакистаном

Наследный принц Салман бен Абдель Азиз (Salman bin Abdulaziz, на фото слева), который также является вице-премьером и министром обороны Саудовской Аравии, только что завершил свой визит в Пакистан, сообщает voanews.com 19 февраля.

Некоторые эксперты полагают, что усиление военного сотрудничества между Саудовской Аравией и Пакистаном выходит на новое измерение — для противодействия Ирану, который может создать ядерное оружие. Эр-Рияд опасается, что ослабление экономических санкций в отношении Ирана может позволить Тегерану быстрее двигаться в своих ядерных амбициях.

«Иран стремится стать ядерной державой, и Саудовская Аравия, которая является региональной державой, не может игнорировать эту угрозу», заявил бывший посол СА в Пакистане Али Шерази (Ali Sherazi). Пакистан как обладатель одной из крупнейших армий в мире и единственная мусульманская страна с ядерным оружием, имеет «уникальную возможность» помочь Саудовской Аравии в военной области. Глава Центра изучения этого региона в Университете Пешавара Шафраз Хан (Sarfraz Khan) заявил, что Иран и Саудовская Аравия имеют противоречивые интересы в Персидском заливе, и Пакистан может усилить позиции саудовцев. «Чтобы противостоять влиянию Ирана, Саудовская Аравия все чаще смотрит в сторону Пакистана», сказал он.


В прошлом году агентство ВВС (Би-би-си) сообщило, что Саудовская Аравия инвестировала средства в программу развития ядерного оружия Пакистана, но обе страны опровергли эту информацию. Но нет никаких сомнений, что военное сотрудничество между Исламабадом и Эль-Риядом становится все более активным. Это сотрудничество проявляется во многих формах, включая подготовку саудовских пилотов в частях ВВС Пакистана и развертывание пакистанских войск на территории Саудовской Аравии для обеспечения ее безопасности. Военный аналитик, бывший коммодор ВВС Пакистана Науман Вазир (Nauman Wazir) говорит, что сейчас Пакистан может поставить Саудовской Аравии боевые самолеты JF-17 Thunder и учебно-тренировочные самолеты. «Для Саудовской Аравии нет лучшего самолета в качестве тренировочного и боевого, чем JF-17. Он имеет возможности для поддержки наземных войск», сказал аналитик. Однако в совместном заявлении двух стран не говорится о заинтересованности СА приобрести эти самолеты.

Но Иран не является единственной причиной сближения Пакистана и СА. Полагают, что Пакистан может помочь богатому нефтью королевству бороться с «Аль-Каидой» и эффективно отражать вооруженные набеги террористов из соседнего Йемена. Пакистан также имеет пограничные споры с Ираном, которые в основном проходят по границе пакистанской провинции Белуджистан. Недавно пять иранских пограничников были захвачены боевиками и переправлены через границу Белуджистана вглубь Пакистана, что побудило Тегеран выступить с предупреждением, что может направить свои войска для их освобождения. Пакистан выразил «серьезную озабоченность» по поводу этой угрозы. Этот инцидент еще больше сблизил Исламабад и Эль-Рияд.

Кроме того, премьер-министр Пакистана Наваз Шариф (Nawaz Sharif, на фото справа) пользуется исключительно тесными связями с высокопоставленными членами королевской семьи Саудовской Аравии. Когда в 1999 году в результате бескровного военного переворота он был свергнут со своего поста, Шариф со своей семьей бежали в Саудовскую Аравию. «Во времена правления Зардари (Асиф Али Зардари, президент Пакистана с 9 сент. 2008 по 8 сент. 2013 — прим. «ВП») отношения с Саудовской Аравией не были теплыми, но, как мы знаем, премьер Шариф имеет хорошие отношения с правящей саудовской королевской семьей, что еще больше укрепляет двусторонние связи», говорит бывший бригадный генерал, высокопоставленный сотрудник пакистанской разведки Махмуд Шах (Mehmood Shah).
Первоисточник: http://www.militaryparitet.com/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. polkovnik manuch 20 февраля 2014 12:13
    Саудиты давно хотят в клуб ядерных держав, еще-бы , страна -лидер в исламском мире, если этому не помешать сейчас , то перспективы мира радужными не станут -это точно.Поэтому все попытки,как и Иранские,нужно срочно пресекать.Скоро все кому не лень, захотят иметь ядерную дубинку. Вот то поле где ведущие страны , где Россия , США, Китай, и другие должны работать совместно.
    1. avt 20 февраля 2014 15:12
      Цитата: polkovnik manuch
      Саудиты давно хотят в клуб ядерных держав, еще-бы ,

      request А на чьи деньги паки бомбу то сделали !? Да сто пудов саудиты , как и Израиль , ЯО имеют . Осталось только официально озвучить .
      avt
    2. Geisenberg 20 февраля 2014 18:05
      Цитата: polkovnik manuch
      Саудиты давно хотят в клуб ядерных держав, еще-бы , страна -лидер в исламском мире, если этому не помешать сейчас , то перспективы мира радужными не станут -это точно.Поэтому все попытки,как и Иранские,нужно срочно пресекать.Скоро все кому не лень, захотят иметь ядерную дубинку. Вот то поле где ведущие страны , где Россия , США, Китай, и другие должны работать совместно.


      Каждая терорюга хочет в этот клуб. Подозреваю что если СА начнет че-то такое мутить наши просто не пустят их в ядерный клуб. А в худшем варианте подарят Ирану пару боеголовок ...

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня