Military Review

The fate of the long-lived M1 Carbine in Israel

4
In the distant 1938 year in the US Army, for the first time, they thought about the need to re-equip the so-called “second line” servicemen (crews of combat vehicles not participating in the infantry battle, calculating guns and other soldiers who were not equipped with a “full-fledged” rifle) from self-loading pistols to light carbines. In 1941, a new .30 Carbine cartridge (7,62 × 33 mm) was developed by the Winchester company for the army.




The same firm Winchester for this new cartridge was developed and lightweight self-loading carbine, adopted by the designation "Carbine, Caliber .30, М1".



Over a million units have been released. weaponswhich occupied its niche on the battlefields of the Second World War and received the affectionate nickname “baby garand”, in honor of the former main weapon of the American infantry “full-size” rifle M1 Garand, a smaller version of which he slightly resembled due to a number of common features in designs and designs. By the end of the war, the M1 rifle was already in service with many countries of the anti-Hitler coalition.

With the revival of the state of Israel, the M1 became one of the first rifles that, through Czechoslovakia, entered into the IDF’s armament and contributed to the outcome of the war of independence. The M1 rifle enjoyed special demand from commando squads created on the British model due to its low weight and compactness. And remained in service until the mid 50-ies.

The fate of the long-lived M1 Carbine in Israel


After 1955, the IDF began to be massively re-equipped with an FN-FAL rifle and a Uzi software, and the M1 carbine was decided to be handed over to law enforcement services - the police and Mishmar Ezrahi (squads of civil self-defense subordinate to the police). The idea was, by and large, successful, if not for one “but”. The convenient and short for combat М1 turned out to be long and inconvenient for the patrolman in a police car, therefore, without thinking twice, the Israeli gunsmiths set up a remake of М1 in М1А1 on the American model. In this view, the rifle has served faithfully for more than 30.



But the world does not stand still, time goes on, things age, and the M1 is no exception. Having established the production of parts and shafts for the repair of M1 carbines, the Israelis decided not to stop there. By the beginning of the 90-s, a gradual modernization of the service barrels began. The program has not received any names, however, as well as press coverage. Updates were quite modest, the M1 received a polymer box instead of a wooden one, a folding polymer butt and small replacements of internal mechanisms for more precise and wear-resistant ones. Some copies received new mounts for optics. And in this form, the M1 has served almost another 20 years.



Finally, the 21 century has come, the age of high technology. The army received the TAVOR complex, the special forces received the X-95 complex. But what about the police? If for the civil defense the plastic M1 is still suitable, then for the 21 police of the century it is clearly already an obsolete weapon. It was impossible to rearm the police with weapons for military ammunition 5,56х45 mm, this ammunition is dangerous to use in police operations due to excessive power and trauma, and developing an entirely new weapon platform exclusively for the police is unreasonably expensive. Especially cartridge 7,62x33 mm absolutely satisfied with the police.

Without thinking twice, the gunsmiths decided to delve into the long-suffering M1 once more, and at the end of the first decade of the new century saw the light of the result of their work - a deep modernization of the M1 HEZI SM1. The hybrid of the carbine and PP, SM1 received all possible modern "nishtyaki" - the layout of bulpap, ergonomic polymer case, automatic firing mode, improved magazine on 30 cartridges and Picatinny rail. So even 30 years of life the M1 carbine is guaranteed.





Author:
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. cobalt
    cobalt 22 February 2014 08: 47
    +4
    Here is a short video about the updated m-1
  2. atalef
    atalef 22 February 2014 08: 51
    +4
    М1-saw, including a modernized one, there is still no such thing, an interesting thing, although there seems to be a microtaur for such a cartridge - it is not clear why they did it then? Maybe just cheaper than Microtavor? We will see and find out nothing, as well as an interesting thing.
    1. Timeout
      Timeout 22 February 2014 09: 53
      +4
      Hardly see, Hezi was still introduced in 2004 by Advanced Combat Systems Ltd., but did not go into the series. Even an attempt to conduct converse whales did not lead to anything. The company is registered at 3 Erez St., POBox 1131, Even Yehuda 40500 ISRAEL Advanced Combat Systems (ACS) Ltd. General Director Simcha Edell. The company's site has long ceased to exist ... You can try to find out if they are still working.
      .
      1. atalef
        atalef 22 February 2014 10: 00
        +5
        Quote: Timeout
        Hardly see, Hezi was still introduced in 2004 by Advanced Combat Systems Ltd., but did not go into the series. Even an attempt to conduct converse whales did not lead to anything. The company is registered at 3 Erez St., POBox 1131, Even Yehuda 40500 ISRAEL Advanced Combat Systems (ACS) Ltd. General Director Simcha Edell. The company's site has long ceased to exist ... You can try to find out if they are still working.
        .

        Yes, you are probably right, for 10 years if you were accepted, you’d just see if I didn’t need it in my concept, there is a full line of Tavori - why another?
        1. Timeout
          Timeout 22 February 2014 10: 59
          +3
          Quote: atalef
          in my concept, he is not needed, there is a full line of Tavori - why another one?

          I also think so, the only thing as a weapon for the civilian market, and then the price with Tavor is not much different ...
    2. And Us Rat
      22 February 2014 16: 49
      +2
      HEZI SM-1 eventually lost (apparently for the price) the police contest to the MAGAL carbine (based on Galil) for the same caliber so that it will not be in service, only a couple of competitive samples remain in the ranks of the police.
      Photo MAGAL
  3. Strashila
    Strashila 22 February 2014 16: 57
    +3
    We take the concept of this weapon as a basis ... and do something similar to that for a cartridge chuck, we get an advantage on the location of the magazine in the cartridge grip so on 20. guaranteed 300 m, so that with the length of the barrel 269mm that at the guarantor it can be considered guaranteed. Get a lightweight compact weapon capable of piercing light armor.
  4. Witold
    Witold 22 February 2014 16: 58
    +3
    In 78, he went with him (M-1) to hunt for a boar near Zichron.
  5. MACCABI TLV
    MACCABI TLV 22 February 2014 17: 06
    +1
    Quote: atalef
    There is a full line of Tavorov - why another?

    In the USA, everything that wears the IWI stamp is marvelously sold.
    1. Witold
      Witold 22 February 2014 23: 22
      +2
      And not only in the USA
    2. Witold
      Witold 22 February 2014 23: 22
      +2
      And not only in the USA
  6. milekhan
    milekhan 23 February 2014 01: 33
    +4
    I'll insert my five kopecks:
    1) 7 years was in the squad, from time to time he patrolled with a carbine, made arrows, dismantled it. Impressions are only positive, especially for such antiques))) there were misfires when feeding cartridges, rather related to the general condition and age of the weapon and the automation system with a side piston, IMHO.
    Updated trunks to М1А1 with a plastic handguard - only a few pieces were issued per st. the police, in fact, like Magalay. Lucky a couple of times to keep the m1-1 in hand, it's much easier to get out of the car)))
    2) Magal is a different level of weapon))) More modern, lighter and more compact. Of course, a civilian semiautomatic device. I remember only a little, about 10 years ago, after several years of exploitation, they began to withdraw him from the police. The reason is the inconsistency of the Kalash automatics / layout / too short barrel with a pistol-type cartridge. In addition, there are some complaints about defects during operation .. It seems to be so ... But all this is at the level of rumors, from the fifth hand, but "the truth is somewhere out there" what
  7. Pavellio
    Pavellio April 15 2014 17: 22
    0
    He worked on the watch in Yakutia, saw this creation from a local reindeer breeder)) Says good, only with cartridges tight)

Судьба долгожителя М1 Carbine в Израиле

В далеком 1938 году в армии США впервые задумались о необходимости перевооружения военнослужащих так называемой «второй линии» (не участвующие в пехотном бою экипажи боевых машин, расчёты орудий и прочие солдаты, которым по штату не положена «полноценная» винтовка) с самозарядных пистолетов на лёгкие карабины. В 1941 году по заказу армии фирмой «Винчестер» был разработан новый патрон .30 Carbine (7,62×33 мм).

Судьба долгожителя М1 Carbine  в Израиле


Той же фирмой Winchester под этот новый патрон был разработан и лёгкий самозарядный карабин, принятый на вооружение под обозначением "Carbine, Caliber .30, М1".


Судьба долгожителя М1 Carbine  в Израиле


Было выпущено более миллиона единиц этого оружия, которое заняло свою нишу на полях сражений Второй мировой войны и получило ласковое прозвище «бэби-гаранд», в честь бывшей в то же время основным оружием американской пехоты «полноразмерной» винтовки M1 Garand, уменьшенный вариант которой он немного напоминал благодаря ряду общих черт в конструкции и дизайне. К концу войны винтовка М1 была на вооружении уже множества стран антигитлеровской коалиции.

С возрождением государства Израиль М1 стал одной из первых винтовок, которые через Чехословакию попали на вооружение АОИ и внесли свою лепту в исход войны за независимость. Винтовка М1 пользовалась особым спросом у созданных по британскому образцу отрядов коммандос благодаря своему малому весу и компактности. И оставалась на вооружении до середины 50-х годов.

Судьба долгожителя М1 Carbine  в Израиле


После 1955 года началось массированное перевооружение АОИ на винтовку FN-FAL и ПП Узи, а карабин М1 решено было передать службам правопорядка — полиции и Мишмар Эзрахи (дружины гражданской самообороны в подчинении полиции). Идея была, по большому счету, удачная, если бы не одно «но». Удобный и короткий для боя М1 оказался длинным и неудобным для патрульного в полицейской машине, поэтому, недолго думая, израильские оружейники наладили переделку М1 в М1А1 по американскому образцу. В этом виде винтовка прослужила верой и правдой еще 30 с лишним лет.

Судьба долгожителя М1 Carbine  в Израиле


Но мир не стоит на месте, время идет, вещи стареют, и М1 не исключение. Наладив производство деталей и стволов для ремонта карабинов М1, израильтяне решили не останавливаться на этом. К началу 90-х годов началась постепенная модернизация имеющихся на службе стволов. Никаких названий программа не получила, впрочем, как и освещения в прессе. Обновления были довольно скромными, М1 получил полимерную ложу вместо деревянной, складной полимерный приклад и небольшие замены внутренних механизмов на более точные и износоустойчивые. Некоторые экземпляры получили новые крепления для оптики. И в таком виде М1 отслужил еще почти 20 лет.

Судьба долгожителя М1 Carbine  в Израиле


Наконец, настал 21 век, век высоких технологий. Армия получила комплекс TAVOR, спецназ получил комплекс Х-95. Но что с полицией? Если для гражданской обороны пластиковый М1 еще годится, то для полиции 21 века — это явно уже устаревшее оружие. Перевооружать полицию на оружие под армейские боеприпасы 5,56х45 мм было нельзя, этот боеприпас опасно применять в полицейских операциях из-за избыточной мощности и травматичности, а разрабатывать совершенно новую оружейную платформу исключительно для полиции — неоправданно дорого. Тем более патрон 7,62х33 мм полицию абсолютно устраивал.

Недолго думая, оружейники решили покопаться в многострадальном М1 еще раз, и в конце первого десятилетия нового века свет увидел результат их работы — глубокую модернизацию М1 HEZI SM1. Гибрид карабина и ПП, SM1 получил все возможные современные "ништяки" — компоновку булпап, эргономичный полимерный корпус, автоматический режим ведения огня, улучшенный магазин на 30 патронов и планки Пикатинни. Так что еще лет 30 жизни карабину М1 гарантировано.

Судьба долгожителя М1 Carbine  в Израиле


Судьба долгожителя М1 Carbine  в Израиле


Судьба долгожителя М1 Carbine  в Израиле
Автор: С.А.М


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. кобальт 22 февраля 2014 08:47
    Вот небольшое видео про обновленный м-1
  2. atalef 22 февраля 2014 08:51
    М1-видел , в том числе и модернизированный, такой еще нет, интересная штука, хотя вроде и микротавор под такой патрон есть - непонятно зачем тогда это сделали? Может просто дешевле Микротавора? Ничего увидим- узнаем , а так вещь интересная
    1. Timeout 22 февраля 2014 09:53
      Навряд ли увидите, Hezi был еще в 2004 году представлен компанией Advanced Combat Systems Ltd., но в серию так и не пошел. Даже попытка проводить конверс-киты не к чем у не привела. Фирма зарегистрирована по адресу 3 Erez St., POBox 1131, Even Yehuda 40500 ISRAEL Advanced Combat Systems (ACS) Ltd. Ген.директор Simcha Edell. Сайта компании уже давно не существует... Можете попытаться узнать, вдруг еще работают.
      .
      1. atalef 22 февраля 2014 10:00
        Цитата: Timeout
        Навряд ли увидите, Hezi был еще в 2004 году представлен компанией Advanced Combat Systems Ltd., но в серию так и не пошел. Даже попытка проводить конверс-киты не к чем у не привела. Фирма зарегистрирована по адресу 3 Erez St., POBox 1131, Even Yehuda 40500 ISRAEL Advanced Combat Systems (ACS) Ltd. Ген.директор Simcha Edell. Сайта компании уже давно не существует... Можете попытаться узнать, вдруг еще работают.
        .

        Да наверное Вы правы, за 10 лет если бы был принят , точно бы увидел , в моем понятии не нужен он , существует полная линей ка Таворов - зачем еще один ?
        1. Timeout 22 февраля 2014 10:59
          Цитата: atalef
          в моем понятии не нужен он , существует полная линей ка Таворов - зачем еще один ?

          Я тоже так думаю, единственно если как оружие для гражданского рынка, и то цена с Тавором мало расходится...
    2. А Нас Рать 22 февраля 2014 16:49
      HEZI SM-1 проиграл в итоге (видимо по цене) полицейский конкурс карабину MAGAL (на основе Галиль) под тот же калибр так что на службе его не будет, в рядах полиции осталось всего пару конкурсных образцов.
      Фото MAGAL
  3. Strashila 22 февраля 2014 16:57
    Берем за основу концепцию данного оружия... и делаем не что схожее под патрон тт, получаем преимущество по расположению магазина в рукояти патронов так на 20.При аналогичной длине ствола гарантировано можно вести огонь на метров 300... у ппш пр длине ствола 269мм гарантированая 200 м,так что при длине ствола 458мм что у гаранта это можно считать гарантированным.Получим легкое компактное оружие способное пробивать легкие бронежилеты.
  4. Витольд 22 февраля 2014 16:58
    В 78г.ходил с ним(М-1) на охоту за кабаном возле Зихрона.
  5. MACCABI TLV 22 февраля 2014 17:06
    Цитата: atalef
    существует полная линей ка Таворов - зачем еще один ?

    В США,замечательно продается все ,что носит клеймо IWI.
    MACCABI TLV
    1. Витольд 22 февраля 2014 23:22
      И не только в США
    2. Витольд 22 февраля 2014 23:22
      И не только в США
  6. milekhan 23 февраля 2014 01:33
    Вставлю и свои пять копеек:
    1) 7 лет состоял в дружине, время от времени патрулировал с карабином ,делал  стрелбища ,разбирал его. Впечатления только положителные тем более для такого антиквариата))) были осечки при подаче патронов, скорее связанные с общим состоянием и возрастом оружия и системой автоматики с боковым поршнем, ИМХО.
    Обновленные стволы до М1А1 с пластиковым цевьём -выдавалось всего несколко штук на ст. полиции ,собственно как и МаГаЛей. Пару раз повезло держать м1а1 в руках- гораздо удобнее вылезать из легковушки)))
    2) МаГаЛь- уже другой уровень оружия ))) Современнее, легче и компактнее. Разумеетса гражданский полуавтомат. Насколко помню, около 10лет назад его после несколих лет експлуатации начали выводить из  полиции. Причина- несочитаемость калашовской автоматики/ компоновки /слишком короткого ствола с патроном "пистолетного" типа. Вдобавок какие то жалобы на дефекты во время экспуатации.. Вроде бы так... Но все это на уровне слухов, из пятых рук, но" истина где то там" what
    milekhan
  7. Pavellio 15 апреля 2014 17:22
    На вахте в Якутии работал, видал у местного оленевода сие творение)) Говорит хорошая, только с патронами туго)

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня